(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

re:lying on tummy .
is this dangerous ? i didnt let my bb sleep in this position but i heard fm my coll their babies like to sleep on their tummy coz they wun get a fright so often , they feel more secure . dunno how true .
anyway , my bb is gettng too big for his playpen bassinet. There is a warning on the playpen --- "not recommended for babies above 8 kg and when the baby can roll or flip by himself"
urghhhhh , where can put him ? single bed mattress too small , he can drop out and knock head agst floor

Hi Kelley,

Everything ok already? Fully recovered?

Being a SAHM is good! But like what Aprilmum said, also no time leh! Heheee.

I'm going Boston cos hubby needs to do part of his PhD there, so Caitlyn and me will tag along lor. Oh yes, I am Cindy - Caitlyn's mommy!

Mommies...meet up next week? Can can! Fri 19 Oct? Shall we meet for Tea? Marina area?

min,
paiseh, typo error, SSW- small2 world fm recent BP. but if u got $$ can buy LG for bigger piece.
got mine @ $127
initial plan was the world map

Springdance
Gladys v 'chao kuan' one. When we had lunch, it's still about an hour before her feed leh. But when she see us eat, she also wanna eat la. It's alwayssss like that. Boh bian, I had to finish up my gor-gor curry udon.
I go Miramar for the Jap buffet. Kris is also a fan. hehe..

HI Cool
Yes.. his hands and legs turned cold and he was motionless...cos his face was down..my husband has to shake him really hard before he woke and catch a deep breath and started to cry.

Hi Mic
We always let him sleeps on his back and he has the habit of turning and sleep on his side...now worst once he is on his side he will roll over with his face down

EA
Than you really need to be careful. I dunno if sleep positioner is still good at this age coz for my boy, I can place our big pillow at his side to prevent him fm flipping, he still climb over e pillow n flip somehow .. shang nao jing !!

EA : That is very dangerous. For my Glynnis, she always flip over while sleeping, but if she can't slip back, she will scream at us. So far i think she only fell asleep twice on her tummy. She don't like.

really really long time no chat!

Augleo,
You were at Parkway Isetan last Sat? I was there with Hubby and bb too! And I know exactly which 2 high chairs you were talking about, cos Hubby and I were also standing in front of them for a long time trying to understand why the high chairs look exactly the same but prices so different.

Gene and Kris,
I also visit the Jap rest at Miramar too! Hmm looks like we have things in common...

Michelle,
if the positioner you're talking about is the Babysafe one, think dun need to get. Cos it's only for bbs up to 6 months. And my bb can actually flip over the cushion of the positioner(he normally sleeps on his back) and sleep on his tummy.

EA,
We let our bb fall asleep on the side where he's not so good at flipping over from. Maybe this might help. Anyway, my bb will sleep on right side, then end up on his back, flip to left side, over the positioner cushion and end up on his tummy. At least we make his "journey" more difficult.
Any way of letting him continue to sleep on tummy once he flips over but turn his head sideways so he can breathe?

EA
Ai yoh, so dangerous one huh?
I always let my gal sleep lying on tummy one, since from new born.
Like that she wont get frighten easily and can sleep peacefully through the whole night.
But nowadays she will roll and flip back and sleep on her back.

cherry,
i not getting positioner. husb saw few mths ago, then bcoz of he saw keira face down this morning, said he worried.
then he remb he do research for that, so mention to me this morning
ok, tonight i tell him not suitable for bb 6 mths and above

our matt & pillow both bbsafe one. but i think my gal pretty smart, once she cant flip over, will start screaming liao

Wah EE,
your gal can flip back oredi? So clever .. when she starts to flip back? I had been trying to teach my boy to flip back coz like Michelle's bb, he will scream when he can't flip back. So daddy or mummy have to manually flip him back :p

Michelle,
hee my bb also sleeping on babysafe pillow but not the one with the hole in the middle cos I wanted the pillow to last longer hopefully into his toddler years. We let him sleep on our bed so no nice mattress for him. Oh the positioner never says it's not suitable for 6 mths and above. Guess becos older bbs can flip over the cushion ba, so cannot really be a positioner anymore.

We tried to let him sleep on his tummy but he hates it and will start to scream. But somehow he flip him over in his sleep and can't flip, worst is he does not know how to turn his head side way for air....i think I won't be able to sleep tonight

Cheery...i will try your method tonight and see if will work on him....

cool_daughter

My gal actually can flip back when she was 2-1/2 mths, I was told by bb sitter.
Sad, I not the first one see bb first flip. That time need to quarantined gor gor who got chicken pox, so no bring bb home for 2 weeks.

PD also said is pretty fast to flip at 2-1/2 mths. I think bcoz of her small size, easy to flip. hehe

wah, EA, u better watch out for that.

