(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Cabbage flower!! one of my fav. we used it for my indoors photoshot..

BBgirl
i was actually referring to your post abt ur biz associate who has a vv smart gal.. everybody said M is gifted.. say only lah... he's only smart in certain ways..

Pink,
guess your hubby is not the type who likes to do parties bah. some pple are like that, they find it a hassle.. but nevermind him.. remember that u are doing this to celebrate Leia's birthday. I am sure not all your guests are coming because they feel obliged to. I am sure there are people who genuinely loves you and your daughter.. that's why they are there to celebrate with you! Think of it as this way. Some men (like your hubby) just can't be bothered with parties lor.

Post some pics ok. We want to see pretty Leia!

Autum: cake wise, isit my photo angle thats why u think my 1 looks straighter.. let me go back and look at ur pic again.
The 3kg means the plain/original cake weight before all the cutting and deco.. so for the one, there is a lot of wastage, cos in the end cos of the shape, they cut almost 1/3 of the cake away. So final cake is less than 3kg. got it? Which is why QQ got a really fat 1, cos the auntie sim tia to cut so much away.

Autum: i wanna add, for us, the wastage quite minimal liao.. cos only our top tier is in "1", at least we get the full intact 2kg for the bottom tier. IF u ordered just a "1" cake, i think the end weight of the cake should be a lot less as compared to ours.

autum,
star took the words right out of my mouth

but as long as u are happy, thatis what count.
but i am wondering how come u din brg it down.
last time, i used to go to Far EAst to buy flowers to put every time we entertain

Star,
The name of the cabbage flower is called Brassica. It belongs to the same family as cabbage.. i think Brassica is the scientific name. In chinese, it's literally named as 'cabbage flower' - bao1 cai4 hua1.

The orange flowers at the side are called Customa. I think that's how it's spelt.. hee.

Pax,
yea, cabbage flowers. U used this for your wedding pics? u chose it yourself? cos not many people know about this flower. You got good taste!

autum
i know wat u mean, just felt like kena wet blanket. anyway..dun know wat to say...feeling a bit down.

hmm pictures, let me pester my bro...
the mini cupcakes, i find it pretty normal, as for the small cake, the mini princess leia is unique, very pinkish cake :p

leia ..hiaz that gal, cranky and mess up her hair..i hope she sleeps well tonite at maid's place :p

autum: i saw that flower in hong kong. in one of the flower markets.. that time i didn't know it was really cabbage flowers.. so i just made a comment to miser.. "that one very nice.. looks like cabbage hor? look at the leaves" teng not convinced.. turns out.. really cabbage flowers ah!! haha.. ok..

Autum
actually my sil's ex-bf who opened a flower shop, gave us. he did all our wedding flowers. that day, he had a whole new batch of beautiful cabbage flowers, so he gave us 2 white ones.

Star,
oic.. so if we want a more wu-hua cake, we should just order a plain big rectangle shape! haha..

Michelle,
I thot of bringing the vase down.. but because my function room is so pathetically small.. then worried that the kids will bang into the tables and thus crash the vase.. so in the end just left it at home lor.

Far East flora flowers are not very fresh! hee.. but for immediate use (for parties) is ok.. but they can't last long.

pink
leia is shy ard strangers, like M. we celebrated M's bday in school last Mon and he was so shy abt it.. kept wanting to hide behind me, stood so far fr the cake when his friends sang happy bday song.

cabbage flowers got so many colours? white, purple.. and orange? hmmm.. ok.. wonder if the cabbage in my fridge can bud that beautiful flower.. haha.. i know cannot lah...

michelle, autum
i agree. flowers fr Far East dun last long, unless u manage to get those which r jus being unpacked...

Star,
yea, Hydrangea is also very nice.. i saw that and thot of getting, but because my vase is tall, i needed something taller.. hydrangea is rather short-stemmed. Actually i went there to buy white lilies.. but unfortunately all are too fresh (buds not opened).. then i saw this Brassica so i know i must buy it! Cos this is not always in season. By the way, i bot it at the florist supplier behind my place.. GG Flowers off upper paya lebar road. I used to go there and get my supplies myself. (I used to own a florist)

Pax,
oh, so u got the white ones.. yeah, nice too. Some pple like the white ones, some like the purple ones.

