(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

star: i missed tat
night

Astro,
oh ya hor, you got teacher-network! next time u share share info hor.
actually i also worry about the super-achiever schools.. i also scared leh. scared too stressful for my kids.. then become so unhealthy! I just want a good-enough school (no need to be top school).. but again, hard to gauge what is good-enough lor.. hiaz..

starfruit: ok the procedures- $500 entry fee, subsequent yr $24+ for membership. Then you need 2 other members to sign the form... and then wait for approval.

Autum: Will send my kids to a catholic school
My hubby was from catholic high but he doesnt want my son to go there ha ha.. and I was fr IJ but dont know want my girl to go there or not ha ha..

We may send them to Australia la..

starfruit,
My sis also join the hokkien huay kwan and buy a house within 1km of the school she wantsmy nephew to get into.
Ya, entry fee is $500.

Astro,
Mmm, ya i hear the woodgrove primary school kids have lots of worksheets to do as the teachers want to maintain the results. This might make learning to be boring.

hahaha.. star! u are still watching right?? i think the tatooist really buay tahan the he-she leh.. .. he gasped.. and swallowed his savlia..hahaha..
she is really a freak leh.. alamak.. his coy posture.. i feel like puking!

that yogi.. really no brainer to smash that butternut against his head!!

huingee: that is precisely my pt.. when stressed to produce results.. will throw creativity out of the window.. and go for the most efficient method.. most tried and tested.. but not necessarily the most desirable one

haiz.. but singapore is that materialistic .. can't kid myself on that also..

autum: ya. i have the network..but provided they still stay in teaching! :p i dunno how to do this .. but i just hope teng can grow up loving to learn.. like miser
.. that's all i wish for

alamak..my pri sch has merged with 2 other scholld to become 1 no-identity sch liao. and my secondary sch is so elite i refuse to let my kids go there! heh..anyway seth oso not eligible! :p

and was it autum? elite sch students oso speak vulgarities wan leh... jus dat they r the higher class of vulgarities...heh!

my thots... xiao3 shi2 liao2 liao3, da4 wei4 bi4 jia1. so i choose not to think so much. :/

bbmouse
u like the kitchen set? quite small rite? i didnt paste the stickers in case leia doesnt like the set or tear out the stickers.
she has already spoilt her strawberry piano by pouring milk onto it and stepping on it

pax
jo sleeps on mattress rite? im selling my cot away..gotto make space since new maid coming. dun intend to use cot for next bb, should be ok rite?

star
the korean show wif the 2 handsome guys is not out yet, i read from magazine that they are starring for new show...Quan Xiang Yu will be bad guy this time...i lub lub him...(pax, this one i niang niang bu wang, red and sexy lips :p )

joelle,
yea, i know elite school kids also speak vulgarities la.. so sad hor. but guess this is life lor. secondary school will be by the kids' own merits la.. so cannot worry soooooo far!

edde: say liao lo.. friendly war only. why get so uptight and 'leave' forum? i jus feel that we were trying to be sensitive and to defend other mummies who are not speaking up (and that, most certainly, includes u!). but end up we were labelled as quarelsome and oversensitive? and used in ur case as a 'stereotype' to tell pax dat u r bothered by her comment. come back la... everyone speak up liao still frens wan ma... we n autum n bbmouse oso frens ma... come come...

angelic: it means "very capable when young, but may not excel when grown up" something along dat line. hee. in my case i feel, good school poor school... end of the day it's the character, the upbringing fr home, the foundation actually that makes or breaks a person. oso in society, it's ur attitude, ur ren2 yuan2 that talks, not ur grades. of cos i agree good sch produces good skills n values too, but i choose to think it's not everything lo.

autum: i remember my cousin comin back fr pri 1 first week oni scolding vulgarities...sommore at his mum! n he was fr the 'best' western side sch liao...jia lat.

okie going to bed liao. nice chat on schools tonite.. guess we will all start to think more as our kids become older and older!

nite nite mummies.

edde, cheer up!

U gals got read abt this ??
this mummy loves the son so much until she doesnt want him to leave her
so gave him med, put him in wheelchair until his growth affected, the mother JAILED for 5yrs nia !

RE: Schools

Honestly, I felt that ACSI standard is going down... not sure about the primary school but the sec school side is getting a bit jia lat. But if those jia lat students come from the primary school then... Intellectually these students may be good but I think socially and discipline wise, they have really suffered a setback in recent years. When I go there a few years ago, the boys are so charming, will greet you and help you with things etc. Now is a different thing. Students even play a fool by pretending to be their classmates during practical tests. Sigh...

