(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

also for similies.. coz anyone as anyhow link two things together.. and pass it off..and meanings are often unclear.. so hence u see our 'black as night'.. 'white with anger'.. kind of dicussions.. let me cite an example..

--> as happy as a lark..
my qn is.. how u know that darn lark is happy?!
so.. got my pt? :p
last time students always anyhow create own similies.. and i dunno to laugh or cry.. but i forgot liao.. not worth remmebering their similies ..hahahaha..

astro, yes yes i know primary english. my teacher make use learn everything inside. really everything, from masculine/ femaline, idiom, anonymns, parents and young, conjuction etc. I even bot the revised version to make hb learn. hhahaha...recently make clyde learn the masculine/femaline in real life. make him learn billygoat vs nannygoat. cow vs bull. hahah u brought back fond memories of my primary sch days.

pearlyn
sorry ah! leia demanded me to lie on the bed and let her comb my hair :p

im feeling very stressed after knowing what kind of P1 questions our kids have to answer..

What is "Primary English"? I have no recollection. I just remember I did tons and tons of english excercises in school. The school bought a box, it's like flash-card style and the teacher will let us each take a card, write answers in our own excercise books, then finish, go and take another card. To me, I found it very fun!

And I love to form-words from super-long words. I think there is a name for that but I can't remember what is it called. For example, I will write a word like, "Hippopotamus".. then I will write out as many words as I can form, using the alphabets in that word. And I used to do all these as pass-time activities during school holidays!

helo!

Pearlyn : am ok.. now still coping with #2
use to see ur updates on fb.. but now no more liaoz.. guess u must be really busy..

astro : :p wah! last nite i ate the MMP before i go zzz.. i woke up before bb V woke up.. i feel so lumpy! i faster go pump scared of engorgement.. end up.. only 50ml.. for both sides.. hahaha.. too kan chiong maybe..

Ash : "hand in" mah.. ya i also remember in school always say pass up pass up.. hahahaha

astro : should be "fill up" the form ? but if its this form.. den should be "fill in" this form..

anybody interested for Lunch tomorrow at tampines?

astro, this is interesting! i used to read "Primary English" too! but my ang mo still so half bucket water leh :p my pre-position (this is wat they r called rite) is lousy, all those in/out/on/under/at blah blah blah... confused!

anyway i googled and found this!

Fill in means to supply something that's missing. So you fill in the blanks on a test, for example, or you can fill in a triangle with a color (change it from an outline to a solid triangle by coloring inside it), or you can fill in (substitute) for an absent colleague at work. And you can fill in a form because you're supplying missing information.

Fill out means to complete by supplying requested information.

So you can fill in Form 195B (I get a mental picture of a form with blanks to write numbers or small bits of data) or fill it out (could be either a form with blanks or one that asks for longer answers). Those mental pictures aren't the only possibilities, but you can see why both phrases work.

Fill up means to make full. You fill up containers with liquid, for example, or you fill up your stomach with junk food. If you fill up a form, you've used all the available space on it and have to ask for another sheet of paper.

http://forum.wordreference.com/showthread.php?t=1453182

is that correct?

wah come in n saw the p1 que discussions.. cheem.

so nice to laze in bed today.. heheeh..

QQ
u feeling better today? rest more ya..

nana
no la.. pay $50 to go birdpark when i can go for free :p so save that lor.. C wont be goin.. if i say go she sure will be AS HAPPY AS A LARK :p
Woah i using simile le! lol

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

nana
no la.. pay $50 to go birdpark when i can go for free :p so save that lor.. C wont be goin.. if i say go she sure will be AS HAPPY AS A LARK :p
Woah i using simile le! lol<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

belle! u are darn cute leh! hahaha.

Discussing abt P1 alrdy?? OMG..to think its just another 3more yrs to go for our kids P1 Reg...scary how time flies so fast. Then we hv another set of worries coming up!!

Wanna come in and yak last nite but doze with the kids :p

QQ,
Glad u at home to rest now, rest more and talk to bb more. Tell him to stay inside for few more week.

Edde,

Re: my maid question:
Yvonne/Germaine/QQ/belle,
I used to ignore her question, but she don’t sense it, keep ask me same question.
Sometime very sian she kept asking stupid question like why open window, it common sense to open window when we home mah.
Her ego very strong, every time I correct her work or tell her off, she will not happy and show me one face. So now wanna think/find a way to deal with her.

