(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

AAA,

Actually they do apply clues. I can see that in YT. Sometimes I ask her to read some words. I read most of the sentence already and maybe get her to continue, I know that on occasion she don't really know the word but guesses it from the context as well as the first letter. I can tell because she may say the word in the wrong tense or format. Sometimes she really can read the word and sometimes she is making guesses. I can recall reading very high level texts in my youth and even when I don't know all the words, I can understand the general content of the story but of course, not in its entire literary context. For example, I read Macbeth in my primary school and I understand what is going on 'physically' but not the underlying messages and subtexts. I can only understand the surface of it because at that point of time, I don't have enough experience to see the other non-spoken messages.

I took pics of what anna and ayden learned in school today..

Anna's
5101650.jpg

Ayden's
5101651.jpg

I just got a call. "Halo Mama, 我吃饱饭,要去大便了. Bye bye!" then hung up. Really buay tahan this son, makes me want to laugh and cry.

Mejo: I know what you mean. Anna infers from the pictures! We read the Osborne book "The Old Woman Who Swallowed A Fly".. It has many repetitions. After the first few pages, I made her read the story to me. She reads by inferring from the pictures, and recognising the repeated words.

AAA,
Yes, he's being boliao, must have made the call when my dad is not watching. I made them memorize my number and our address in case they get lost and since then they have been calling me all the time!! :S

RR: Wah! You prepare them well.. I didn't teach anna wor.. Maybe later, don't want them to keep disturbing us when we're out.. :p

RR: The address is very scary. Anna knows our add cos it's so simple to remember. There was once we brought them to an art gallery. Hubby and I were choosing some art pieces. There was a lady there helping to entertain the kids with the ipad. Then suddenly, Anna came over and showed us a google search of our house! It has a picture! Hubby was quite shocked. So it can be dangerous if the child has the info and passes this info to strangers... :p :p

AA: i am not being chim .. that is how we learn.. cognitively..
what mejo and I are sharing are essentially the same thing in differnet contexts.so if u can understand what mejo is saying and see that in Anna.. it means that i am not saying anything too chim than what is naturally occurring....

and yes. children this age is learning the most primitive way.. but we know most primitive mnight not be the most efficient.. and hence we sign them up for phonics.. so that they can make sense of things using familiar rules more easily..

for a person who read widely.. he/she develops a huge myraid of experiences for him to interpret the clues behind the text.. and therefore.. he or she is a more effective reader and can comprehend better when faced with something new..this is what mejo is trying to tell u...
a very simple demonstration of this:

show a child a new word.. can the child recognise it if there aren't any known pictures surrounding it? the answer is no.. simply because we learned from.. assosication and assimiliation...

ha!i am trained in pedagogy.. so i know how to build up and make learning systematic.
and hence u see. i signed up with ICR.. sans hesitation and sans discussion with anyone..

AAA,
that I'm not concerned cos the only time they have a chance to tell a stranger our address is probably when they are lost. Haha!

AAA
for the those of us staying in landed property, we can actually see the view of the property. i found out by chance bcos i bookmarked home on google maps and it was saved in google favourites. i clicked on it and found myself staring at my house! scary!

Chinese book - i click on the BP link then realise i hv book 1 liao. i bought it last yr for M. there were some carts set up outside clementi ntuc. thot the bk is quite gd, but only got 1 to try. i hv too many bks!

btw BP selling $5.2 per bk. i got mine for $4.9.

RR: the two books from the same series.. for CL and EL.. i like the repetition.. coz it reinforces the same pt while gradually build up in complexity.. yet the variations do not get boring..

English
5101834.jpg
5101835.jpg

See how they keep building in the key words in each of their short execises? the focus starts with learning to read and write the four words 'he, is , the, big'.. then gradually thru introducing pictures to try to help the kids to relate to .. it then teaches the word ball and boy!

same goes for chinese!

introduce to '我,会,走,步',, then use pictures to teach 妈妈,宝宝,球,树'

5101836.jpg
5101837.jpg

RR: then these two books are same series.. English and maths.. they focus on teaching units.. theme based. what i really like about the books is on each page.. they tell u exactly what u need to do with the kid.. and the lerning outcome and skills to be learned in that activity.

come to think of it.. Maths is very simple at K1!!

