(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

astro....
my fren draws a roster for the maid to follow...things like mo[[ing and sweeping floor to do everyday. Weekly change bed sheets...fortnightly to do something else. And monthly to clean windows etc.....i also dun know how she write it up. You wan? I try to ask her to send me if she has if on softcopy.

just realised something.
i looking at ON's transaction. there is no tax involved. last time i used to order but got tax one.
i stupid, sent to CA instead of portland. send to portland no need to pay tax... wah@#%@$%$%#$% dun curse me mommies.. i was so blur.. now i know. this batch has no tax involved. some items oos after i placed order, then got to removed..
when successfully shipped then let u know..

but in my next spree, will have 10% discount cause they said oos for the items, then give me the discount next time. after CNY, will organise another spree to benefit u all la.

Astro: Tell her what she is suppose to do. GIve her your expectations and priorities. When she is new, she's keen to please. Don't be paiseh to lay down your ground rules cos this will make life easier for both sides in future. Ask her to take notes when you explain things to her.

For my miad, I told her from the begining that taking care of anna is #1, household chores #2.

If you use different cloths for different places - eg kitchen cabinets, living room cabinets, toilets, etc then let her know now. Same with different pails - pails for containing water for mopping floor, for washing clothes, for baby clothes etc. Same with laundry basket - for madam, for sir, for baby etc..

Most importantly for tonight, show her where she is sleeping tonight, give her a blanket, pillow etc. And provide her toothbrush, toothpaste, body soap etc. And we give my maid a nail cutter cos we told her to keep her nails short so as not to scratch anna.

giolyn, if u want to get a nanny fast, can distribute flyers around your block. maybe will have response.

MARCH BABY BIRTHDAY BASH
Venue: Disney Cafe (Anchorpt #01-05/06)
Date&Time: TBA (maybe 23/24 Feb)
1) Angel + Kaiser + Papa
2) Pinkpink + Leia + Papa or Ah Mah
3) veryberry + yangyang + daddy
4) Yvonne + Bel + daddy
5) Tian + QQ (daddy not joining)

hey babygirl
should be vivo, dun think hubby is keen to travel all the way to parkway..tanglin's gym a bit small.

moogen
i have yet to call, reserve disney cafe already..maybe call rochester one to find out more

hey angel
i think there are 15 tables, 4 pax in each table. so 1 family 1 table i guess. so lets see how many family respond then we decide whether to book half or whole cafe. by the way, its not big, so better to keep pram aside..hmm...better check whether they have enough hi-chair hahhahaa....

nevermind, alternatively i call rochester 1 tomorrow and check it out

moogen
me too..still thinking whether to celebrate with immediate family or...my side complicated..should be arranging twice. MIL side then FIL side..sian

AHHH! Fell asleep with my ger when I put her to sleep! Then now can't get into leo... die liao, gonna miss D+3...

ok, can log in liao... so must restart comp then can log in... aiyah

QQ, Ladysol,

Eh, YT's porridge always have all these stuffs. Complexity of porridge not a problem. I dun always put milk powder as I know it affects absorption of iron. Only cheese a little bit each time. Egg yolk for one meal only. Din feed banana today. No more puke. So culprit = fruits.

What's Vivo gymboree playgym timing tomorrow? Nobody answer me de...

Pinkpink,

What is the timing for playgym tomorrow? All day enter is playgym is it? I may be there around 3.30 pm bah. Cuz meeting friend at the same time.

Mejo: i fell asleep while tucking in rae too..hehehe.. just woke up at 11.

QQ/Baby Girl: I have the pic of my table and chair liao.. wait har i post.

Moogen: i met the lady boss of Hot Fuschia while i was looking for a caterer for a past event, she is very nice.. but hor, her cakes damn expensive leh.

ok no one around liao.. i am going to bed now.. can't wait for tomorrow to come, my hubby finally coming back from his biz trip, going to the airpot to fetch him with Rae..nite everyone.

starfruit
so fast bought table and chairs already? have u started letting Rae sit on it?

mejo

Hope
i will pass your JE clothes to my mum on sunday nite at 9plus.

morning everyone

Ok.. so today first day with maid.. her name damm complicated.. Ellodora... call her ellie lah.. then teng saw her. cried a bit.. but then after that ok with her liao.. even let her carry.. see how a flirt the rascal is? just because she not bad looking?!.. hmm. i need to worry abt my hubby liao.. hmmm.. anyway..

she woke up.. i sense she has intiative but need wait and see.. like bbgirl said.. could be anxious to please..so i not overtly frenly with her yet.. i tink she tiny weany scared of me.. coz i never smile so much at her... haha! anyway.. she took initiative ask to wash kitchen stove! ha! i think she will have very gd time washing juding how dirty it is !! ha....