Mejo,
I started review system with her last mth, but for such situation like telling her stop asking why is hard to tell by us lei.
sometime I suspect she don’t really understand English but she keep saying yes.
I keep ask her do you really understand what me/we say, she say yes, but when I ask her repeat she kept quiet. 

so how? it is fill in or fill out or fill up? :p

edde/sq/star/germaine: i think it was the way which the book was used and introduced which made the differences.. if forced upon when there isn't really a need to use the book.. wah.. it becomes a torture.. if the book is used because there is a genuine need to use it.. ahhh.. then it is world of difference.. i can't recall why i became obessed withal those.. but it went to the point that i was using at least two idioms/similes in one sentence.. like the following...

John, who is always as happpy as a lark, is a chip off the old block...

still ok by itself.. but imagine an entire COMPOSITION like that.. my english teacher told me 'XX, you got to be careful with the uage of all these.. it makes your composition very convoluted',,, then i went like.. 'what is convoluted?' coz.. i was in primary school! hahahah..

so.. the pt she was telling me.. no use having all the fanciful words/phrases if the communication is not clear..

Miser always pick on this.. he will say 'use simple words. make it clear.. that is language'.. but he can and like the subtleness and the .. erm.. dunno what the word for it.. the 'completeness'/richness of the chinese lang.. so i tell him. he double standard.. hahahahahaah

Hello mummies...
Seems like it's not only math we have difficulties in, english too, and I'm sure, chinese is equally, if not tougher. :p Chiam lah!

No wonder these days P1 kids also have tuition lessons.

ahhh.. belle's case.. and my case.. we like the book cause there is a genuine need to use the book.. belle's case.. motivated by rewards in a competitive setting.(extrinsic motivation). mine case. i am just interested.. in them..(instrically motivation)..see the picture? :p

oh.. which reminds me of this interesting disucssion which i always have with miser wrt to teng.. i go by this argument:
'teng is not gd in this.. hence i need to introduce this to make him improve in it..'

Miser says: but if teng is not interested in it. u forcing it down his throat, how will he then be interested in that?

Me: but if i never introduce it, how to we know that he never develops an interest in that?

yada.. yada.. ops.. ok.. me and miser alawys 'argue' about silly things :p

having said that. i just went attend a briefing about formal logic.. inductive arguments.. deductive argument.. soundness and validity.. premises and conclusion.. woo-hoo. VERY interesting.. hahhahaha.. :p:p
(i mean it wor.. it IS interesting.. hahaha)

AAA: tot of chinese is scary!! its hanyu pinying + chinese characters for our kids..
and my ger still dun really can write her own name like seth..

Edde: and i dun think ur english is half past six leh.in fact i think t is pretty good!
cz i think in ur case, ur chinese powerful .. which makes me think that there isn't a truly bilingual person coz we have a preferred lang.. which we use intutively.. and this i realised it when i am older.. i process my thoughts in english.. miser in chinese.. so though i can do well in chinese and speak mandarin at home. i am english in thinking.. hahaha. ok. i am making this 'convoluted'.. hahahah

poll time!

which is your thinking language?

English
1. astro

Chinese

Melayu

Dialects(!) :p:p

kekekeke. ok i sot from my formal logic briefing liao:p

astro: the talks u attend are all so cheem.

A surprise me &amp; hb last nite w the word "plague". there was an advert on tv abt toothpaste/toothbrush. so i took this opportunity to tell him importance of brushing well. i was saying something like to brush out the dirty things on your teeth and suddenly he said "plague". me n hb both look at each other stunned.

oh nana! do u now regret giving long names? 'Tiffany'..'victoria'...? :p
*siams*

bbjie:some times i think it is in the area of expertise.. coz he is an engineer.. and engineers have a fetish for precision *siams pax and linda*..so 'say less but make sure each word is accurately used'..

let me show u an example..

I edited his thesis.. erm.. i meant i helped him check grammar..
then i wanted to help him buff up language a bit.. make it more stylo mylo.. then he said.. no! leave it.. u check if i spell wrongly or grammar structure wrong can liao..
then ah. i finished liao. he still went and double checked. coz i checked one word.. he can tell me.. 'that's not what the meaning is...' wah liew eh! tough job!

and i get headaches from reading scientific/technical articles. coz i feed i need to invest a lot of energy to read EVERY word to get the entire meaning..

but for social sciences.. read that way = die! esp in sociology and philosophy. sometimes even businesses.. (with exception of business law)..

right? well i think so.. hahahah. :p

poll time!

