(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

ya. autum. only paracetomol.
its easier to bring fever down, cause lots of blood vessels there compared to oral medicine.
my sil very funny. i ask her to buy, she saw the bullet so big then asked me sure or not? for baby? haha!

autum/mickey,
photo-editing is only for erasing or adding things in photos, but if photo is blur there is nothing tt can be done on photoshop.

Audrey, Autum: My camera also has the anti-shake function. I can also adjust the ISO and shutter speed. This is why I don't understand.. It has all the functions a baby-friendly cam shd have, but how come the pics so bad?? Esp the indoor pics really blur and dark! Double whammy. User problem?

Michelle: Which website are u tempting Audrey with? Tempt me leh..
Kekeke...

so tired. i go sleep first. tomorrow still need to work.
thanks everyone. i know what to do. and i am going to monitor for a while. weekend coming liao, i can call my shots 100%.

lets see

i know if i bring to dr ong, she also won't give antibiotic.s
all bcos of mr lai. he is not around. i was so reluctant to go dr ong there cause very far and opening hours is so short.

autum...
i dun use the continous also..erm..i mean...i just keep clicking shot after shot lor.

michelle....
i bot the sony VC with camera function...lite and convenient lor. PIcture quality not too bad...if develop 4r size..still alright. But yeah...hubby used to bother me about the pics not turning out well etc...dan say i so silly..wasting battery....etc. After that i dun take...dan he ask me why..i tell him...dan now he diam a bit more.

re: antibiotics...
actually..there are diff school of tots.
MOst flu etc...are caused by viruses.
anti-biotics are used to treat infections that are cause by BACTERIA.
ANd bacteria also have gram positive...gram negative kind. SO diff antibiotic treat either +ve or/both -ve kind.
AFter 2 weeks...see dr...dan start antibiotics...dan tink the antibiotics working...not true..coz viral infections take about the same timing to heal/resolve.

And erm...take antibiotics...maybe take 10 days to be okie...dun take...mayb take 12-14 days to get okie...so few days diff..really worth to take a not?

and the taking too much antibiotics thingy. When you take too much..and you dun finish the course of it..or the course is not strong enuf to kill the bacteria...the bacteria may gain reisitance aginst this antibiotic the next time round..and it will not work as well if it happens again. After many many antibiotics/prolonged use, high risk of gaining resistance..and some people..end up being resistant to one of the strong of all ab...vancomycin.

anyway..long story short..unless very bad...dan use.

just to post an info from mash,

tian's category is MILD fever oni? alamak.
think me and nanny too kancheong liao.
1453012.jpg

Autum: It started 2 days after she took her 4th (last) dosage of Pn jab. My MIL was not well and was on duty to jagar the maid with her. We think Anna caught the virus from her while her immunity is still low. Yah, she started with a bit of dry cough, then the phlegm came, then wet cough, then flu. She only had fever on 2 or 3 occassions throughout this time only, each time with medication and frequents baths, the fever subsided. It's the phlegm that's very stubborn and refuses to go away. Even after her cough was getting better, she still had phlegm - we could hear it in her breathing, and she would have runny nose. And she went on like this for some more than 2 months - at times, she looked like she's recovered, but after a while, it came back. It was very frustrating for us!

audrey. love u
u assured me that my theory is right
and i have a fren who needs to use the strongest antibiotics whenever he has fever , since 18 years old. cause all others not working on him anymore. he always has high fever.
he told me last time, i got a shock cause i seldom take antibiotics.

i scare bb will grow up to be like him. so if possible. i try not to give. so far tian oni kena once, cause nanny din know. gave anti srraightaway after doctos's visit. that ime tian din even fall sick. this time is sick. last time oni allergic to something nia.
wah! con complex.

QQ,
i think it depends on how the baby is feeling also. this last round when EJ got fever, i got kancheong because he looked glazed and whole face like slack and sick.. his temp only 38c but i didn't want to wait, i straight away give bullet.

Previous time i think he also 38+ but he was active and ok. so I just give the oral panadol first.. then only when middle of the night it shoot up higher than i give the bullet. so i feel that as the mummy, we all have instinct also la.. whether our kid suffering or not.. u know what i mean..

voltaren and paracetemol are different meds.

brufen and voltaren belong to NSAIDS.
non-steroidal anti inflammatory drugs. Meaning..it helps to bring down inflammation..but does not contain steriods which will affect a person's immunity.

brufen and paracet...can use together. but do it like 1-2 hours apart.

supposiitory...better absoprtion as compared to the oral route. So it will work better and faster.

