(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

i love mango too!!
edde, i love mango!
i love mango, mango mango!
fruits and dessert and salads...

pink, the name? jay said wait till he finishes his course. still choosing.

Bunnie,
Good luck tomorrow! I am sure you can succeed.. just got to practice more. Remember to add more sauce/salt, else not giam enough :p

QQ,
hahaha.. why u tell EDDE u love mango?? U hinting?? :p

HJ,

My friend apparently give her maid work review every month. She will tell her what she like and don't like about her work and attitude. I think speaking frankly helps and you can always cushion the harsh comments with frank praise of the things that she have done correctly. According to her, the maid improved after a few months of work reviews (note that both her husband and herself with sit down with the maid to talk to her during the review). Perhaps there's a reason she likes to ask why. Maybe you can ask her why she kept asking why? She could be feeling bored and is trying to make conversation. You have to remember that English is not her native language, she might realise that she is coming across as being rude.

autum, no la. just want to let edde know that i also mango kaki. :p
but i cannot eat too much la, cause it is not oni fattening, cause constipation, also not good for skin allergy ppl like me.

QQ for a moment i tot u wrote "I love edde" then realized I misread.. So sad

autum, ya the Thai mango glutinous rice, mango cheesecake, the hk famous xu liu Shan mango ice with ice cream (i made this before and Dave loves it! But I anyhow do de lah) .. Anymore?

QQ,
mango is fattening??? first time i hear of this!

edde,
wahahahah.. u thot QQ loves u ah?? chey! aye, u make mango ice for me leh. then hor, tmr u make bz also hor. i come tmr. :p

autum
fattenig fruits: durian, mango, banana.... something like that.

edde, i can love u too. haha!
yes i also tried the xu liu san mango ice. u have the ice machine at home ah? wah!! dave is so fortunate.

yvonne: more milk plus is exp. i think i bought mine and GIVE to nana ( :p) about $40 plus, unopened.. hahahah so i never tried that.. more milk plus.. i know confirmed vitakidz have.. those kkh also have. star swears by it.. i dunno about it :p

Autum: onz.. whahaha., so pathetic me.. anyway tomorrow i half day off pm leave.. coz bringing teng for ENT review..

QQ: great.. now not so worrying..

Autum, U think I restaurant eh.. Waahahahhahahhah! And I dun wanna disappoint u again lah.. U forgot i only 说得一口好菜??!! haha :p

QQ dats the prob. I hv no ice shaving machine at home so I used a normal juice blender!!! And almost spoilt e blades!!

edde, i think u head of the chef ah. haha!! wah the blender can blend ice one also can use. use obiang blender then after one time of blending then maybe spoilt liao.

astro, reduce one level of worry, still worry la.
now carefully monitor bb movement, once reduce movement then action chiong dr liao.

autum: 1pm.. when u be? i go collect my ONE BZ :p

QQ: ya.. inevitable.. but rest.. u know how to count bb movement..? i didn't despite they tell me how. coz i dun trust myself :p then hurry hurry one day past EDD. quick quick induce :p

astro, i dunno how to count.
i think if can feel, then i count as ONE.
then after half an hour or so then consider 2?
not within the same time frame? correct or not?
i agak agak la.

QQ: quite vague i feel when they teach me.. they say if in succession count as 1.. if hiccups don't count.. then i am like. how i know what is defined as succession? aiya. cheap wor..

astro, i think i agak agak. if not much differnce from day to day then ok.

hiccups? i finally feel it once or twice these few days. but this hiccups came in quite late as compared to tian.

tomorrow i start counting liao. already printed out a sheet of paper for me to record.

edde,

I'm no expert lar. That Gula melaka is very easy to make. I hardly cook anyway. Think if minus away the instant noodles, home econ lessons and stuffs I make for YT, I can probably count on one hand the number of dishes I have cooked. :p

autum: hahahha :p so what time? hmmm where find u?

QQ: i find it stressful to count movements ...

heh.. btw.. ellie told me teng 'sleep-walked' last night!!! :S/ she said he saw teng sit up, eyes closed.. then she thought he wanted to drink water , usual.. but no. he proceeded to take his napkin..and almost wnted to make his way down the bed liao! then ellie asked teng what he is doing.. then asked him to go back to bed.. then he did, all doing these while eyes closed.. i find it freaking!!! help!

question.
i think stupid la. my england not good. try to learn.

(1) The goose _______ at me when I try to feed it.
(a) honked
(b) Chirped
(c) quacked
(d) clucked

answer c or d ah?

(2) Whenever he is angry, his face turns ________
(a)as grey as ash
(b)as bright as stars
(c)as white as snow
(d)as black as night

answer which one? (a) or (d)? i never heard of these before.

anyway, SQ now u know what i have been doing in hospital. i was downloading some P1 exam paper, as instructed by jay. haha!

mejo, the gula melaka u brought to joelle's house that time was YUMMY!!!! i hate to cook sago, coz always burn and stuck to my pot
and the big sago worse still! i ever spent more than 1hr cooking them! *faint*

QQ, my guess
Q1 goose answer is (4)
Q2 face answer is (1)??

sleep walk? astro...
sure boh? monitor a bit bah.
u or miser any occurence of sleep walk?

I have seen many sleep walker before. scary to me. haha! cause i stayed in a hostel for many years. many cases le, some can be scary.

ok... change numbering.. sorry ah. edde, autum.. redo the question.

i think i can find answers on the web. just find it more interesting and fun to do it together with u gals.
if u find me too bored, pls let me know. kick me out.

autum,
3. i know la. but this 2. and 1. I am confused. unsure!
so as dark as night... i tot grey as ash also sounds logical leh.

Autum, look at edde's answer. my answer same as hers. so got problem? seems like answer difffernt to yours.
how?

goose HONKED? or clucked?
then as dark as night or as grey as ash?
haha!!

edde,

Er, I must confess, the sago my MIL help me cook one. The trick is not to cook till they turn transparent. Maybe about 70% transparent then you turn off the fire. Then, you leave them in pot and they will slowly turn fully transparent. After cooking, wash them so that they will separate out.

answers from google:
as black as night

- very dark and black

The old house was as black as night when we entered it.

cannot find this as grey as ash yet. chim

and ppl say
the HAIR is as grey as ash... (lots of white hair)
or face is as gray as ash (dirty)

so mejo, it is as white as snow hor?
chim!
i need a book of idioms.

and i think my tian will choose TICKED rather than struck cause she CINA one.

QQ,

In English, we said the person's face turn white or red when angry. Only chinese say turn black lar.... so I think the answer should be as white as snow. I hope I'm right. :p

Popping by to say hi.
Had been really busy with for since i started working.

Leia "called" me juz now and pink reminded me abt the thread again

Javan didi is 9mths old already and taking care of him is real tired cos he is quite cranky at times.. not easy.

How's everyone??

And pink, wru...?? ;p
Y are u

alamak, my post went missing.
ok ok.

ok,, so chicken clucked. goose honked.
and then we wait till everyone settle with the black, grey and white problems.
i think both edde and myself more chinese inclined, so got the similar answers. haha!
pearlyn mei nu, u are here! great.
everything ok?
eh come do P1 english ok? haha!

Autum, QQ, kaexin,

I don't think the second question is very fair in any case. There could be cultural context. Besides, normally nobody uses the other colour related idioms on facial expression. The only one I've seen in use is the "as white as snow". It is a bit funny to use the rest. Students can put as black as night because culturally, or at in Sg, we say people's face turn black when they are angry. I think they could have use "he is so frightened, his face turned as white as snow". That would have been obvious. It look like someone is trying to hard to change the questions. :/