(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

erm.. ok.. there are 3 different "groups" in discussion here.. i try to summarise from my little knowledge k...

1. playgroup (eg. GUG)
- min age depending on the class bah
- only few hrs, or even one or few days a wk.

2. childcare
- min age 18 mths, younger than that = infant care
- usually 7am to 7pm
- can use grant
- provide meals + nap time
- toilet train kids
- bathe kids
- lessons? not sure.

3. pre-nursery
- min 18 mths, maybe some older.
- structured lessons eg. reading, music and movement, languages, art, play, cooking
- not 7am to 7pm, eg eton 9am to 3pm.

some schs have pre-nursery + before and aft sch childcare service. so its 2 in 1. this is wat i am looking for.

star
i cant answer u cos i m just as confused :p

childcare at 18 mths...pre-sch?? eh...means pre pri sch?? i tot nursery is for kids younger than those who go preschool...oh no are they the same term? *Scratch head*

astro
yep! march 11 to be exact...i was crossing overhead bridge after my BK Bfast..then i read OH ! RAFFLES CITY MURDER?! WAH....then yak yak with hubby lor..

i go bom bom first...chat later.

I'm back from the eating and puking episode. Now feeling much better. People will think I'm bullimic

Star: It's true lor. THe babies take turn to get cranky - it's absolutely distracting and even unnerving. Now that you mention abt the noodles with hotdogs, I also feel like having..

Huskie: My hubby has been assigned to accompany my girl to class.
I don't think you get back the deposit automatically after 4 terms leh. You only get it back when you stop becoming a member ie your child stops taking lessons from them. Did I get this part wrong? What you can use is the PEC fees to offset the course fees after your child has attended 4 terms.
Huskie, erm.. In terms of speaking good english, I don't find the principal herslef speaks good english. *shh..* Passable but not the perfect grammar type.

Edde: Your summary is very useful. Much appreciated.

astro, i just learnt this term from my HOD yesterday!! HAHA !!! yes, i asked the person i/c today, how do they measure wat the kids have learnt if its free play. of coz, they gave me std ans that made me feel so stupid for asking the qn. haha..

star, i have a PAP just rite downstairs. yes there are many parents who send their kids to PAP and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that (not saying that you think its anything wrong lah!), but i guess it all voices down to personal belief and preference.

my hubby asked me the qn on PAP, why dun we just send anthea to PAP downstairs, so convenient. but my answer is, i wanna provide my kids with the best that i can afford (of coz i wont borrow from loanshark to send my kids to top schs lah!). there is only these 10+ yrs when i can do the best for my kids education. once they reach sec sch, they wont heed my advice anymore when friends' words carry more weight. so i want to give her a gd foundation at least.

i hope i dun offend anybody.. i guess it really voices down to personal belief. being a teacher, i believe there is a diff btn gd and average schools. yes, it doesnt mean that average sch cant produce gd students, but how high is the %? similarly, of coz gd sch doesnt equate to gd students definitely. its all a game of probability. astro, wats yr take?

i just got this off the cherie hearts website:

Infant Care: 2 to 17 months
Playgroup: 18 months to 3 years
Nursery: 4 years
Kindergarten: 4 to 6 years
Before and After School Care: 7 to 12 years

blurbelle, pre-sch is a general term for pre-nursery, nursery 1, nursery 2, K1 and K2. chim hor.. in our time only got K1 and K2, some of my classmates din even attend presch then! but no worries, pre-schs nowadays emphasize a lot on learning thru play, so no stress for kids!

bbmouse, no prob
i hope i din give wrong info and mislead everybody!

Baby Girl: Aiyo i was the same as u last time.. craving, eat liao then must puke, puke already feels so good then hungry and craving again.. vicious cycle.. i feel i was never full!!
ya i am still thinking of my chix abalone instand noodle + hotdog.. will cook a bowl later..maybe at 11plus..hehehe
But hor, i could not stomach instant noodles at all during my pregnancy.. eating instant noodles makes me puke.. so i didn;t go near it at all thruout my pregnancy.

I've got my brochure from GUG here - not sure if it'll help...

1. Gifted Babes
- Age 8 to 18mths
- 1.5hr sessions
- 2 or 3 times per week
- Fees $280/mth for 2x a week
- Fees $396/mth for 3x a week

2. Gifted Tots
- 1.5 to 2.5yrs
- 2hr sessions
- 2 or 3 times per week
- Fees $296/mth for 2x a week
- Fees $420/mth for 3x a week

Their lssson plan looks structured... their classes doesn't that "messy" either.
They have window slits which you can peep in to see what's going on in the class.

My friend likes it cos all their teachers are graduates and therefore speak good English... plus all their lessons incorporate 15mins of Chinese.

Star: Same symptoms as you. I didn't finish the macoroni cheese. Will keep in the fridge and reheat for tom's breakfast. The cake I finished everything.
I feel quite full, actually not hungry and this is the best stage. Too full or too empty I'll get nauseous.

bbmouse, its K1 then K2 then P1.. chim hor.. education biz is very chim in spore.

thx huskie, but i am looking for a full day sch
otherwise, GUG is very tempting.. u sending yr kid to both shichida and GUG?

bbmouse,
Ah, thanks for explaining the deposits!

