(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

AAA
seems like now our girls are into princess at this age
i asked her wat princess she wants to be, she only knows cinderella. n Little red riding hood :p since when red riding hood is a princess? ha!

Belle: I've no idea where anna learns about fairies.. She doesn't know WINX club yet.. Hmm..
Did chloe learn from your maid? They pick up very fast de.. Ayden also knows some malay words.. Haha..

AAA
stimes i joke w maid with these words so chloe picked up

oh! u reminded me of AI! Aiya i missed it. Steve Tyler has a powerful voice.. his dotter is beautiful!

Belle, aaa,

Me also thinking of having celebration in Xavier cc, today ask him to choose his cake, surprisingly he say he dun want to celebrate in sch! He said "I want to blow candle w papa n mummy at hm!" I felt very sweet!

Oh, he can write 人 today! Wow, I'm proud of him! Hehe it's e mummy making a big fuss... :p

mist
wah.. u must be v touched by X's words
u taught him how to write? i m ashamed to say my chloe duno how to write yet.. just now she was playing a fool, took out her reader in ENGLISH but read in CHINESE.

Belle,
Chloe learnt those from Wati? So cute.

I'm not planning any party for them too. Will probably get cakes for school and bring them out. This year like quite rush, CNY came so fast then their birthday le, not enough time to plan anything.

The promotion at The Line is still on. You can go to the website and book. But they only allocate 39% of the daily seatings for the promo. So might not be available if you want to go soon.

http://dine.slsrewards.com.sg/sg/en/shops/view/TheLine

Belle: I love his voice too. Prefer his voice to his looks anytime. Liv Tyler is lovely. Like her as Arwen in LOTR.

Mist: Some days anna also tell me she doesn't want to celebrate in school. :p She has so many opinions now, I get quite confused by her sometimes. Good for X!..

RR
eh i saw ur FB n tot u are celebrating for RR this year cos of your reasoning with kent :p
ok tks for the update on THE LINE. no rush la. just another option for catching up w my sister or me & pete just go for our 5th anni celebrations

stimes chloe will shout out cepat! when we cross the road, stimes she will say w/o thinking that aunty is gila.. mummy is gila.

Mist: You reminded me about blowing candles. On meimei's birthday, anna wants to cut the birthday cake. I took meimei's hand to cut the cake and then anna broke up crying! :p Then papa has to take her hand to cut the cake to appease her. :p

Belle: I remember anna likes the word anak.. She learns this from my old indo maid. And she knows mummy bigi jalan..

AAA
ya i tot his face looks abit funny when i first really look at him in AI.. i feel his criticisms is quite encouraging..he is not as harsh n direct as simon cowell.

anak means wat? quite familiar..aunty?

Belle: You can buy writing books for chloe from popular. It starts with the basic strokes. Then on to simple characters, mostly trace and write. I find anna likes to read and write, ayden doesn't. Ayden doesn't even enjoy story telling time. Is he too young?

Belle: Anak anak means kids/children. I think his face is the result of plastic surgery? How can his dotter look so good?

Big jalan means going out.. Hee..
I used to speak to my maid that I'm going out in malay. Anna caught this phrase very quickly. :p

chloe loves story telling, either i m not a good story teller or she prefers teachers telling her stories. once the teacher laughed n told me wat happend in cc.. teacher was telling the story with a sound effect.. teacher says BANG! chloe was so engrossed that she fell out of her seat cos she got a shock wahhaah..
chloe cant get a straight line straight..yeah she def needs practice. oh btw is our kids into only upper case letters? she likes to write CHLOE in caps no matter how i told her to write Chloe she refused to do do..

oh i know jalan is goin out.. bigi is wat?
yeah i tot it's plastic surgery gone wrong? maybe from wife's genes? J Lo looks really pretty too n younger when her hair is tied up.

Belle: This is what I notice in Anna and then in Ayden. They will know the upper case letters first. For anna, she knows the sounds of the letters first before knowing their names. Then the lower case ones. Now she knows the letter names and sounds of both the upper and lower case. Occassionally, she gets confused with b and d.
Ayden knows his upper case and their sounds. But when we asked him the letter name, he sometimes gives the sound instead. He's still struggling with the lower case letters.. Must give them some time.

