(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

pink,
i always see alot of such dress in woodlands pasar malam. If woodland got again i call u. Lol! Now at this age wear dress veri nice hor?

Bunnie,

Aiyoh, now you know why you get mistaken for the maid instead, cuz you maid too fair. LOL.

Yar, on further thought, 3 mins can only be set up time, not pumping time. That must be some record setting pump if you can do it in 3 mins. Haha.

mejo, for the initially mths when she is still paying off the loan, our agreement states that i will buy for her, coz she has little income only mah.. i let her call back as and when she likes. but she is quite zi dong.. each card can last 1-1+ mth.. so i guess its up to u.. to me, as long as the maid doesnt abuse our kindness i think its gd enuf. if u r satisfied with yr maid's performance, then maybe u can give it as a bonus and let her know. this might motivate her a bit if she is appreciative.

pinkpink: hahaha yes ... she's my maid :p

anyway, yes she used to be a "xiaojie" ... then after her grandfather died (she was orphaned at a young age - mum died at child birth and father died a few yrs later in a drunken brawl), one of her uncles sold off the land and kick all of them out ... so from a college student, she was forced to come out to work ... she is now supporting 2 of her mum's sisters who took care of her as well. from living in a big mansion, her house is now a stable made from bamboo.

mejo: dun need to pay back ... it's one of the small perks i allow my maids to have ... anyway they dun abuse it so it's ok.

mejo,
at least yt is watching such show, just now evening bel saw the trad show. Like those gu xia ju. She and the father stick to the tv . And i call bel so many time den she react.

bunnie,
aiyoh, your maid story quite poor thing. she work ok for you? no attitude problem right? she looks quite happy and pleasant.

edde,

Problem is my MIL is unhappy with her behaviour lor. If MIL is happy, she will be more than willing to let her call home for free but she has been irritating my MIL with a lot of things, like talking back lar, refusing to accept instructions, laugh when scolded, and still dare to tell my MIL that she looked funny when she is angry!!?! On the other hand, I also feel a bit bad that she has to pay for a calling card with the miserable amount of money she has now. Anyway, leave it up them, I better stay out of trouble. Bad enough that I have to be the one to do all the legwork. MIL said I'm the employer?!?! Messy. Technically speaking, there is no need to employ a maid if my SIL is not pregnant. There is also no need to employ a maid even if she is pregnant if hb's sis did not come to Singapore with her two kids. I'm the least factor. In fact, I'm more than happy to just put YT at my mom's place or CCC. I DONT need the maid in the first place! End up I became the employer. Sigh... I think I'm too free liao, better find full time employment asap.

Yvonne,

You say it like transformer is better than gu xia ju. Haha. Then that day she throw tantrum, I actually entertained her with a calender full of cars! All those ferrari and lamborginis etc. Wah, she is so happy after I showed her the calender and happily walloped her milk and everything. Scary. Next time she will be a car racer. LoL. She's been trying to make her cars "drift" ever since she saw the remote controlled cars at East coast park.

mejo: I suggest u change maid ... ur maid have some issues with your MIL authority and wont be good in the long tun

autum: she is ok ... cheerful gal but talk too much! sometimes I just want to relax and watch TV but she will talk and talk ... so sometimes i fedup i just snap then she slink away :p she is also quite emotional but i think she really just have bad luck .. I'm the only "good luck" she has this year ... her bf broke up with her and then her aunt refuse to return her the money she loaned her ...

yvonne: if barney is showing my gal wont even hew me. if i want her to hew me, I must turn off the TV, if i stand in front of her, she just move until she can see the TV!

Mejo
u can bring YT to watch F1 next time.
hah so u are the official employer...hmm..
this maid also quite jialak , how can she talk back? its alright for them to pay for their own international card, its their own expenses.

Yvonne
Bel is looking prettier! i saw the pix of her with hair tied up, very sweet! shes slimmer too.
ok look out for me...the material is very comfortable.

bunnie
wow kinda sad story...hmm..she looks like the kind who studies a lot, could be the specs...haha

Bunnie,

The thing is, SIL going to give birth in Nov, where got time for my MIL to train up a new maid. Actually she is not the scold back or give black face kind but she is just too frivolous. Always laugh laugh like its nothing. But that day the agent scold till she cried so hopefully she has learnt her lesson and understand that we meant business. I don't think she is hopeless. She does work too slowly and she knew it too. Agent told me that she said she is like that, can only work slowly so agent told her off and said that she can go back to Indonesia if she insist that she can only work slowly.

Bunnie,
haiz.. maids.. never-ending stories.. it's good that she sees you as her "good luck". you got her after the previous one left on home leave?

Pinkpink,

She's not the talk back until very jialat kind but more like, my MIL told her the things cannot be put back on the shelves right after it is wiped (cuz still moist mah) then she will laugh laugh and say can lar. You know, the not serious kind? MIL is most irritated with her frivolous attitude and she actually have the audacity to call my FIL's name! My MIL is calling him mah, then she started joining in. She has a habit of parroting other people I noticed. Like last time I think I was calling one of the boys and then she started doing it in a lower voice like it is a funny thing? She's a bit weird also lar but since I can't communicate with her, I also dunno wussup.

autum: Ya ... i actually "lun" for 1 month before i couldn't take it ... we actually short listed another maid but took so long to come, so in the end I went to look for a transfer maid ... my gf went down with me cuz she needed to clear some paperwork ... so we just interview some of the maids there and i tot she was quite straightforward and not too "dumb" ... then brought hubby there to interview her, he said ok so we got her lor.

mejo: true also ... but may have even more problems after the baby is delivered ... so u may want to think of a backup plan ...

mejo: ur maid is WEIRD ...

i already forsee one problem, if ur MIL tell her to do one way for the baby, she say can lah then use cold water how??? i did catch my maids washing my boy's butt with cold water a few times and I scolded them and they say sorry still do it ... i dunno wat's ur this maid is going to do!

