(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Giolyn,
Pressure cooker is like those stainless steel pot with this lid that can seal n regulate the air (pressure) in the pot. To use, put in your normal ingredients etc n seal with the lid. Then just put to boil like normal. The air (pressure) will build up in the pot when the soup boils. Then the valve on top of the lid will release/regulate this pressure while your pot still on the stove.

After boiling for 20min, switch off flame. Then the valve will just slowly let little bits of air out. Until finally the pressure inside the pot and outside the air is same pressure. That's when u can open the lid. That is about 1hr. Thus u are making use of the pressure inside to continue cooking but with no flame. Thus save energy.

so i believe it is a more powerful tools than the thermal cooker rite? the principle is similar to thermal cooker rite? then can i say u can only cook watery stuff with pressure cooker?

Autum, I scare. My maid ah, mil might bomb my house if I let them use pressure cooker. So we use thermal cooker and slow cooker.

That's y pub bill s high. Next time when more ppl at home maybe change strategy, I have all the cookers.. Haha.

Star, I think he is rejecting milk. See how. Hope he is ok. First time fever for him, and I think he is teething too. Poor will hopefully no other complications...

Mummies... I have been busy since morning.. Hubby took leave. We went Ikea this morning, dumped anna at the playground (Ayden was too short to qualify.:p). We bought bookshelves.

Then we went to Giant! And bot bicycles for both of them. Anna can cycle ler wor.. Ayden is struggling a bit.. They're now cycling at the front porch..

I m going to take a nap..

There was another explosion at the Japan Fukushima nuclear reactor plant. Now the govt is asking everyone to evacuate, cos there is risk of a meltdown.

The radiation level in the neighbouring areas has reached a level that is hazardous for health.

Mummies with boys: Ayden likes OSO too.. Sometimes Anna will imitate the movie when she comes out with a solution "step 1" blah blah.. "step 2" blah blah blah, and "Step 3" blah blah blah..
And they like to go "ou.. uuu... standing"

Ayden is cheating! He pedals halfway only. :p Very stubborn.. He refuses to change, cos the bicycle is moving forward..

Anna wants me to remove the training wheels already.. :p

Germaine: He doesn't complete the full circle. For eg, he pedals to 4 o'clock, then back pedals to 12 o'clock and pedals to 4 o'clock again. He's moving forward so I can't make him finish the full cycle.. :p

Star, I tried with the small drumlets before but the top part will be tough leh.. Anyway Andrea is a big wing eater!!!! She can wallop many many! I like that potato carrot and luncheon meat too! But I cook with tomato sauce.. And add prawns and baked beans too :p~~~

RR my kids dun like dumplings.. Or minced meat to be exact
anyway now with CP wantons I dun make my own anymore wahahhahahaa!

Jc, Dave hates mayo.. So can't cook that dish.. Cod I usually steam with 枸杞 coz the kids love to eat that.

Wah today we learnt a few dishes! QQ u can add that to yr collection!

Ash: Haha.. I chicken out. It is I who doesn't want to remove the training wheels so soon for her. Hahaha.. I think she'll suffer a few falls when I remove the training wheels..

AAA, sad to say Clyde is also at this stage. actually it is normal. think practice will make him cycle better. Clyde also pedal to 6 and back to 12 o'clock so he kind of prefer his sister's tricycle and he will pedal a full round.

Edde,
RR don't like dumplings too but cos they made it de so they are happy to eat. They even "forced" K to eat it. haha!
You can try to let them make then maybe they will want to eat. Maybe can let them try meat patty next time.

Wow Anna wanna try without the training wheels? She is a fast learner.

Besides Ikea lunch, we shld hv an outdoor gathering since most of our kids hv bikes. How? West or East Coast Park?

QQ, wanna ask u abt the new park in woodlands near the sports sch...u been there??can see if travel along SLE.saw many pple go there for kite flying. Was telling hb another pl to go since we usually go to jurong park or marina barrage.

Germaine, AAA,
I think you got to hold his foot to show him how to cycle in 1 full cycle. (tiring for you though. :p) Cos cycling this way makes the bicycle moves so they will think it's correct and continues.