AA: i had a quick chat with the ICR teachers over the phone the other day because i had some concerns. i needed some help with the list of sight words that Teng's Kindy is giving him.. i rememered mentioning to QQ.. teng can't recognise a word and a letter yet.. how i know?
when i point to the word 'the'.. teng will look at when my pen or finger happen to be resting and sound that letter instead! like if my hand is on 't'.. he says 't'.. then if u catch him reading.. it is very obvious.. he is obviosly rattling off a whole line when there are only two pages on the page?!

so i was worried and bugged the ICR adminstrator to get one of the teachers to call me back to teach me how to handle as we wait for teng to start his phonics class. i just htink it is counter productive.. when teng has to memorise the words (though we know it is relatively effortless for them to do so now).. when he can learn a rule and then group all the similar words together and read the bloody words! :S like 'all'.. then put 'b' to 'all'. and u get ball! and he knows ball what! haiz..

but fortunately the ICR teachers at woodlands are professional enuff to call back.. taught me how to split up thewords into the regular sounding one (those can try to teach the rule) while those that cannot sound.. just memory.. since the brain works that way. irregardless of how old u are.. it seems..

and i peeped at the PRP book.. i like the way they teach kids to recognise syllabi in words.. i hope it is effective.. coz Teng's kindy standard is currently.. the last few pages of the PRP book! -- blending and long/short vowels! .
haiz..

now i really think chinese is easier.. seriously.. coz.. all sight words! and u learn from exposure.. maybe it is harder?.. hmm.. i dunno.. in any case.. miser has the easier job.. again.... :S

belle: chole is a gem. pretty!

Astro: I don t understand what you were trying to say. Do u meanu feel there s no difference whether they learn to read from memory or by knowing the rules? I catch no ball ler... This is the only formal exposure to English for her. I m quite glad she enjoys the class. And yah, the teacher didn t start at page 1 wor..

Astro: I think it s good to know the rules. With the rules, the child can decipher any word. When a word occurs after x number of times, naturally the child will recognize this word and read it off from memory, skipping the process of deciphering it using the rules.

Oh mine! Lying on my belly on my bed now. And I suddenly remember the dream I had last night. Of a hunk I used to admire from afar in varsity! Who returned the favor and wanted to date me, and I turned him down! *shakes head in disbelieve!* And whom I met after many years when working at my last job!!!! Ok, I m going to bed now.
Nite nite..

AAA, Anna went for e icr assessment as well? I remembered I read tat there is no need to go icr so early. Good tat she likes it. Boys are usually more active and won,t like to be tied down for quiet activities bah.

Oh yes our gap items are here. But the shipment is quite exp. Let me sort out and send bill this weekend.

Star, I din receive ur SMS. So how?
Confirm ah?

Belle,
oh ... that post! Haha! Just some silly reasonings with him lah. :p I had checked out some venues and party favours but too last min so not much choices and need to order for the party stuffs too so gave up. :S

AAA,
Great that Anna enjoy the lesson.

Anna is quite advance, she is like a K1 kid. I think she is eager to learn how to read and write.

QQ,
Like I mention to AAA above, Anna is quite advance like Tian. She is eager to learn how to read. For ICR, it depends on individual kid and parents bah.

Astro,
Dun worry too much, when time comes Teng will know how to read. I think in Jun he will be in with his K1 frens or even better than them. For ICR, there is a parent meeting session with the teacher where the teacher will like the parents know how to help the kids and homework to do.
Like Esther's teacher, he advised me to get Winx club comic book to get Esther to get intereste to read.

Something made my day today.

I had been quite pissed with Reyden for the last few nights, getting more and more stubborn. So much scolding and screaming.

Then this morning when I brought them to school, their new (1 mth) chinese teacher praised them. She said they are very smart and learn things fast compared to their classmates, she's impressed by them. Reyden is one of the few smart kids she had seen.

I started to "complain" about his bad behaviour at home and etc ... She said he 吃软不吃硬, must use praises on him and he will listen, behave well and even help her "teach" other kids!

At that moment I felt so proud of him but at the same time, felt bad cos I had been "ill-treating" him for the last few nights. Will make up tonight.

Talking about Chingay, I think they are going to the heartlands too. I heard they will be at Aljunied and Hougang, maybe can go and see.

Found detail

The Chingay 2011 celebration includes the following:

Parade 1 on Friday, 11 February 2011;
Parade 2 on Saturday, 12 February 2011;
Chingay 2011 @ Aljunied GRC and Hougang SMC on Sunday, 13 February 2011;
Chingay @ North 2011 on Saturday, 19 February 2011; and
Chingay @ Bishan-Toa Payoh on Sunday, 20 February 2011.

RR i think reyden is very comfy in your presence thus may be more notti around u. He sounds like a very smart kid so maybe u can try the method teacher suggested n see if there is improvement.

AAA wha u also very fast hand fast legs. So fast enrolled anna in ICR.

Actually i was talking to my SIL she sent my nephew to ICR when wgen he was 4 or 5yrs old. He is in P 5 this yr. She td me she dun find ICR tat effdctive. She told me ICR is only good to teach kids to read but phonics wise still achieve very good results. I need to talk to her again cos i want to find out more.

QQ, HN: Anna went for the assessment on the same day we were talking about it last week! Haha.. I brought Ayden along as well too.
Anna's school syllabus is purely in chinese, that's why I don't mind starting her at this time. Plus her school hours is only 3 hours long, she has lots of spare time. That she enjoys her lessons is an added bonus. ICR is supposed to progress at the speed of the child's learning. I'll monitor the speed they go with her, if they're going too slowly, I'll feedback to the teacher. On her first lesson, the teacher could be assessing her standard, and so didn't teach anything anna doesn't know already. The downside will be she gets bored with school when her school starts the english lesson next year..
Hmm.. If Tian's school has exposure to English in school, then there's no need to start so early. Then again, it's up to you. You can see ICR as GUG too.

