(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

audrey: no.. he doesn't have play pen. also he pulle dhimself up in the cot that time.. all of a sudden. before that no signs at all kind..

stand? as in stand unsupported?.. small steps? as in how many?.. i suspect because teng is heavy.. and like discussed last time.. always' carried around' lor.

audrey: i did?!.. ok.. could be flip over.. butt high high.. then i blur blur think he sat up?!.. shold be.. even if i really typed that.. i apologise.. it is all .. only but my hallucination.. haiz

audrey: i commented in the forum the other time.. he pulled himself up like a pro.. machiam did it many times like that. with amazing grace and agility.. haiz!.. can he all of sudden sit up also later at 7am?

astro...
yes...son was also carried ard by mummy all the time. I got kaylyn an exersaucer...so grandma put her in it most of the time.
stand...wif support in the playpen...dan he started to cruise ard the playpen...tking small steps wif support also.

you need a playpen to try? I got one graco one...can lend you. You just nid to wash it before letting teng use lor. Can return later also no problem...coz i got no space to open up at home. Kaylyn has another playpen at grandma's place.

audrey: playpen to try what? pulled to stand or cruise? these both he can do.. stand without support.. for a few seconds yes.. and dependent on mood lor.. these few days he is letting go and walking away..

playpen helps to sit up?

astro....
iron....hmmzz....he eats his greens leh. In fact...his favourite veg is spinach. I make it a point to have veg in his every meal. shredded but he can still see...so he boh pian...got to eat. He know he has to eat...so complain also no use.

hmmzzz....mayb i should look into ways to make him eat more iron...

Babygirl,

Opps, I still din find the website cuz come home only at 8 then bought my ger out to NTUC to buy her cheese and wheatgerm. Then when putting her to sleep, fell asleep again. Too lazy to go downstairs now, I even forgo dinner. Think can slim down super fast like this.

astro, you still dun wanna go sleep ah? tomorrow got class right? anyway i was reading about this girl who didn't talk and then around one day, suddenly spoke in a perfect sentence. think they are analysing and comprehending the whole situation before doing. sounds like teng is sth like that.

audrey: ya.. i think iron helps in keeping energy level up.. for us also mah.. and sometimes easy to get tired if lack of iron.. hmm.. apart from spinach. i think greens dun really have that much iron.. am i right ah? .. anyway. case.. the meat proteins has the easiest absorbale forms of iron.. hame (dunno how to spell) iron.. i got my facts right?

FORCE him eat liver! just tell him it is frois grai from france.. hahahaha..:p

astro...
erm...the cot is in your room rite? When he wants to get up from the cot...he will cry for attention for pick up?

The playpen can put in the living room...dan let him play toys(soft) in the playpen...at the same time...on a bit of TV. Wif songs etc...dan when he wants to see clearly....before he makes noise....hold him up to standing position...and allow him to stand to watch...when he is tired....he will sit back down. But of coz...when doing it for the first few times...be ard to help. After that...he might try on his own. I dun know if it will work for teng...thatz what i did for son...

moogen: no class. but it doesn't make a difference.. class or not class.. haiz..

speaking. these days he dadadadadaing.. i dun think progressing.. hmm.. and will mama only when blowing bubles with saliva.. and u knwo he does it purposely one.. today i went for work.. said byebye to him at the door step..
u know what he did?
he PURPOSELY ignored me.. and stared straight ahead.. i knew this. cause my mum commented that he was smiling very slyly to himself.. and eye balls darting to one angle and peep at me.. then back to stare in front again .. all with a stupid grin on his face.. and i was like idoit keep saying 'teng teng byebye .. tengteng byebye.. !!

wah biang.. should i be impressed?

then when i exit thru the door. he clapped his hands and laughed leh! wah kaoz!

astro.....
yeah..mayb i should try harder. This weekend go bedok and eat the nice nice claypot liver. Dan i mix all up...he might just eat. He dun understand frois grai....he appreciates crispy chicken/fish ball better.

yeah..mayb like wat moogen said...teng might shock you one day...and just do everyhting. I remember teaching son the word lantern during lantern festival. Tat time still cannot talk. The following year....during lantern festival...he saw the latern...and point...lantern.

morning moogen....

audrey: bad habit.. but he sleeps on the bed with us..
.. so definiily will pick him up..

hmm. u meant it helps in puling to stand and sitting back?.. ehh. think teng can do that now..

audrey: tao hong means siao siao ah? haha. that i agree..
my sitting up.. means from lying down. he can't move himself into a sitting position by himself.. but if siting already.. no problem pulling to stand/cruise/bend down/walk etc..