5101858.jpg
5101859.jpg
5101860.jpg

english
5101861.jpg
5101862.jpg
5101863.jpg

SQ: just a few.. i didn't buy the whole store.. but i did spend some time to select the ones which i think is logical and manageable.. else knowing me.. i will lose interest and wun continue liao..
these are the only 4 assessment books which teng has..just to help him build up his handwriting.. coz he needs to learn how to write together with how to read in preparation for P1..
the others are all story books and readers..

the books comes with sight words flash cards. the first two.. the CL and EL one.. so lagi better. all in a package! hahaha.. still teach u how to introduce.. one by one. systematic from simple to more complex!

Wha! I'm back from dinner!
Hubby has to go to another dinner function. Poor guy. :p

Astro: You mean the same thing as Mejo? I said learning to read English is by acquiring phonics skills and having a good memory. Same thing as what you were explaining? So let's just discuss here for discussion's sake.

What got me confused over what you said was you're worried Teng learns by memorising words, which makes me think you feel that is not the "smart" way. Being able to recall words seen before (ie from memory) is a way of learning by association and assimilation, isn't it? So that's a smart way too, granted it may be the most primitive way. Incidentally, learning to read chinese is all memory work.
BUT comprehension is not the same thing as reading. There are many times when I've finished reading an analytical piece/news article, and find myself not understanding the meaning, and I have to go back to read the passage again. Doesn't mean I can't read, just mean I don't understand the passage. This is the same as what Mejo encountered with reading Macbeth.
And this is what I mean that comprehension comes after learning how to read, not vice versa. I want to add.. The former is easy to teach, the latter , tough.

I know you're a teacher and are trained in pedagogy.

SQ: That's a worksheet, not a book. They have no textbooks. And what Ayden learns this year is not the same as what Anna learned last year. I think YE has no issues with Chinese.

RR: The danger is you won't know when they'll give the info away. We didn't set out to teach anna our address so that she can get help if she gets lost. It was just mindless fun. And she didn't volunteer the info, that lady asked her. Granted that lady was the shop assistant and was helping hubby and I entertain the children with sweets and games so that we could discuss and decide which paintings to buy. But see how dangerous this knowledge can be?
After that incident, we told anna she is not to tell our address to anyone she doesn't know. I also tell her if she gets lost, to stand at where she is (and don't move about) and call out for mummy. I tell her I will come back and get her.

Pax, MichL: Yah. Got picture wan! Scary!

Astro: The pages you show are from the same book as the one Ash showed? How come they're so different?

Astro: Another point for discussion. Assuming a child is fully equipped with phonics skills. When he encounters a new word, he is able to sound the word out using his skills. He does this everytime he encounters this word, until a point when he brain is able to remember this word, and from then on, he will naturally sound the word when he sees it, without needing to apply his skills anymore. Or will he continue to sound the word using phonics? I think not..

SQ, ye,s Chinese ISA v good. Tian cannot read ayden,s page yet. She can read half of the page, mainly all xiao3. Small. Haha.

Gals, we r getting more n more serious about reading n learning now. Steady.

Astro, I am interested to go to the talk w u, but I need to sort out my logistics cause I need jay to bring my bm back home for the day. Hm... Let me know if it is on.
Then we share cab back home at night. Hee.

QQ: Post Tian's digestive system and bones worksheets..

You ask Tian to read the same passage again tomorrow. If she can (I think shd be no problem for her), then this means we can use any material to teach them to read chinese. They just need to be exposed to the different characters.

AAA, I dun see any worksheet of tian,s about that. She said she learned but I din see anything la. I dun ask de. They seldom have worksheets de.

AAA,
ermmm ... I have no issues with people knowing our address. Anyway I don't think anyone would want to know. :p

RR: True also. And the add is an info that s not difficult to obtain if one really wants to have it. I m being over paranoid. :p

QQ: Oh.. I thot they ll provide a worksheet or a textbook on info they teach in class. So that parents and guardians can reinforce the lessons. Then previously how did jay go through the digestive system with tian?

i fell asleep trying tp pacify yh back to sleep! the poor boy was screaming!.. i think he teething again.. hmm.. come to think of it. he teethes at a mor furious pace than his gor gor.. cheeks all swollen .. have first tooth at.. hmm close to 1 yaer.. now 15 mths.. 8 teeth liao. wah..

