(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

star
thanks for the welcome
hee hee....
it was fun! the first thing we said when we arrived was :WA! Singapore so hot!
they announced on the flight that it was 33 degrees celsius yesterday. we almost fainted!

everybody enjoyed him/herself. everything went well. hee hee... of course i wish i had hands to buy more stuff, but i would not change anything about the trip

LSS? lucky i missed it. my hubby already fainting from the bags at home

SQ: First thing I see when I finished where I left off last nite is your post. So nice. Welcome back!!
We've been talking abt LSS for the past 2 weeks you were away! Hahaha.. You're in time to catch it still..

Yvonne: Anna uses Cetaphil for shower and CB shampoo and conditioner for hair. I think shd be safe lah. I will get auntie to start her slowly.. Maybe she will like it?

Autum: Did I say it was your MIL? Paiseh. I meant your mum. I think she's right abt the movement since so many mums here can affirmed to it. What I heard was somewhat different. They say if the tummy is pointed, then boy, if rounded, then girl. BUt this I feel is not really accurate.

Huignee, Michelle: Ok..

Carol, Huajing: You wanna go ahead with 20% discount?

Courier: Anyone has any good recommendations? Sal and HJ would like to arrange for courier to send the LSS to them. The uncle I asked is charging $15. I think a bit ex. Got good lobang pls let me know.

Michelle, Linda, Irin, Joelle
you gals not kapo, the reason why i posted is to ask opinion. i dun want myself to seem very siao qi over small trivial issues but sometimes just feel that it doesnt seem right.

Linda
think u are right. i need to tell Rina to listen to aunt's instruction.

once, they see her seems a bit blur on the road while pushing the pram, they quickly tell her must watch the cars while crossing. accordingly to marisa, she replied that There are a lot of cars in Philippines and just zoom across.

she knew how to on the TV because i taught her how to on Hi-Five for Leia. so one day when i was back, i was a bit shocked to see her watching tv herself. On the other hand, hubby said since she has nothing to do, or has done her chores, then let her be lor.

JOelle
ya my mum said my waipo's maid will only watch TV when they ask her to. usually she just keep finding things to do, but this kind in the end also invite a malay neighbour into the house, faintz. they cant change her bcos she is soo good in taking care of my waipo.

Huignee
condolence to you and family.

haha mickey
you and star tell me about the same thing: LSS.
jialat, i really buy things like crazy until you all tell me about bags oni

i still have two bags which i bought in a spree. the first spree lagi heartache, cos the 30% discount started only ONE day AFTER i placed my order. sian.... so i've mixed feelings about lesportsac everytime i think of the discount i missed

pink
you went through so much work to select a maid and she still land up lidat? haiz. but i think your maid is the seriously jialat cannot make it type. sorry for being so blunt. but there are certain things which can be changed (eg. wipe table not clean etc), and certain behaviours that are difficult to change (like not being zi3 dong3 about knowing her position in the family). if i were you, i would change her (i know easier said than done, and there's no guarantee that the next one will be better lah). but i have no patience to teach her even such basic things. lucky you are good natured

HG,
I tink lavonne is a vainpot by nature. Dunno who she learn from though since i am still a tomboy. :p

michelle,
kekeke.. I know its super long but i juz cant restrict from kaypoh-ing. Especially when i read all the negative stuff. LOL.

Star,
We settled for white+jeans for family. Simple and easy. But i tink i will look fat coz white adds bulk. :p

SQ,
Welcome back to the tropics!! So, how much did u pay for excess luggage??