Michelle: I see.. Hehehe.. I've combed through the entire OTC website on SB stuff many times.. Kekeke..

Edde: Ok..
You're so unike me. I buy things to stock-up! I see that when you girls buy bb clothes, it's mostly for our bbs to wear at current age, I'm always buying a bigger size, and it never ends..

Lelong lelong... One last pair of scissors!!!

mickey,
the reason why i asked (abt anna) was because last time when EJ was prescribed the antibiotics, he had this barky cough and phelgm.. then at that time he still young (8mths).. so we brought to our PD friend.. then he told us this needs antibiotics.. so we just give. Subsequent times when EJ cough/cold, i just bring to GP, and GP also didn't give antibiotics.. cos I suppose it's just really normal cough/cold..

Thus my conclusion is that the PD could somehow diagnose that it wasn't just a normal cough/cold at that time, and he gave the antibiotics (which worked)..but then again, it could just be a coincidence? i guess we will never know.

QQ: If we detect Anna's body temp is warm, I will bathe her and give paracetamol. I don't really follow the guide. Cos I feel baby only truly suffer when they have fever, if they have flu or cough or other sickness, they are still lively and playful. But when they have fever, I can see from her face she's in pain. So I'll just give the medicine to ease her discomfort. Know what I mean? But I dunno whether this is the right thing to do or not.

Audrey,
i read the description for Voltaren, it also says paracetamol leh?

Ok mummies, i going sleep.. will read tomorrow..night all.

autum,
ws been looking at the sony one before i give birth until now. that time he eyeing at tis model, now discontinued. wahahaha

Autum: You're rite. We'll never know cos I think the standards vary across diff PDs as well. I was quite mad and almost flared up at Dr Low when we finally did an x-ray for Anna and found there was initial indication of an infection. My reaction to him was "hello!!! We have been bringing her to you from the beginning of her sickness til now, how come you didn't prevent the infection?? Have you overlooked this?" This was how I felt abt him then. Good thing I didn't have much chance to see him personally cos my hubby was the one who brought anna to the clinic most of the time. I would have shouted at him.
We were really desperate that time. And have thot of TCM, but we don't know any TCM for babies.

QQ
Har at nite fever go hospital? uncle too gan cheong liao..

my GP ever told me best not to give our bbs too strong medication..cant rem wat she said liao..too fast but she is tryin to say strong medication no good for our bbs..let them recover using milder medications but ya will take longer time.

autumm
chloe same as EJ..so far taken once antibiotics . prescribed by PD...i trust him la..if not necc, he wont give one..last time chloe first time fever shoot till 39, she cry i also cry with her..ended up put supp lor.. i will forever rem

mummies i goin to zz liao ...good nite & take care all mummies & bbs.

QQ...
yeah yeah...
i believe less is best...unless best is more.
nite nite

reason why hubby dun use my cam liao...

1453059.jpg

autum....
see..you buy more ex stuff lah. hehehe...i very butter fingers..+ very forgetful...so scared i would drop it or lose it. Dan this is in pink....so i get it lor.

mickey...
i bot this one also..coz i very low tech..too many buttons hor...i scared....too many functions also i dun know how to use. But i tink even wif anti shake function..best is to keep arms near body...coz i find this is the only tip my hubby says...dat i will follow...coz it affects the quality of the shot..quite significantly in my case leh,...

Me too.. Going to orh orh.. This week chiong to order this, chiong to order that.. Quite tiring.. I hope I won't dream of ordering anything and trying to be on time for the promotion..

Nite nite mums and babes..

michelle...
my best fren 1st son already 3.9 kg at birth...she would be due in oct....her dr said this girl going to be much bigger. Hers was normal delivery. I cannot imagine how this baby is going to exit....

pax,
u there? i was looking at ur milk loaf recipe. one question, u said divide the dough into 3 portions, means can make 3 loaf? or put all in the tin side by side`?

Audrey,

It is the bacteria that becomes antibiotic resistant, not the person. That means, even if someone have not taken a single antibiotic in their entire life, if they suay suay kenna the antibiotic resistant bacteria and their own immune system not enough to fight it means that have to use the last resort of vancomycin.