RR: hey. i post the pages of the books for u. to have a sense of the so-called structure.. no response? :p

this kind hor.. can't let the kids 'free-play' one.. coz must ask them to do.. haha. i not good with free-play.. my play is usually structured.. if free play.. it means they are just roaming around.. and i am not paying attnetion to them at all :p

QQ:go lah.. it should be more a workshop than a talk.. i hope so lah. at least a workshop ought to be more interactive.. i hope.. :S
i signed up for the early bird special for a deal of 2 for $120 with Titu just now.. so if u are keen.. pls tag along.. following the insturction stated on the website.. from now till 16 feb.. still early bird special. if individual is $67.. then after that.. becomes $90 plus liao..

so u want me to sign up for u at $67? or ufind a partner here ? coz hor.. hmm. in a way i am taking a risk.. i dun typically buy such sales on web.. coz machiam all my money in before i see any deal.. but then again. not big money this amt.. so even if i get 'cheated'// then i learn the lesson. haha.. i have settled the payment.. she will send me the detail next week together with all the details to my email add. then she will also send me the links to the free e-books..
go leh.. $67.. see how they manipulate montessori to teach phonics and maths.. it will greatly enhance tian's learning at PT..

YY,
ya, tks, I saw but just now logged in with phone so difficult to read. Now with comp can see the pages better.

I saw the pages in the BP too. I find the Maths and Science ones quite interesting. They have a theme and a activity to learn something after each exercise. Think I'll get those 2 sets 1st.

AA: the books are not the same as what Ash posted. Ash posted the chinese reader. mine are activity cum learning systems in a book aka assessment books! haha

hmm. i think we got to align our definitions to make the discussion clearer..

ur reading english = sounding a word?
if that is what it means.. then yes i agree sounding words mean u need to have good phonics skills and relies on memory..

BUT my reading english is more than sounding words. It involves the comprehension and inference part.. the ability to interact with a text at a level that is beyond just mere sounding out of words... from what you have clarified.. i think, u get what i was trying to say.

then.. ok.. pt by pt..

>>>>[What got me confused over what you said was you're worried Teng learns by memorising words, which makes me think you feel that is not the "smart" way. Being able to recall words seen before (ie from memory) is a way of learning by association and assimilation, isn't it? So that's a smart way too, granted it may be the most primitive way. Incidentally, learning to read chinese is all memory work.]

a few pts here.
Pt 1: if the first point of entry to any learning.. is via rote.. via simply learning by saying it one time and memorising it the same time.. then when given another smilar word.. and can't react other than to be told and to memorise again.. then it is not smart and not the best way to learn.. let's trace back to the first trigger.. i was trying to comment on teng learning to handle a list of sight words given to him.. so in a sense.. those are raw data waiting to be 'decoded' and making sense of .. what i was trying to say was.. i want teng to be able to do in in a smarter way.. using rule and apply it across contexts and acheiving the learning by himself.. and not having to rely on me to sound out the word for him for him to memorise and aagain and again. If it is the latter.. then i would still say .. it is not a smart way to learn because it is so tedious.. in a way. i am trying to teach teng how to LEARN too.. coz learn to learn smartly. in future everything is half the effort, twice the result.. tihs is what i believe in..

Pt2: The chinese and english langauges are vastly different.. syntax, phonology etc. Chinese lends itself to exposure and memory.. by that i DUN mean that we all are not learning it the smart way having to remember the character by memory.. i have always felt that there is this charm in chinese.. which somehow is less eminent in english.. the 'simplicity' in the abstractness of the lang.. ha.. cheng yus in chinese best typify this for me.. v powerful.. ha.. ok.. this one i hope u can get what i mean.. this is the best i can try to express.. :p

english on the other hand.. appears to be rule bound.. a medium when there are some rules for you to try to handle the first line of representation - the letters and words.. SO.. if it is already there.. this structure in the lang.. then teng shd do well to be able to maniuplate and handle the structure.. which is why i say. it is not smart to handle english and to read english words by pure memory..