Pink: Is this the first time your maid works overseas? How come she's so buay zi-dong? Or maybe she really thinks Marisa is also a maid (maybe even thinks she's here to replace Marisa), and so if Marisa can do certain things, then she is able to follow-suit? You shd set the records straight for her.

linda!

white + jeans is my favourite too! it won't add that much bulk, esp if the photographer is good. it would look very neat! the best portrait which i have after all the photoshoots for the past years is the one in white + jeans. colored can be v cluttered if we don't coordinate properly

no excess baggage la. no hands to carry. my hubby is the jialat one. he went with half a bag, came back with 2.

me and YE shared one bag and came back with the same bag. that's why i said i wish i had more shopping. but i ate like crazy. takoyaki EVERYday and a few times a day. fried chix cutlet. ice bottled coffee. i'm the one who eats like crazy cos i dun wanna worry about excess baggage. my hubby is the shopping king

Welcome back SQ.

Pink, my agent also said dont allow maid to watch TV. If she nothing to do, maybe buy some cook books for her to read.

Yr maid seems to be very daring. Be careful. Maid being maid, sometimes, they will behave differently when their boss not around.

SQ
ya thats why im having headache, should change maid or still can teach?

mickey
yes her first time in overseas but she doesnt seem afraid, can sing loudly in my car :p maybe i was friendly in the beginning.
i also felt tat maybe she follow suit, and she may feel redundant when marisa is still around helping out.
err..but then again, aunt said she fell asleep when leia was taking nap...err..for 3 hrs leh :p

these few days im more stern with her, no more joking with her, can see her face like sian sian.
later i will talk to her again when i drive her over.

pink,
I seem to be long winded liaoz. But when it comes to maid + kid, i am more concern.

Chinese has a saying "Xian Xiao Ren, Hou Jun Zhi" which is wad i apply to all my maids. I dun abuse them but i set the ground rules, make it look tough in the beginning and only when i am comfortable and trust the maid do i start to lax on the rules.

Maid + TV are no nos. I only allow the maid to watch TV only when we are watching and of coz provided that her chores are completed. But she knows that she is not to sit on the sofa. Simple body language, etiquette are at times enough to send the signal. From what i read, either ur maid is too young or she is very lax. Til now, i will still 'remind' my maid that she is not to watch TV while the entire family is out. Whether she does it or not, i do not know. But at least she gets the message that she is not to do so.

What you hb said is true. But juz imagine that in order for Rina to catch her favourite serial/cartoon, what she will resort to make Leia sleep/nap or worse, what Rina will not do and therefore leia goes hungry, tired or uncleaned. (I always tink too much).

CK!
Thanks for the tips about bringing moisturiser for bb. YE's face was so dry even though we applied the moisturiser for her, i would not have brought it along if not for your reminder.

and she loves applying her moisturiser. when she was cranky, esp in the trains and she wanted to walk about, i just whipped out her moisturiser and apply for her. then she machiam in a spa session, quietly sit there for me to apply. first time in her life she sat so still! and she refused to let me keep the bottle. so i apply layer after layer till we reach our destination. haha... wat a life saver

SQ: welcome back!

pink: my hb suggest u talk to maid agency. tell them all the problems & get them to talk to the maid. tt's why we r paying the agency to do work rite?

bbmouse: all agree with 20%? let me go confirm the designs esp the barcade

SQ, i think our girls start to get vain.

My girl will allow my mum to tie her hair quietly now, and she will not pull off. Just need to say "mei mei". So vained.

Pink: Then most prob she has misunderstood how working life as a maid in Sing is like if she were to look to Marisa as the "role-model". Aiyooh, to avoid disappointing her further, you need to quickly set the record straight and give her the right expectation.
Also, it's one thing to be friendly and polite with maids, it's another to let her climb all over you. You still need to maintain that you're the employer and she is the maid - she's not here on holiday and you house is not her chalet.

linda
you dun think too much. all mothers are lidat. you very aptly put into words what i want to say to pink, but can't. my language skills cannot make it

pink,
that's why i say certain behaviors can teach. certain can't. when i interview candidates, i always look for the skills vs knowledge. cos knowledge can be easily picked up.

so for maids, i would think that i would be more particular about how she behaves (more difficult to teach), rather than how she does certain chores (teachable)

like my part time maid. my friend and i use her. my friend complains that she's not as clean as should be. for me, i think it's acceptable, plus she truly loves YE. i had two part timers at a time, both are opposites. one does housework v well, but not too keen on YE. the other will come earlier to carry her and play with her, i dun mind if she leaves slightly early or come slightly late. you have to see if she's doing sth which you can accept.

ok, i shall stop commenting on your maid. so kpo. i have no maid, so i have the least right here to tell you what to do. paisei. first thing came back and so kpo liao

Carol
hmm...good idea. i will call agency later.

