(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Baby Girl: me not that bz lah.. was bz watching the taiwamn drama "romantic princess" thsi afternoon.. hehe.. but i was reading the thread lah.

bbmouse: i wanted the thick ang mo soups.. i no feeling for the cantonese soups leh. too 'diluted'.. i needed something strong to excite my tastebuds then :p..

star:cheese fondue is NOT nice.. yucks.. had that in switzerland.. coz highly recommemed right? i wanted to pulke on tasting that. and like u ..i didn't want it anymore! yucks.and that time i wasn't even married haha.. so def cannot be preg hormones wrecking havoc.. they add in white wine isizt? why so yucky one?!

oh yes, i visited the learning vision opp my blk. i din make appt coz i tot i wld just drop by to pick up the brochure. this lady came up to me, told me the P was not in. then i requested for a brochure. i asked her politely if anyone besides the P cld give me some info on their pre-nursery class, she said no, and she added, "i dun hv time to explain to you too coz i am already off from work." i am surprised she can be so frank. so out of curiosity, i asked her if she is a teacher, and she replied yes, she teaches the nursery class. OMG, a teacher with this kind of attitude? past working hrs liao so cannot spare a min for interested parent? kaoz.. i wish i can tell my students' parents this when they call me beyond MY working hrs.

star: ok ok.. heehee.. i not too sure. it is my colleague who is dead certain.. hahaha

wah.. murder case? .. the campbell thick stew.. inside got what kind of ingredients?.. tell me.. let me aga aga guess :p ang mo kind or chinese kind.. ? :p

Astro: i knew i was preg before i when to switzerland.. tested postive 2 days before i flew there..hehe.. so garang right. actually no lah.. i was due to fly back to sg from my overseas stay then.. so planned a trip cos will we transited at zurich lor.

Huskie: So far, I find the classes enjoyable and ok leh. But we've only started in Jan. I also can't accept if a teacher speaks broken english cos the language used in class is english. How come liddat?

Edde: You're very hardworking leh. I think anna very chiam, dunno end up will go to which school now. We haven't done any homework.

I think the pre-school will be less structured cos the kids are younger, have shorter attention spans and definitely more difficult to control.

edde: ha.. she damm steady to reply this :p.. the one at RP quite big.. and the lady very enthu to explain everything under the sun.. but a bit fake leh. i feel. with the super enthu way she greets each kid.. call them by name somemore.. like got a pt to prove kind :p

starfruit: SUPER garang.. alamak. how can a cautius virgo ever attempt to scale the alps on knowing she is preg? wah.. *stunned* heehee..

Astro, Star: I already stock up some campbell soups for emergency. In case my hubby is asleep and I needed something badly..

Star: Got a murder case? I never knew. Which outet?

can i ask ah? u gals sending ur bbs to childcare or playgroups ah? playgps different from childcare right? i only want to send teng to playgroups.. not childcare.. i can't fit into childcare one :p

bbmouse, u r rite, dats why i guess teachers are very impt in classroom mgt and engaging the students. i must say i am quite disappointed with wat i saw today. hey there are many gd preschs in yr area (BT).. so u hv lotsa choices! i am just kiasu lah.. coz i am worried that the sch i want has long waiting list. and so i am rite, my first choice has no vacancy left even before i cld visit it! *sigh*

i have one ang mo colleague. who stay in clarke quay area.. haha stylo everynight can go pubs there liao. haha. anyway.. she send her kid to Pat's schoolhouse. then my fren commented that it is very ex.. but iszit good ah?

Astro: it was cos i knew i was preg so a lot of activities we gave it a missed... if not, i would have gone skiing (so regret i could not do it cos preggy).. more alphine trekking.. etc etc. my poor hubby had to lug all our luggage up and down the train all the time while we were there. Act, i think cos i was not very well informed about pregnancy, thats why so garang.. if u ask me now, i will def not do it if i preggy.

Aiyo i am so distracted here.. suppose to go wipe rae's playmat, and here i am still typing away.

Astro: the hearty soup got chix stew, beef stew etc, its froma can too.. i forgot the name of the can. its from campbell lah. u can see it at supermarket next to the reg campbell soups.

edde: You researched for schools in BT? Can share with me?

