(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Cool_d / Sanrio

My Jayden the same...he will take 1 at ard 10+ - 12pm. Afternoon not fixed..sometimes, he didnt take any nap too. Thats why I also very difficult to choose the timing. In the end, I choose 3:30pm..at least Jayden already taken his 1st nap.

Cool_d,

What time u choose for the photo shoot?

Jesse , 151 is it near temple ? my own flat @ 121C .

mrs lai , issi becoz ur hubby scolded bb V before , so she dun wan him ?

even though my hubby seldom play wif his son , my boy will automatically smile widely at his pa whenever he sees him. when he was younger like 5 mths old , he will " jump " with joy when his pa returns fm his overseas trip .
but whenever he sees me, he will still smile but i can sense his excitement is not really there . sob sob . i suspect coz i scold him / spank him more often than his pa .
but when he was born , the first voice he heard is actually his papa's voice . so maybe he bonds wif his pa more

Jessemum: actually... I'll most probably quit in a couple of months
Hee Hee!
My hub and i feel it'll be best for lele to have someone to engage him.
But... I'm very scared that when I become a sahm, will have tension betw MIL and me. You see, I stay w my ILs. Some diff in child-rearin has already created a bit of tension le but we managed to turn a blind eye to it. I'm really quite worried that when I stay at home face her whole day w the kid, sure will have many opportunities for disagreement.

mrs lai: Hmm... how to say? In Lele's eyes, diff people have diff roles. Even though Lele seldom sees papa during the weekday, when papa returns home early in the evening and gets to play w him, he will break into a big smile, and will not "reject" when papa wants to carry him. In fact, Lele responds more readily when papa talks to him. Sometimes got me jealous!
But I realised that to Lele, papa is playmate while mama is housemaid! AH HAHAHAHA!

When he wants to sleep, he will want me to carry,and when I'm carrying him when he is sleepymode, he will "bohhiu" even his fave grandpa. Sametimes when he is in unfamiliar place, he will show more stickiness to me than to pa, if there are the two of us.

To grandpa, he will behave more fussy cos he knows grandpa dotes on him and accedes to his wimps.

To my BIL, he will talk and play and squeal very readily!
To my MIL he will look for her in kitchen when he is hungry or wants to sleep in the day. But when I come home, he will turn to me.)

dlim,
Haven choose e date/ time yet.. coz cannot decide. But will take in May

Kate
U moving out rite? If u still staying wif ILs, dan maybe can continue to work. Hv u consider part time job?

sanrio - i feel the same way... baby is getting picky but he likes chicken porridge, frog soup and anything that is tasty!
i feel happy to see him interested and eating everything.

coolD,

red looks nice.. i have one, white colour, nice to carry when going out lunch with colleagues

Michk, Ixora, Augleo

Ning still having fever, just took her temp. is 38.1. If tomorrow morning still as above 37.8, SF will take child MC and bring her to Terence Tan..

michk, traz and ixora,

i'll see how tmr for the lunch. Will contact Michk if i can't make it.

jessemum,

try to join the gathering, it'll be fun to meet mummies here.

kate,

ya, if you be SAHM, i think most likely will get more "tension" between your MIL and you. Me staying with MIL too, i can understand. It's comfirm will get disagreement or some arguments. Just see how you going to take it and how to solve it. Me facing my MIL everyday too .. hahaha.. my PIL passed away liao, no choice, need to stay with her. Just give and take ... anyway, sometimes easy to say but hard to do, i know!! So, pls do think twice if you really wanna be SAHM. Just my personal advices

coold,

But u hv to book fast else the date & time u want will be taken up by others... foto-u seems very popular

I also prefer the red one. More outstanding. 2nd one - too many patches...

Caicai, ya quite near the temple...that cluster.

Kate, I understand about the differences. I don't stay with my IL that's why we're okay. But even the few times they come (<1hr) or I go visit them (<1hr) also have things to say already...but of course, I'm the mother and well, they don't look after Jesse. They have tried their "thinking" on him but he just rejects it. (My maid tells me lah, that one time I ask my MIL to come for a few hours). But then, I'm quite chin chye wrt to Jesse...so they can try all the methods they want, I know what he'll acceopt and what he'll reject. It's just that sometimes, they don't believe me.

