(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

RR have thos exploratory classes lego has some n think 4 can attend already. These may interest him. Nit the hardcore academic maths / science type. Actually wushu n lion dance such classes r good but they only expand his energy. U need to expand his brain too cos he is smart mah.

Starfruit,
no lah, the wushu will be when he's in Primary school.

Exploratory classes at where? You have details? I'm so bad with enrichment classes, only send them for those in their ccc.

Ash,
tell me about swimming ... The father said don't waste the $$, he can teach them. :S

SQ,
the teacher said that this morning too. Ya, he's understimulated whereas I'm "overstimulated" - by him! haha!!

Just sent anna for her gym class.. It's really good I stay so close to their school, cannot imagine having to wait for her, with ayden in toll. :p

Ash: Hee..

RR: Anan's kindy offers wushu class. So the location is very convenient for me. I'm just going to wait for ayden to get used to the new schedule, then will enrol both of them. I hope anna likes it, cos she's got her mind on the type of things girls or boys do. :p

HN: I'm very confused with the ICR stages. There is a prelim stage, which is the PRP, then after that, the ICR and after that ICR advance? Isit? I thot the ICR advance is right after the preliminary stage. Hehe..

RR: Yah, let him take up swimming or the legos sounds fun and challenging too. Don't waste his talents.. Ayden sounds a bit like him. But he's much better with his behavior these days *touch wood* It's really like there's a programme in him and the timing is triggered and he's stopped the T2 nonsense..

The Apr mummy's story came out in chinese papers last evening. About how she delayed her treatment to keep her baby, noble mummy ...

Star: I'm keen on the exploratory legos too. Anna likes to fix 3D pieces together. You give her a few pieces of stuff and let her be on her own for sometime, and she'll figure out how to fix something. I think if there's exploratory legos, she'll go crazy!

AAA,
for Reyden, there was no T2. He had all along been a terror since birth! :S It just got more and more challenging as he gets older.

RR: Really lah.. Let him learn something good. When he gets older and have his own mind, if he's still unoccupied, he may get into wrong company and learn all the bad stuff. So while he's still young and "controllable", channel his potential to something good and useful.. Tell Kent this argument. See if he still wants to save money. :p

AAA,
ya, he's going for music now, he likes it. He rejected S&D. Will probably send him for character building, he definitely needs that.

AAA,
we have all sorts of papers at home. Kent reads Straits Times & Newpapers. My parents read Xin Min & LianHe. I read all but I actually prefer to read Chinese papers leh.

QQ: You missed my report on the ICR assessment last week. You were in KL maybe? On the same day we were discussing, I called up the centre. Then book the time to do the assessment. I'm quite happy with the centre environment. Each class is small, max of 8 students, the teacher is supposed to spend some one-to-one time per child. Then I saw there's a suitable timing on a day anna has no activities, came back think over it a while, wrote my thoughts here, then decide I will go for it to try out.

RR: Reading the papers is good. Of all the papers, I enjoy TODAY most. I like their compilation of the current affairs by different writers.

RR: Oh.. Tell you something.. If you're keen to get him into wushu, then you shd start him before P1. Gone are the days when children join ECAs (or whatever name they call it these days) to learn a new skill/game/sport. Now they will need to know some basics before they can enrol into that activity!
Can you believe my friend's boy need to undergo a selection training camp at P1 in order to join the sailing club?!? At 7 yrs old, they have to stay overnight outside of home and sleep in a tent. And all this while not knowing anyone else (haven't met any friends yet) in school cos school just started. :p :p

AAA,
wah ... but maybe cos too many kids want to join the sailing club thus the selection training? Schooling is so stressful now. :S

RR: I suggest badminton. It requires both energy and strategy. Suitable for Reyden.
Schooling is stressful. And parents doing the ferrying to and fro activities is no joke. :p How can a family with both parents working afford the time to ferry the kids? Maybe I can start a business to ferry children to and fro..

HN: I checked. 3 stages of ICR: prelim, ICR, then advance..

AAA,
ya, ya, both Kent and I did badminton last time so high chance they will do that too, haha!

You mean ferrying now or when they are in Primary school? They have school bus in Primary school mah. My kids not so sheltered so not a problem for me. hehe.