Astro: Pat's school house will be full or not huh? If no choice, expensive also must go wat..

astro, i am looking into playgroup + childcare. i dunno if there is any diff in playgroup and childcare though but the preschs i visited hv both incorporated.

Baby Girl/Astro: its the Raffles city outlet, the first outlet they open.. i think it happend a while back, last yr, one of the staff stabbed the floor manager over some dispute. They had to close the outlet while police investigate, it was all over the news... u all never came across??

Edde, Astro: What's the diff between playgroup and childcare? What's the min age for admission for each? And which is the one we get a grant on and how much is the grant? Sorry I have so many questions.. I really haven't done any single reading into this..

Star: Really no leh. Tells you how often I read the home section in the papers. I only scan through Money section. *paiseh*

bbmouse... eh, Babygirl?
Thanks... I guess you're lucky to be in a class with a teacher who speaks good English.
btw, do you do the home practice sessions with your baby daily?
I did a bit of GD with my baby, but now she doesn't seem so interested in the cards anymore... am wondering if I can do Shichida at home with her!

Hee, I also heard that the principal of SM is quite egoistic about her singing capabilities?

edde,
I'm shocked that the LV teacher said that to you!
At least the Shichida teacher was nice to talk to me, although she spoke in her not-so-perfect English!

As for structure in class, I peeped at the classes in GUG... they seem quite structured. All the kids were seated in a circle listening to the teacher explaining/teaching. A friend who sent her ds to GUG for 2 years also said their syllabus is very structured. Hmmm... kids running about in the classroom is not very conducive? Will disturb the rest of the class and it's not fair to the rest of the kids!

bbmouse, i din research those in BT particularly but most big names have branches near there. eton house has one at newton.

astro, i think diff branches diff fees leh.. like pats in kovan is even more ex than eton in outram! i dunno pats gd or not wor coz the one i visited today at kovan has no pre-nursery, they start from 30 mths onwards. i din check out any other pats coz all very far from my place. and very ex lor.

and generally, i prefer eton to pats coz at least i know eton pays emphasis in language. i dunno wat pats is gd in leh.. din do research on it coz its damn ex. eton is already enuf to burn a big hole in my pocket.

star: wah if u ever go skiing depite knowing preg. .i confer u my idol.. for eternity! alamak.. scary leh the thought of skiing when preg..

haha.. me just as bad.. demo to students marching on the spot.. fast and sharp kind.. and falling down the stage.. heehee

Huskie: You are right! She thinks she can sing very well. My goodness. She has even cut an album and is selling it at the outlets now. I admire her courage.
I try to do some home practise with her now and then. Now that I'm preggie, no energy, no mood for anything at all. My maid still flashes her the GD math and english cards.
By the way, for our babies age, there is no homework. Think homework is only for above 2yrs.

The Shichida class is quite noisy even though there are only 6 children. The kids take turns to get cranky, and they distract one another. Need some patience and endurance to attend the class. For the first lesson, I kept looking at the clock to see when the lessons will end.

bbmouse: u are just like my econs lecturer at NUS who told us that he only read the money section.. and i was "alamak.. so boring?".. ops :p sorry.. for him only. not u..:pPP

star: i din't know leh.. :p

bbgirl: i think it is different. coz i recall my colleague saying playgroup is only for a few hours.. and unlike childcare, no food served etc.. hmm. i not too sure about the exact diff..
i know my colleague begged for her son to be in the playgroup at 18 mths leh.coz too young. so i think should be older than can go playgroup.. ehh 2 years? ok. i need to check on htis..

.i heard from the LV person, childcare got grant.. i not sure. think i need go ask my colleagues on this again.. think they can give me very good info..:p

edde: i dunno which Pat that ang mo colleague sent her daughter too.. but it is VERY ex.. i know.. but she said she might be going back to america in future.. so she hesitated sending to the more 'local' ones.. so my pt here.. she was asying that the system used at Pat's schoolhouse is 'ang mo' lor..suitable for our kids now? bearing in mind the 'chinasinga' schooling environment in primary schools..

Edde: What abt Montessori? Should be quite structured? No?
I'm thinking if I want to send Anna to the church-based preschool.

Baby Girl: aiyo.. ur description of how the kids takes turn to get cranky in ur shichida class is so funny.. i am luffing so hard now.
The murder case was on the TV news leh.. me no time to read papers now.. i get all my news from TV and the net.

