(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

bbmouse: i am not offended lah. what's there to be offended with.. coz if got means got mah.. not as if u attacking teng's character :p.. maybe too dry air conditioned room for our kids now..

pax: he is on illadin nose drops and polaramine prescribed and muscus solvan .. DR Ong prescbried these for him.. but hmm. not working. but sometimes kids ar elike this right?.. as in take a lot time to recover from blocked nose and needs antibotics?

ehh. u know the breaks for Dr Ong or not ah? as in when are her break time for weekdays?

bbgirl
i'm cool. it's jus that we hardly see any cap letters ard here.. and all a sudden i see caps to my previous post..

astro
the 15yr limited pay is pay for 15yrs and be covered for life (i.e. till death or permanent disability or critical illness, depends on rider). on the whole, it's cheaper than paying up to 85 yrs old.. but Prudential withdrew that plan last Fri, so no more liao.. but they do have other similar plans with a tweak...

bbgirl,
another auntie told me to dress bb with long sleeve (not too loose) in aircon room cause sometimes the pores can just open or close and bb will catch a cold. i guess watery eyes is just a start of catching cold?
not sure. but many aunties told me so...
why i meet so many aunties one? haha!

Astro: Sometimes when I'm nice, I will take extra efforts to be sensitive. I'm quite a sensitive person, just that sometimes I can't be bothered to explain myself, esp when I'm busy and I know I have no bad intentions.

Pax: Exactly.. Heck care lah..

JWT UPDATES

To keep things very short and to the pt, yes we still have our CONFIRMED slots in the free trial, no longer on waiting list and we have THREE more slots available! (PREFERENTIAL TREATMENT! HA!)

however we need to be split into two classes. This is where I seek ur co-operation coz this is the win -win situation else we all wun get to go for the class and it becomes a very messy and unhappy ending.

2 classes
Class A (15 March, 3.14 - 4pm)

Class B (16 march, 11 - 12 noon)- Class B need MINIMUM 8 bbs to start

10 bbs per class

I seek the cooperation of mummies who are not attending the sun kindermusik class to take the sun slot instead coz the sun timing, very unfortunately, clashes with the kindermusik timing. The mums whose bbs are attending the kindermusik class on sunday and hence not possible attend class B are Astro, Yvonne, Mejo, Star, veryberry, Giolyn.

that's the best i can negiotiate for, gals. :-( hope u guys can understand.

SO dun have to resend the details.. coz i already have them. Just indicate ur choice, class A or B.

Fion and michelle, u are in. 3 more places, huingee, moon, one more??

JWT Class A, 15 march, 3.15 - 4pm
1. Astro
2. mejo
3. nanabear
4 Yvonne
5. Starfruit

JWT, 16 march, 11 - 12 noon
1. QQ (I no kindermusik)

astro,
i bought NTUC vivolife for tian. 10 years limited payment. so pay for 10 years, $1.6K per year(100K coverage), and life time coverage for her all the way. similar to pax' plan.

bbmouse: as long as there is no intention to hurt. .i dun think need there is any issue at all lah..

pax: i am hopeless with all these issurnaces and protection schemee. these all advised by ur hb? :p or u went thru them urself and decided the best for j & M ?

astro
opening hours 10-12, 2-5, i think...
both M and Jo got a runny nose since the week before their birthdays. Dr Ong prescribed Chlomine and a cough syrup (i cant rmbr name liao) for both of them.. and Otrivin nose drops. Jo tends to get blocked/runny nose and M more prone to getting cough. Dr Ong told me to give antibiotic nose drops to Jo if her nose gets worse. luckily it didn't. she still has a little runny nose. i have decided to let her recover on her own since it's getting beta and stopped her Chlomine and nose drops. for Jo, unless it's serious, i won't bring her to the doc.. it takes abt 2-3 wks to clear w/o medicine.

QQ: Last time she (her eyes) wasn't liddat leh. Just recently only, maybe last 2 weeks. My hubby first noticed at the class. So when she came back home, we gave her fever med, and then flu med, although there was no fever. She "recovered". But it happened again the following Sat. Then we know it's not that she's sick, cos her eyes became normal again when she comes home. And we observed it again at her birthday party.
I shd call dr low.

Pax: Can I ask you something abt this term thingie. Is it better to pay as short as we can (which means smaller total absolute payments) or to drag it for as long as possible (which means bigger total absolute payments.)

I've been trying to figure this out myself. My hubby says although the longer term incurs a larger absolute amount, the inflation rate build-in is very low, so makes sense to drag it for as long as possible.

I can't figure if he's correct or not.

pax: thanks.. i took leave off tomorrow to bring teng to Dr Ong.. just now the long negogiation with JWT kids.. and had to stop the call with the clinc assistant midway. what's her name btw? JAnice? .. tomorrow have to go liao without appt.. i hope Dr Ong doesn't mind..

i see. so Otrivin is the antibotics nosedrops? hmm then teng become need spoon to feed milk.. coz he can't suck from the bottle coz nose so blocked.. end up interrupted sleep. wakes up crying.. now also drooling.. so i dunno if it is teething again for him.. no possibilty of him hooked on feednig milk via spn i hope?!

bbmouse, wah chim! for me, its a matter of what i want. i did not even go and compare the diff in 15 or 10 years. i guess i have my concerns that is special.

u also bot vivolife right?
time to orh orh liao.