Astro,
Yea, cabbage flower.. nice right. when it goes to full bloom it gets bigger and bigger.. really nice when all the petals open up.

Astro,
no no.. the cabbage flower only white (off white) and purple.. the orange ones are (in my pic) are not cabbage flowers.

Michelle,
my place is at Lor Ong Lye. Casa Rosa. small condo.

Autum: oh that floral supplier ah? ..ya ya i pass by so often..they sell to walk ins and ppl not buying in bulk?Its very nice, how big in actual size isit? like a grapefruit? or rockmelon?.. but flowers are so expensive here.. esp these more exotic ones.

star: i played the sheng1.
1276488.jpg

the one on the left.. not so ornate.. actually it is modified liao.. plays specifically the higher octaves.. i find it very ugly..very very big and bulky.. haiz.. but superb sound.. verstaile.. and can play solos and support the orchestra with chords at the same time.. so not so bad lah..

here's another link
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sheng_%28instrument%29
the sheng the man is playing is the traditional kind.. that kind ancient chinese instrument.. mine is the recent and modified one.. the traditional one super chim.. and very very very very verstaile.. and very interesting.. but i no patiance to learn it.. i perfer to play with the orchestra.. than solo kind.. the traditioal sheng is typicaly the solo kind of instrument.. actually.. the chinese orchestra.. if u realised.. are all very individual kind. coz chinese music all solos intended.unlike the western ones.. when it is always tune and in synch.. the chinese orchestra is never tuned one.. and requires a bit of 'tolerance' and dun be too flamboyent else all end up 'fighting to be heard liao'. ..there was once we played the national anthem in NUS.. alamak.. all burst out laughing!!.. cause.. very very strange sounding .. imaging majulah singapura played in a chinese orchestra.. it just doesn't feel right :p

mejo plays the er hu.. mejo right? :p so if u want rae to pick up er hu.. can go pick up some tips from mejo!!

alternatively.. guzhen is a good suggestion.. esp for girl.. the guzhen is very special.. always 'tuned' kind. anyhow strum also very bueatiful sound :p.. yang qin also not bad.. :p

miser plays the dizi.. haha. dun see his tutu face.. he is actually very sauve when he picks up his dizi and play. heehee.. last time our NUS chinese orchestra has a set of uniform.. girls in the typical 'wan jun biao mei' kind of costume (yucks.. i worn that.. haiz).. and guys in dong shan suit. dunno how to say that in english.. wha.miser so sauve in that!!! very si wen .. with his nerdy looks and mannerisms.. even more si wen. plus the dizi.. ya.. so that time. i got tricked by him.. and fall for him liao. now another story altogether lah..

another link for u..
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Traditional_Chinese_musical_instruments
go take ur pick and u see why one u prefer rae to play. hahaa.. think for her.. liu qin is perfect.. small and dianty :p

ehh. still got western symphony leh.. how? :p haha

ok.. i should be doing up my research instead of reminiscing abt the past :p

*star - nice chatting with you and kristine this morning. tks for the tips with the eggplant. i shall try it again next week.

today, i finally did something different for yangyang's meal! i did scrambled egg yolk, with brocolli, carrots and tomatoes no less! this to go with this fish porridge! haha. with the remaining egg-white + another 3 more eggs, i did adult ommelette for hubby and me. yummy! it's been so long since i fried something. quite happy now. :>

i must endeavour to be like some of you... esp pax! must target to bake banana muffin... but i read the recipe hor... walauey, damn siong lor. must set a very far far deadline for this target man.