English
1. astro
2. blurbelle

Chinese

Melayu

my english is not so powerful but i will def choose to read eng than chinese.. to think i studied chinese in jc! wah!

chiam! all the P1 talks.... making me tense up. But on the other hand, i wish tt my boys grow up faster... hahaha

ash: that is not a talk. that is briefing coz next week my students need to learn that.. ops :p

and whoo-hoo for asher. hahaha. see? kids these age can learn really fast.. so let's us be prepared man.. hahahha!

and ohya.i find it hard to do hanyu pinyin. there was a time i was v good in it.. afterall not practiing.. i lost it.. haiz. now i really terroh..

mm...what is thinking language? meaning reading? converse? Not sure where i belongs to.
reading: english
speaking: mandarin
scolding: english

Astro, i feel hanyu pinyin is impt cos that is the only angmoh (believe to be an easier learn lang)word use in chinese lesson. So must brush up. That's also why i like to type in mandarin when possible.

giolyn
hahah still got scolding lang!

joelle
i check with my sis first, duno if she bringing nephew for phonics.. i text u later ya tk!!

re: thinking language, its wat u norm THINK inside ur head? eg your hp or IC no.

when at work stimes when i ask wat is customer's ic no. they will mumble to themselves in chinese.. eg) S1234567 then repeat to me in ENGLISH le wahahah.. so their thinking lang is CHINESE?

poll time!

English
1. astro
2. blurbelle
3. nanabear

Chinese

Melayu

hahaha! my chinese results are way better den my english.. but my family is english speaking.. sad case right? hahaha

poll time!

English
1. astro
2. blurbelle
3. nanabear

Chinese
1. mejo (but depends. Work related stuffs, English cuz there's no way I'll be thinking about Life Sciences in mandarin, wahaha) And YES, I remember my numbers in mandarin.

Melayu

poll time!

English
1. astro
2. blurbelle
3. nanabear

Chinese
1. mejo (but depends. Work related stuffs, English cuz there's no way I'll be thinking about Life Sciences in mandarin, wahaha) And YES, I remember my numbers in mandarin.
2. QQ (very confirm cause no other choice liao)

Melayu

Hahahhaha scolding Lang!!!! I used to scold my students in English though I am teaching Chinese!

I also dunno wat my dominant Lang is coz Both work ok for me.. I used to study my Chinese notes while plugging in to class 95! Not that I am bilinggual but I find myself more like a typical sporean.. Jack of both languages but master of none.. Hehe..

Yes, hanyu pinyin is very very impt. It's like a key to Chinese Lang. Once u know yr hanyu pinyin, u can read (with the help of hanyu pinyin) and learn and explore the world of Chinese independently.

Huingee, not meant to scare u la.
i chat chat chat with jay on and off de. then jay mentioned that i should go get some exercise books for P1 , try to understand why my fren (another fren, with a boy same age as esther, u met before), so so under stressed.
so, we are curious, we wanna know wat is happening, and what will happen?
then hor, i dili deli dun want to buuy the books cause so wu liao.
and i spent some time in hospital to download some papers.
it is meant for jay to take a look and see how he can study together with tian (FEW YEARS LATER).
i tellu, jay's CHI cmi, ENG cmi, but i think math he can.
i should be CHI teacher bah, but he said my CHI not good.
i also stress. haha!

and now i think astro is very de zai3, cause this similies and idioms... no wonder i cannot find it online. haha!!!

edde, u v power with your england and chi combi le. so, i also send tian to your house for tuition(can u give tuition at woodlands, your mum's place)... then go astro there.
haha!!

astro, i fully unsderstand the technical terms and technical writing part. it is just not the same as sociology, psychology, etc etc etc.

once i was at Gwyen class (sat enrichment class), there is this gal i think in sec1 or 2, is there for chinese tuition (P is from china so her hb give tuition on sat) then P told the gal parent that the dotter chinese is quite bad. She told the parents that she is going to get the chinese reading material from china which is meant for p3 for her dotter to read, in order to have a headstart. *faint*

Actually hor, in the eye of moe I m not "qualified" to teach primary Chinese!! Coz I am not trained in that... And dun forget we hv better qualified and experienced traz 老师 !!

Huingee scold in English more 顺口 rite!! My hb used to hv this chinese tr who can scold them with a chain of Chinese idioms! Power!!

QQ,
Haha, my hb said all the subject he can take. Eng, chinese, maths. He said me all cmi.

But i think still not so bad lah. Haha, sometimes i need to check with him how to pronounce some words.
Hence i say primary school is better, although he didn't study hard but his foundation is there.