(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

bbmouse,
Cos last time we thot it's at those hwa chong jc side. But turn out not far from HV. Think near serene centre? As my sis didn't know the actually location. If she knows she will try to put her boy in NYPS as her ex boss is in comittee, can get into volunteer easier at that time.

Autum: also can.. old students have priority.. but i went to see the priorty chart.. alumni member has priority over old students.. i KS lah.. so just joined alumni lor.. anyway its not expensive.. only $80 for life member. I joined before Rae was born.. see was already planning then.. cos my aunt kept drilling into me that i have to really plan ahead.
Actually PLMG balloting varies from yr to yr, i heard last yr, there was no balloting for 1km.. but 2007 is a hot yr leh, a lot of babies.. so i thinki chances of balloting quite high.. if i go there, I will be in phase 2b or 3 right.. risky leh. what if i dun get a place.

Michelle,
your MS is refering to Maris Stella? I was refering to Maris Stella, but Maris Stella is a boys school. If my current preg baby is also a boy, then I guess both of them can go to Maris Stella.. but if this one is a girl, then I must find another school for the girl leh.

Yep, Nanhua is in Clementi..

Huingee,
my place not really many good schools la.. Maris Stella and PLMGS is the more 'famous' ones.. but surrounding here also got some neighbourhood schools.. oh, i m also very near to St. Gabriel's but i dun think that is very good! oops! hope i didn't offend anyone here!

Star,
i m actually thinking of shifting house (not because of schools). but now thinking since there are good schools around our place.. maybe i should just stay put.

QQ,
not preg hormones make me think of primary school la. But because of the conversation among my colleagues and they were damn serious about it leh..

astro,
Ya l know, but want to expose my boy to some playgroup thing. Haha and i lazy will try to choose those near my place.

michelle, i see.. ok la. if no one renting then i let my fren know la. if got potential tenant there then no need bah. haha!

eh, u all here also very serious when talking about schools leh. i nothing to contribute cause i also not sure if tian will be schoooling here (though the plan is at the moment).

its time to orh orh again.
packed schedule tomorrow.
nite all mummies..
and next time i RC member liao then see how.. haha!!

QQ,
dun laugh hor, but we also thought of sending EJ to malaysia to study for primary school! then come back to SG for Secondary. Cos i think the primary school system in Malaysia is actually better! (for chinese school la).

QQ: i also dunno what happened. I just blur blur came in and see my name mentioned in the discussion. and i just felt uncomfortable and told edde. didn't mean to agitiate her.. hmmm really dunno what is happening..

RESET

Huingee: It is on the HCJC side of the road. That mainroad is Bukit Timah road. RGPS is on the other side of the road - Dunearn Road, the NJC side. And HV and BT Road is only separated by a big private housing estate in the centre. Can go to NYPS from HV side as well.. Know what I mean?

QQ,
me no alumni, WS's pri school not more in existence.. so we also got lost where to put her in. juz now on the way to go over to IL's, WS said ask me to look out for new place liao.
but my concern is after we moved to the school and by the time its registration, the school move elsewhere

Autum: i suggest u stay put first .. until u know how u wanna proceed.. must plan ur new home location properly.. all my HB's colleague's wife was telling me not to move w/o thinking.. hahah.

QQ: u see, I have so many ppl nagging me about this pri school issue (aunt, colleagues, frens).. force me to plan hor. I am not efficient lah.. heheh. i dunno the schools in the west leh, sorry

Michelle,
actually hor, talk about shifting house to near the school.. i have a colleague from RP, who is shifting to my place! Yes, a unit at my condo cos he wants his son to go to Maris Stella!! He has a daughter and will enrol her to St. Nicholas (cos his wife is old girl at St. Nic).. and St. Nic is in AMK so not that far from my place too.

