(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

RR: I know.. We always don't think we're slim enough.. ;) Anyway, it's a good thing to keep in good shape.. Hope I can lose back the weight after this pregnancy. But already, I'm eating more than usual and more than the past pregnancies in the 1st trimester.

Mist,
Can try to get a maid and see how. I think if get good maid you will have extra helping hands.
Somemore if now is one kid, your maid will have more time to get use to your boy, your house and expectations. If wait till baby is out, everyone will have more stress.
Dun think too much, might be a good turning point.

AA,
worry about that later! Just enjoy your pregnancy for now.

Someone ever said dieting is a life-long career for women, haha!!

rr, hee... At least i see your result. Cos is not easy to get rid of the tummy.

Bbmar, u wan to sent ah bian to talent plus? I got 2 sets of uniform. M size. Let me know if u keen.
different branch different teacher. My side not bad.

Mist, good that your hb is on your side.

Ash: EDD is 14 feb.. that's the first day of the CNY on top of being the V-day. the shops/restaurants must be going crazy planning the promos for both the events that clashed together. haha
sometimes i think it's a boy; sometimes i think it's a girl.. dunno.. and it doesn't matter lah.. maybe i'll do what qq and a few other mums here suggest, don't find out until the delivery day itself!

huingee, yes i intend to enrol him to talentplus at 451 cos thats the only non-aircon playgrp. There is one Appletree in the cc but its fully aircon which we dun realli like. I read abt their info fr web and i think its not bad cos of the montessori programme. Most likely to start asap since ah bian is so bored at hm. Now he is gg for musickinder class on every sat and we find he is enjoying gg to class so enrol him for the playgrp soon will be beta.

yvonne, uniform shld be the same in every centre right??

huingee,

My neighbour gave her mum $900 per mth, plus employ a maid leh.... I not only hv to pay for maid, i hv to "pay" for an "old maid" for supervision... on top of that, still hv to give her marketing allowance, wah liao, every mth i hv to give $2000!!!

Ay, i dun print $$ leh... and not some big director at some big company hor...

AA: wow! 14 feb, yeah, tt's the 1st day of cny too. will sure be a really bz cny for u next yr. i'm sure u'll wont mind either gender cos u have 1 of each already

bbmar,
You can let Ah Bian try the talentplus playgroup. Appletree, you can study there till kindergarten. Or kindergarten you want to let Ah Bian study at pcf?

Mist,
Haha, your neighbour must be very rich. For us cannot leh, let your hb do the taking and see how bah.

Ash,
not i compare... it's my mil... i dun even know all this details, until she told us leh!! cos she kpo and small talk w my neighbour's mum... aiyo!! she's the one comparing leh, not us ... sigh

huingee, kindergarten i will enrol him to pcf. I called up pcf blk 422 but they only hv N1 so hv to wait till ah bian is 4yrs then can study there.

1st of all,
welcome back carol.

AA, star has not confirmed the lunch for this friday. make it next week then.

Mon-wed.

mist, i also gek sim for u. now still got no. 2 on the way.
my experience told me that the best thing is to get control as much as possible. you can never control your mil. so the problem will come and go.
so, just pray that time flies flies flies and everyone grow up fast fast.
meanwhile, try to get a maid to help, dun worry about the $$ allowances for her. you need to increase the allowances if it is not affordable to you. slowly there will be lights de. no worry.
just tat u need to tahan all the nonsense on and off.

i go lunch first. brb later and yak

Mist: You think so chun to deliver on EDD?? I think more women deliver on any other day than the EDD itself.. Hahaha.. Anyway, I'm going for c-section, so it won't be on CNY. And I've booked my CL. KS lah, but CNY period, so need to be faster..

QQ puts it very aptly. You have no control over the situation now cos your boy needs to be taken care of. Unless you can get your mum to help in the meantime or you can stay at home to take care of him. Think of alternative plan and regain the control before doing something else..

QQ: Ok thanks.. Next week is better..

