(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Kate, i agree with Aprilmum that you might have difficulty taking over the rein of being main caretaker for your baby. But for lele, you'll just have to keep trying. *pat*

Augleo, I think Qing Ming Jie falls on 22nd Apr.
Thats if I rem correctly.

augleo, michk, kate,

Ning is better now. this morning her temp. hit 38.8.. i jumped up from my bed and run to the fridge to get her medicine and cold water to pat her head.. really xiong!! now better, her temp drop down, in between 36.8-37.3.. so i decided not to bring her to terence tan first.. cont monitor her temp.. if up again, will immediately bring her to PD.

Leo,

I look through leh but I don't see any diapers on promo. But then again, I didn't see any last week too. I'm quite bad with this...the ads aren't clear enough for me. But usually, I see a baby section, today I didn't see any. Maybe the other mothers are more helpful!

Kate,
I kind of understand how you feel, but at the same time, I also understand how your MIL feels.

Surely many SAHMs find their work a thorough joy. But for me, at least at this point, most of the day is pretty much route and it can be frustrating at times. Most of my day is filled with just simple things like changing diapers, washing hands, feeding solids or feeing milk or putting him to nap/sleep. The play time is fun but it's not much and it can also be tiring.

Even as a SAHM, my mother or IL will still try to tell me this or that. E.g. my mom still talks about me not giving Jesse the pacifier and he's almost 1 yrs old! Or when my ILs see him, they'll be afraid of this or that and tell me this and that...like they know my son better. BUT, they don't. Because they have NEVER once looked after him before...play play less than 1hr...you don't know anything one lah. There are general guidelines of course, but not the specifics.

Now if I had wanted them to look after my child (which wasn't an option since no one's free anyway), I would have to let them do it their way. The decision I made was simply let someone else look after and they do it their way or I look after and I do it my way. I don't think it's "fair" to insist on my way if I'm not the one doing it.

Does your MIL have a maid? I think it's fun to let Jesse self feed. BUT before I had a maid, I wouldn't even let him touch anything. WHY? It gets too messy and it's quite impossible to clean up after a crawling baby. Yes, clean the baby up first, put in play yard, then clean the rest of the things and wash up etc etc. Jesse's a good baby so he was okay with waiting but not all babies are that patient. And still there were times when he would make a fuss about waiting and cry and cry. So usually, I just wanted to get the feeds over and done with. Like I told my friend recently, have maid that's why Jesse eats 3 different meals a day. If I were alone, he'll be eating the same thing (cooked once) for those 3 feeds.

It sounds like many mothers have more patience than I do when it comes to cooking and cleaning...but if your MIL were anything similar to me...I think I can understand why she'd rather eat it over with as clean and as fast as possible. My mom was the same way with her children and I'm sure would be the same way with Jesse too without someone else to clean up after the affair. If you all have maid then I don't know what the issue is lah, but we'll it could also be part of the "finish everything on your plate" generation.

Now, I give him a biscuit to hold and he messes with it and I'm okay because I don't clean it up, I just clean him up, which is easy. I even intend to get him a smash cake for his birthday...but like I said, only because I'm not the one cleaning up. My husband knows, if I were the one cleaning up, Jesse better learn to crawl in a straight line, stopping drooling and not drop a strand of hair. haha.

My MIL can watch and see but she's in "my territory" so she doesn't really say much. Until my back is turned... but I can always say, "ni men mei you zhao ku, bu zhi dao".

As for this control and power thing. I think all of us feel it at some point! My most recent "competition" is my maid! But in my case, it's silly lah. I guess I can be more generous about Jesse because, at the end of the day, 1) I know that I spend the most time with him and he's still healthy and reasonably happy (and I'm still reasonably sane) and 2) I'm his mother. I'm quite happy when Jesse is friendly and affectionate to others (gives me some "off time" as well - like in said case with maid)

At the end of the day, it's a choice lor. To tahan the undermining of MIL (who's like the primary caregiver in the case) or to sacrifice many things and become the primary caregiver yourself. I don't believe in the best of both worlds one (maybe some lucky few get that)...I believe something always have to give. It's a really tough decision. If I had to make it, even now I can't tell you what I'd do. So maybe it was a good thing that I had no choice.

Very lor sor....sigh...

jesse, min,
i blanch pork to take away d 'porky' taste cos i m one who dun eat much pork as i dun like its taste/smell. but i tink if u wash it clean, shd b ok oso.
as for minced, i prefer DIY - to grind/mince using my philip cucina wet blender (for meat).

kate,
hugzzzzz... can empathise with u.
heng, my PIL not like that. cant imagine next time when they are old, and we wld need to as my husb is eldest
but i still think when living 2gether sure will one. coz in 1 castle, not possible to have 2 Queen

darbebe,
K LOVE IT !