Talk abt sheltering n ferrying kids
On a wkday when it's time to go home fr sch
U al shd go to Stevens Road
Outside SCGS
see the stream o cars n how parents illegal park to wait for their kids
Tey can even park in between traffic Lights n below sign boards
It's amazing

SQ,
haha! You so kuazhang. I find some news in Chinese papers not in ST de leh (like the Apr mummy's) so I'll read the chinese papers for local news.

Don't have to go Stevens road. Go to any Primary schools when it's after school hours. The whole road will be filled with illegal-parked cars. It's such a hazard especially for those small roads with buses. :S

hahah...my family did not subscribe to newspaper at all. Hb will get the free MyPaper from his office area and we "gope" the newspaper from my inlaw place after work. hahah... cheapo household.

AAA, i see..
as long as anna enjoys then ok de.
tian's school is also 3 hours oni, and then i think she also feels bored at home. whenever i reach home, i will see a xmas tree.. she dressed herself up, with ding ding dong dong, sigh! and she likes to ask us whether she is pretty or not.
jay said: pretty or not is not important la.
but tian still dun get it. buey tahan her.

Star, we are at lesson 16, but i always go back de, it is not 100% de la. she can recognise based on the pictures as well. but she gets bored u see. so i carry on and she can slowly repeat and remember the words after a few repetition. but next time she might forget, but i think it is fine, she has been exposed to these words, so it is v easy for her to pick up again.
tian is a smart kid, the more i teach the more i find her smart cause i am unable to follow her speed la.
i am so lazy, i said one day one page, she kacau me until i want to faint.
this am, she wanna learn another new word before going to school, i was so busy.

english the phonics cards that i made, she still not 100% for the first A and I set. but she likes to play with the cards. i just play with her lor.
tired!!!
this papa is not helping at all.

SQ,
i also read chinese newspapers more than english. but i also read english de la, just that many words i do not know the exact meanings, just agak agak nia.

now i am learning with tian, again.

and i am unable to catch up with her speed again. she said they learn about bones in school, i oni reply, oh i know.. RIBS and SKULL. all others i dunno liao. alamak!
tian said must eat cheese, milk and yogurt to make her bones stronger.
by the way, PT is now cheapo liao, cause no more kindermusik, they changed it with music and movement!

star, the hanzi 500 is a good buy...
i will hunt for book 5 whenver i go popular next time. now i have oni 4 books.

siao4 liao. and i am stiring up tian's interests in reading!~

huingee, esther is in advanced, means after that no more le, right? good la..
i try to see if i can teach by myself. when she is K2 or wat, if cannot liao then i send ti ICR for final boosting of her reading. haha!!

now ah will might need to go GUG and learn social liao. my fren's son grabbed his toys and he cried until like no tomorrow. sigh!

QQ
I duno Wat is this hanzi book
Or Wat it looks like
Tian is v Clever indeed

Rr
My Chinese cmi de
No wonder my mum always complain my mandarin sucks
I dun like reading Chinese papers n bks cos alot o words I can't read
Then at the end o the day I wil stil ask '到底是有还是没有?'
Or '究竟是可以还是不可以?'
Whereas reading English is much faster
Can speed read somemore

QQ,
Ah will act like this is common, it's his toy mah. Slowly he will learn.
Dylan's kinder also 3 hrs, he also bored at home. He will play his thomas train, cars, computer games, watch some table and practise his writing. Heehee, he quite good will ask me where is his book he want to do homework.
After the ICR advance maybe i will look for creative writing class for her.

RR: I mean now and later also. For normal hours there is school bus, but the school bus won't wait for them if there's ECAs mah.
Badminton is good. Basketball is lagi better I find, cos there's teamwork. 3-in-1 : stamina, strategy and teamwork! Best!

Germaine: The little boy was really excited. My friend is the one being traumatised. This is her younger boy, and he needs to be tugged to bed every night de. She was so worried about how how might fare. But she said she has to hide her fears in front of the boy in case he gets affected. So she pretended to be as excited as he was..

QQ: The kids are amazingly smart. We cannot under-estimate them. In fact, if we don't harnass their potential now, we're wasting precious resources. I feel lah..

RR, AAA,
There is sch bus CCA too, think charge extra at per trip. Nowadays for older kids i heard only 1 day can go back early. The other days is CCA or supplementy class. However, as Esther is in pm session her sch bus dun send her for CCA. Her sch bus only send those pm for CCA as her sch pri 3 then CCA compulsory.
I heard some primary sch P1 CCA is compulsary.
I have fren's kid in Henry Park, Nanyang pri there is sch bus for CCA for both morning and afternoon.