In the past, docs used to prescribe antibiotics freely. I'm sure we all remember that when young, we seemed to be given antibiotics for any sore throat etc. Nowadays, docs will always said, keep it simple, no antibiotics, we'll see if it clear up on its own. This is because missuse of antibiotics have resulted in all these antibiotic resistant strains of bacteria. You know, it is a bit like we realise that we are damaging the environment and need to pull that, so docs are pulling back antibiotic treatments so that we do not create more of these resistant bacteria. I feel that the younger the doctors, the less likely they are to prescribe antibiotics whereas the older docs just stuck to the old ways. Either that or the really new guys who just set up their clinics will like to give antibiotics so that people get well faster but of course it only works on bacteria and not viral infection. However, viral infection can sometimes happen in concurrent with bacteria infection and also viral infection may progress to bacteria infection.

Autumn,

I think the doc will check the throat to determine whether it is viral or bacterial. If the throat is very raw and red with white spots then more likely to be bacterial.

Michelle,

K looks so grown up!!! She looks so cool with the sunnies. LOL.

mejo,
k do look cute though. benj was saying very tired coz k so scared of him, tears rolling down!
he has to cajole K to smile
today's session not gd
very few nice family pix

most of them, i look so tired, my eyes so tired looking n smile not mega watt enuf. haiz

re: drugstore
the second parcel is here! jus in time for sentosa trip! hee... but i wanna vomit blood! =( the box is super light and the items oni take up 1/3 of the box!!!! stupid drugstore waste our money!!! but then again... hb was saying...drugstore offered free shipping liao leh... so gif u big box is a bonus oso ma... who ask u to redirect to singapore! sigh...

Michelle,

Ah, K is scared of the photographer? Hmm, but these few pics that you show is nice though and K looks so happy in the last one!

Oh, and remember I said that YT is made of steel cuz on the day of the zoo outing, everybody KO upon coming back except for YT who refused to sleep until forced to at 5 pm. But it seemed like she is not so steely after all cuz she KO today. Delayed reaction. LOL.

michelle,
actually right... i think the photographer not very good leh. coz some of the pix with props right (the fur cushion and the stool), the props look much bigger than K herself, which takes away the attention from K. just my 2 cents.

Pink,Michelle,
I also want order the black striped romper for Reyes and the solid black one for myself leh. And also a bag too. Let me know if you all can take in more orders.

QQ,
it sounds like Tian's having viral fever. If persists then bring her to KKH. I didn't know what to do with Reyden the last time he got croup & so just brought him there for them to monitor. Partly also cos I got so stressed from monitoring his temperature at night. I was worried that it'll shoot up if I oversleep. And the fever really went down and didn't go up again.

Tay,
you talking about the electronic drum set ah? Your hubby going with you to Sentosa, driving? I can pass you on Sat.

Joelle,
ok, will get the drugstore stuff from you on Sat but I think I have not tt you the $$. :p Will give you on Sat as well.

edde,
Those 'special' shampoos are S$15-25 lidat. Our regular kind, S$8 is 1 big bottle liaoz! :p

re: Zoophonics
Yar, i heard its a good school to build the kids foundation in the english language but the schools are located far~~ away from me.

bbmouse,
I tink u can set up a garage sale before u move to ur new place. Dun clutter ur new home with old goods lar, pian yi us here and lelong to us cheap, cheap.

blur,
Chloe aso like to on and off the TV ah?? Lett also obsessed with it last time. Now her new obsession is the power points!! Veri tiring to always run after her.

Pink,
Wai Po do have her 'magic' touch. At my hse aso sama sama, when my mum is here, the kids automatically become super guai and crowd around her. No screaming and shouting...

QQ,
Tian beta today?? Rashes appears on certain bb coz of medication. It occured on 3L. Juz pump alot of water into Tian. 'Detox'!

re: Camera
Any spree coming up since it seems mummies are already discussing??

re: Antibotics for kids
I tink until now, lavonne was never given anti from my GP (but she was last sick 1-2yrs ago??).

Neither was lucius or lett when they were down with some veri bad flu virus in feb/march which lasted for nearly 2 weeks. Her reason was that the children's body will be able to fight against the virus. But it needs time so 'assistant' should be avoided.

re: supp for fever
Dunno why nowadays it is issued so easily and freely. I have never used it on the kids but i colligs and frens who have and always promote the effectiveness.

When i ask for it from my GP, she always says to take the regular panadol 1st and see wads the outcome. Unless temperature persist, go to her and she will issue the supp. But it never happen. The profit margin of supp is lower then the regular panadol isit?? hmm....