Sanrio,
I was thinking that it's definitely much more "hygienic" if I could grind my own pork...but I don't have meat grinder. I can't use a normal blender to do it, can I? hmmm...

Michelle,
I agree, there never is enough space for two women in a household...that's why we moved out from the start. My husband only son, so probably have to look after his parents also, but it'll be in my home

Michelle,
I don't think I can go today because Jesse didn't nap in the morning. His gums are hurting him...he'll be lousy company today.

Michelle,
I thought K loves me! whahaha....
Glad that K likes it. As I said, good for convenience sake and healthy too.

Aiya, I din get to go PG yesterday.

interested in FREE trial class @Kallang?

JWT Kids - http://www.jwtkids-singapore.com/index.html

Tumbles Wobblers (11mth to 18mths)
only 1 date n 1 time slot:
max: 15 bb

Date: 15th March (Saturday)
Time: 3.15pm to 4pm.
pls provide mummy nick, name, bb name n age n DOB as for HP#, if u dun feel comfortable to post here. pls PM.

1. Augleo; Leo; Jian Kai, 11mth; 29 Mar
2. Peg; Peggy; Chloe Poh, 11mth; 3rd Apr
3. bububear; Sharon; Bryan; 10mth+; 22nd Mar

Hi Kate,
Hv u tried asking ur HB to tell his mama instead? I guess most MIL shld be more receptive to their son's words than the DIL. Also, I always tell my HB (when he say u dunno how to tell urself mey) dat tis is to prevent souring my relation with my MIL too :p Me & HB has an unspoken rule .. when it comes to my parents, I will be the spokewoman. He will be the one for his parents .. so kinda fair

Dun be upset le .. but than, I tink u shld seriously consider being a FT SAHM if you r still staying wif ur MIL.

Kate : Don't be angry le. Me is another one with over powering MIL. She is like that Queen and everyone is suppose to listen to her. All the things we wanted to do is wrong if it is not in line with her belief.

jesse: <font color="0000ff">Pork</font>
My MIL also grinds her own meat cos she's quite particular about food quality and doesn't trust the stuff they use in meat stalls. She doesn't own a blender so she just chop chop into very small pieces. Alot more work than blender/grinder lor... In order to prevent the meat from clumping together when cooking in hot water, she will first add some drinking water to the pork and mix together, before adding the meat minus water to the porridge. She uses "wu hua rou" (5 flower meat) cos she says it's much more tender than other parts.

<font color="0000ff">staying w MIL</font> <font color="ff0000">*hugz* to Jessemum</font>
Thanks for your opinions and suggestions on the matter. It really got me thinking... I agree w you that when MIL is the main caregiver, then have to close one eye to the way they do things. That's why I never insisted that she let lele self-feed or eat w hands, or quit the bottle etc. I let her do her style. But when I'm @ hme at night or weekend i will let lele do the above.
Yes it gets messy and cleaning up can be a chore but I dun mind it. Since lele sits in high chair to eat, only the high chair, himself and the surrounding area gets abit dirty. I get quite pissed when mil comment zui zui even thou I already said that I will do the cleaning up. Ya... it's her territory ma. So cannot expect to do things my way... That's why wanna move out soooooooooo bad. but then hub is the eldest son so he wants a flat in d area. but in my area the resale flats so crazy prices cannot afford. bto flats will take a couple of years. Now it's a matter of stay-home-w-mil or work-till-house-comes. I still haven decided yet.............

michK: it makes suchq great deal of diff whether we stay in their home or they stay on ours lor. For me it's not 2 queens, but 2 tigress! Haha! one mountain cannot conceal 2 tigress. Always tell my hub that. If I get a breather away from them like during the weeknights and weeekends, I think I'll be able to tolerate much more!

Shirley: Thanks for the advice! Very useful coming from someone who actually living w MIL fulltime! But we no maid (now my house no space for a maid... else sure will get one!) Regarding greeting MIL. I always ask lele to greet nainai or go to nai nai etc. But she kept on continuing her ways till I super DL liao. Now I treat her the same. Bad of me hor. I know.
Move out? DEFINITELY. but as I "mentioned" above to jessemum, currently not poss.
Hub is in diff position too. He is eldest son ma, so cannot really say much. He sees both sides of the situation like Jessemum analysed, which makes it all the more diff to take sides. So he just keep mum, smile at the situation or advised me to stop dwelling on the negativities. But he is not at home early most of the time what. So it's much easier for him. For him it's his territory but for me I feel like I dun belong in that home.