Will you be moving out? Anyway, it's something to think about some more lor. There are days I think I don't mind going back to work but I do miss him when I go out for a few hours also. It's quite a dilemma. It's not easy...but of course much easier with a maid lah.

Jesse generally shows no preference between hubby or I. And most of the time he doesn't mind anyone really...very indiscriminate. But his fav right now is the maid cos she only plays with him.

Cool_D I think the top one is nicer too. Never liked the patched up one...just don't like that range.

Aprilmum: hope Ning gets better. Ya, I'll try to make it, the timing seems fine. Might leave early though...see how...see how his morning naps goes.

Thanks mummies for the advises. I was thinking wristlet for like downstair lunch, grocery shopping etc .. :p There's a BP going on, 25% off the US prices. Red one is USD48, the patchy one is USD68.

Jesse
Actually me also neva noticed the patchwork range till few days ago saw some1 carrying the tote bag, and it seems nice leh .. but patchwork for wristlet maybe not as nice as on the big bags . .hehe.

disneytokyo,

Why don't u trust your real estate agent? Are u selling your place or buying a new one? As far as I know, the valuation for HDB across the board has increased till December '07. However, I heard that the property prices and market have slowed down recently.

I know of someone from ERA. If u need details, u can email me for info.
. I have just sold my HDB recently :p

Hi Beyond, mummies,
went for my Lasik re-op exam.. wah! took 2.5hours.. they did a very thorough exam. Confirmed going for Lasik on 20th March.. can't wait to throw away my glasses!

Beyond- you just went for Lasik? is it today? how was it? I'll be doing monovision cos I have lao-hua-yen.

Augleo,
sorry hor? didn't realise my Stamford contact just quit. She says Stamford now very luan cos alot of people just quit at the same time. For my baby's full-month, I got Stamford to do the catering-- I find the food alright.. not fantastic. I attended my friend's baby full month where they got Thai food-- food as fabulous! they paid much more but I thot it's so much better than Stamford. But now forgot the name of the catering coy--

Hi Mrs Chia,

Ya lor, yesterday I also spend 2hours at SNEC taking all the necessary tests. Supposing is today lor, but this morning got fever so end up reschedule to next tuesday, 11 Mar. Hahaha, i also can't wait to throw away my glasses and all the contact len solutions.

Hi Dlim

Ok, I'm on for the GUG class on the 16th! thanks much for your help!

hey mrs lai

i thought "ba tau" ("pork head") is the best part of the pig?

wah i really very tempted to go for lasik man.

Caicai - thanks. i am doing that too.

Pisces Gal, i am renting a condo now, i am looking for almost the same size or bigger. I need to find one before mid april since my current place was sold already. I will email you.

I just cannot trust bec they always quote high prices which i know the recent prices had increased but that is just a sales strategy. I am also in a sales role, I know when someone is telling the truth and not, when i told them i am not from sg, the more they tell me that in sg it is expensive etc etc... just irritated me more.
When they advise me the best price they can give, i turn them down immediately because i dont think i want to pay that price then they call me again to say price can be lowered but how come they do not tell me this during our first discussion? So irritating! I feel very dizzy worst than roller coaster spin. sorry, just got irritated with an agent recently.

augleo - my son has 8 teeth, but does not want to use the pigeon toothbrush! if i use the rubber like forefinger to brush his teeth, he will bite me! How do you brush JK's teeth? what are you using? any strategies to share?
heheh

blueroti: dunno my mum always tell me "mui yoke" and even my butcher told me very exp cuz $20 per kg compared to $10kg i buy for normal soup meat.

bak tao as in really meat from the pig's head??? if yes, i rem my ex classmate say pig's head meat very fishy ... dunno true or not.

me cantonese, so watever my ma jie says, I do, cuz i trust her cooking! I tried buying the "spiral" meat for soup but my butcher dun always have. so i just settle for normal meat lah, but always the butcher will trim off the fat for me.

disney: ur pigeon toothbrush is which stage? my gal loves the stage 2 cuz she takes it as a chew toy :p one of the mummies also do rental, but i am not sure ... i gotta ask my gf if her SIL also going rental cuz i no she do property sales. her SIL is quite nice so if she's doing rental, think can pass contact to u to consider lor.