Mist: Hey, not that I'm saying you should give in to her requests leh. Am just suggesting don't argue with her and divert your energy to find alternatives first.

hi mummies w maid,

ask u huh... i just called a maid agency, she gives me 3 option 1) maid w no experience, 2) maid who worked in middle east 3) maid who has worked in S'pore or HK...

For your maids, all got experience working in S'pore or never work in overseas before?

Mist
Is yr MIL gg to work even if you have the maid?
2K is alot leh, if yr hubby talk nice nice to her maybe can cut down the allowance cos u still have to pay for the maid's utilities, food & many misc.

Sometimes my mom also like tat, wan2 threaten me when she's in angry mood.
If i hard against hard, i sure lugi cos she will ask me to bring my son back.
Now tat she knows my son is attending school soon, (me in control :p), she sort of feel tat she's losing a job.
So nowadays if she complain tis n tat, i will 'remind' her again...aiya, Kai gg school soon, u will not see him so oftenly as before.
Nvr mind lah.
Then she sort of keep quiet...hahahaha..

We really got no choice when we are under pple's 'umbrella'. I understd yr feeling.
Relax relax..think of an ultimate plan wif yr hubby.

AA: i wish i have things to lelong, but i dun
in fact, i didnt buy much. not enuf time to shop. also wasted 1 day in macau cos stuck there due to my maid's visa

tt's why the first thing i ask here is if there is any sprees to join. i even went out for 2hrs shopping y'day and spent 100 plus. keke!!

AA,

yah, i also know the situation is not to my benefit lah, so i just ren qi tuo sheng loh.... and lucky i'm not around during her argument w my hubby.

Anyway, my hubby just want her to confirm if she's looking for job, if she is, hv to give us some notice period to look for replacement/alternatives.... ay, resign also need to give 1 mths notice mah....

yah, hv to be ks and book your confinement lady... lucky me also on the lookout liao, just hv to confirm the date which i can c sec... hahaha.. lucky this time not depending on mil to do confinement, else i will ki siao....

belle,
i think my mum cannot leh, cos she's going for ops for eye (cataract), she cannot do strenous stuff for a long time else affect her eyes.

Mist: Let me give you the below analogy:

Without any experience = completely fresh graduate without working experience
1) You have to be very patient and hands-on in teaching, guiding her and showing her the ropes.
2) You can't expect her to take a lot of initiative cos she doesn't know she can or even if she's supposed to do things before being told or not.

Ex-Sing or HK = someone with experienced in the same industry
1) This person knows how things are done (ie how the washing machine works, how to operate a vaccum cleaner etc)
You need to let her know your household rules and habits eg what time lunch/dinner is taken; what she can or cannot do; what tasks she is expected to perform etc (aka the company code of conduct, and the specific job scope. different compaines will have a different set)

Ex-Mid East = with experience but in another related industry
1) The mid east is a muslim continent, so most prob this maid is used to muslim rules. And they're prob used to having a few maids in the family cos the houses and household in the mid east are bigger and larger. And they'll prob want to have off -days.

Which one you select depends on your needs.

Ash
Summaries
1. Great potluck session at Florida!
2. 四大美女 swimming poses - Star, QQ, Evelyn & Jay?!?!
3. Yvonne chopped her hair & look more sexy & pretty.
4. Pink's Mr Tan went BKK, come back with foodpoisoning; kana quarantine at frd's hse.
4. Evelyn jio for zoo next mth - TBA cos of H1N1 & some mummies walk fast walk slow.
5. Nana bought the expensive teaching set, in the end Tiff become teacher.
6. RR slim down & the most happy is Kent :p
7. AA become AAA (sounds like some batteries), still in shock mood.
8. Mist mil 'resign' & now she must quickly action for maid....HELP....

Mist : i agree.. cannot compare one la.. aiyo..

pax : i would love to provide curry again.. kekeke.. but national weekend i will be in bintan.. :pP

Kai: I like the battery analogy.. Somehow in the opp size.. Cos the battery size gets smaller with more As, while my baby numbers get bigger. Hahaha!!!