Cai Cai: Thanks for well-wish
After venting out here I feel better le... We dun wanna put lele in childcare till at least a couple of years (3 years) cos we both feel that it is best to build strong foundation in child (let him build strong value sys) before putting in childcare. That;s why I just feel very "lang4 fei4" that he spends the whole day w ILs without them "teaching" him anything, not even independence, as opposed to our original intention of letting one parent (me) stay home to nurture the kid.

pls provide mummy nick, name, bb name n age n DOB as for HP#, if u dun feel comfortable to post here. pls PM.

4. Gene; Gene; Gladys; 11mth; 28 Mar

Cool_D: You mean , RE-consider my decision to quit and stay hme with MIL right? Ya! I am reconsidering now. Need to discuss w hub... Maybe wait #2 comes along then have more "reason" to quit. At least then there'll be 2 babes, one for each of us.p As for hub talk to his parents, he seldom take the initiative to talk things out w them. He prefers to keep things ez. e is seldom home early, and even when he is, he can bury himself at work so he "happy" liao.

Kate : I stayed a few storey above her flat. Everyday after work, will go to her place for dinner, stayed there till about 9pm, then go back. Now, we try to go home earlier, as we want to spend some private time with Glynnis everyday, reading/singing before she sleep.

Weekend also have to go down for lunch, dinner.. So the time i spent with her is quite alot...

She tried to control everything. Sianz...

The bad news is... For me, we will need to move back to stay with them after a few years.

5. gacc, Cynthia, Cherelle, 10m+, 26 Apr

Dreamygal: Stay a few storeys above is as good as together le, considering you have a domineering MIL! I would rather not have a flat if it has to be in the same block as them. Staying together can move away but if buy a flat liao then wanna sell is a whole diff story.

If you need to stay w them after a few years, better resolve any negativities (thru your hub maybe?) now. Else by the time you stay together there will be lots of ill feelings.

kate , u see , u are not the only one who is suffering under the tyranny of mils .

u can look at hdb website to see if there are any ready avail flats n u go for balloting lor ...

if no.2 comes along , the hse will be so cramp n tensions will rise . better get out before it is unbearable .

else , u will hv to psycho urself , that ur mil 's overwhelming love for lele is way better than the uncertainty of maids / nanny. as for lele's not being able to learn anything constructive under mil's care , last time when we were small , my parents also nvr enrol us into extra classes , spent extra time to teach us . we just go to mainstream schools , PAP etc . just study whatever comes our way . we also turn out ok . u just guide lele when he is under ur charge over the weekends . he is so bright looking , dun worry
, u see ur hubby also turn out fine under his ma's care rite ?

interested in free trial class @Kallang?

3. bububear; Sharon; Bryan; 10mth+; 22nd Apr
5. gacc; Cynthia; Cherelle; 10m+; 26 Apr
6. ixora; Agnes; Jo; 11mth+; 14 Apr

** mummies, we might not able to get into that free trial class on Saturday. Either on Sunday or no class for us. the person-in-charge will advise.

pls indicate ur interest.

interested in free trial class @Kallang?

7. Dlim, Doreen, Jayden, 11mth+; 25 March (Ok for sunday class only)

** mummies, we might not able to get into that free trial class on Saturday. Either on Sunday or no class for us. the person-in-charge will advise.

caicai: yup, I realised that there are many of us who have some issues w ILs... feel a sense of... comradeship:p
For the area we are int in, currently HDB oni have BTO lor.
Regarding children being raised by ILs... ya, my hub turned out okay but there are some things about how we were being raised by our parents that we wanna change... My hub said that last time my MIL was so protective of him that she does everything for him. She so busy w housework cos she is sort of perfectionist that she will let hub entertain by watching TV whole day. Dun let him play outside cos scared he accident, fall ill/mix w bad company... In the end my hub spend most of his days indoor at home watch TV. Dun wan my son to grow up so protected. She also super worried everytime hub falls sick so keep bringing him to the doc for big and small illness. End up now my hub falls sick easily and no medicine cannot cure easily cos too used to medicine le.
That;s why when MIL so against me fostering lele's independence cos she scared dirty, I can't hel;p thinking she will raise lele same way hub is raised.

Of course, I'm not saying that my hub and I will be the perfect caregivers. We all will make some mistakes. But just that I prefer to have my own rein over caring and raising my own son...

Kate,

Wah...not easy ah...but I think it'll be very hard to be SAHM if it's not your kitchen. ;) How come must be in the same area?

Husband's parents wanted us to stay with them but of course, that's out of the question. So we bought a place in SK since near them is expensive, near good school and all resale only.

At first they were a little displeased lah, but they have gotten over it. haha. A matter of managing their expectations. I have already told them that if anyone of them are alone next time, we'll take care of them. But till then, I think we all can have a bit of freedom lah. We're only 10-20 mins drive away anyway. Singapore very small

I have pretty easy going ILs (I mean, they're still talking to me even though I disagree with them, nicely of course) but we have different thinking, some of our values are different and I don't get the master bedroom that's why we don't want to stay with them. Plus we also believe in establishing our own little family unit, no matter how humble.