Ashton prefers to sleep on sideway. there's once when i walked into the room and realised he's sleepin on his tummy... scary manzzz... but lucky thing is tat he knows to put his head sideway so he can breathe.

Michelle

I got a positioner from the playpen last night, playpen c/w with free mattress and positioner.
When I place my gal on positioner,she look very funny, she dont like it and scream coz no space for her to roll & roll.
I think u dont need to get, its for newborn upto 6 mths only.

hi EA,
yes, indeed scary.
both u n hubby must b tense up when u see this happen. hv 2b xtra careful liao. no joke leh.

michk,
thks for ensuring abt traz's info.

sprindance,
JK co-operation not always happening hor.
u din c me struggling or wrestling with him @home. heehee!

JM,
Ashton 6mth liao, ha! we hv AI GUO 6mth le. whew! hope everythings will turn beta.

cherryteq,
oh no, u saw me? or u recognize JK?
i saw 4 adults n 2 bb standing n chit chatting, not sure is tat u?
aiyoh, next time go out must open eyes big big...if c bb similar "age" must b more SI WEN... aldy no image + unglam of me can't show CHU RU of me. wahahahahaha!

Dbaby: ur little hair cant be as little as my gal

EE: thanks.. will consider

Next Friday meeting: tentatively is becos its hari raya.. heard my office will close.. will confirm again.. u all beta meet up with ur schedule first..

Cindy: hello.. beta loh.. if not I will not be in forum..hahah..everytime I see ur blog with ur gal like so fun!!! Haiz.. so many prezzies too!!

EA , being a mummy is not an easy task .
from day 1 since i am preggy i hv been worrying abt the baby . now that he can flip , we also hv to worry abt them being suffocated etc etc.
i think next time when they can eat , we will worry abt them choking . not easy ...
we can only pray hard , they can grow up without any hitches and major illnesses .

hehe .. i tink we all become very paranoid :p Me also like that, pregnant worry no bb movement, give birth worry pain, bb come out worry suffocate, worry SIDS, now flip worry fall off bed, sick worry is it not flu so simple .. hiaz !!

EA,
tat all mummies fear.
guess these few nights, u n hubby must take turns to awake n check on bb.
did u consult ur pd wat cause the coldness?
as wat other mummies suggest, try positioner n remove pillows, soft toys n other unnecessary items.

caicai n coolD,
ya lor, from the day i knw i m preg (suppose 2b pap smear test) start worry liao.
in facts, endless worries.
that motherhood.

MichK,
Ooops...ya hor...next fri only 12th! I dun mind 12th but issit Hari Raya? Public hol? If it is...then 11th better?

JM,
KKK...if I'm v free over there, then no prob organising BP...hehhehe

Kelley,
Good to hear that u r better! Aiyo...on my blog...I only write all the "fun" things we do mah...i never blog about her crying only...aahahahaha! But she's a really lucky girl, always getting pressies!

Gene
At least your gal know that shes hungry and eat her cereal my boy when see us eating at the dining table he will be juz mere KPO wan to grab the plate but give him his milk after that, hes not interested.

I have tried the Miramar Jap buffet with my colleagues a few times too

Gene / Kris
Another suggestion for Jap buffet is the Teppanyaki Jap Buffet at Goodwood Park Hotel. You gals interested? Maybe we can go this Sat. :p

Cool Daughter / Michelle
My boy also dunnoe how to flip back will scream for help after hes tired of being on tummy.

Augleo
Wrestling with JK at home? Must be a funny scene BTW, now that hes so heavy, how you manage to carry him around on your arms and bath him? Now mine only 7plus Kg I already find tired after carry for 5minutes.

Mummies, what temperature is consider fever for bb? Its different from adults right?

My girl seems abit hot leh..but when measured, its about 37.5 degrees. Worried

Maybe she teething? haiz...

She will be going for her 3rd 6-in-1 jab this sat. If sick, is it cannot take jab?

Now is really peak period for me. Seldom got time to read or post thread. Wow, time flies and our babies r reaching 6mths. My boy still doesn't know how to flip back or sit independently. Just had his first taste of rice cereal 2 days ago and he loves it! Wonder if it's because he's sick of his milk.

Anyway, just to share with u a pic of my boy :)

1001326.jpg

Hi SpringDance,
Can can, we can go lunch together anytime. Ur work place near to China Sq, cos I think I shld know how to go China Sq? My navigation a bit poor one, hahaha. But I cannot access the thread during office hr liao, so guess got to arrange b4 hand. Me quite flexible, so u can let me know when u free.

Augleo, me & my colleague actually very excited when we saw the bbs. I was the one in black top, beige shirt & yah long hair. Nvm, hopefully I will be able to join u gals for ur next outing.

darbebe,
If your gal normal temperature is usually quite high then maybe no need to b alarm. However, to I think to play safe, it's still better to bring her to see doc. My boy's normal temperature is around 36.7 degree. So if he reaches 37.5degree, I would bring him to see doc.

