(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

cindy , yeah , ur elmo is cute .
hey mummies , michele is testing response for Wilton .... tempted to buy for my cupcake tries ( thou i never attended any lessons before )
Taro , the agar agar looks nice , is it expensive ? anyway , i wun be buying so many things ( i am only holding a small dinner for 11 paxs ) i wanted the "No.1" design cake so imagine buying a 2KG for 11 pax . my fridge FULL

Min and Mrs Lai: Thanks for sharing your babies' experiences! After my hub saw the how Lele resisted the playpen, he suggested a playyard as it is less enclosed and caregivers can hop in to play with him. But with space constraints, I wanna think carefully first before investing! ... what if he resists the play yard all the same?

Kate,
When I first got the play yard, I juz open the door so dat it does not seems like a 'lock up' area. So bbJ is free to crawl in & out of it. Than at times, we close the door & stay inside wif him. Sometimes we locked & put him inside but we juz sit outside & play wif him. Now when I am hm alone wif bbJ, I really tink this play yard is my best investment.. at least I can put him there n cook or go toilet in peace

morning!!
i juz manage to book the children playroom @grassroot club for my son's birthday on apr 5!!

finally one major things settled

Oh, ecreative cakes taste not nice? I heard otherwise. My friend say her guests all find that it is nice and requested for 2nd serving... so ended up her cakes was insufficient.

Hi disneytokyo,

Your son was born on 3 Apr? My son was born on 2 Apr. I will be celebrating on 29 Mar.

I think i will most probably order a 2 tier cake since 3D mickey mouse was difficult to find.

eCreative cakes:
heard not too bad.
my frez guests oso hv 2nd helping
1 thing i dun really like abt kid's cake...too many colorings le

still browsing thru cake designs from various bakery, hopefully not too many colorings

Beyond / J&R / Darbebe
I think it really depends on individual regarding the taste of cakes….I’ve got a friend who ordered TWO cakes from E-creative last year and she says the guests like them. But she recommend the Blueberry cake if you are ordering from EC.

Actually if got BIG budget, I would go for “The Patissier”…definitely looks good & taste good. The Pastry Chef was trained in London….

Darbebe
So what’s the 1st choice on your list for the cake order?

For the 5 grain rice, you can get from supermarkets like NTUC or Giant….the brand is “Ma Yu San”…can’t remember what are the 5 grains…but they are listed on the packaging…can go take a look.

J&R
I initially also got toy with the idea of looking for a function venue outside…but the possible ones are either inconvenient or is too expensive to rent! My house is directly opposite the MRT station…so it seems like a better choice.

Since you stay Bt Batok, why not consider CDANS? Nice place….one of my friend held her son’s 1st year birthday there…..

Cool_D
I would use pork rib soup boiled with Huai San & Red dates as the base for cooking the porridge once awhile…porridge taste great this way!! :D

Min
You can get ‘new crop’ rice from supermarkets like NTUC or Giant….got brands like SongHe… Paddy King…. the raw rice look abit transparent….

Mrs Lai
I mix white rice with brown rice to cook porridge….coz I find if just just brown rice, the porridge like quite coarse lei…not so nice to eat.

1st time I hear about using cashew nut to cook porridge lei….weird lei….why you have this idea? Think maybe use raw “gau lak’ is more suitable….and sweeter…

Dreamy
Pine Garden too far from my house liao…else I would like to order from them too…comments I saw for PG is that it’s like hotel standard but price like neighbourhood cake shop.

ya, i also feel ecreative cakes nice. Cos i ordered for Ning's full month cake, most guests said nice and some even ask for the web link.

michellek,

oh, WS dun like ecreative cakes!!

SpringD
I am getting lazier nowadays & haven made stock for awhile le. Now, I juz dump all ingredient & rice into slow cooker & cook .. hehe. Sometimes, I start cooking the nite b4, so next day porridge is ready .. haha :p

Springdance
my first choice is Patissier. I like their cakes. But the price they quoted is over my budget. $299 for 3kg.

really?? i never try before, cos in Ning's full month, got no chance to try the cake at all. I just know the cake "bu jian liao" after that.. hahaha.. hmmm.. then i shall get other choices. Initially, i put ecreative as first choice..

how abt emicakes???

J&R,
u stay in bt batok? me too. i used civil service club for my girl 1mth old. not bad. my ex colleague booked for me. for her 1yr old, i m using my bil condo function rm, oso at bt batok.

EC cake:
i ordered d chocolate one for my boy 1yr old. our n frds comments: taste so so.. esp my hb said not nice... my son's 2nd b'day, we got a cake fr baker inn, all fin. evy1 like but no 'design'one, just lots of strawberries. i put my own sesame street figurines on it.

EC cake:

i called my friend, she said EC cakes, design very nice, but not "sweet" .. so taste not as good as others. she said cakes suppose to be "sweet" only nice!! Really?? Some ppl like it, cos they dun like too sweet cakes. Some may feel like "no taste"

PG cake:
b4 u place order, u can buy some slices of their cakes in store to try n c whether u like d taste. cos is quite subjective. some said nice. some said so so. i hv not ordered fr them b4 thou. my parents n bro stay in amk. they tried their slice cakes, comments are 'ok lah'...