So i was just thinking lor.. wau, got pple want to shift to my place just for MS, so maybe I should just stay put!

bbmouse: with regards to this ah. i seriously jialat.. i haven't even plan anything.. cause.. i dunnowhat to plan! :p.. just go for NS.. must plan what?

and primary schools. i also going with the flow. both miser and me not from any exceptional schools.. and we get on life fine.. sometimes.. the life experience is being with the normal pple :p..not being among the elite.. and that is my two cents worth hor..

huingee: ya.. but onil one hour ah BJG?

QQ,
i know there are 3 pri schools nearby my place, nearest is probably the one 2 block away, then wdlands circle has another 1 then the mrt side has 1..
for U leh, think behind, the woodgrove side has 1 right, but dunno whether gd or not

Star,
I actually thot of shifting to Serangoon North to be near to Roysth! hahah.. and that is unisex school.. so if one child can get in, then all can get in, regardless of gender.

Michelle,
ya, you must do some planning. for me, hubby is malaysian so dun have primary school here (he came in Sec).. then for me, my primary school is a girls school, which i can't send EJ to of course.. so I also need to plan lor. hiaz..

Star,
yes, for Maris Stella, both the Primary and Secondary all at the same location. Same for PLMGS i think.. well.. but dunno got fate or not.

Astro,
actually i also used to think that doesn't matter which school.. but my thinking has been slowly eroded liao. cham, i kena influenced by my colleague. I have this good colleague.. she herself is not married, but her sister has 3 kids.. she was telling me, her eldest nephew, who just started primary school this year, came back from school with all the vulgarities! Altho the boy doesn't really understand what the vulgarities mean, but still.. so my this colleague kept telling me, i must send EJ to good school etc.. I m stressed by someone who isn't even married!

my ex school is poi ching. which has already shifted to tampines.. haiz.. always the second bro to pei chun..:p

star star! today miami ink.. got 'macho guy woman'! :p a bit disgusting! :p

Updating my resume, told myself don’t log in but still can’t resist to come in here.
Juz now accompany Elisha in bed feel she have abit “HOT” keep my finger cross she will not fever.

Enne,
Thanks for reply my e-mail thingy.

Michelle,
I wanna to get the basketball too, you got good lobang can text me?

Astro,
Ya it's 1 hour. Mmm but then sunday cannot go other place as nap at 2pm, then go BJG then go dinner.

Autum,
My nephew is in MS. Ya, food is cater one. All eat the same or pack from home. And now soft drinks at the venting machine. Only have H2O tonic water. Some people said it's a monk's school.

bbmouse,
i know what you mean. Heehee, my sense of direction very poor.

Actually good primary school is more stressful too.

autum: i got to agree with u. the environment is very important.. can influence and make or break a person.. but i still very lazy .. not kan cheong ove rit yet.. though woodlands doesn have any good schools! NONE :p

maybe i should be more upbeat abt this hor? coz miser is very relaxed over everything one.. hmmm.. tel ur colleague.. dun come stressed u! :p

astro,
Woodlands have 2 popular primary school. One is evergreen and another is woodgrove. But not sure by the time our kids can register is which one good.
Mmm, guys normally don't really concern about this. Actually my ah lao like idea of our kids going to the primary below our block which is a normal neighhour school.

Actually i brought up this pri school discussion in here a while back, think that time, our bbs still very young.. so u all not interested to carry on the discussion.. heheh.. now I can see u all getting more interested.

Autum: Roysth is a very good school.. very diff to get in, 1km also need to ballot leh. heheh i know the status of most of the good school around our side.. we can share info.

Michelle: u from convent in penang? which school u wanna put K in?

Astro: just switched over to 16.. watching now.. hehe wha the woman is a man isit?
Apart from peers, environment and teachers etc, i am also hoping to put my kids in a better school so that in future, they have the option to enrol their own children back to their own school. This is just my thought lah.. cos no worries for sec school, unlike primary school. to get into a good sec school, u just make sure u get good results.

Just wanna ask, my bro is from ACS.. if i have a boy, he will not be able to get in there thru this connection hor??