Haha, my old primary school when I joined was notorious among the neighbourhood. I remember seeing as kid people fighting on the ground until they ripped each other clothes off. Then there are rumours of buried baby body in the school and a science teacher who tells us that lime juice is lime water!!! But now the school is a very good school already! So who knows what will happen to the schools in our neighbourhood in six years time?

Having said that, Star, can share info? LOL.

Joelle,

Agreed with you on that point. My younger sis has worse grades than me all the time, din get to NUS also, have problems learning in school and yet, came out to working world with higher pay, in under 3 years got her pay raised to nearly 2X of whatever I'm getting annually when I'm working fulltime. So who's the stupid one? - Me, sigh.

Pax,

Alamak! You just made me realised I haven't had my dinner! I fell asleep while putting YT to sleep and only just woke up a while ago. But if now go and eat sure become big fat pig... I must ren till the morning!

Edde,

It is a horrible thing that I'm suggesting to you but maybe it is worth a try for you? Let Anthea eat while watching TV and/or playing toy? Cuz as a child I've very bad appetite due to Asthma medication and will only eat if fed while watching TV. My auntie fed me till primary six this way. I have to do the same to YT too cuz before I succumb to this method, we actually have to "cart" her around the house to make her eat. Normally of cuz we can always say that the baby dun eat, dun eat lor, dun form bad habits but since YT and Anthea both have horrible milk intake, I guess we have to find the balance between adequate nutrition and forming bad habits...

re: primary school
Aiyoh!! Luckily I wasn't around last night else I'll be soooo stressed. Can't believe that you gals planning so far ahead.

Autum/starfruit,
actually I thought of shifting near my mum's place cos of Rosyth too. But hubby says it's so difficult to get in. Plus we need 2 places in there.

I brought Reyden to the A&E last night cos his fever kept staying at 38-39, didn't come down even after parcetamol or nurofen.

He was diagnosed with Croupe - viral infection of the throat, airway & vocal cord. He looked so sad & uncomfortable, made me feel like crying with him.
But luckily he slept thru after we came back at 3+. No fever, no cough also. And he's still asleep now!
Think he must be tired out.

YY,
read that Teng has some throat infection, must take extra care. The doctor was telling us that the viral infection is an airborne disease, contagious. Think many of the kids there last night were down with it.

pax, u so bad..alys spaming your home made muffins and bread made our saliva dripping. Yday i chanced upon the recipe for steam choc cake & choc fudge so quickly went to NTUC and get all the ingredients. Told hb i wanna try this wkend. If nice then can present as a gift to MIL. heee...wish me gd luck!!

Re: Primary School
Wah piang...so fast toking abt PS liao. Issit too early cos there might b new schools by the time our kids rch 7yrs old. Right now, MOE is building up a PS just besides my block..i think its a combination of Ghim Moh PS + New Town PS. Most likely i will enrol ah bien cos its sooo near. less than 5mins rch sch liao.

Children now in PS hv more CCA thus they will spend alot of time in sch. If enrol in sch that is v far away fr home, then the poor child has to spend time travelling to & fro and end up feeling v tired. Its quite bad for the child.

Share some stories wif all of u.

Scenario 1:
I hv 1 colleague who is a catholic and stays in BB. Her gal studied in CHIJ St Theresa in Telok Blangah..imagine that poor gal has to wake up at 4.30am and leaves hm at 6am. Then comes hm ard 5pm cos of CCA and remedial classes. End of the day, her mind is so tired...and no time to do her homework.

Scenario 2:
Then i hv another colleague who stays in JW. And she wanted to enrol her daughter in Rulang PS(v popular sch in Jurong). So she had to do volunteering work for the sch 2yrs before enrolment. And must achieve at least 48hrs of volunteering work. Volunteering work includes, traffic warrant officer, planting...etc
But doesnt mean she achieves the 48hrs then confirm a plc for her gal. She still has to go thru the usual balloting. Luckily her gal got a plc but heard fr her that there are pple who didnt manage to get a plc in the end after doing so much for the sch. I felt so sad for those pple who didnt get a plc.

Scenario 3:
I have an aunt who stays in Sembawang...just next to cranberra PS. Less than 2km shld confirm get a plc but she too didnt manage to get in thru Phase 2C.