Darbebe,
i like Patissier too but is really too ex..

caicai...
thanks for the compliments on the elmo cupcake. think can be improved. its actually just pipping.
must try again.
can..can show u when i m back in jul!

hi sanrio,
really eh?? nice place ma, the civil service club? you got any link ma?

springdance,
yahor.. will also check it out the CDANS.. :p hehe..

thanks for the suggestion leh.. :p muaks..

my parents wen to buy PG slice cakes af watching 'hdb taitai' on channel 8. their comments: 'on tv look n taste much nicer than actual'..
just sharing their comments, but taste, preferences, likings are very individual n subjective thou :p

J&R,
i dun hv link. my ex-colleague helped me n went w my hb to go n c while me on confinement. but cant use d facilities like pool unless u are member. u can call them up n check.

Cindy,
i oso remb d elmo cupcake but cant recall is u. so nice n yummy. okie wen u're back, we do baking 2geter one of these days..

sanrio , i hv been eating PG cakes since young , their price for a neighbourhood store is considered pretty exp . their mousse cake not bad . but i think the younger generation took over the mgmt of the shop , so we see alot of creative juices , but tastewise , i am not sure . my cousin wedding cupcakes fm PG , quite ok too .
ya , i tink preferences n likings are subjective .

Cindy , u shd try to make more cupcakes , like the mong standard , so cute n pretty .
i find mong's designing skills better than cupcake mama

eh my family takes in a variety of cakes from Ecreative and prima deli (cuz so many birthday) ... of cuz e creative the offering is very standard, but so far no complains, cuz they usu use fresh cream and not marzipan kinda stuff.

We usu have the stand vanilla sponge with strawberry and chocolate with blueberry. but recently we swop around cuz we were quite sick of the combis. We just had the cake recently from ecreative and we all enjoyed it. Of cuz it is not as oh-so-yummy as another cake we get from Prima Deli (Belgium Chocolate Divine) but it's was fun for both adults and kids lor.

For very good cakes? Those I bake myself lor, esp my fav pound cake muahahaha ... but seriously, my fav fav fav is from baker's Inn, warm chocolate cake - tt one cannot be a birthday cake ;P

sanrio: Baker's Inn cakes also depend on what u buy. I got the mango cake once and it was such a disappointment! Anycase, it's still my warm chocolate cake = 1 ;P mummies if u never try it before, you should. It's really a very good stress reliever hahaha. but warning, the price for that small cake is $13 i think

mummies" let's bake together or we can take courses togehter!

I am going for the wilton's cake decorating course level 1, but dunno will survive or not lah. Let u all know later. We can always practise making cup cakes decor together once I lay my hands on the basic kit they provide. Then we can playplay like masak!

Spring: i have 2 exp with The Patissier.

1) my gf ordered her son's first bday cake from it and it was SO YUMMY

2) my SIL ordered cupcakes from her kid birthday and it was a disappointment. Cake = dry muffin and I saw the icing, a bit lek sek ... like iced for too long already.

end of the day also = luck.

Cuz for eg, my office do order lee wee bro nasi lemak once a while and we all like it. but once we order for home party and it SUCKed.

conclusion? I bad luck :p

hi mrs lai,
u know if the course include all the cup making things? or need to buy our own? hehe.. i ask my colleagues and have already 3 of us interested leh.. maybe can organise the small class.. hahha.. cos the class is 6 ppl only right? :p

Date: 4th March (Tuesday)
Venue: M.Square (J.little)
Time: ard 1.30pm

1. Augleo
2. Kelley
3. Mrs Lai (join after 2pm)

Gene n aprilmum,
hv u decided?
kekekekeke!

babygoh: u mean B-I-Y cupcake decorating class?

Tt one i attended before. They will provide the cupcakes, the cream, the icing bags and the tips. But you need to bring a spatula blade, scissors and box to bring items back.

caicai...
u think too highly of me! how to beat Mong's std! Some more i so lz now...never make anymore since that 1 time after the class! ehehhehe

now maybe i should try the agar agar instead!!! not so oily n cleaning up to do!

but if all of us do together...then fun lah!

mrs lai,
i got the pping kit from US already, think when u free, i go over and we can try

cindy... whenu back, we can do somemore

Cool_D: Thanks for sharing your ideas on how to help baby adjust to play yard! I like your ideas of gradually letting him get used to things without making him feel we are dumping him in the play yard...
Is your play yard haenim? how many panels?
Is it poss to visit your house to view the play yard? Cos I dun no if my liv room will have enough space leh...

mrs lai,
keke... agree, mus oso depend on d baker's mood tat day. gd idea, next tx we can play 'masakmasak' 2geter :p = baking.

Mrs Lai,

Im interested with the wilton's cake decorating course level 1 too. Pls let me know when u planning to go. I juz browse through their website & Im interested with their cupcakes but too bad, they are closed for order between feb-march.

Somemore they are located at Bukit Timah Road & its quite near to my place.

Cool_D: tomorrow late afternoon? Erm, can I bring lele along to "try-out" the play yard? ... Want to see whether he likes it better than the playpen which resembles a baby cot too much!
Paiseh ah so many requests. If it's bu fang bian (hygiene or other reason) it's okay one, just let me know. What's your e-mail add?
I e-mail you my contact no.
or you can e-mail me your contact no. My addie is [email protected]

Kate,
Sure, no prob. Some of the babies here tried the play yard before too:p I shld be hm tomorrow, but in case I go grocery shopping or meals, call me before u pop by.

I emailed u my mobile no. le.

Just now I went to Expo for lunch. Super crowded b'cos got Natas Fair, watson sales and popular sales.

Any mummies baby 1st birthday theme is mickey mouse? Previously I mentioned that I do not intend to buy any party favour but this watson sales got quite a varity of mickey mouse clubhouse items (mainly stationery) selling only at $1 each. So ended up I bought 20 set and will give away as party favour.