RR: I know this is wrong and I did hold onto his feet. But he's very stubborn de.. I think he won't change anymore. :p Silly boy. :p :p
I want to buy the scooter for anna cos I think she'll like it better. But hubby says should space out the fun activities for her.

giolyn/AAA: last time A also cycles this way. but we keep telling him to do it full cycle. mayb got to keep telling them and that full cycle will go faster. once they get the hang of it then ok already

Germaine, Ash: Don't tell me this is another "boy" thing? How come only the boys are doing it wrongly?

BBMar: I won't remove the training wheels yet.. Maybe I'll adjust them higher to gauge if she's really ready..

The other day I tried baked rice.so long nvr bake n was wondering if its gg to b ok. Surprised dat bian likes it!! He v picky type so to like a dish is very rewarding to me! Haha. Since I got excess cheese then I went to buy the portobello mushrooms. I ate almost the whole box..simply loved the melted cheese on it!! Yummy!!!!

AAA,
I like too but too lazy to fry.

BBmar,
I like baked rice too!. That day I saw Daiso selling those "bowls" they use in Swensons for bake rice and lasagne, so tempted to buy. But don't know buy for what cos I don't have recipe for baked rice or lasagne. Share your baked rice recipe leh. You baked using oven?

AAA,
I also think it's a boy thing. Reyden was stubborn about that for quite some time too. Reyes got it right almost immediately after we got the bikes.

RR tried that method but failed too :s

Bb march! Melted cheese on portabellos is one of the fav dishes of a few of us here!!!!! Yum yum!!!! :p~~~~~

I like to eat 饺子 coz the the vinegar and shredded Ginger. Aiyo make me crave for it now!!!!!

Hahahhaa sounds like I like everything!!!! Wat a glutton :p

Germaine,
BBmar said baked rice, not lasagne.

Edde,
I love my dumplings with vinegar and shredded ginger too! :p

The portabello with cheese is a all-time favourite for our bbqs lah!

edde, wha cook with bake beans and prawns, very yummy, i must try too.. hahah i like this dish, its sorta of a comfort dish for me.

I love dumplings, only i like.. haha can wallop a big bowl.. esp with my home made chillie oil.. yumz.

actually RR< lasagne not diff, u cna use ready made pasta sauce, just cook the lasagna pieces, lie them layer by layer and each layer, pile with pasta sauce and mince meat/mushroom and cheese. top layer just add more cheese and then send whole thing to oven to bake, cos most ingredients are cooked, so the baking time wont take long.

I m in Popular now. Saw this Learn Maths thru Stories. Seems like good buy. I can't upload pic here cos outside. Can see in Fb.

Germaine, its baked rice not lasagne. Lasagne I dun really like. too heavy for me after few mouthfuls I find.

RR, i use corningware bowl but slightly bigger ones then put into the baking oven. Corningware pots n bowls can tahan the high heat temp n they r v durable kitchen wares. My mum has been using them for yrs!!!

Haha didn't noe so many of us love portobello mushrooms!!

Starfruit,
hmmm ... sounds nice. I like lasagne too. *sounds like Edde, everything also like. :p
I want to try this weekend.

Dumplings at where is nice? Crystal Jade?

RR: u can add portobella mushroom too.. hahah

RR: i want to go to the dumpling place at the old queenstown hawker centre, level 2.. rad a lot of review there.

Cyrtsl jade also can.. yum yums.

Carol, issit? i use to go there for lunch when i was still working near that area. there are some drama rama hawker disagreement also.

i tried a very simple method for bake rice fr a fren. v easy:
-cooked rice
-campbel can soup
-cheese

after rice is cooked, mix in the soup. put in caserole dish and add cheese on top. put inside oven and u got ur bake rice!

i've also tried cooking fr scratch last time using pax's recipe. but this method w canned soup is much faster ;p

sorry side track a bit. where can i get shapes to be used on ms word huh? i know ms word has the insert shape function but kinda limited. Irin u know?

Star, that famous dumplings is at that hawker in margaret drive. I got their namecard so can call n pre-order then go there to collect. U want??

U tried the one at Chinatown??