AAA,
hmmm ... ya, CCA days need transport as well. So getting a school nearby (best is within walking distance :p) is important for working parents.

QQ: If Tian's school is only 3 hours, then you can think of other activities to occupy her time.. Didi is still young and can't really play with her yet.
On days when anna has no activities, anna and ayden will play like mad. It's good their age gap is so close together, they can play well together now. On days when anna has activities, we will try to give ayden some special attention, hopefully he will get more interested in writing and learning and such..

RR, QQ: This BP price, is it much cheaper than if we buy from popular? I haven't heard of the collection place. Where is it?

HN: Aiyah.. There goes my business plan.. :p Hahah..

RR: Yes, if you can have a good school within walking distance, this is the best arrangement! Somemore you have 2 of them together in the same year, they have company walking to and from school.

It's no wonder properties near good schools and MRT stations fetch higher premiums.

Hihi mummies,
Need help. Sorry ha every time need help

Anyone have good And responsible maid agency (to recommend? (best if u have experience with them)
Me looking for one urgently

AAA, popular selling $5.90 before discount. now discount is 15%. so it is cheaper from popular.....
$5.015 per book from popular woh.

RR, let him go FENCING....
can learn to FOCUS for him. really i find...
and he can learn to focus his energy and release at one shot!
haha!!

SQ, your response in reading chiense is the same for me in english. i am that laoya.. haha! jay is better in english reading. i am more for technical reading, but newspapers, i cannot catch at all sometimes. i need to go into technical details otherwise i do not understand.

huingee, what is creative writing. will they really learn the creative way?

QQ: Thanks.. I will go popular take a look. I should check if Borders carry these books too since I stil have some value in my card. I think I'll go now.. And I can drop by my scrapbook store.. Hehehe..

QQ/star: is this how the insides of the chi book look like?
can i ask how do u teach from here?

5100665.jpg
5100666.jpg

for eg 1st pic(lesson 3)
step 1: read - shan
step 2: say the strokes on how to write 的

2nd pic
step 1: read the chinese words on both pages
(need to explain in our own words abt the mountains? if yes, say wat?)
step 2: read 完

trying to get my butt working now..... keke!!

astro/any interested mommies: yamaha do not offer trial classes anymore

plaza sing no more vacancies, only thomson has.
sunday 10-11am or 11-12noon
10 students per class

i'm going for seimpi music trial tis sun 12.15pm

ash, welcome to hanzi500 club.
haha!!
when i teach tian shan1, she said she already knew.
then i proceed, gao1 shan1. she asked, WHY gao1?
my answer: because it is v v v v TALL... (gao1). haha!!! i found my6self so moron like that, answer her so cin-cai-ly.
then i pointed to the clouds, see, got clouds le.

that's the end of one lesson. she did not show much interests yet then.

then that 2-3 days everyday gao1 shan1, so bored.

until lesson 10 or dunno which one, i just let her know, she can trace the strokes there (i never ask her to do that when i teach cause to me writing not so important yet).
that day, when i reached home, she said she knows how to trace the strokes there le. so she DIY. now, i just let her read by herself.

i write these words that she knows (in small cards), and shuffle them.
then i played games with her.
I just shout some sentences and she will arrange and show me the sentences she made. usually it is 90-100% correct.
i just continue playing lor.
it was not teaching to me, it is like games oni nia.

hahah...i can imagine myself getting bored too. tt's why i wonder how to teach using this book n to make it interesting.

so no need to teach strokes la, juz get them to trace for fun

ash, i did not teach tian to trace at all.
i only let her READ outloud with me, then proceed.
tracing part can do next time. now i teach her reading, not writing woh.

don need to trace ba, unless he is interested then u let him DIY the tracing. I just want tian to RECOGNISE the words.
so when we go out, if i see the word that she knows, i will point and she will shout out the word. sounds happening? her vocab is not that fantastic yet, no such excitement yet.

AAA,
There are many levels.
I bought level 1 , books 1-4 (left book 5, or book 4, i forgot). u can consider buying one level first ( 5 books).
I did not buy other levels yet because i dunno if tian will still b interested then.

ash, it might not last la. cause tian is also 3 min heat type.

yes. i popular member now. star also popular member. u should join too!! last for 3 years. by then they are in P1 liao, can join as students from then on.
or u get a card from any coligs or frens also can. or from me.