HN: Anna is a typical "textbook" child. She is like a sponge, and is eager to absorb anything taught to her. If I can cook and bake and sew, I'm sure she'll pick up the skills too. But too bad I can't.

RR: I think Reyden is a smart boy. And the yawning could be because he's bored with the school work. Need to find more interesting things to keep him engaged.

Star: Yah, come to think of it, I'm quite fast.
I've been trained in my job to act think and act fast lah. Do you mean to say ICR is good in teaching a child to read but not in phonics? Actually ICR focuses a lot on phonics.

AAA, i see.. anna will b too bored in school next time then. haha!!

huingee, ya it depends on individual, i agree le.

When i sent tian to gug, i wanted her to social social. that was my main objective. and now when i send her to PT, also mainly for social and emotional. i always take the phonics etc v v lightly maybe tian is quite good at it then i am more relax. anyway, i bought books for her now and i changed the arrangement of books. i put more books in living room now.
last night when i went back, she wanted me to read books to her, i was so so pleased. and then she wanna me to teach her new CHINESE words, she said she can write (actually fake one la, she cannot write yet). then it was so fun playing with her... i hope this can last but it is too early to say.

which book was that?????
star, it was the ji1 chu3 han4 zi4 500, book 1. haha!! she is at lesson 16 now, i think. she likes to trace the words by herself now, i dun teach her to write now. i oni want her to read and recognise words.
i bought 4 books. cause book 5 was unavailable when i buy.

AAA my iphone dun allos we to edit. Wat my SIL she is teacher too. She say from icr a child can learn to read very well but she mentioned abt phonics n other aspect of eng u cant learn from icr. Mynephew can read very well n i also tought ur phonics need to be strong to learn how to read. Which is whh i think i need to ask her again before i draw a co clusion. My nephew was with icr for a few yrs. N my Sil is not keen to start my #2 nephew in icr who will be 5 this yr.

Astro we r arranging for buffet dinner this sun. U keen ? text me cos reservations n deposit made already need to see if can still fit

RR, u very not good, cause reyden is v v smart!
remember the pretend play? he poured the water out of the windows? I already took him as a genius liao. i kept telling jay this is a genius, dun play with him if our idea is too simple.
later xia4 suay1 ourselves oni. ahha!

QQ i am at lesson 4 only cos we do 1 lesson a day. My BIL ask me not to rush n we neec to repeat the last few lesson everytime we start a new one. So far so good. Tian chinese is good so can fast forward but dun rush too. Do u test her to see if she remembers all the words from the 16 lessons?

AAA,
haha! You still remember the yawning joke. He mentioned it was before/after nap time so I guess was the normal yawning.

Actually I think he feels bored with school too so I'm thinking of putting him in more enrichment classes this year. He actually requested for karate but I'm worried for his classmates and Reyes' safety. haha!

Starfruit,
I cannot keep my cool everytime he tests my patience. I think I must learn how to see things from another perspective.

QQ,
hahaha! He does all sorts of funny things till I also lose track liao. His teacher said we need to handle him differently cos he's kind of different from other kids so whatever ways I use with Reyes, I do opposite for him? haha!

QQ: But good thing her class is only 3 hours long lah. So even if she's bored, she's not bored for too long. Haha..

RR: Haha.. Hey, I want to let both kids take up wushu. But ayden is still falling asleep in the afternoons sometimes, so I'll delay this plan. For the same reason, I'll let both take it up, instead of just one of them. Poor meimei. :p

Star: I see... I don't intend to let anna stay in this programme for too long. My objective is very clear. Yah, pls ask her more. My impression with ICR is they're very strong in teaching phonics. There is compre and compo too but that's in the next level, the "real" English level, where Esther is doing now.

RR maybe u can start him on those science n mathematics type if enrichment let him put his clever mind to good use. Since his teacher say he learns fast can they let him do more? Like join some if the older kids for some if the classes?

Star,
I let Esther attend ICR cos it's near my house. It basically teaches kid how to read using phonics sound.
There are many other sch like zoophonics, lorna whiston etc.

AAA,
somehow I'm fine with wushu but not karate or taekwondo. :p I would want him to learn lion dance next time too.

The primary school I'm thinking enrolling them has wushu so will let them go for it then but not karate now. haha!

Starfruit,
I think even for the older kids, they also don't do science or maths enrichment classes so young. I'll probably check with the teachers on the learning part more. I also don't know what to do with him on that. Some things which I'm teaching Reyes, he doesn't want to sit down and learn but before Reyes masters something, he knows liao.

I'm thinking of putting him in some "energy-draining" classes so that he'll come back tired and I won't have so much problem with his active-ness at home.