(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

michele,
i remembered that your EDD was near national day right? hee, still more than a month to go ... any luck on your maid issue? your old one is gone, and you're waiting for the new one?

min,
i just finished watching my robot jap drama on mysoju over the weekend. immediately after i finished, i felt a bit "lost", didn't know what to do. hahaa.

Congrats, Mrs Lai....I still own u $$$, right...oh dear...now then realise....hope u dun hang pig head on my door..anyway, try to rest as much as possible now....

Michele, usually 2nd baby comes earlier...dun be like my stupid hubby...still ask me go supper when my waterbag burst....he thought would be another 12 hours labour...I reached hospital within an hour & alr dilated 7cm...

s/w
i don't fancy jap/Kor drama.. still prefer HK. but soju very slow. so i finish most of the popular ones.. also very 'lost'.. nothing to look for at night

Dphotofolio is doing a fun raising for Little Charmaine’s.

Check the Business Thread if you are interested.

Special Photography Package (Limited Slot Only) - $68
~ 30mins Session
~ 4 x 4R photo print
~ return selected photo only in DVD

allo mummies, thanks for the well-wishes.

Baby Valentino is doing fine so far and the confinement lady is amazing. well worth the extra $$ i have to pay over the standard rates. thankfully the CL arrived last nite, i was going into bits already - finally had dinner close to 10pm after settling baby's feed and V's sleeping time. CL arrived close to 11pm ( was supposed to be this morning) and set to work liao. Breastfed Valentino at 1am and 5am, and both times he mega pooped (super reassuring to me since he seemed a little dehydrated earlier no poop no pee) and the CL helped with the cleaning and putting Valentino to the breasts (i completely forgot how to BF liao). she also helped to massage my breasts which was rock hard from engorgement, so Valentino had an easier time at bf-ing.

The C-section was surprisingly uneventful. I guess having gone through once, I was more mentally and emotionally prepared this time. However, this time i wasn't sleepy at all, and while I could feel some pressure on the tummy (no, cannot feel any pulling or digging sensation), I was chit chatting with the hubby, the nurses and the doctors :p i did asked for more sleepy dosage, they gave, but I was still so wide awake at the end of it. the medicine only took effect after I was wheeled back to the room. so for the first time, I experienced the giddiness again which i experienced while being preggy so I puked quite a bit. my own fault, i shouldn't have asked for the sleepy medication! anyway by the 6th hour, I got fedup, and i secretly drank a cup of milo (thristy and hungry) and the stupid hubby told them i had a few sips and the nurses kicked up a bucket. i just pretended to sleep. later i finally had some food (porridge - 24 hours after i checked in) i ate almost everything. but the subsequently meals were like 1/4 to 1/2 eaten - not much appetite.

so that's my story lah for baby valentino - and we haven't decided what to named him yet. the chinese name we more or less decided, only the ang moh name =)

pretty_bunnie, how much are you paying the confinement lady?

baby V came on schedule? or earlier?

take good care and have a good rest! at least u have some help... now i'm wondering how i'm goin to cope during my confinement!

Mrs Lai,
good to hear from u again.
enjoy the confinement food and ur maternity leave

michele: $2,300 (excluding ang pows).

Valentino came earlier at 37 weeks 2 days. cuz my gynae going on conference later and 1) I didn't want to risk having labour while he is away 2) kena operated on stand in gynae which I have no clue about what they are like - ok call me fussypot :p

u didn't engage a CL? if not get your mum or MIL to help ... at least now i have an additional pair of hands to help when i need to deal with Vanessa.

rina and augleo: thanks ... but not quite enjoying maternity leave ... have to report to office some stuff still =)

pretty_bunnie, no leh... no confinement lady for me... and no help either. my parents and mil all busy... C hasn't really taken to the maid yet too so i still have to do everything for her.

bunniette,
good to hear from you! is vanessa taking to her little brother well?

michele,
i'm not planning on any confinement help too. just banking on the fact that kaizer will be going to school for the entire day, so i'll be free to take care of bb #2 the entire day. only hassle that i can foresee will be between 6pm-9pm daily when i have to take care of both together. but husband will be there to help, so i think the arrangement should be alright. your situation's a bit tricky since claire is most likely going to be around you the entire day .. i guess you'll just have to hope that the new maid is able to care for claire's needs well enough during the initial months after baby #2 is born.

milkbags,
need to ask for recommendations from mummies who utilized milkbags for your EBM. i used to use gerber milkbags for freezing my EBM when i went for trips, but am thinking to switch to lasinoh for #2, since it's slightly cheaper than gerber. any of you used lasinoh before? is it good? or do you have recommendations for other brands of milkbags? day to day usage, i'll be sticking to avent milk bottles to store EBM, but will have to buy lots of new ones since i've already threw away the entire stash that kaizer used due to wear and tear.