Pax: My hubby's point is this. Example: For 10 yrs, total premium paid is $X; For 60 yrs, total premium is $Y. He said that if we use $X and invest over the difference in tenor of the 2 plans (ie 50 yrs in this case), the rate of return is extremely low and therefore makes sense to stretch.
And he said. *choi and touch wood!* He said if the person dies before the 60yrs payment period, the premium is "saved".

Does he make sense?

bbgirl
i'm not vv sure abt that.. i ask hubby later.. he's putting M to sleep.. i think wat ur hubby is trying to say is present value vs future value. we feel that small total absolute payments is beta than paying bigger total absolute payments...

QQ: We bot Vivolife for Anna. We want to give her as a gift, so didn't want to stretch it for too long. But we still went for the max tenor possible til she becomes an adult ie we went for the 21 yrs tenor.

All based on my hubby's analysis lah..

Pax: Yes, he's talking the PV of the total payments. And he figures out that the risk to the insurance company is actually higher if the payment tenor is longer. This I agree with him. But of course the company will build-in a risk premium for this.
Thanks for asking your hubby.. I shd have more faith in him. But I need a second opinion lah.

oh, bbmouse i understand your hb's points.
ibought very minimal amount for tian. so 10 years is good for me in terms of my own planning.
I lend $$ to sil to clear her study loan, that's also the $$ that can be used to pay for this policy. after that, i wash my hands and that's it, DONE..

Baby Girl: i agree with ur hubby leh..what ur hubby sat is correct esp the part abt the "insurace being saved if the insured dies before payment terms ends, no further payment is required, insurance will cease and fund paid out. I think that some ppl prefers limited payment plans as this means that they do not have to spend their whole life paying for their plans. These plans are also good for ppl with short income period (i.e., more income in the earlier yrs as compared to the later)

Pax: Actually now that I'm explaining his points here, he does make sense leh.
Hmm...
*suddenly feel quite proud of him*

Baby Girl/AStro: Thanks , chop my place liao.

Astro: i think can put veryberry's name in the first list lah, i dun think anyone will protest lah.

star, i agree with u too!!
i think bbmouse's hb is right. and it really fully utilise the benefits provided by the insurance company.

bbgirl
star is right too.. we also wan to be more "hardworking" and then has the "extras" for retirement, if u u/s wat i mean. :p

star: really? ok..how about giolyn?? any 'protest' ? :p
---------------------
JWT UPDATES

To keep things very short and to the pt, yes we still have our CONFIRMED slots in the free trial, no longer on waiting list and we have THREE more slots available! (PREFERENTIAL TREATMENT! HA!)

however we need to be split into two classes. This is where I seek ur co-operation coz this is the win -win situation else we all wun get to go for the class and it becomes a very messy and unhappy ending.

2 classes

10 bbs per class

I seek the cooperation of mummies who are not attending the sun kindermusik class to take the sun slot instead coz the sun timing, very unfortunately, clashes with the kindermusik timing. The mums whose bbs are attending the kindermusik class on sunday and hence not possible attend class B are Astro, Yvonne, Mejo, Star, veryberry, Giolyn.

SO dun have to resend the details.. coz i already have them. Just indicate ur choice, class A or B.

1. Astro
2. mejo
3. nanabear
4 Yvonne
5. Starfruit
6. Veryberry
7. Giolyn

1. QQ (I no kindermusik)

QQ/Baby Girl: But i think limited pay plan works out to be still slightly cheaper as compared to full term paying plans leh.

nana: are u in the insurance line? which company are you representing? what products can we get?

Star: Cheaper becos it's lower risk to the insurance company, so justifiable. But if there is an investment that can generate a higher return, then makes sense to stretch. This is my hubby's point. He claims he can beat the IRR in-build in the future value.

star, lets put it this way.
shorter payment terms has lower absolute payment, but then this will be linked to the company's performance and therefore affect the bonus in it. so, say if the average bonus is 5%, if we can invest elsewhere with more than 5%, then it makes sense to drag till longer duration. for me, i dun have lubang to make more than that (5% is oni an example bah), so i choose a shorter term so that i can have less commitment in terms of years.
who knows that i might not be working few years later?

can i interrupt.. just to show how hopeless i am in maths ??. i am lost with all these mathematical talk!!.. only part i understand is inflation.. haha. later i ask miser to explain to me.. :p
btw.. just to illustratethe pt that i can be so hopelessly jilat in maths.. this afternoon.. had a lunch time talk by IRAS on CPF filing.. turns out RP staff are classfied as self employed.. wah. what is that supposed to be? stunned.. then flashed me so many numbers and what ifs. .jialat.. duh...

star
u can check out NTUC vivolife... Prudential has discontinued their limited pay plan, but they have similar one. these ones, the main plans are limited pay but not the riders for critical illness/ total permanent disabilities, i.e. riders have to pay till 85yrs old

bbgirl
if ur hubby is good with investments and know how to invest, then his theory definitely makes sense. but star is right to say that the total premium for a limited pay plan is less that one that u pay for life (up to 85yrs old if i'm not wrong)

pax: *Raise hand* will teng be 'spoilt' and need spn to feed milk when he recovered from this blocked nose?.. this is one of the creative method my mum came up with!!