The principal doesn't speak good English?! Sigh... then I'll probably cringe and fall asleep during her seminar!

Wow, you managed to get the weekend class so your hubby can accompany your baby?
For the April term, weekend classes are all full, so no choice, I have to take my baby for the Fri morning class.
I'm wondering if I can do 4 terms of it, and then stop and just do home practice?

My neighbour has been sending her ds to SM since 1 yr old... her ds is now 7 yrs old... she says he's got photographic memory.
I wanna ask her how his results is... need to see his achievements right? But so paiseh to ask!

Huskie: GUG sounds good. I like it, and I've also heard they're quite right-brain training based right?
Plus, I really don't want my baby to be in school for such longs hours from such a young age.

i am keen on GUG too.. thats why i so badly want to attend the trial class tomorrow.. hope Rae dun pengsanz after kinder.. must force her to sleep in the car immdiately.

bbmouse: eat and puke ah? sounds uncomfortable..

edde: alamak.. i was having small fried prawn rolls and chilling out on the sofa, watching the news with Miser.. and reading ur posts very eagerly and with interest.. and 'all of a sudden' got 'thrown' this super philosophical question on good vs 'bad' schools! haha.. got 'stunned' a bit :pP

ok.. after school hours, astro's take also less standard.. heehee. ok seriously..

i feel.. yes..'good' schools.. by virtue of the fact that the goal and beliefs creates the environment, everyone in the environment will be prep-ed to believe in that model. and to excel.. coz monkey see monkey do. works for Irin's kids.. as well as everyone of us.. :p:p.. so everyone will very eager to give their very best.. and that means at least. the 'pressure' to excel is there.. but does alli these structure and effort necessarily mean learning? and is their learning 'alive'? or 'drilled' into.. ? this is a topic which is still being intensely debated ..

but ya. bad schools have the problem of a 'mis- focus'. and environment is very crucial to the kid's development.. so have to chose very wisely..

edde, dun think u have offended anyone lah.. because ultmately, the teachers are the parents themselves.. and we are responsible for educating the kids.. starting from this very minute..

ok.. nothing fantastic.. heehee. coz hor. i distracted by the sex scandal airing on TV now. to be 'prim and proper' in this discussion :p:p

edde,
I wish I can afford both Shichida and GUG, but it's hard to do so on a single-income... I'm a SAHM.
Will have to give GUG a miss!

btw, a tip from my friend... she said try to stick with the same school (if they offer playgroup, prenursery and kindergarten).
She put her ds in GUG for nursery, then pulled him out to put him in a church kindergarten... her conclusion was that ds was probably more advanced than other kids in the kindergarten, found the pace too slow and didn't want to go to school. So it became "regressive" rather than "progressive"!

huskie: wah. GUG is steep also. hmm. but i like the duration. manageable..

star: must analyse and feedback here to forum leh. i waiting for ur critical evaluation leh :p class on sat or sun? we have kinder on sun leh.

hmm.. pink.. any more slot for GUG trial class ah? :p:p:p

huskie: u brought up a very interesting pt, my gf placed her kid in PAP kindergarten all along, until she was doing so well she had to transfer her out and put her in a church kindergarten cos the PA P pace too slow for her liao.

Huskie: I signed up in Oct last year. I got the exact timing I want cos I was early so could put down my day and time preference.
I think photographic memory can be trained. It is an asset to have for life.
After attending her talk, my after thought is that she must have done it so many times that there is no structure in her talk. She doesn't really follow any slides. So she just goes on and on abt the theory on right-brain training and research. And you'll notice that she's a very good salesperson cos she slides in a sales pitch now and then.

hee i m laffing :p cos i know k1 then k2 haha..
bb mouse: no offence...eh..but u puke food out or saliva? i heard some preggys puke yellow stuff...

edde
tks for ur explanations clearer now...
oh this to share, nephew in childcare 'AMAZING STAR' sgoon gdns..his sch got 'half' & full day, they do art, got lessons incl chinese, got food to eat. Homework also got, but my sis says actually no need to do (i duno why no need to do still give la) haha..my nephew 3 yrs old now learn alot after goin to sch & he only go half day.

told hubby abt the conversation u had opp yr blk 'learning vision' aiyo..hubby laff.

GUG is sch name or 'class name'? or short form for some namE??

This March thread moves fast and topics are so interesting! Looks like I may come in here more often... hope you mommies don't mind me barging in!

bbmouse,
Hee, all schools claim they provide right-brain training cos "right-brain" seems to be the hot topic for kids below 3 yrs old... but I wonder how true it is?

starfruit,
Let me know how your GUG trial goes OK?