Star,
they sell to walk-ins also. but hardly anyone walk-in. those who do walk-in are usually florists who go there and get the flowers themselves so they are familiar with the place. There are different cold rooms for different types of flowers. actually there is more than 1 supplier there. Another small shop (off GG Flowers) is known as GreenHub. They got even more exotic flowers but more exp. Then Sing See Soon next door also got a lot of flowers but Sing See Soon pple are super unfriendly.. and whatever they sell, GG has too.. so I just go to GG or Greenhub.

The Brassica can go up to the size of a watermelon when full bloom. Diameter now is about 18cm already (including the greener leaves on the outer layer).

so the talk is abt flowers tonite uh?
i used to love to go far east flora. can spend half a day there looking at plants and flowers... haha. had wanted to open a flower shop before too... even got a name for it! ... but hor, based on my flower-shop stint at Taka, i tell you all, the biz not so good unless you're selling to japanese who are willing to pay tens of dollars for a few stalks of orchids lor. cos flowers are perishables so very hard to earn a high margin one...

veryberry:today not dressed so prettily ah.. shy liao .. heehee..
i not musically talented. i dun have perfect pitch. can only tell if the note is sharp or flat. but cant distinguish the note..luckily all the instruments i played so far .. dun need precision to locate the note.. like the er hu that mejo is playing.. only just string.. and all the notes along that damm string. got to be very precise to locate the note.. else ah.. buay tahan the notes produced.. so mejo should have a better ear than me..

lucky got sheng is the one who tunes up the orchestra.. as long as my bamboos.. all correctly tuned (can use tuner to tune so no problem for me.. haha..) i will always be perfectly tuned ! haha.. the conductor will never say to me.. "whey.. gao yin sheng, u are off pitch".. it is always the rest of the orchestra.. never me! hahaha... heee.

u sing.. so u know how 'terrrible' it feels to hear something off pitch.. i immeidately get goosepimples ah! but when someone is so in tune. i get goospimples too.. like shuana..
when will u give me a chance to get my goosepimples all up hearing u..- perfect pitch one hor...? :p:p

Veryberry,
yea, being a florist is hard work.. that's why in the end i gave it up. but i like it. maybe someday when i m old and retired.. hey, let's start a florist together.. hee.. u worked as a florist in Taka? as in, u could wrap bouquets and do creations or u were just helping out to man the store?

Pax,
Many florists dun carry cabbage flowers cos it's 'high-risk' as compared to safer stuff like roses, carnations and gerberras. Also because it's not always available bah.

astro - ya la, pai seh liao mah. you la!

talking abt perfect pitch, if it's any consolation, shauna zou key whenever the song hits high-notes leh! next time you pay attention... the skinermering song... last 3 words "i love u" always zou key one! i dont mean to be mean la = it's just that when i realised last week, i got a shock. but i'm still very impressed with her. she's good with the kids. my hubby said today yangyang entered the room, straight away he smiled at her.

you dont laugh at me abt my pitch hor. let me qualify, i also zou yin before. haha.

autum: heehee.. ya i play that.. if u look at the picture closely (maybe this pic is not so clear).. the gao yin sheng has 3 layers bundled up.. and each layer has 12 keys.. so 3 layers with 12 keys each. and gao yin sheng is also called the '36 huang2 sheng'.. so my two hands are constantly fiddling and 'spread out' .. grasping the sheng .. like hugging someone like that . but just fingers.. and because sheng alsp play the chords.. wah.. i can be VERY super busy. coz my fingers might need to press 6 keys (in the three layers) AT ONE TIME.. other pple dun see how 'busy' i get.coz not like those more visisble kind like dizi when u can see the player very 'busy' playing. i looked very 'cool'..but my fingers all jammed inside ah!! i am very 'busy' all the time in orchestra.. coz i need to press so many keys at one time.. something like the guitar lah.. so it is not very fun to play the sheng.. play dizi better lah. one time see one note can liao..
i one time see chords.. and 6 notes in one beat!..sian.. such a huge contrast to what i used to play in the western orchestra.. the clarinet. that one also single note.. i almost died having to relearn to read chords coz i un have piano training.. so that's why i would like teng to play the piano.. wether he will continue to persue.. it is another matter lah.