Now getting our children to get into PS is kinda stressful. To me, gd foundation is v impt but if the child is blessed wif talent then gg to neighbourhood sch is gd enuff. Dun hv to travel all the way so far away fr home. Its realli v tiring for both the children and parents.
Pai seh...such a long post, but just thot of sharing wif all u since discussed abt this topic.

Irin: Poor R. Take care of him.. You take care too..

Pink: Haven't let her play. I started assembling when she's asleep. Told auntie not to let her play until I'm with her. I want to play with her this one together lah, instead of auntie being the first to play with her.
I also didn't paste the stickers on. Was abt to ask if you, Star and SQ did but forgot to ask.. Then you brought it up..

Astro: Erm.. I don't think there's anything to plan to go into NS. That's precisely my point! But she said she got worried and concerned abt the hardships her boys might go through..
Re the schools, to each his/her own. This is another topic where there's no need and no way to convince anyone.

Bbmar,
Wah, get all ingredients liao. Should be ok lah. Just remember to put the rack in the middle? Haha, i didn't bake cake before. Only tried cookies. Heehee i bought i digital scale from Phoon Huat intend to try baking but haven't start. Should try soon as our bb can eat cake now.

Irin,
Then you should be very tired. Still wake up so early? Take care. Must make sure your girl don't get also.
Lots of kids sick nowadays.

oh dear, irin..then u must b v shagged after last nite. I went to visit ah bien yday and he had slight runny nose while my nephews having bad cough. I think the weather is real bad...changing so tremendously, no wonder we fall sick so frequent and easily these daz. Realli must take gd care...DRINK LOTSA OF WATER!!

bbmar,
Ya, some schools even thot you stay just next block still need to ballot.

If want to do volunteer work have to start 2 years before the registration starts. Also must apply lst.

If school is far away travelling time is long and will be tiring.

huingee, whr is phoon huat? Is there one in Bt Panjang? btw, i not baking..im doing steamed cake. hee...hope i dun mess up the kitchen.

morning.. everyone.

feel so shacked. ordered tea for breakfast.. gets milo instead. i need the caffeiene leh..haiz

Irin: sayang Reyden for me. u rest well also. Yes teng has some minor infection. i think throat. coz I wasntthere at Dr seow.. my mum didn;t clarify. in any case he was given antibotics.. miser asked 'why always antibotics?'..
anyway..do update here regarding Reyden.. it is always so worrying to hear about bbs rushed to A & E

bbmouse: ya. me really feel no need to prepare for NS. .maybe just some talking/ 'counselling'.. will do . other than that it is a good opportunity to bring the man out of the boy. let them be more thoughened..

ya.. schooling topic. always controversial. always 'DPDP (different people different perspectives)'.. nothing to convince about. do i sound as if i was trying to convince anyone?

haiz. i am tired. i think must reduce my postings.. if not blur blur post.. offend pple also dunno..

Huingee: Travelling to and fro school is another good reason to stay near the school. I heard of people staying in East Coast and sending their children to Nanyang, the poor child has to sit in the school for more than 1 hr each way - first to be picked up for the bus, last to be dropped off - but they got to know everyone on the bus by chatting up everyone.

bbmouse,
Ya loh, we parents can't be always sending them to school ourselves unless SAHM and has a car.
It's good can get to school nearby. So many try to buy house near to good schools. That's why condo ad always state good primary school nearby.

when i was in secondary school.. i PURPOSELY choose a school far away from me.. though it meant i need to wake up early to travel.. but somehow i enjoy it.. gives me a break from my troubled home.. i look forward to going to school every day..

mejo: got to agree.. tha ttime i was bringing my students to ACS.. wah. i was shocked at how rude the ACS boys ah! after 'teling' one of them off..i turn to my students and told them, in front of this gang of rude ACS boys, ' people judge you by how you behave, not by your results, remember that!'... very stunned by them.. so horrible..

wah! all the tok abt PS so stress. my PS closed down liao, hb's too. so no priority now. i think govt shld do something for parents w these kind of situation. :p

Huingee: Yah.. It's definitely an attraction..

ACS: My nephew and godson are both attending the primary school - one at barker road, one at the junior school.

star: is nanyang kindergarten still at farrer road area? i stayed at farrer rd last time & cldnt get in cos i didnt start fr their nursery.