Linda
ya u reminded me, she even show me tat she switch to this tawianese show which was shown in philippines.
from here can tell tat she didnt hide from me, means she really doesnt know proper beahaviour.

ok sorry for being so long-winded, ladies!

carol

CK,
YE still pulls out her hair clips
but she will give it to me to put on again. then the whole process repeats till i'm so tired
i'm trying to teach her to be mei2 mei3

linda
lavonne's mei2 mei3 pictures i also wanna see! aiyo, i think i will tear when i see YE do that. already i kept commenting that she's like a big gal now. i can't imagine sobbing like crazy when i have to marry her off

pink,
Choose a good time to talk to Rina. Give an hour of unrushed timing where Leia is napping or taken cared of. Ensure both u and Rina can sit down and not be disturbed. Make it a to and fro session where u can point out where she gone wrong and let her highlight her problems or issues as well. (I used to do this either on sat afternoon or late nights where everybody is in bed)

U can even note down the things u want to point out 1st so that u dun forget it. I will write down the points and give a copy to the maid while we go through it together. She can take notes or make remarks on it. In a way, she cant say she forget since she has a list of items with her to remind her.

The initial stage with a new maid is always difficult but once u set the maid the right way, the future will be alot easier. Remember, not all maids are TRAINED nor have they WORKED before regardless of what the agency says. And some are juz like little children themselves. So, treat them like ur sister and guide with a iron hand.

Sorry mummies coz i am spamming liaoz. :p

pink
how come she doesn't know what is the right behaviour? i thought they have the two weeks training or sth at agencies and they will teach them all that?

i've seen how pple stick them on and looks v nice. but i dunno how to stick. just like i dunno how to use liquid eyeliner.

i know star does the liquid eyeliner v well

SQ,
I tink ur language is beta than mine. Juz that u dun have the time and not as kaypoh as me. kekeke...

I tink i will be celebrating the day lavonne gets married. It will be like "Ya hoo! My 'product' is sold!" LOL.

YE sounds like she knows how to enjoy. The only time i can get lavonne to 'jing xia lai' is when we clean her ears. She will get 'high' ~~

pink,
I tink i am the lor sor one here. Paiseh, paiseh.

Gg to meeting liaoz. Can give the maid posts a rest. LOL

linda
i like your mentality. i think if mothers have that mentality, there will be less DIL and MIL rivalry. cos most of the time, the older woman sees the younger one as "stealing" her "product".
i am too emotional. i told my hubby i would love it if YE wants a honeymoon wedding. no ceremony, nothing. so i dun feel so sad

YE also love cleaning her ears! she will sit quietly while my mum cleans. but i dun do it for her. i kept telling myself it will self clean

SQ : Welcome back!!!!

Pink : yes i agree with lInda.. after changing going to be the 4th maid soon.. U need to be strict and stern at first.. den relax on the later part is ok.. now my this maid really driving me crazy.. i almost chase her out of the house on sunday!

SQ,

You just reminded me! YT took a cotton bud and stuck it in her ears herself recently!!! I have completely forgotten about the incident ever since both of us fell sick. I better tell my hb and MIL to keep cotton buds totally out her reach...

SQ: how does ur mom clean YE's ears? dig inside or just outside? i find A's ears quite dirty leh but i dun dare to clean inside

Another discussion/spree on fake lashes..
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/1424643.html?1211249387

Anyone here uses before? Any feedback? IT sounds so easy to put on and the mummies are buying so many pairs! My goodness.