Ash,

Never shop in macau, so hands very itchy huh? i was wondering y u ask if any shopping spree ... hehehe..

Kai,
i dun know leh.. that's wat my hubby say lah... my mil said she go work, also better than staying at home and look after our kids loh. Get peanuts loh, unlike our neighbour loh... wah liao, i wanna faint!!

But there again, my hubby commented to me lah, my mil is 60 yrs old liao, who wants to hire her? even hv pple hire, aiyo, she also hv to work like siao.... not like at our place, she can freely watch tv and nap also.... my hubby also mean lah

morning mummies
woke up not long ago!

Blurbelle
so next potluck will be your house?

pax
i want to prepare Gor Hiong this time. already planned hahha. if mr tan has time, i ask him to prepare his Lor Ba with the bao. lets make it the national day weekend.

mist
read abt your MIL feel so angry for you.
she's threatening u to get a better deal.

frankly i wouldnt consider her help anymore.
1) she will conflict with maid
2) u already dun like the way she handle your ah boy.

go ahead to get a maid early. train and guage her performance for a while. if no good, change, no big deal. if u are afraid of putting her alone at home with bb, put web cam all over your house.

Mist: Also, with more experienced, the maid (aka the graduate applicant) is smarter and knows her rights and can be more demanding. If the person is a fresh graduate, will still be a bit blur blur one and so you will be able to better manage her expectations..

welcome back Ash

Kai: to add on to the summary
9. Astro on mc at home, bad headaches (not H1n1) plus *ahem* sore V agrea.. and she keeps hearing Bao go berserk screaming to test his vocals.. then he laugh laugh laugh...

AA
is it true that those who work in Lebanon are usually quite hardworking?

i have a feeling tat those who worked in Hong Kong usually draws a higher salary than spore and they tend to compare.

Ash, BBMar
your DVD is with me

Ash
so you maid is continuing her service? when she went back home, must you make for her flight to and fro?

kai: tks for the summaries

looking forward to next gathering!

mist: macau is a BORING place to me n things are expensive. GZ is a gd pl to shop but i dun hv enuf time.

Kai,
your summary's so cute, haha!!

Pinkpink,
wah, so fast you think of food to bring liao ah? But we don't have a place yet leh.

Mist,
tell your MIL "peanuts also not cheap". :p

pink: i didnt order the dvd rite?

my maid went home n came back liao lor! that was > a mth ago. ya, must pay for airticket to & fro. can get budget airline. mine was fr cebu pacific

Mist: wah. i read ur incident.. and i got MAD! .. it is almost like my mother case? just that my mother's more meek.. and wun dare to argue that fiercely with me..
I think it is all frustration.. I read the story..I wasn't so affected about how she manipulating the situation but more disappointed that she will feel that compromised, taking care of her grandson?? doesn't she love Xavier???

i think the other mummies are sensible.. get a maid fast.. or put Xavier in a childcare first to buy urself more time (is he already in one?) and before u 'break collaboration' with ur mil ah.. i dunno but this is whati will do. definitely not sound advice.. i tell just very flatly, very calmy tell her 'i am sorry that things turn out this way.. i thuoght all along that Xavier was the pet of the famiy and all love him dearly'..

ah. ignore what i have posted.. I think i am adding oil to the the fire.. ignore ignore.. ok?

pink
wah ngo hiang & lor bak both i want. next pot luck arrh.. i dun mind but i need to check if the playground is open by then & need to set date.national day wkend will be 8/8??

RR: cebu pac is also a budget airline. i cant book her on tiger bcos they dun land at the req airport. there are 2 airports in manila, tiger lands at clark which is very inconvenient for my maid n she not familiar. so we found other airline for her lor

nana u cant make it on 8/8 arrh? i hv a name for your curry liao..its NANA'S curry..Do u mummies know there is a famous branch at amara food court? hehehe..

chum i m sneezing nonstop le.. must be the dust from my comforter! now so sian to go out to office