SQ: is this then considered a worthy battle to fight?

astro, yr hubby is the most impt man in "Our" company leh! he is the engineer like QQ's hubby! ok lah, i make him the spore office chief engineer ok! then QQ's hubby can be msia office chief engineer!

haha.. QQ and SQ, i am very imaginative hor.. coz i always dream to be tai tai mah.. but only in my dreams lah..

QQ, pardon me for being frank, maybe its still too early to conclude but i think yr neighbour not suitable for tian leh... like u said, its not true that tian cry = wanna sleep. is it becoz she wants to have a easier life with tian asleep? and the nanny doesnt seem to hv a "schedule", everything in prompt to esp on the sleep part...and seems like tian doesnt like her. no yuan fen... sorry if i make u feel more confused.. was tian like dat when she first "stayed" with her first nanny?

re baby account
i open an acct with OCBC children savers (dunno wat its called exactly) coz i have a OCBC downstairs only. din get any free gift but even if there is its nothing lah.. stickers, plush toys and dunno wat, things i wld return even if they give me FOC. no atm card, daily withdrawal max $500.

re love or in love
my hubby and i are pillars of support to each other more than lovers leh.. feel that love now becomes more of responsibility.. cham..

JWT UPDATES

2 classes

10 bbs per class

1. Astro
2. mejo
3. nanabear
4 Yvonne
5. Starfruit
6. Veryberry
7. Giolyn
8. michele (coz GUG on sun liao)

1. QQ (I no kindermusik)

QQ: Yah yah yah.. You explain the point correctly.

Star: Using the same numbers from my eg above to Pax.
$Y is of course >> $X
Say Y - X = Z

If the person can invest X now, and over the 50 yrs (the difference in tenor of the 2 plans), generate Z + a, then makes sense to stretch.
To judge this, we need to work out what is the rate of return build-in for X to grow to Y in 50yrs. The lower it is, the easier to achieve.

QQ: thanks. teng finishes 180ml in less than 10 minutes with spoon.. fast or slow?:p

edde: ok.. like that can consider investing in the company.. what abt me ah?? what role will i have?

edde, i know la. i ever tot of this also, but cannot think too much since its not constructive for me.
i also feel that my neighbour is not very good in handling bb but she has the patience (still have). lets see how after few weeks. think it in the positive way, at least tian can still sleep there. imagine if its the other way round, then jialat.. right?
if tian cannot eat, cannot sleep there, then surely need to withdraw liao.
now she can eat, cansleep (but dunno drink how much milk oni), but she smart gal, request lots of food.. kept eating.. so at least still have a chance to wait and tweat it back after that.

pax: half cup half spoon.. but sometimes he will refuse cup for the spn.. which is why i think it is getting to be slightly problematic..

posting for joelle
--------------
JWT UPDATES

2 classes

10 bbs per class

1. Astro
2. mejo
3. nanabear
4 Yvonne
5. Starfruit
6. Veryberry
7. Giolyn
8. michele (coz GUG on sun liao)
9. Joelle

1. QQ (I no kindermusik)

pax: ya i am reading up on vivolife..there are a few limited pay plans in the market i think.. but hor NTUC service/payout not as efficient as some other companies leh. i know about the pru limited pay plan... ur hubby with NTUC right? or Pru?

actually if u all dun need the savings from the insurance plan, can also consider term plans.. premium is much lower for same insured amount, just for protection only, then can invest the rest for higher returns.

astro your spoon must be super BIG! wa! then better drink it from cup direct, i think its better woh. he is graduating from bottle liao. which is GOOD!

astro, aiyo u nvr read my proposal carefully leh.. i said we all be tai tai mah, then can set up an enrichment centre cum childcare just to past time lah... u be spy for us lor, go attend all the trials then give critics so that we can copy the gds and omit the bads. haha!! i am so wise hor!

aiyo all these toks on insurance and bonds really make me feel so stupid (i mean it SQ! haha) coz my brain can nvr understand it. no wonder my econs sucks. and my Maths C teachers told me to drop maths.

wah pax, if i am yr hubby i will be a fatty from all the goodies u make/bake!

oh yes! i am trying to wean anthea off her pacifier starting from today! and so far so gd! i dun want her to be bak-geh like me!

QQ: is there by any chance that u think teng is rejecting the bottle.. wants the cup. but not confident yet.. so 'choose' to drink with spoon sometimes? chiam. i thinking too much laio leh..