talking about property sales, the family downstairs changed again, within 1 month! previously ang moh with 2 chihuahaus, now chinese family i think with no dogs.

micK; got any travel agent u can recommend
i need to find out fares. the stupid SIA not dun fly economy class direct to NY anymore! i am so ANGRYYYYY

Sanrio
i din know ba tou must blanch leh. aiyo, i been throwing it direct into porridge to cook as stock all the while.

your porridge is always alot of hardwork.. all made with love

for 'mei rou'.. can ask butcher to mince it huh?

mrs lai
i also got buy a few bath toys fm BBmall online b4. my son need to hold or play with toys in tub otherwise, he will cry when we carry him out

kate
i also have disagreement with MIL when i'm at home as i'm working part time now.

esp when my son throw tantrums, and i'm 'scolding' him, she will say 'ah ma sayang you lah' in background which irritates me. now my son don't understand but cannot imagine wats gonna happen when he grows up.

mrs lai...
SIA doesnt fly to NY direct anymore??? I was still given the option to fly on it when i was booking my tix. Hmmmm....

When will u be in NY?? With bbV too?

Mrs Lai,

I'm most probably going to market tomorrow. Can please brief me again... Pork for soup is called "jia mei rou"? How much should I buy? And I can ask the butcher to mince it 3 times?

Oh ya, do I blanch the minced pork before using it? I've never done that before.

I don't cook soups at all...so this is all new.

Still can fly direct for now...only phased implementation from mid May. I'm glad they are installing the new biz class seats though...it's such a long flight...and biz class for that flight is always full.

Sometimes I think about going to NY too...but cannot imagine flying with Jesse all that way. Hated it.

Min,
My grandma used to do that when I was young. So what my parents did was, when they want to discipline me, they'd bring me to their room and lock the door

disney,
I'm working in a property firm and my team specialize in private properties, both sale and rental.... i am not an agent but a tenancy manager so i might be able to give you some insights.... you can add me on msn then maybe we can chat further there? [email protected] =) since your lease will be up in April it is time to start looking now.

morning mummies n bb

seems like is a raining day.

D.tokyo,
yes, JK n Siggy hv same set of teeth.
currently me using Tolljoy stage 2 toothrush.
initially, JK doesn't like the toothbrush too. i will let him hold the toothbrush n play awhile.
after a wk, he oki with the toothbrush in his mouth.

after meal, will brush his teeth n tongue then follow up a warm hanky to rub against his teeth n tongue again.

oh yes, he does BITE me too. real hard n is so painful. now able to escape few of his bites

Fair Price Xtra:
there is a S$10 voucher (Spent S$60 above to enjoy S$10 off) in MYPAPER.

any1 holding Straits Time?
any diapers promo in Fair Price, can share with me?

augleo,

don't know about what's in the papers...but I know mummypoko now going for $22.90 instead of $24.15. Probably ending today...cos it's been on promo since last week. Yesterday still on promo. We buy 50 XL.

Jesse,
thks...but when u see the m.poko diaper on S$22.90. it was on last wk paper.
if is last wk offer, then it has end yesterday.
plan to get m.poko too.

Leo...okay, actually, I don't look at the papers for promo so was shocked to get discount on diapers. haha. Then last evening bought another pack, still on discount. Didn't know it ended yesterday.

When I have time, I'll take a look at the papers. But usually, that's in the afternoon

Jessen: Thanks for your advice! I think it's partly my character (headstrong saggitarius), partly due to lele is my 1st son, and partly because I had some ideas of child rearing even before preggie, it's frustrating for me that the ILs esp MIL insist on their way. Differences in ideal has created some tension betw MIL and me. I sometimes think, "dun stay together in the 1st pl, none of this would have happened. at least dun have to face them every weeknight and even on weeekends."
Both my hub and I believe in fostering independence in the child, such as self-feeding, exploring. But to them they think we are being ganjiong, that lele will learn these things on his own, dun have to "foster". So for self-feeding, I will let lele feed himself the last few spoonfuls of porridge, but MIL will just feed him the whole bowl. When I ask her to let lele feed himself, she will pretend not to hear, or say to me " you lah, let lele feed himself so that now he wants to snatch the spoon from me to 'play'. Last time he not like that one." as if it's my fault to encourage self-feeding.
And when I'm feeding porridge to him, she will keep onn"reminding" lele (but actually me) not to "play" must eat fast fast, else porridge gets cold. I will still let lele feed himself the last few spoonfuls. Even then she MUST say something. She will be like "aiyo, so dirty! grandma cannot stand it you're so dirty leh." and start wiping his mouth and hands and high chair even before he is done eating! She will say to me" aiya why let him feed himself so much?" even tho only a few mouthfuls!