not sleeping time...during day time...when all the activity are in the living room. They like to kpo...so will try to get up...its like a reward for them. When they get up themselves/...they would be able to see what is happening lor. Mayb teng dun see the need to get up lah....

haizz.....
tink i nid to ask my frenz in pead training...abt son. okie lah...i nid to go orr orr liao. else old nag would grumble that he din sleep well coz my room light is on....which is a load of crap. Coz he will only sleep well when he gets like 12 hrs of sleep. PIG.

audrey: help me ask also.. can? it is that impt to crawl? i know PDs told me different schools and differing opinions on that.. and if teng is actually not that 'special'.. i hope u come back to me.. telling me tat teng is 'small case'..

night audrey

astro.....
yeah...i tink he is super smart lor. His laffing got reason one. Coz he knows he win. He's driving mummy and daddy frantic. LOL

okie lah...he can walk....very very good liao lah. i tink he likes the bed...thatz why he would wana 'nua' on the bed. Coz when he cruising...the floor is cold etc. Mayb can try making bed not so comfy? hahaha

no...its not important to crawl. Some of my frenz kids din crawl.....went straight to cruising. Tink kaylyn quite scared of crawling also. But she is walking wif assistance liao....

audrey, haha. morning.

astro, night. he's quite cheeky yah. haha... mine doesn't call mama. there used to be a period he called and then stopped. not really bothered though cuz when they get older, want them to stop calling mama also cannot. =p but when he does call, it's heartwarming. contradictory. btw, no worries if he doesn't crawl. i asked my PD before if it's any developmental hindrance and he brushed it aside cuz his own daughter is like that. he gave the analogy that crawling is like pri sch and walking is like sec sch. if the bb can advance to sec sch, why do you want him to go back to pri sch.

ok, me going sleep already too.

Hello Mummies

back here in singapore, staying with a friend at bishan park condo. Anyone free to meet up? Sat going to botanica garden, want to join?

went punggol to look at flats today, really nice ones? Who lives there?

Hey Evelyn,
You are back! Welcome HOME!

re: Baby crawling
err.. i know if i type this will make some of the mummies here worried.. so i put disclaimer first, cos it's from an article I read.. dunno got basis or not.. cos you know, there is always news in the medical field that they discover something, then another researcher will publish something else to counter that.

Ok, I ever read that babies who don't crawl, apparently has a higher incidence of Dyslexia. Not confirm will kena hor, just a higher chance only. Cos apparently crawling is linked to some part of brain development.. and Dyslexia is when people can't read correctly right.. something like they will read the alphabets in a reverse way.. like say for eg. the letter "b" and "d", they will mix it up.. something like that.

Anyway, having Dyslexia is also nothing life-threatening or what.. one of the most famous person i read who had Dyslexia is Richard Branson, the UK entrepreneur, boss of Virgin Records, Virgin Airlines.. apparently, when he was a kid, he was whacked everyday by his teachers and more at home.. cos at that time Dyslexia wasn't a known medical condition. So his teachers and parents thought he was just being naughty and bad kid when he can't read properly and failing his homework..

Welcome back Evelyn,
Nowadays condo or flats price ran up, have to take your time to select. Bear in mind the convenient of public transport, food centre, supermarket, childcare centre or even good primary school.
Edde and audrey lives in puggol i think.

Astro,
Heehee, dun understand what reserach area u are doing. But nevermind take a step at a time slowly can resolve all problems. Like me, last month was in a mess but this month all the things fall into places.

QQ,
Get your sil to try to come back for dinner and u pay for the tingkat for 2 person and try out and see how lst.

morning everyone

hello evelyn. welcome back!
but why is it still at 4.20 AM that you posted? Jet lag?

moogen: ya, cheeky and exasperating at times.. so tired today . he woke up 3 times in the nigh last night.. and very 'alarm clocky' at 620 again.. i am in a daze.. plus eyes very vry uncomfortable .. need to apply some eye drops later..

ya..that was what Dr Low told me.. Dr Ong said no need to crawl coz he was already mayoring.. (PD@ sengkang) Dr Tan said some babies just dun crawl.. all reassuring.. but i do read that crawling helps to promote the side of the brain which promotoes reading.. hmm.. and my ex-pysiotherapists colleagues at RP here told me very impt to learn how to crawl.. coz else no good developmentally.. and she had once had to teach a 2 year old girl how to crawl.. hmmmm...
but she didn't say any adverse effects the girl had before consulting her..

think by age 3.. our kids should alredy know how to walk AND crawl?