SQ: I also dunno how to apply eyeliner, let alone fake lashes. Think I'll tear til I give up.

Carol: Ok. Got your orders for the 2 bags.

Cleaning Ears: Saw auntie doing it for Anna and she guai guai sat there not moving. I think she enjoys it.

edde.. i also looking at th e kitchen set.. yesterday we went kiddy palace and saw 1 at $22.90 i think .. or $21.90.. den i let hubby see.. den he said that too little.. think buy the toy R us one.. for $79++ more worth it.. cos more pcs.. den i went giant to see the utensils.. its like only $7.90 for 20 pcs of "food, pans, fork, spoons, plate etc"

nana

mejo,
better be careful. nowadays with YE walking around the house, i will hover over her like an eagle. they do dangerous things without bating an eyelid

carol,
she will clean the outside. then dun dare to poke inside, so just loiter at the "outside of the inside"
did i confuse you?

mickey
it's v easy one. just have to master it. just like how you learn to use that eyelash crimper (whatever you call it). after a few tries, v easy liao. or just like how you learn to put on contact lenses (which is history for you now after lasik)

SQ,
welcome back! i was juz thinking of u on sunday ;p

btw, u shld have see pink at BP. Her eyelashes attracted all of us ! kekekekeke

edde/nana,
ok, tonight i go fix up the kitchen set. see whther my k wants to play with it bor.

jaxe,
i send u 4pix on the counter top

SQ: I don't even own an eyeliner! Hahaha.. Never mind.. Now preggie with pimples and dry skin.. Wait til after delivery bhah..

SQ: I used to use La Mer, when it first came out. But stopped. In the beginning can see effects, then that's it. I think I may still have some leftover in the fridge.

mickey
ya lor. but they have the new ones right? did you try those? machiam super powerful. i love their eye creams though

how long can we keep in the fridge? i still have some products in the fridge. dun really dare to use. yet sayang to throw. haiz...... dilemma

SQ: I've only used the La Mer face cream. They gave samples once in a while for the eye creams, hand creams etc.. I never bother. I also don't bother how long I've kept the producst for. Actually, once a product goes into the fridge, I'll say it's cold storage liao. Rarely do I bring them out to use, but I think can still use lah.. Don't sayang.. Maybe don't use on face, use on hands, legs, whatever..

mickey
in simple words: i'm plain lazy
i dun apply anything on my face most of the time. unless i'm meeting people or going out with friends. else if it's just me and hubby and bb, then it's just wash and go.

talking about cold storage, i feel like keeping my thermos in cold storage liao. YE is no longer keen on her porridge, and the finger food i feed her doesn't require thermos. sigh... not utilised for very long leh, so sayang also

QQ
let me know when/if you want my travel cooker. i doubt i'll bring it on a holiday again. YE just wants to eat from my plate instead of her own. so i've given up cooking for her when on a holiday. i'm even thinking of not cooking for her on weekends, but just feed her from my plate to make everybody happy
she's happy cos she takes my food, i'm happy cos i dun need to stand at the stove for hours!

i must be a damn lao ya cook. even bb doesn't want my food

star
i cooked initially. then she kept not wanting to eat them. so in the end, i cooked on certain days oni (and she still doesn't eat). then eventually i packed up the travel cooker before the end of the trip for good. then everybody was happy. me cos i dun have to let her suffer, she cos she can eat my food, hubby cos he can go gai gai earlier and doesn't have to help out.

we just make sure she has her baby food (pigeon bottled/packet kind), or a can of tuna which i mix with my rice. but she got tired of tuna. so i just fed her my rice, fish, tofu, egg. then bread and cheese. once or twice i fed her onigiri until i realised it's so super duper giam!

when i eat ice cream, i let her have the cone (which she ate and kept mama mama and begged me to let her have, and then land up she vomitted out the entire meal which i've painstakingly fed!)