star: i played the sheng1.
the one on the left.. not so ornate.. actually it is modified liao.. plays specifically the higher octaves.. i find it very ugly..very very big and bulky.. haiz.. but superb sound.. verstaile.. and can play solos and support the orchestra with chords at the same time.. so not so bad lah..
here's another link
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sheng_%28instrument%29
the sheng the man is playing is the traditional kind.. that kind ancient chinese instrument.. mine is the recent and modified one.. the traditional one super chim.. and very very very very verstaile.. and very interesting.. but i no patiance to learn it.. i perfer to play with the orchestra.. than solo kind.. the traditioal sheng is typicaly the solo kind of instrument.. actually.. the chinese orchestra.. if u realised.. are all very individual kind. coz chinese music all solos intended.unlike the western ones.. when it is always tune and in synch.. the chinese orchestra is never tuned one.. and requires a bit of 'tolerance' and dun be too flamboyent else all end up 'fighting to be heard liao'. ..there was once we played the national anthem in NUS.. alamak.. all burst out laughing!!.. cause.. very very strange sounding .. imaging majulah singapura played in a chinese orchestra.. it just doesn't feel right
mejo plays the er hu.. mejo right?

so if u want rae to pick up er hu.. can go pick up some tips from mejo!!
alternatively.. guzhen is a good suggestion.. esp for girl.. the guzhen is very special.. always 'tuned' kind. anyhow strum also very bueatiful sound

.. yang qin also not bad..
miser plays the dizi.. haha. dun see his tutu face.. he is actually very sauve when he picks up his dizi and play. heehee.. last time our NUS chinese orchestra has a set of uniform.. girls in the typical 'wan jun biao mei' kind of costume (yucks.. i worn that.. haiz).. and guys in dong shan suit. dunno how to say that in english.. wha.miser so sauve in that!!! very si wen .. with his nerdy looks and mannerisms.. even more si wen. plus the dizi.. ya.. so that time. i got tricked by him.. and fall for him liao. now another story altogether lah..
another link for u..
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Traditional_Chinese_musical_instruments
go take ur pick and u see why one u prefer rae to play. hahaa.. think for her.. liu qin is perfect.. small and dianty
ehh. still got western symphony leh.. how?

ok.. i should be doing up my research instead of reminiscing abt the past