Astro: its on sun at 1:30 pm! terrible timing cos its suppose to be her nap time but that is the only slot pink can get and i really want to attend. hey if u r keen, u sms pink now.. incase any mummy back out tomorrow, she can call u.

star: lazy to read archives.. so i follow QQ, 'short cut'..:p. what time is GUG and is $45 right?.. ehh. based on what u remeembered.. any more possible slots?

Belle: I puke some white colored stuff mostly, foamy and yes, sour. *yucks*

GUG trial: I'll have to go on my own when I'm better. Do they allow individual trial lessons or must organise in a class?

So tempting to chat longer... need to post this before I log off...

bbmouse,
Ever thought of asking the principal what is 148 x 478?
Hee, after we spoke to the teacher that evening, hubby jokingly said he forgot to ask her that!

huskie, this issue of mainstream sch being too slow for "advanced" kids is featured on tv before.. 小超人.. and it seems that the kids are from shichida.. its not a gd thing to happen though...

aiyah astro! i missed the scandal prog!! aiyah!

star: dun have pink's number leh.

wah. that is also teng's nap lor..and is that a confirmed timing? coz if every sun that time. then cannot lah..

and where is that place ah? i wonder if there is even any time for teng to fall asleep.. and hor.. honestly leh.. i very heartache to see teng grouchy due to lack of sleep and i wonder how much can he enjoy if he is so grouchy? haiz..

and ah.. sunday class right? how come mummies back out on sat? *confused*
huskie: haha.. ya that's why i am also in march thread. .FAST AND FURIOUS.. this thread.. and i like to speed things up very often. by.. spamming. hahaa. my boy is 1 year.. 1st jab bb.. but i am here :p

belle: GUG = grow up gifted..

huskie
welcome...eh didnt read archive u from feb thread har? tks for the explanation on GUG..wow...i hear liao very stressed le..'gifted' eh....chloe so notti n dun listen to me how to teach her to be 'gifted' :p

so star
WAT does this GUG teach???

Huskie: No need to ask. I don't think she knows lah. But she said she has a child who's diagnosed to be Down Syndrome. Through some pre-natal right-brain healing (she didn't give details), her child is born normal, just a bit smaller size. She's a mother of 4 children! 3 boys and 1 girl. Also, she says this little boy is the most caring of all her children now.

blur, wah.. go half day also hv positive results eh! gd gd...

sigh.. that teacher really ruined her sch lah.. too bad...

star, yes yes!! i read on newspapers! and i believe those photos are real lor! but i din really "see" those photos on the net lah... only from newspapers.. so juicy!!

last nite i brought my PC for repair coz it died on me. then my hubby asked me got nude/scandalous photos in my harddisk or not...&*^&%^$&(%^&(

edde: when u were so engrossed in ur education talk, the sex scandal finished liao lor! :p sorry.. "boh liao" --> teng rotates his wrist non-stop.. heeheee :pP

hmmm.. and it is really that good to have kids so 'advanced'? how about other parts of their development?.. character, social.. does shichida cover these equally impt aspects? no.. pt for us to ponder..can give our very best to send kids to these schools. but ultimately.. i think i still need to send teng to astro's school house.. :p:p

edde
i always think learning vision quite good le..hmmmm...

ya ya he is so enthusiastic in learning..made frns, love his art. Even got his fav. teacher.
Once his frn slap him! he saw it coming yet didnt avoid..(teacher saw) but too late, teacher told my sister abt the 'fight'. Teacher scolded notti boy for hitting my nephew, notti boy cried....ya know wat..my nephew hug him n said to him : IT'S OK. hee so sweet hor

eh...right brain, left brain..any mummies can enlighten me wats this abt ley..paiseh all i duno

edde: u search very easy to find one.. i saw the pics liao.. whoa whoa.. i think they r real too.. u try searching for "Edison Gillian Scandal".. they will direct u to the site to see.. hehehe

Re Scandal
The gillian and bobo chan pics a bit crude lah.. cecilia cheung one, no big deal, she just looks like she was damn high on drugs/alcohol and trying to take some kinky shots..hehe have not seen the new ones yet think its of maggieQ?

Astro: Shichida claims it is not a right-brain training method. It is teaching of the heart. THe students are taught to be polite to the teachers and one another, and to have a compassionate heart. THey also say one function of the right-brain is healing - and that children can heal one another.

scandal...hmm all in those chinese papers le..everyday my coll collect papers i will bio the headlines but dun really follow..

edde
i think the pics real too...wah ur hubby so funni kekek..
wah.. belle sits back listens attentively to hot juicy topics :p

thanks star
got it..

edde/star: real photos. this edison. so silly. sent for comp repairs.. but didn't know how to back up. and 'erase' these photos/videos before sending.. so silly leh. and in the first place.. why do he need to take them ah? stupid leh..

i tell u where i saw some of theese photos hor.. :p
go xiaxue's blog.. she got some censored photos. but enough liao.. i htink she provided some link to the actual photos somemore. eheeeheee
http://xiaxue.blogspot.com/

go read :p

edde: ya. tell him.. got his..!

bb girl: then this shichida method sounds good.. this is what i have been telling rae every day, to be polite and have compassion.