Star,
i always thot Rosyth is a very good school but today my colleagues say not as good liao. so it's confusing lor. Some even said Maris Stella is better than Rosyth.. hiya.. so much confusing info.

For ACS hor, even if got connection also quite difficult. My colleague who in the end managed to get his son in there, had a connection from Church.. some higher-up person is the 'sponsor' for his son.. apparently all the 'connections'.. all given a quota one. So if say this person doesn't need the place for his own son etc.. he can 'sponsor' another boy.. but this kind of connection very difficult to have leh.

Huingee,
hmm, monk school.. hahah.. but maybe they want to train them in a certain way bah.

Astro,
aiya, no stress la.. now is definitely still way too early to stress.. but at least can start thinking abt it.. so in case if u decide to shift house etc.. then maybe can keep such factors in mind lor.

astro: the ship tattoo very nice leh.. the hisbiscus and chameleon one also very nice leh. i think i should get one done too.

huingee: they are the popular ones? jialat.. i dun even know :p

actually hor. ok. this might sound redundant to u all.. i am also looking for a place.. where i can sense that the teachers are happy. and not doing something which they are 'helpless' over.. when the mentors are not motivated to teach. it shows in the level of effort.. and that means teng's education is comproised..i believe.. that will consitutate part of my school hunt critierion :p

autum: ya. maybe can take that into consideration.

star: yalor. nice hor? i think that lady tatooist is super talented.. her protraits also super nice.. but i was distracted by the toned body leh. whahahah.

so that one is man or woman? blurr..:p
steady u want to tatoo ah? :p

he/she's here!! star.. def man turned woman lah! .. disgusting leh.. so toned his body! *Faint*.. and dress like that? he looks like jackie chan! :p. i think that tatooist cannot stand 'her' leh :p:p

Astro,
i know what you mean, but problem is, it's very hard to assess the level of happiness of the teachers. It's all very subjective, and sometimes even if u meet a 'bad' attitude teacher, maybe it so happen that that day, he/she is just having a really bad day or having some personal problem..

I agree with you in principle and i would also want that but very hard to judge leh. Can share how are you going to 'sense' about the teachers?

Michelle,
u are from CHIJ Convent in Penang right.. i heard that is one of the better schools there.
hey, maybe u can try the CHIJ Toa Payoh convent lor. Tell them u are from the convent in Penang, and u want to send your daughter to a convent school.. then see what they say...

But that is, only if u want to send K to a convent school la.

Wa wa wah planning for kid's education already ah?

My friend's girl is 18mths only and she is doing everything she can to make sure her girl gets into Tao Nan man.. she even bought a apartment near the school and joined hokkein huay kwan (clan) as a member cuz Tao Nan is supported by them. Faint!

autum: ya. very hard to have that one.. coz teaching is not everyone's cup of tea.. and DPDP mah.. someone say good., the oter might not..

in any case.. i dun have any concrete plans. but i am very wary of those super achieving primary schools.. i might be over generalising.. but i feel the teachers in such environement are very stretched to produce results.. and could compromise many as impt things in the paper chase..

alredy. i know my neohew's primary school. is not as rosy as how they appear.. hmm i just find it a bit pitiful to subject kids to such kind of tension (on the teachingand management part) from such a young age lah. as in they no longer become the focus. but is the tool to get recognition for the school..

ehh. maybe i would sit there somewhere aronud the school.. and observe the daily interaction happening there..
most prob.. i would be relying on my teaching network .. coz the insiders normally know best?

Angelic: Tao Nan is a very good school....i like it a lot too.. maybe i should enquire at hokkien huay kwan.. me hokkien lah!!!

ok ok really going off now. nite

Hey Angelic,
yea.. heard that for Tao Nan, even if u shift next to the school also no guarantee one. It happened to someone I know.. who shifted to stone's throw away from Tao Nan, but cannot get in. So must do a lot of other things.

What about you? I mean, have you thought of which school u want to send your kids to?