>>>[BUT comprehension is not the same thing as reading. There are many times when I've finished reading an analytical piece/news article, and find myself not understanding the meaning, and I have to go back to read the passage again. Doesn't mean I can't read, just mean I don't understand the passage. This is the same as what Mejo encountered with reading Macbeth.
And this is what I mean that comprehension comes after learning how to read, not vice versa. I want to add.. The former is easy to teach, the latter , tough.]

this is the definition part.. if it means sounding the words as reading english.. yes. then yes.. in this case, there is a 'reading' of english.. but like i said earlier. my definition of reading means interacting with the text.. to get a sense of meaning.. for a person who read the words. but can't get the meaning.. then with this defintion, i would, in my opinion, the person can't read english.. maybe it is a matter of how strict we want our definitions to be..

I would concur that sounding words is so much easier than to comprehend.. this is what we all went thru when our kids were younger. i think.. we said soemthing like.. he understands our instructions. but cannot express in words..

hence yes.. being able to sound out the words phonically is the first step to reading and understanding.. because u need to manage the 'interface' behind u can get any meaning out of anything..and hence.. for teng. i have diagoised his needs as phonics first.. appreciation he is strong.. but without the abilty to manage the interface more effectively.. his appreciation will be hampered resulting him being an ineffective reader (coz he will have problems reading and hence can't read.. when he can't read. he loses interest and he wun have the backround knowledge to handle any more future reading.. it is a vicious circle)..

hence i choose ICR over lorna whiston.. coz lorna whiston builds the environment.. that is good.. but teng needs the tool to handle the environbment more critically now..

dunno why. but another quite common utterance comes to my mind.. i am sure we all have a situation when we say soemthing.. then we go 'what was that?'..like i can sound out the word.. hmmmm.. say 'se-rendi-pi-ty'.. but what is that? this brings me to another pt.. learning vocabulary in langauges.. ha. but i think i need to stop here.. for the timing being.. :p

ha. what a long post..

RR: BP? Bulk purchase? haha. what lobangs have i missed out here?
ha..

actually i can't do well with readers. :p coz for me i find it 'boring'.. :p.. i prefer to do with kids.. make him sit beside me and do.. ha. i sound like a tutor here :p

i dun ven have the patience to read to him leh.. aiyoh.. he just keeps saying read to me.. read to me.. i feel like telling him. 'read urself'.. but i know he can't.. haiz. oh well..

slowly then..

Ayden's chinse text..
QQ: the way u say tian only recognises the 'xiao's remminds me of those the chinese texts last time.. those jokes.. a series of chinese characters.. then certain words are replaced by 'X'.. so to tian and Teng.. it will be
'小小 X X, 小小 XX.... '
hahahhaa...

star: miser fell asleep liao. tomorrow i confirm the dinner with u.. can? first thing tomorrow..this man needs 'coaxing' to attend such events :s .. i seriously think he is 'autistic'.. :S

AA: missed out that post.
if a child has learned to use phonics to sound a word.. and he commits it to memory in future. then ya.. in future he is not using phonics to sound out that very word..
which is why. phonics is a skill.. to be learned..

I can't sleep last night.
Must be something I ate or drank at the party. I think maybe too much sparkling juice.

Astro: You stayed up so late. If I knew there was company, I would have kept you company. I m enjoying this discussion with you. Hope we re not boring other mummies with our discussions.

So we have a different definition of "reading"! Haha.. Yah, I separate being able to sound words from being able to understand them, because with phonics skills, it is highly likely that anna is able to read words beyond her understanding of those words. In fact I wish this will happen.

Hmm.. For eg, if we're given a paragraph in bahasa malay, I will probably be able to read (ie sound) at least 85% of it. But my understanding of the passage is likely to be less than 15%!

Another example.. You remember I told you anna was showed a page containing words under List A and List B in the last step at the ICR assessment?
List A contains real words such as "the", "one", "two", ... "obnoxious" was the last word under the list.
List B contains fake words. I only remember the first word "dap". And I said I was over the hill (I meant over the moon, not hill :p) when she pronounced it correctly. Maybe HN can remember other words from Esther's assessment. But words like (I'm making up here) "karefoo", "poppergum", "lumunologi", "stooped", "barebilon", "xixofinatik" etc etc.. would go under List B. Get the idea of List B?

Back to sounding and understanding of words. For Anna, my ICR objective is met when she can read words under List B without difficulty. I hope the lessons will progress at such a speed that she can read words that she doesn't comprehend yet. When so, then I'll say the programme is effective.

