(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

blur, my father also cannot allow ppl wear entirely black one. white and black combi also cannot. my mum said of course not happie la cause oni when got ppl die then wear black mah. so we just follow. but in sg they dun see me, so black also ok.

coconut jelly? they dun sell la, so bobian.

AAA, tian is around 14.2kg now. plus minus 200g.

CK: Use contraceptive pills to regulate ovulation? First time I know of this. Anna is abt same height as Tian.

QQ: No lah. Don't take so soon. You start in July bhah.

Autum, Mejo: That we are responsible for our life and happiness - I just heard the same gist from another mother! It's something no one can dispute right? But it's not easy to put into practise, cos human beings like to "place blame" on others, and I guess parents are easy targets. :p

Belle,
Of course not! Mr Wong won't appreciate de la. I tell u, he can't even remember n I actually can't remember the actual date also. Sad la.

Belle: Sure can fit into one of the categories mah. We have like, don't like and neutral.

QQ: The figure 13.8 jumps up in my mind. Maybe that's anna's weight? But really not sure leh. Next time I weigh her and make it a point to remember. You can't blame me leh, I have 3 of everything to remember. Ended up, I remember nothing. Hahah!!

AAA, QQ, ha ha...i found it strange...but i never question the dr. She just said that is contraceptive pill to regulate the mens. Anyway, i will seek 2nd opinion from my gynae.

QQ,

Take coconut jelly, bb will be big? I whack alot of coconut jelly last time but YT is okay lei, not a big bb. If remember correctly is 3.14kg at birth. I whack coconut jelly until my MIL scared. :p

Autum,

Yar, she better don't come and whine to me, I can't stand whining. I'm afraid nobody likes to confide in me, cuz somehow, I'll make it sound like their own fault. :p But seriously, if a person cannot take responsibility for their own happiness, they will never gain it. NEVER! Or at most, whatever they have is a mere shadow of what can be. Even the most severely damaged soul can find it in themselves to be happy. Although I have never read the book, I felt like tearing when I saw the picture of the author, a young man with only a torso and yet, he is smiling. I read about Randy being seen by his friend, smiling and singing to himself in his car while having terminal cancer. I truly believe, as long as your faculties of mind are still intact, one can be happy or at the very least content and if not, be able to take positive actions towards achieving that state.

Hmm... I read that when a boy is 18, he would have attained 75% of his adult height, which is double his height from an early age. This shd mean he shd be at least 1.7m? Not tall but ok hor?

Ck
think a doc wanted to give me contraceptive pills too. It's to regulate estrogen and progesterone if I'm not wrong. Regulate hormones regulate cycle then start trying. Have to be patient type of method. If he gives clomid, it's using drug to physco your brain to send signal to ovaries to mature the egg. So clomid could be faster if it works.

Aaa
ya he said men's resp is to work. Women's is to give birth. Crap la he. Talk like mcp. Behaves like a silly kid.

Mejo
not only starwars. Batman. Spiderman. Superman etc and he has mask rider tailored costume.

AAA,

That said, parents have to be responsible for their kids happiness and safety when they are still young because at this point of time, they are truly helpless. Although, apparently, YT has a classmate who will self console herself. YT will tell me that she likes to play with C because C is happy but in my impressions, I'm always seeing C crying or at least at the beginning, she will always cry at the beginning of the day. Today I had the parents teachers meeting and mention this to the teachers and they said, the girl will smile and said, "I'm happy" to herself to self console and then YT took it that she is really happy all the time. See, even a 3 year old kid can take actions to make herself happier.

pinkpink,

Wow, impressive. He really is into these. No wonder he is impressed with Leia's superman costume, haha.

no la, mejo. durian then bb big.
coconut jelly maybe liang2, then bb come early?

AAA, oh u have 3 to remember. haha! steady. must RECORD liao., how to remember?

QQ,

Then why you planning to whack the coconut jelly??? If it is about the baby coming out clean, YT is not particularly clean and her skin also quite spotty at birth. I whack like A LOT of coconut jelly. Almost one per day leh during the last two months.

aaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhh!
vv fed up now. Sun, i was jus chkg the air tix to fly in Osaka, fly out Narita or Haneda, Tokyo. tdy the prices went up by sgd300 for 4 of us! angry! i was jus telling mr pax if we shld book the tix. damn.
nw they hv offer tix in / out Haneda, Tokyo, but no offer for children, i.e. they'll be charged adult fare. now considering bcos we r nt keen to fly in/ out Tokyo. it means an extra 3 hr train ride..

mejo, kaexin
any idea how much is the bullet train fare Osaka to Tokyo/ Shinjuku? vv angry to google now.. thks in adv.

mejo, no la. i tot can eat jelly liao so if see then can start eating jelly ma. not really craving for it cause i got no craving yet.
so maybe drink coconut juice better, YT was not reallt clean when came out? i see.
1 per day is a lot leh. u siao siao.

times up. i go sleep liao.
nite everyone.

pax, maybe two days later will have discount again?