Re: Baby's flipping
I bought the babysafe sleep positioner for my boy but it's quite useless as he still flips over. So we always take turns to check him at night. Although he can't flip back yet, he can still turn his head to one side to breathe. But he will make noise if he stays in that position too long as he's not used to sleeping on his tummy. We also make sure there's no pillow, blanket, etc. around him to prevent suffocation.

Btw, how much milk or cereal must our babies take by now? I'm quite concerned over my boy's growth. He's only taking 150ml (5oz) every 4 hours and sometimes can't even finish. According to the FM tin, he should be taking around 210ml (7oz). He's not as chubby as b4. He's around 8kg @ his 5th month. Just afraid that his weight will drop. Will injection cause baby to lose appetite?

fransea,
your boy n keira same now, she drink 150ml every 4hrs and only 5times aday. She has been on this for more than 1 month now.
But she only 5mths 1 week.
my MIL said NO to increasing, said no good for baby if the intestine become big! dunno where she get this infor from.
btw, she still throwing up milk somtimes. like tau hua (beancurd) my mum said the milk not fully digested.
Now dunno whether shld bring her go see PD again on this.

fransea , my pd told me milk tin instructions are useless ,coz milk co wants to earn $$$
hehehe

my son is a milk monster, he wants milk evy 3hrs , sometimes 2 hr , he will cry.after each 150ml , he will cry for more .

hv not yet start him on his cereals . since ur Ferrell aredi started , maybe he is full . dun worry lor . as long as he nvr pukes , or he is gaining wt , shd be fine ...

micK , ur mil's thinking sama wif my parents . they say they rather wake up at nite to gv more feeds , than to stuff baby wif lotsa of milk in one go , they say intestine will b stretched ???!!nxt time , he drinks lagi more and not healthy

Hi Michelle,
My boy throws up milk oso & we brought him to a pd. True enough, the pd oso said it's becos the milk not fully digested. Ur mum sure knows a lot. But for my boy, the pd said not anything serious, cos when the milk mixes with the gastric juice which is acidic, will be lumpy lumpy. My boy got milk reflux btw.

Cheeryteq
Ya, I love Ikoi. Value for money!

Sleep on Tummy
My bb actually prefers to sleep on her tummy leh. In fact, as sson as I put her on her bed, she'll start flipping this way and that already. But as long as they're able to face sideway, and not bury their face in the mattress, I think that's fine. I mean, bb also have their preferences on how they wanna sleep mah. Make sure that you remove any pillows or blankets away from their faces. So far, if my bb can't manage to flip back, she'll cry for help.

Caicai/ Cool daughter/ Augleo
Endless worry one. Like my mum said lor, she worry until the day I get married. Then now worry about her granddaughter. Hahah..

Cindy
Wei, you wish Michelle only meh? My bday on 10th leh. Next wednesday. So you know what to do hor..

Springdance
The Goodwood Park one v expensive right? Once I went with hubby for dinner. The bill came up to be $200+ leh. Well, that's when we JUST started dating that time.

Darbebe
I think bb considered fever when the temperature taken from arm pit is >37.2 degrees. If got fever, cannot take jab leh. You better monitor first. Now perhaps you can give ur bb some paracetamol and feed more water to bring down the temperature.

Fransea
Your boy's eyes very huge leh! So cute!!
8kg at 5 months is ok I think. Mine's only 7kg at 28 weeks. I read that bb should double birth weight at 3-4 months and triple birth weight at 1 year. So do your calculations. It should be fine la. Bb too heavy also difficult to carry mah.

Gene...
Ok...i will also wish u on wed! wah...so many bdays to remember...better start listing down all mommies' b'days already...hehehe

cindy,
no lah, mine oct 17

snowflakes,
my mum is a certified midwife, she has been a nurse for 30+ years liao

gene,
ok, next wed rite ?? happi early bday !!

Cindy/ Michelle
Hee, thanks. But don't care, must wish me again on Wed. I'm looking forward to it coz it's the first time I'm celebrating my bday with bb. We can cut the cake together!

augleo,

ya...u were right..but those were the first few parts of the story...last part= we changed the travelling date to end Nov....

So..i can join u pple liao..

sorry for the confusion caused.

yeah...my baby temperature taken this morning was 37.0. phew!

Fransea, ur bb eyes are big and beautiful. so cute. Inherited 1 har?

Err..can i ask if i wanted to make apple puree, do i need to steam the apple first? or I can just put inside the blender? She's taking her 6-in-1 and the pneu jabs tomorrow. So thought of making sth to 'reward' her.

gene, springdance, cherryteq,
wanna go ikoi next sat for lunch?

any other mummies wanna join? got to make reservation eali.

cindy,
my bdae is on 6 feb, u remember to wish me ah, haha.