Audrey: i sort of drafted a routine for her.. but yet to complete.. coz i plan to have 2 weekly routines.. so that she can spread out and do the different chores over 2 weeks.. can't be everyday sweep floor and mop floor right?,, ya.. so still doing complete routine A for first week.. started long long time ago.. haven't finish.. haiz.. going to do now.if u hve the time can help ask ur fren to forward so that i can take it for reference.. else it is ok

bbgirl: Thank!!! definitely going to take ur suggestions seriously and see how it is goig to be factored into my expectations.. ya. i told her wash her hands all the time before and after touch ing teng.. as well as prepare food/milk for him (ha.. but i dun! haha).. i want her to be as stylo as ur maid..!! :p

Mejo: D +3 huh? Autum will tell u dun eat, dun sleep, dun drink.. DIE DIE must finish. within D + 3!! but ah.. already i missed deadline twice. haah. going to get marked liao lor.. haiz..

PS: Miser damm funny.. yesterday at agency.. he needs to complete the documentation. but Ellie was standing there.. then he wants her to sit down.. told her "take a seat'.. alamak. so chim, he thinks she can understand?!! just say 'sit down' mah.. fun liao lor him.. haha. anyway Ellie's eng not as bad as i thought..

hello good morning mummies!

RE: kiwi
i managed to catch a bit of the news on TV, said not to feed kiwi too often to kids below 5 as may cause some kind of allergies... once in a while shd b fine as kiwi is a good source of Vit C
mag had her poo this morning, finally! she was not crying so i think there shdnt be any pain. i think the 4 consecutive meals of nectarines really help, thanks to all your advice! the challenge will be keeping her constipation-free, i guess =)

Astro,
your maid Indon or Phillipino? I can't remember. Please keep a very tight rein on her, especially when you said she is not bad looking. I am not trying to be judgemental or what.. but you really won't know what kind of things some of the maids will do behind your back. In your case, your mom will go over everyday right.. so still ok bah. And if possible, don't give her off-days. but maybe too late to say liao..

I may sound paranoid, but I seriously feel that once the maid has opportunity to interact with outsiders, a lot of problems can/will happen.

My friend told me her sister, is a SAHM.. so she is home MOST of the time.. except to go and run errands every now and then.. and her maid actually got pregnant!! My friend said her sister was so shocked! Like how on earth she can go and get to know men!! apparently, everytime when she goes on errands.. the maid will leave right after she leaves.. so even for that short couple of hours.. the maid can get up to mischief! My friend sister brought the maid to see doctor, and when she heard the news the maid is preg, she so kan-cheong until want to cry liao.. but the maid no reaction one.. just impassive look.. hiaz...

Hi Magsmum,
welcome to this thread.. sorry that the welcome is a bit late.. i know u have been around for some days liao.. I saw your girl's photo.. she is the one with the sharp chin? sorry i m a little confused cos there's another new mummy here (cutie jace) and she also has a girl..

tell us a bit more about yourself leh.. how come u stumble upon this forum/thread? someone recommended you? some of us are "old-timers" in this forum.. we were here since preggie days.. some joined us after they had baby..

moogen: ha! Teng IS like that.. flirty.. haha!

Autum: ya. I know.. Ellie is a widow with three kids in Philipino..her hb died at age 25.. asked her how he die.. dunno what she saying. but impression was he died coz gun shot him.. on the spot. dunno why also.. she has been a widow for 16 yrs liao..

she does have one off day.. we will see how.. told her to rest from 1 - 2 coz teng sleeping now. she says want to work.. haha. she wants to 'bluff' huh? insists her rest.. next time got many things to do one..

yalor.. hmmm. dunno why they so easy get themselves pregnant lei.. hmmmm

btw.. feel like i treating her like my students like that leh.. speak in disjointed sentences.. no smiling.. haiz.. sian at home also must 'pretend'.. hmmm

Astro,
Not pretend la. You can be nice/good to her.. but you are not her friend. Be generous to her.. I m not talking abt generous with money.. but generous about everything.. food, coffee, toiletries, clothes, etc.. For things like these, I really don't understand how some people can be very giam.. like every single thing also must control.. toothpaste cannot use too much, coffee cannot drink too much, if eat bread and jam cannot spread too much jam etc.. don't laugh ok, but there are really people like that!

It's good to have a duty roster drawn up for your maid. At least for the first month or so.. thereafter, she should be more auto liao. You might also want to teach her to be gracious/friendly to your relatives and friends. But some things, some maids will do automatically.. as in, some people are by nature more chatty and friendly.. so even if u don't teach, they will know how to greet people or say hello.

Autum:haha.. yalor. want to be frenly.. but at te same time firm lor.. ya. i keep asking her if want to eat anything leh.. and hor. after 3 pieces of bread and one coffee can still eat fried bee hoon and drink when we go down for our breakfast at 8. steady hoR? haha.. anyway.. i am ok with things like what you have mentioned.. as long as i see effort..

i think she quite frenly.. chatty.. in fact when i first saw her.. back of my mind was.. alamak.. so gila kind ah? then she quietened down on the way home.. think my black face (yesterday too tired liao)'scared' her.... dun dare to be gila liao. haha!