Mrs Lai,

glad your confinement lady came. But since your's was scheduled for 20th, how come she didn't just come "on time" (like on the day you discharge)? Is she from m'sia? Does she "make use" of your maid? Some CLs won't work unless there's maid!

Mich,
I know you have your reasons lah and you can do what you set your mind to... but for me, IF I were in your situation, I'll definitely get a CL...unless maid can help you with #2 so with #1 you're just the erm "milkbar" (to quote from a mummy here). You can still deal with Claire in the day and leave the maid to handle #2 needs like changing diaper and stuff.

I don't know lah...all I think is, in the first few months, it probably doesn't matter much who changes the diapers.

s/w,
Ya, it's good that Kaizer can still be taken of full day.
It's good your HB can be home early to help (he'll probably be the one picking Kaizer up from sch anyway, right?) AND weekend you can still SOS your parents.
Plus, you're young and energetic. haha. You should just plan for #3! *grin*

D: we wasn't sure if I would be discharged on time ... so it's an iffy issue ... we tot Wed morning shd be ok since i was banking on staying 1 more nite like with V, meaning would get discharge on wed instead. Ya she's from M'sia - we told her wed morning to come in ... and good that she arrived early in Singapore, intending to stay one nite with her relatives first .. but i beg her to come that nite lor ... cuz i cannot tahan everything with 2 super painful breasts! she's teaching my maid how to clean and cook ... so no she's not abusing the maid hehehe ... good thing also the CL can speak english so can communicate well.

S/w: ya, thankfully V is taking to her didi well. my maid tried to tell her to say good morning to the didi but i told her not to say such things ... so even if she wakes up and I'm bf-ing didi, i'll just greet her and ask for her kisses and hugs ... then she goes off to bom bom and get ready for school ... i dun ask her to do anything for didi unless she wants to or shows him interest ...

i've not change any diapers for him yet, but it's ok, i'lll have plenty of time to do it once the CL is gone, so now it's just "me" time to recuperate as well. i find it more exhausting having to juggle Vanessa as well, so i welcome the help ... good thing also that V has taken to the #2 maid so it's now routine for her to follow the maid after she finishes her morning milk ... the maid will then bath her, change her and get her to eat her breakfast. the hubby then drives her to CC then goes to work. the arrangement for nite is still iffy, not sure if she will go back to my mum's place after CC then my hubby pick her up after work. I am trying to psycho my hubby he shd really just take bus to work and I can do all the ferrying :p

Mrs Lai,

that's after your CL leaves, right? I don't think you wanna do all the ferrying now...the wounds still hurt?

CL from Johor? Good thing can speak English.

Not that I have any reason to remember such things, but my friend's CL was apparently good but speaks only Mandarin (and most probably dialect). Friend doesn't have a maid and CL didn't mind and helped out with floors and toilets as well! I thought that was fantastic.
Plus her cooking was good.

Ya, I wouldn't rush to change any diapers either! haha.

Glad to see you online more now... I remember when J was young, I could be online quite a bit and learnt how to type one-handed.

Good that V is adjusting well...

hello Bunnie!

So good to know that Van is taking so well to Didi! She will make a great BIG SISTER!

Your CL sounds really good! Do you know if she has any assignmnents end Jul and early Nov? I've got 2 frens who are popping then and they are looking for one.

hey mrs lai!
good to hear from you and know that you, valentino and baby V are doing well!

btw, i've used lansinoh milk bags before and i thot they were quite good. i bot fr the overseas spree tho. it's better than this other brand i used to use - duno is it gerber or what - wh was quite expensive. and oh juz to share with u - 1 of my colleagues used ziploc bags instead of the milkbags to store her breast milk! i almost fainted when i saw her in action, but she said it's ok.

Hope everyone's coping well with the todds and some newborns! Wow, looks like I've missed out on some good news here.

Mrs Lai,
Congrats!! Looks like we won't be able to meet now that you've started maternity leave and I'm due back at work in 2 weeks' time. Glad to hear you're getting adequate rest. Enjoy motherhood!

Augleo,
Read about your good news. Congrats! I'm very slow, when are you due?

S/W,
Haven't seen you and K around for a long time, though I'm always at Dover now. How are you coping with the pregnancy?

Michele,
You're next right? Take care!

Dlim,
You're already back at work? Wow that's very fast. Hope Jayden has fully recovered now. I understand it must have been a terrible time, with meimei falling sick as well. The same thing also happened to me. Matt was sick and passed on to meimei. When I brought her to the pd, he remarked that the baby is only 2 months plus and she's already sick? Made me feel very sad for her. Now Matt is again sick and coughing, I'm hoping she can survive the 'attack' this time...