Mejo: The educational programmes do set out to teach logical thinking. I can't say how effective this method is. Shows such as OSO - 3 special steps; Little Einstein - Mission Completion, Mickey Mouse (yes, even this) - calling O-toodles; Imagination Movers etc present a problem to the viewer and characters go about solving the problem. The lacking part is the lack of active participation. When reading a book, we can pause, go back and re-read a para if we lose the meaning at any point; watching a program is a "one-way traffic". And then the child goes go on "auto-pilot", with the mind wandering off..

AAA, astro, both of u v de chime. To me just learn can le, better than not learning. Haha

Astro, oh Joelle going with u, I see. Let me think la, I will join most prob, i am ok with non companion during registration because already have u and Joelle ma.

AAA, how we k ow tian learn digestive system?
When we were having dinner, tian said the food, go esophagus. I was like, how u know? Jay was like, what was that?
Then I told jay the school must be teaching digestive system. Then we googled and show tian, she said teacher also taught that. So we jus name a few la. Stomach, intestines, and come out as poo.. V simple de.
We do not have any worksheet for reinforcement. Her worksheetsnare more for montesorri teaching, counting, coloring, simple de.

Astro, I just asked jay, he said ok to pick up bm from me and I can go attend te workshop.
Yeah!

Anyone wanna partner with me? Or else I register as individual le.

Astro, by the way I learned how to scaffold children learning during free play before. It is somehow guided but led by the kids interests instead of adults ideas. It is v v different as compared to structured learning.

QQ: I understand.. Hehe.. Once in a while, I enjoy having lengthy discussions. Because it removes me from my auto pilot state of mind, and invokes me to think deeper into a topic. I like!

Astro: Hey your first point sounds similar to methods Glenn Doman and Shichida advocate wor. Both advocate flashing flashcards to very young children at high speeds repetitively as a way for the child to learn languages. No distinction was made in what the language is being learned by the baby.
To me, if a child learns this way, he is very smart wor.

Re Ayden s page... He also cannot read yet. It s very chim for him right? He s only been exposed to Chinese for 2 months now... I need to give him more time.. Maybe ask him again in 2, 3 months' time.. He appears slower than Anna.

hi mummies, good morning, went chingay last nite for the 1st time & yes i enjoyed it v much. Love the colours n sound fr the parade. Chloe was more bz picking up the coloured confetti which was flying all over..i thought they supposed to release over 4000 lanterns into the sky? but no le.. only PM Lee released one. we took 2 giant balloons home hehe..

RR
wow wushu.. urm wushu is those chinese type of martial arts? i dun mind taekwondo le.. i want ethan to learn this n swimming is a must for boy .. i think got sthing called akido. Chloe..urr duno wat to let her learn she loves to run everywhere think maybe when she is much older next time she might be in the sch's track n field team le :p

Re ICR
We hv good reviews here, but i overheard from a colleague that another colleague of mine spent 500 a mth n yet his son could not read. I duno the reason behind...

RR
wonder how come the news of the apr mummy went to the papers hor.. i didnt know at first but i told pete abt the story when i read in here, then pete read SM & WB n told me abt it. she is really wei da.

Belle,
Maybe someone called in?

Seems like you all enjoyed the Chingay last night. The Chingay at heartlands will past by my place here tomorrow evening. There'll be firecrackers and fireworks too. I'll most probably bring the kids to watch, hope they enjoy.

Starfruit,
It's in Thurs papers.

Re ji chu Han zi: was just at kinokunia. I take that what I said. I can appreciate the books now. The lesson ash showed is the 3 rd lesson, Shan and Gao are taught in the first 2 lessons. Going through the books consientiously, the child should be able to pick up the characters.

Astro: I like books that has exercises to do like the ones u posted. What s the titles?

Belle: how long did the child stay in the program?

RR
yeah i enjoyed, it was v grand n spectacular, i even cheong to the front to take pics till i 'forget' chloe was with us hahah. kept asking pete where is mama till he has to tap me to go back to my seat :p yes i wonder how they break up to go to diff heartlands.. think only the PA grp will come? dun think those int'l grps will come but nevertheless the PA group has a big contingent go bring the kids see la. tv telecast will be tom le.

AAA
wat program?