Astro, edde says you want to join the class. i have one more space. it's either you or Fion. pls confirm. 11am every sunday starting 27 Jan but must enrol with payment by tomm. can either pay at the school or fax in your credit card details. pls see your email for info. If wanna confirm your slot, pls sms me. 98453361. roger and out.

wow, i seem to never be able to finish reading archives... hehehe..

astro,
got maid liao huh?? keep a watch on her okay.. hear so many news of maid until i also abti scare scare... how's work? okay right, got autum to give you advice?? hehehe

hi autumn,

mag is the one with a lot of "standing" hair, like from electric shock keke! that photo was taken after she woke from her nap.

i was more active in another forum but the replies have since gotten rather slow and not much activity going on, and also the mummies are much younger than me, hence decided to join this forum. erm, i didn't know which to join so i just hit the march 2007 mummies cos my girl's born 23 march 2007...

i m a SAHM, hubby goes abroad for work very often. we used to live alone but have moved to stay with my parents @ jurong 3 mths back. my mum and i take care of 3 kids together, my 3yr old niece and 4 mths nephew and my 10 mths girl. lots of activities going on in the house with 3 kiddos!

i would like to know everyone here so if you can intro yourself to me, would be great!

Mist: ya. just got one.. actually i feel that she's quite ok leh.. character wise.. aiya.. poor thing. now i letting her call her family .. just now hiding in room crying coz home sick.. haiz

work?.. hanging on.. i better be more efficient in grading my classes's reflections coz there a deadline to meet.. haiz. i writing love letters to students as my comments leh..haiz.. colleagues see liao. say i siao! sometimes longer than my students' reflections!.. haiz.. need to be concise ah.. haiz..

magsmum: want know everyone ah? :p.. ok. me astro. used to be babbling nonstop at forum here coz was a SAHM.. but because just went back to work.. so shutting my trap here liao.. heehee.. my boy is 1 year.. he is teng or alternatively.. MM (muscleman..)..
http://littlemuscleman.blogspot.com
heehee..

ha! tagalog sounds so foregin to me.. haha.. then she purposely (?) says in english "this employer is very good'.. haha.. i no reaction..

Hey Magsmum,
haha.. for a moment I thought u got 3 kids when u say u and your mom taking care of 3 kids.. hee, so Mag is your first kid la. How old are u? Curious cos u said the other forum u joined the mummies are all much younger than u.. hmm, come to think of it, I think the mummies in this thread are all rather "old".. hahahahaha.. except for our youngest pretty mama Yvonne.

My boy is EJ.. born on 6 March. I m teaching in a poly.. a few of us are teachers here (secondary school or poly).. some are SAHM, some high-flyers (in banks).. actually really all kinds lah.. but, one thing is, March mummies are all quite united! We are united in SHOPPING, baby food, baby talk etc.. hee... as u can see, SHOPPING is highlighted, cos we all shop-a-lot!

hahaha.. cos we have a few very helpful n hardworking mummies here who helps to organize our own sprees.. be it for overseas site (like Old Navy, Gap, JE clothes) or even local stuff, we help one another buy. hee, and the funny thing is, when we have gathering, we machiam look like in uniform! cos we either wear same type of clothes, our babies wear same type of clothes, we use same type of bags (laasportsac) or use same stuff (thermos, tupperware).. hee, cos all these we get from our sprees... well, and we have resident 'advisors' who can gives us tips on food and baby care (Pax, Astro)..

Guess that's why March thread is actually one of the highest number of postings thread.. cos sometimes we yak non-stop!!!

Astro,
wow.. writing love letters to students huh. hee, seriously hor, dun write so much la.. but I guess wild horses can't hold u back now, cos this is your first time! as time goes by hor, u will automatically write lesser and lesser.. cos u will run out of things to write!!!

your maid, is this her first time working as a maid?

Ha!

Autum: great Intro!..

*winks at everyone else.. time to transfer some pennies to her account!* haha

ok.. come back yakk later if can lah.. got to teach Ellie how to cook teng's food.. keep her busy .. like what tituteo says.. then can avoid her feeling homesick lah.. hmm

Autum: no.. she worked here before but didn't manage to finish her 2 yrs contract.. went back after 1 yr plus slightly coz her mum had a stroke.. hmmm. i dun think it is her fault. so didn't 'penalise' her on that and still chose her.. so can understand her missin home.. coz if me.. even very seasoned.. also will miss one lah.. what more she has 3 kids leh..

yalor.. i cuting ..cutting.. CUTTING!!! finger cramping liao leh.. haiz.. haha..

Magsmum,
forgot to add, besides this thread, we still have our own March Mummies blog AND Facebook AND a Google spreadsheet site with our info, and to order stuff for our sprees.. cos we have some very tech-savvy mamas here!

Ladies, I just saw that actually our March thread is the thread with the highest postings.. siao hor.. hee, can't help it but I m now spamming the thread!!!

okie la, i better disappear for a while.. go get dinner!