For the rest of the preggie mummies,
do enjoy the pregnancy as much as you can before welcoming another bundle of joy! Take care!

d,
my husband thinks that we should seriously stop at 2. i've mixed feelings abt this though, cos if baby #2 turns out to be easy to handle, and i continue to stay on at this pro-family workplace, i will definitely be open to getting more kids. i'm not that "young and energetic" during this pregnancy lah. for my previous pregnancy, i was cycling regularly in the 2nd trimester and taking night classes throughout. for this pregnancy, zero exercise. i don't climb up stairs anymore. and last friday when i went bowling, i was so extremely tired after only one game. played three games in the end, but points were so low - 30 plus only for game 2 and game 3!

blueroti,
i shall order a pack of lasinoh milk bags from drugstore then. thanks! i'm trying to visualize your colleague's ziplog bag... hopefully they didn't burst/leak on her before.

cherryteq,
i'm still around in dover, but yah don't get to see you and your family much nowadays. which block is your mum getting by the way? mine's 28D and i have no idea when the keys are arriving.

michele,
have you decided on your boy's name? my MIL suggested over the weekend that we could call baby #2 "kai xuan". it was one of the few unisex names she could think of ... but i'm not too keen on the name cos i don't really want something that starts with K. plus the name isn't directly translatable into an english name like kaizer's curernt name.

s/w, not leh... not really. chase? corwin? can't really make up my mind - unlike when I had C, we decided on her name almost immediately when we knew the gender... might have been easier for me to have a gal again.. i'd call the gal 'cate' - keke... so hopefully my #3 will be a gal. i doubt i will stop at 2 but who knows, maybe 2 is all God is giving me! :p

s/w,
not that you're not young, it's just that #1 drains your energy. My mum will be staying at 28B. No letter yet still. 28D is not ready like the rest of the blocks. It's still not painted on the outside.

cindy: i know she's booked till October but I am not sure for Nov. I'll check for you. Apparently I was lucky cuz someone booked her for the same slot earlier than me (and I tot i was KS already) but they tot she was exp so they dropped her in the end. MY GAIN .... i must really thank God!

Sandwich: kai xuan is nice ... Valentino's chinese name should be kai en, just that we really cannot decide the ang moh name :p nothing really comes to mind and hubby is proscratinating on the few choices I gave him :p

Cherry: ya too bad :p

anyway mummies to be again, i sorted out some of V's clothes and I have some gal gal clothes to give away ... so if urs a gal just PM me ok, I'll save for you ... else I donate to Salvation Army liao.

s/w,

I'm sure you'll enjoy as many kids as you can have.
One step at a time. Heh, tell me how you feel when you hit 30. Then tell me again at 38. I bet it's a whole world of difference because that's what people tell me.

What is Kaizer's chinese name?

s/w
i tot you are expecting a girl when see the name "kai Xuan".. sounds bit girlish to me. what Kaizer chinese name?

Bunnie
Kai en sounds good!

hi sandwich
i was really quite stunned when my colleague juz poured her milk into the ziploc bags. she has 3 kids and she said she did the same for her other kids so i guess it's ok?

btw mummies
Taka having additional 10% disc again till sunday. pigeon stuff at 20% disc - in case anyone needs to get anything. but pretty crowded when i was there y'day.

d,
nope, don't have. romanized name is very short. but appended by three chinese characters lah. what's jesse's full name?

it's friday!!!! i plan to deliver kaizer to my mum's place after dinner tonight, then use the weekend to read a book + watch a jap drama on mysoju. i've got the book already, but haven't decided which to watch though, haha. are you still overseas? what do you plan to do over the weekend?

s/w
yes, still away. will be back tmr and going straight to my niece's bday party. Sunday will be church, housekeeping and stocking up the fridge.

Jesse Oh Xin An

D, dun need to quarantine urself for 7 days ah?

yeah, TGIF! hb & i might go and watch transformers tomorrow if he feels better... otherwise we'll just stay home and sleep!

caicai: we were deciding between wei3 en1 and kai3 en1 but he's such a smiley baby, so it would most probably be kai3 en1 since I hope he will always be so smiley and happy!

bunnie...
thanks for helping me ask! u sound like you are doing well!!

I prefer Kai En To Wei En. Quite similar to Cait's...Kai Lin.

S/w...
Seems like we got the chinese names for our kids by translating! and same as K, Cait's name on the BC is just her English name.

D...
I like J's chinese name!

Cindy,

thanks. my hb thought of it...out of our limited Chinese "vocab".
At least we know he has no excuse (not to know how to write it!)

I didn't know can just put English name w/o Chinese.

Jesse Chinese name is not "transliterated" but if we we thought very hard about it cos we hope to use the same "xin" for any future children...if ever.

Mich,
err...I think Malaysia only has 112 (reported) cases in the WHOLE country while we already have 365 - much MUCH smaller land area, if I might add.

Anyway, no lah...probably the "same probability" of getting here as over there.

Cndy: asked liao ... she say nov cannot cuz her son getting married in Dec.

D: assuming they have caught, diagnosed all the H1n1 cases and are reporting it.