Actually I know of someone who's a teacher at Pat's schoolhouse. But I'm not in contact with her recently. So paiseh to just call up and ask her questions! Haha

Ok my hubby is back. I'm going to have my dinner now.. Will come back and yak later..

Baby Girl: i was also considering sending rae to church base preschool leh. cos i think i went to a church base preschool during my time. ur church offers?

huskie, yes, i am shocked too! very shocked that she as a teacher actually has the cheek to tell me that straight in my face.. sigh...

huskie, but GUG is a playgroup rite? guess playgroup lessons are more "compact" as compared to a full day thingy? i dunno, anyhow this doesnt warrant any gd reason for allowing "dis-engaged" kids..

bbmouse, i also dunno the diff btn playgroup and CC wor.. but i believe playgroups are not 7 to 7, like some only few hrs. pre-nursery min age is 18 mths. CC also 18 mths. not all presch have pre-nursery class. we can only use the $150 (for working mums) $75 (non working mums) for childcare, not playgroup. mummies, pls correct me if i am wrong.

star, i think i will put her in pre-nursery either this coming oct (18 mths) or jan next yr. i also dunno leh.. still undecided.. i am easily swayed by pple.. haha...

bbmouse,
You're preggers? Congrats!
And congrats to all the March mommies who are pregnant too

I also hope to TTC, but need to wean baby off first... and hope to have a baby cow

Who accompanies your baby to the class now that you are pregnant?

Eh, the CD I see at the counter... is that the principal's CD?

OK, guess I'll pay and confirm my registration... just cross my fingers that I'll get a good English-speaking teacher!
Hope I can get through at least 4 terms and get back my deposit!

star: bbmouse' desciprtion painted this picture in ur mind?

* baby A fusses, and cry.. shut after 10 minutes,
bb B immediately conitnue.. and shut after 10 minutes,
bb C carried on immediately again, and shut after 10 minutes.. and the cycle continues for bbs D - F*

and in the mean time, all the parents and the instructor , had ear plugs stuffed into their ears to block off the din..

whahaha.. I sot liao! :p

Baby Girl: enjoy ur macaroni cheese and black forest cake.. i am craving for the tung-i abalone chicken instant noodles now.. maybe will cook myself a packet to eat late.. with hot dogs.. yum yum

edde,
Oh yeah, GUG is a playgroup... each session is only 2 hrs, so I guess that's why the kids can tahan thru the class.
Heard from my friend they have the proper kindergarten too, but I think kindergarten kids would also be more disciplined to sit through the class.

hmm GUG is playgroup?! shucks .. missed the trial class.. ehh.. u gals go attend the playgroup.. must feedback here on forum hor? i want send teng to a playgroup..

hi mummies..wah all these discussion abt playgroups & childcare...

eh...wat is the DIFFERENCE?? all there for 18 mth old bbs???

Hnvt read archives yet...eyes seeing stars liao.

bb girl

sama sama..i lazy mummy never do home work yet how..i hv to do ley..cos i know hubby wont do..wat i know i will 'impart' to him n 'influence' him :p

ehh.. my colleague sent her boy to playgroup at 18mths.. but she had to 'beg' to get her boy in leh.. so can't be 18 mths as well right?

star star

yaya i rem the murder case at raffles city cos it's the day i went for induction. Was after my bfast n hubby bot a copy of newpaper to keep him co. at TMC...

so u ordered the cute tees for rae oredi???

bbmouse, luckily i am not a church goer, otherwise i will hv more schs to visit! my hubby already cant take it liao.

i dun really like montesorri leh... so many schs claim that they are montessori.. dunno real or not.. i din do research on that too.

actually all presch sure have their own structured prog, some even look very impressive. but i am not convinced aft i visited the classes during the tour, coz the lessons looked rather "messy". on paper is one thing, deliverables are another.

belle: oh. then the incident happene din marach ah?.. ok.. case solved. i was busy being 'post natelly depressed' to notice all this :p

and.. hor.. this pt just came to me.. maybe should ask abt the clarifications of the teacherst there.. any dipolma in pre school education or not.. ? coz i saw one at LV.. alamak.. so young.. like in her early 20s like that leh. herding the toddlers.. and quite fierce and impatient looking..:p