QQ,
the take coconut = clean baby, has no logic de la. It's just an old wives tale. haha. I asked my gynae before and he kind of laughed at me! :p

Aye, and I took coconut.. not coconut jelly. Maybe there is a difference?

This is interesting ... I was on rather bad terms with my dad during my teenager days but it was all my fault. I was a rebellious teenager and true enough I did regret some of my parents' scoldings/advice that I didn't heed.
After having the kids, I realised how much my parents love me from the way they dote on them. I think they kind of missed the times when I was young and obedient.

Those who are angry with their parents
1. Autum
2. Pink
3. AAA
4. Kiddo

Those who have no feeling
1. Astro
2. Mejo

Those with the best parents in the world
1. QQ
2. SQ
3. RR

QQ,

Haha, I whack not because of clean baby or whatever. I just have crazed craving for coconut juice and coconut jellies. :p I also think the clean baby thing is an old wives' tale.

Just came back from eating herbal jelly. heheh..
Came in to amend the table. Cos I believe I've "forgiven" them. So I move from table 1 to table 2.

Those who are angry with their parents
1. Autum
2. Pink
3. Kiddo

Those who have no feeling
1. Astro
2. Mejo
3. AAA

1. QQ
2. SQ
3. RR

Mejo: That little girl is quite poor thing to be self-consoling herself at this age don't you think?

Autum: I wanna ask my thoughts out loud. Do u think our parents didn't set out to be the best parents to us, like what we do to our kids? I mean, I'm quite sure they didn't set up to become parents whom their children will hate, but do they think abt what type of parents they want to be? Or maybe times have changed? In those days, people don't ask themselves such questions?
I heard of th drinking coconut water to give clean bbies before. In fact, my mum told me so.

Mejo: No lah. For big bbies, take durians.

Pink, ok. Amend the table.

Those who are angry with their parents when younger
1. Autum
2. Pink (dad)
3. AAA
4. Kiddo

Those who have no hard-feelings now
1. Astro
2. Mejo
3. AAA
4. Pink (mum)

1. QQ
2. SQ
3. RR

Ash,

I've asked my sis, she said the vit c and whitening ampoules seem to be helpful but collagen one does nothing for her. She bought the made in germany ones, I think brand is sessenz.

AAA,

I think she's quite cool. The teachers seem to find her funny though. Hmm. But she is YT's best friend now. I think I should find some chance to observe them together more.

Pinkpink,

Aiyah... okay, nevermind, save money for me.

astro : u are MAD! lolz! am still in confinement manz! siao! hahahahaha! so funny!

as i am reading the thread.. i asked tiffany .. does she dislike me? hahahaha! does she love me? hahahaa!

RR : i also rebellious teenager... hahaha! left home at 19 ( i think ) and did stupid things that let me learn my lesson in life.. somemore my mum single-handledly brought me and my sister up.. :p but she is forever so forgiving and i am forever breaking her heart.. so bad of me right? hahaha!

AAA,
i don't think times have changed. People are still asking the same questions now as 30yrs ago. I believe parenting issues are eternal. Of course the matter at hand would change with times, (like no heavy metal last time, no black clothes last time, but now could be no other-things)... but the core values/issues/questions - about being good parents should be the same.

I am sure there are some parents who don't think about those questions you mentioned, be it now or 30yrs or 50yrs ago. There are still tons of irresponsible parents TODAY.. and I am sure those parents do not think about those questions. Just as we have mummies in this thread who have the best parents in the world.. so there are good and 'bad' parents throughout all ages.

That's what I think.

Autum: Well... If you think so, then less reason for you to still be angry with him leh. Cos your parents did their best to be the best parents to you lor. Unless you're calling them irresponsible. ?
Different for my case. I believe my parents (esp my mum) never asked herself what type of parent she wants to be to us.

AAA : u really got me thinking.. wat kind of parent i wanna be to my girls.. i ever tot of it before.. i wan to be their friend.. but its not very possible at this age.. hahaha!