Audrey: ur girl didn't crawl too? hmmm.. i feel there is a very strong link with desire as to whether if bbs will crawl (PS: pls pardon my horrible ang mo.. try to decipher whatever i am typing coz my brain is dead at the moment.. operating at hiberation mode...) coz teng was always carried around.. and he being so manipulative.. knows 'eh' means 'carry'.. and like what Dr Ong said.. i feel true lor. reduced desire to explore by himself.. so bypass the crawling stage.. but somehow.. i dunno what i am talking. he feels like walking.. coz 'faster' and more fun then being carried around.. so decide to walk..

chaiam.. i really dunno what i am typing.. wait i go change my nick.. long long time no change nick..

I pity the teachers who will be teaching Gila Boy in future.. given that he is so scheming, manipulative, cheeky, stubborn and exasperating... plus potential dyslexia.. he is a challenge leh..

but i think i pity his mum more.. seriously

morning!

evelyn, welcome back! aiyah too bad domie's still coughing if not will join you in botanical gardens.

astro, i heard abt that too that's why i asked my PD. maybe next time you can pretend to play-crawl with him? at the stage when they likes to mimick pple a lot?

and should i actually console myself that dyslexic pple are actually very smart and very very strong in maths? Lee Kuan Yew is dyslexic right?

Ironically, was very keen to get a job as a trained dyslexic teacher but didnt do it coz thought hours too long then.. could it be that it will not be a job but a life long mission now?!

morning moogen!

ya.. pretend to play crawl.. good idea.. chases after him.. skali he starts running instead of crawling.. :p.. coz now he is always vertical one.. seldom sit down..

that day.. he tripped. and landed in a crawling position on all fours.. he could support himself.. but just screamed and froze.. coz dunno what to do!.. alamak..

astro, yah dyslexic pple smart.
you can get those tunnel-like toys which makes it difficult to stand up. then throw his fave thing in or crawl through and ask him to follow you? dunno whether will work though but sounds plausible.

btw, your changed nick says a lot. haha.

astro,
you got to buck up. dun keep seeing the fact of what teng is not doing. see what you can do to help him move ahead. that's what's impt as a mummy.

when YE was born, her apgar score or only 2 or 3 if i rem correctly (bad memories, dun wanna go back and check). but i've never tot about that until i see the posts this am.

we have to plan ahead and be positive cos our kids can feel it

the more you dwell on the unhappy things, the longer you'll be stuck in it.

look at autum. she had challenges for a while, but she's moved out of it liao

autum: come.. let me ah bish u flat flat!

Moogen: ya.. i trying to reassure myslf on that! Miser said he himself is dyslexic and autistic so high chance that , given i am quite anti social at times, TEng can be both dyslexic and autistic!!! wah.. very potent!

yalor.. my brain very dead leh..very .. in fact i have a deadline past right? but i am surfing on dyslexia.. haha... read this? interesting info on dyslecxia.. i never thought of this. till just now. when i wondered abt the validity of what Miser said.. then can be solid in Chinese (he is..),, but sucky in eng!wah. so interesting.. haha .. read abt this?
http://www.straightdope.com/columns/050408.html

baby girl,
do you wanna buy the travel cooker? machiam just plug in to hotel room and cook kind, not the thermos shuttle chef kind?

cos i'm thinking if i should get one. then not sure if i wanna keep it or will i get the chance to use it after this japan trip. wondering if we can "share"? in the sense that whoever is travelling first will buy, then sell to the other person at a discount? then we agree on the pricing and see who travels first and the fella who travels later will get to keep the set.

aiya, dunno if you know what i'm talking about. the essence is i'm not sure if i should buy or it'll be a white elephant. so if share with someone will minimise loss. haha...

moogen: i used the ctn box (for stroller) for A to crawl in by putting in toys. but instead of crawling inside, he tried to climb onto the box. so i hold the box n let him crawl on top instead

morning SQ!

haha.. i sounded moody and depressive? :p.. aiya.. that's astro one.. will whine whine very frequently.. but then will find strength in the whinin to propel myself forward.

as much as people advise me to let go and forget.. i dun really do that because i believe.. valuable lessons are gained from the past.. in whatever form.. and from tat we gain the strength to move on. choosing to forget or 'not to think'' of it for me, means that i am denying myself a chance to reflect and move on with that life experience.. say my miscarriage and depression last time.. i come back more confident of myself... and i tink i have armed myself with good insights to prevent myself from having the same experience in the furture.. ok. i sucked in history when young.. but i think it is impt.. to learn from mistakes and not repeat it again.. all humans err. but not pardonable if u err-ed once. not reflect.. and still err again.. that's my take..

think for u. it is the same.. that's why you love YE so much.. right?

anyway.. just continue (if u want :p) to 'scold' me when i in this kind of whiny mood.. haha.. fun leh :p

astro,
as long as you learn lah. we all have different learning styles.

happie to see your response cos after i post, i was afraid you'll find me offensive lei