It's tough to get an affordable HDB flat at a nice location lah...so even in this instance, something has to give. But I agree with cai cai, it's good to find out if you can cope with one first before trying for number 2. I still don't know if I can cope with 2 and I've looked after Jesse alone all this while.

I think at this stage, what babies need most is love and attention. So if that's what your MIL is giving lele, I won't feel so bad. Haha, I don't "teach" Jesse much either (so lele isn't losing out). Most of the time, Jesse has his own ideas on what he wants to do! At this stage, they just want to explore the world. I'm sure lele will turn out fine.

You're in a tough spot...when you feel frustrated, share here lor...then maybe we can all cry about it, laugh about and get it out of the system. Because I don't stay with my mother, I call her about once a week to tell her what I feel and that helps.

JWT kids free trial class.
i will submit the name list by 5pm.
is 1st come 1st serve. hopefully can get 1 class for either Saturday or Sunday

is a new branch @Kallang tat y hv such promo.

2wks ago, i was there shop shop...still under renovation

Leo,

all these classes clash with Jesse's nap time...that's why until now we haven't been for anything! Looks fun though...hope you all have fun!

I used to see the kids at the UE Sq location, they all look happy.

Hi kate , shd hv some leftovers , u watch out for those flats whom ppl gave up after selection lor .

I am also very protected by my ma when i was young , i grew up to be very timid , kekeke
in a certain way , it is bad , but i understand that it is her luv for me too .

right now , u are still working , so i guess the best caregiver to lele will be her coz she spends alot of time on him . only the day when u become SAHM then u will take over as the caregiver

leo , i am away fm Spore during the dates u provided . can i register for the free class for my sonny on other dates ? or i need to form a class of 15 pax first ?

8. * michele *; Claire; 10mth+, 09 Apr

Jesse,
tat timing is JK's naptime too.
but sometimes he will sleep late...hope it works tat day.

Cai2,
u can call Kallang branch to find out more.
as wat i know, free trial class promo oni on 15th March. after talking to the PIC, then she said might consider open another class on 16th March. dunno...mayb we can't get into the free trial on 15th March too.

Augleo: actuali I qutie lost don’t know wat to get already.. hahah

any mummies intersted in going to taka fare on monday afternoon??

jesse,
my older boy used to attend jwt kids gym at UE square. he liked it very much after trying out others. he attended d next class af wobblers stage. so there is gym skills practice evy week, little tikes swing time, music time, free play time etc..

<font color="0000ff">bububear! our sons have the same b dates!</font>

9. Kate, Lele,10mth+, 22Apr

Cai2,
if hv free trial class other than 15 n 16 March best loh. coz 16th March, 12 mummies are attending GUG trial class too.
u called JWT Kids yet?

Kelley,
y blur? take out shopping list which u prepare for Ash. some of the items hand-down lei

Leo
I not garang like other mummies, usually I'll try not to mess up Jesse schedule...and I never expect miracles from him. Most of the time, he won't cooperate. Usually he doesn't nap well, but if I plan to bring him out, he'll nap extra. Very sian one. haha. Really quite funny lah...sigh...

I'll sit on the sidelines for a while more.

i read this from a chinese magazine:

BB 1st b.day
to "predict" bb future career:

Prepare: book, pen, calculator, chix drumsticks, monies, pork, ruler, celery, garlic, sword (think must get toy), stethoscope n etc.

dun understand y Pork lei. any1? kekekekeke!

Leo,
over CNY, I was at a bookshop and there was an English cartoon book on Chinese culture and I read about that. But I don't remember reading "pork". Only the usual book, pen, sword...like ancient chinese "careers". I'm thinking even stethoscope is a recent add-on.

Leo: alot of things don't need to buy.. cos like u say hand down.. only need bed.. new born clothing.. cos MT A dont' provide.. new bed sheet for cot, new bottle (no more avent)..ahahah.. can't thnk liao..

Rainy Day, our thread so quiet, all hibernating huh

since our bb going 1, let share pix how they grow

me starts 1st:
1, 3, 6, 9mth n the most recent one:
1284628.jpg
1284629.jpg
1284630.jpg
1284631.jpg
1284632.jpg

9. Kate, Lele,10mth+, 22Apr
10 disneytokyo, Siegfred 11 months 3 april

Jo - ok will addyou. Question = how much does an agent really get out of a deal? do we really have to pay an additional 1 month rent? i remember before 1.5 years ago, we do not need to pay the agent if the rent is 3k more.

mrs lai - yes please ask... need help here.
wow you have new neighbors! are they noisy? where do you live now?