Autum, AAA,

I do think that times have changed. Parents in the past have fewer resources available to them, whether be it help or learning resources. Who can they learn parenting from? Mostly their own parents who may or may not be good examples. They have limited resources spread out among many kids. They definitely don't have forums like we do now where they can whack out their concerns etc. Values are also different. In the past, fathers are concerned solely with providing for the family in the material sense. I'm sure even now, there are fathers who think that way. But in our generation, fathers are encourage to participate in more active parenting. Like NLB is holding this fathers reading day or something. So, yar, different cultural and social expectations. My FIL left my BIL out in the rain because he doesn't want to appear as "hen-pecked" in front of his brother. He is the youngest child and his eldest brother is the type who will critise his siblings as being hen-pecked if they care about their children. Anyway, he is a hypocrite cuz he openly care for his own children but critise the younger siblings for doing the same. And majority of the parents then don't have help. They are not only expected to care for their own kids, they have to help out the extended family. My MIL has to feed her SIL's kids and cook for their family. My mom works but has to do all housework on her own. So yar, it is different.

Mejo: Why do he teachers find her funny? I find her sad leh.

Nana: Hmm.. Friends or not. I want to be parents whom they love next time.

SQ: Hmm.. How to be parents our children won't hate? I think we have to ask why we "hate" our own parents first. So I guess, the following are a few points:
1. Cannot show favouritism to a particular child, cannot favour boys to girls
2. Must make the child feel and know we love him/her
3. Spend time with, be with, and listen to them (even if we don't agree with what they say)

My mum is ever so sacrificial
she gave up so much for us
from leaving 'town' to be married to a 'kampung' guy
from being a xiao jie to having to slaughter chickens to feedg pigs aft she got married (cos my grandparents used to hv pig farm)
then serving my dad's 15 brothers/sisters/SILs
to taking care o us
everytime b4 n Aft sch she will fetch us cos she bu4 fang4 xin1
we always hv hot meals waitg for us (but nvr appreciate, always complain)
then she will always make a snack or two in case we r hungry (cakes, gwey, tarts, dumplings, pizza, mooncake, paus etc)
I can't tk o a thg she can make

vs me can't cook a decent dish
how can I ever measure up to her

I 1 2 b her dotter again my nex life

AAA,
Yep, irresponsible is the word. Actually I don't hate him le. Maybe to put it even more strongly, I despise such people. Not just him per-se. It's any parent, who is irresponsible to their children, I despise such people. So that is why I cannot "forgive" him, because it's not a matter of forgiveness.. it's a matter of my belief/value, that parents have to be responsible to their kids.

That is to say, if I were to "forgive", that means I no longer hold true to my belief.. You know what I mean?

Oh favourtism
come to tk o it, I used to hate my dad when I was young
cos he favours my brother
but now tt I v grown up, I do tk tt my brother is a much more lovable child than I was
plus on my wedding, my dad shed buckets o tears n couldn't zzz for days
tt was when I felt tt he loved me too

Nana, AAA,

For me? Very simple, I want to be a good example for YT. I want to show her that women can be successful in various areas of life as they choose. That we will not be helpless and that we can have power to choose to be happy. I want to be her teacher in Life. She will get knowledge, skills, manners etc. etc. from me. And I always try to remember this, most children can hear what you say, some will listen to what you say but they will all do as you do. Need to walk the talk.

Aaa/autum
my mum isnreally beyond words
yet I nvr appreciate her til I m a parent myself
when my kids r notti, I tk tt's my retributn
I really do

I used to 'blame' my mum for feedg me so well n 'making' me so fat
n I tot I can b thin aft I got married n move out
nvr happened
tt's how ungrateful I m

(haha I feel tt I shd confess here. Machiam confession. It makes me feel btr)

SQ,
Your dad is so cute! Shed buckets of tears! He must be so sad his little princess is getting married! (or maybe relieved?? *siams* )

SQ: Your dad shed buckets of tears? Hehe.. Dunno why I find that funny ler. It's touching - like a scene from a nice movie.

Mejo: Wah! You have very strong feelings abt this. I read something AWARE wrote that children are being brought up by maids these days. That next time, they won't know how to "parent" their own children, cos there was no one to learn from. :p This is so true. I don't know what I should do with my children being at home, cos my mum was never really around. :p

Autum
ya lor
my dad shocked me
I tot he wld b glad to get rid o me since he nvr loved me
or so I tot
I nvr felt like I was valued in e family till then
now 'everybody' listens to me

I din even dare look at my dad when I walk down e aisle cos I was afraid o would b sobbing inconsolably!
Even my best fren could tell my dad was sad