*autumn, you have flower shop before uh! (sorry shows that i have missed a lot of archived pages - haha). yea, taka used to have this little florist run by a japanese lady. they specilise in mostly orchirds (i love!). but have others as well. it was my after-graduation temp job. er, i wrap, arrange, take orders (in japanese!), and do all the dirty work too - like dethorn roses (ouch!), change water etc. etc. In short, DA ZA! but it was quite fun. hee.

yes, i shall remember you said this abt our retirement job.

all this talk abt music - i must stop being lazy and get my piano moved from my mum's place to my place soon... and go buy a second hand guitar. scar-ly i quit already got a lot of time very sian (haha - i wish!!)

was typing resig letter in another window... so fake... "i wish to thank the company for .... " hiaz.

Astro,
erm, couldn't really understand all that u wrote about playing the Sheng cos it sounds so complicated.. and it sure sounds like u are very busy in the orchestra! woohoo!

Piano training good huh.. ok ok, i will let EJ learn too.. cos I already got a second-hand piano sitting in my house now (from BIL). I am thinking whether i should learn it now or learn it later together with EJ. but that will be at least some years later.

Veryberry,
no la, u didn't miss a lot of archived pages. I don't think i have mentioned before that i used to own a florist.. even if i did, it was in passing.

ok mummies.. i need to sleep liao. good nite all!

autum: florist?! wah.. ok. nice.. i like flowers. but yet to really go in depth to learn abt the classifciation. never used to pay attention to flowers one.. but now dunno why like flowers liao. i had a good time strolling down the flower market in hongkong leh. u should go there. .or have u alreayd been there? nice leh.. singapore dun have things like that.. or not so nice. i find.. i tink why high risk coz not the usual right? as in. i thought it looked special.. first glance might be big and ugly? :p. but if u linger on and observe it. it has elegance and class.. understated elegance i would call it.. so i like it too..

veryberry: hahaha.. because of me ah? ops.. ignore me.. wear somemore!! :p
iszit? told u i horrible. i never notice.. maybe i singing to teng myself.. and i cannot hear her coz i am also out of pitch.. ya. she very good with kids.. yes. ur yang yang captivated by her today.. all the bbs are today.. as usual lah. teng also.. stood rooted staring at her when she sings.. NEVER blink one.. haha.. then i got to turn to see teng.. coz i facing his back.. so funny his engrossed expression.. he really rooted to the ground leh. haha..

but i think ur zhou yin is still bearable one. coz as a singer. u more in tune with how u control ur vocals.. u wun want to hear mine. i can get the entire key wrong! hahaha..

Autumn, my take - piano training or any form of musical exposure is good. even if we end up as professionals in the field, it's good to YI.2 QING.2 YANG.3 XING.4, i.e. for relaxation, enjoyment, and nurturing of the senses (?! - i think my translation fail man!) LOL.

i remembered many many years back someone ever told me that the movements of the fingers stimulate the brain wor. dont know how true. one day, my good friend and i decided to go learn typing to further stimulate our brains! haha - so funny now thinking abt it. i was only primary 5 then!

good night autum.. ya. the sheng IS very complicated.. like all instruments.. which instrument is not complicated.. even percussion.. dun see use one mallet hit like simple simple. Cheam one leh.. ask QQ lor.. she knows :p
IMHO.. it is always good t ohave our kid learn music.. and one sport (most likely swimming for teng).. balance them up a bit.. and start them off so that they can explore and venture to their own perferred domain..

veryberry: confirmed resigning ah?

pax:my barley flakes can bake muffins kind leh. heehee.. i should just try..

I so enjoy talking to all of ye (ye - that's how my sec school song sings...haha. nostalgic nostalgic). but yes, gotto go koon liao. tomm is another long day... but for not much longer! woohoo!! nite nite all!

nite nite everybody.. all zzzz... me also gg.. i'm done with baking and updating... sweet dreams everybody