Once when I suggested to let lele eat banana w his hands, guess what she said? "Dun wan la! so dirty!" and I angry le. She even said to him "lele, dun learn mama's ways hor, so dirty!"

WAH LAU. I really flared up.
But swallowed the "qi" and did not confront her for saying such things in front of my son.

Did I tell you all that whenever the other members come home from work or are at home, she will be "lele, see who's back?" /"lele, go to ___", if lele shows affection for them, like want them to carry or talk to them, she will make sure she tell me how much lele enjoys their company. But when I get home from work to see him, she will not say anything like that. No "go find mama", no "c mama is back". When lele shows affection for me, she will just cont doing whatever she was doing and not show any emotion. She will also not say to any other members how much lele enjoys my company that sort of thing.

...............................................W lele's early bedtime, and her undermining my relationship to son all the time, I REALLY WANNA TAKE CONTROL OF THE SON FROM HER. Tats why I wanna take care of him on my own. "that'll show her." I thought.

HOW CAN I STAND STAYING UNDER ONE ROOF WITH HER?

Min: u work p/t? issit like few hours a day, or few days a week? I also int in p/t work, explore my options.
sorry peeps, just went on and on... needed to find an outlet to vent all this qi!

Jesse,
np, take ur time. can advise after ur lunch meet up.

Kate,
is ok to vent her...
we hear u

*hugz hugz*

aprilmum,
hw is Ning? better?
keep urself n Ning warm in such cool weather.

Beyond,
u? no more fever?
drink more water!

hahaha! i keep asking ppl to drink more water!

anyone heading town to taka bb fair on monday afternoon? cos i be in town for gynae visit.. can meet for awhile again..kekeke..

anyone can recommend a free cupcake lady.. i tried emailing cupcake mama and another cupcake lady.. but no response!!! how??

kate , u better now?
there are also good mils , too bad urs is not one of them . i heard abt nice ones . mine also not very desirable.but we not staying under same roof , so the QI is not as much as urs.

Are u considering moving out ? another way of releasing lele fm her wld be to send him to childcare once he hits 18mths , that way , her influencing ways wld be minimize . u put him 7 - 7pm , by the time he returns home , u are also home . so lele is all urs

Kate,

hmmm... sound like a real war running in your house!! Think my case a bit different as yours. Cos my MIL never help me in taking care Ning. She only "see see look look" when i'm away, and my maid is the one taking care. But, still, she will order the maid to do this and that to Ning. I just pretend "one eye open and one eye close" cos when i'm at home, basically she dun dare to "say" anything. It's becaues, my hb did tell her before, i'm the main taker, so no matter how, she needs to "respect" my way in taking care of my girl. When she gives some opinions, i'll accept if it's ok with me, but if, it's not alright, i'll directly voice out.

So, i can imagine, your MIL is the main taker, and if one day you be SAHM, you wanna take over her job, dun think it's so easy!! Me all the way taking care Ning also will get some tensions with my MIL, not to say you! Anyway, i can say that, our hb plays a very important part also. If your hb can handle your PIL well, then things may change better.

regarding, MIL will not ask their grandson/daughter to "great" the mummy when mummy is back. hahahaha.. i guess it's very very normal for most of the MIL!! They scare that the grandkids will get closer with the DIL than her son or themself.. is a very selfish attitude hor!! My MIL last time the same too!! So, i act from another way, whenever she comes back, i'll ask Ning to "greet" her "po po".. hahahaha.. then slowly, she used to it, when i come back home, she'll ask Ning to call mummy also.

honesty, i believe less DIL 100% willing to stay with PIL.. unless, bo bian, situation need to. So, kate, you need to really discuss with your hb, wanna move out or not.