Autum,

She worked in my room for 3 - 4 hours according my SIL. I mean, we have paraquet floors. She don't even need to mop with soap or anything, just sweep around with the super mop. She don't need to tidy my cabinets or whatever. Just need to clean toilet, set up the bed, take 3 - 4 hours? For one bedroom and one toilet leh. The carpeted study room she don't even need to set a foot in cuz hb instructed her not to have to tidy or vaccum it, we'll handle it ourselves. She only need to empty the small bin which is nearly always empty anyway. So she's forever out of sight and when my MIL needs help, it is difficult to look for her. I don't do a lot of housework but er, isn't 3 - 4 hours for a room and toilet too much? Sometimes she don't even wash the toilet. I'm okay with that as long as not until can see all the stains coming out (which had happened). I did tell her no need to wash the walls, taps etc. everyday too though I'm not 100% sure if she has understood.

Mejo,
your maid sounds coo-coo to me leh! hmm, u better monitor her behavior..

Bunnie,
oh interesting.. why is she a transfer maid?

Bunnie,

I doubt she will get to handle the baby. Think my SIL may be quite against that. She very good life one lar, only need to do housework, no need to cook, no need to look after kids. The agent did tell us that for a household this big, we actually should get two maids but I told her that we are planning on continuing to do many things on our own. She don't believe and told us that once we have maid, everything also want her to do. Which is not true, because until now I still wash YT's milk bottle myself, her potty, and her. All by myself. I can put the dirty milk bottle there from morning till night (cuz I'm late for class) and still come back to see it sitting there for me to wash.

Autum,

Not coo-coo so serious bah. I think she is just frivolous. She told the kids what, that she doesn't like to cry, only like to smile. Cheerfulness is a good trait but unfortunately, hers has extended into frivolousness.

mejo: i seriously think u need to change the maid ... u can find another good maid. given ur maid current behaviour, she is not doing things slowly, she is just pretending to do work slowly so that she gets to do less work. and likely she may be just hiding in the tiolet daydreaming. u can source for another maid now, then if u can find another one, send this one back. and given her weird behaviour, i wont even trust her to touch my kids!!!

autumL again interesting story ... basically she was told to lie to me that her ex employer didn;t know cannot employ 2 maids so employ a new maid so had to cancel her... but stupid agent lie, cuz how can a agent dun tell her employer that rt ????

nyway the GOSSIP is ... her ex employer got affair ... then the husband came back and found out about it ... so her employer cart her off to the agent before the husband can question her about the lover ...

mejo: no point complaining to the agent, all the agent will do is scold ... and threaten them ... since she is only doing the housework, it's not critical to have her around. can just change maid!

Autum,

Nope. Couldn't find any good ones at Grace's during that period so I took one from Best at thomson. That's recommended by my cousin. The transfer maid that she took from them turn out quite good. Actually, Grace seem too busy to entertain me also, the other agent is much more willing to spend more time with me.

Bunnie,
wow.. sounds like a juicy story! :p whahahaha.. so u never ask your maid about that ex-employer, whether she was really having an affair?? :p

Mejo,
I agree with Bunnie. if what you need is really someone to do housework and there is full-time supervision provided by your MIL, then you can just change this maid. Sorry to say this, but I really feel your maid is a bit sot. err, i think that is scary le.

If make mistakes, can scold and the person change, then ok. But make mistakes, scold and she laugh?? that is errrr....

Bunnie,

True lar, but we'll see how also. Cuz you never know what's the next one going to be like! Actually hor, the problem here is, I'm not at home to witness all the bad things and to me, she is okay. Not good but not so bad until need to kick out type. You see what I mean. Anyway, I have told my MIL that regardless of the money or whatever, if we need to change, just CHANGE. But I don't want to be the decision maker. This is not my decision to make. Bad enough that I've somehow became the official employer even though I don't pay a single cent towards her salary, I don't want to be responsible if the next one is crazier.

Autum,

Hmm, maybe my description is bad. She is not the laugh her head off one lar but like laugh laugh a bit, say sorry mam kind. I don't feel that she is mentally unstable, just weird. I can accept weird cuz I'm weird myself, so yar.

mejo, looks like yr maid qn has escalated to another deeper issue! hm.. ask yr MIL, can she tahan yr current maid for 2 yrs. if not, change. mian de ye chang meng duo.

Mejo,
I can't stand that the most! If i scold someone and the person can still smile/laugh/joke, I get very pissed off. My maid ever did this before, and I told her off directly "this is not funny, be serious". Yes, I am that mean. :p

Ok la. I suppose you (or rather your MIL) will be the best judge on whether to keep her or not. Haiz.. as i posted earlier.. maid stories will be never-ending!

Me logging off..night all!

autum: she told me out of the blue one day the truth why she was transfered out ... i'm ok listen some of the stories but i not really into it ... more juicy ones also have ,,, she was recommending me this other maid before i got her cousin ... lucky for both of us never get her ... that maid got pregnant! then she dunno how and got it aborted ... and since dun repent and keep asking my maid to go and meet her lover and can intro guys to her ... lucky for both of us cuz i told her she recommend me bad maid she goes back to agent straight and she v scared of this agent (agent v v v mean).

edde,

Like I say, I'll leave it up to my MIL. I don't want to add oil to fire already. Besides, in the end, if she do decides to change, I'll end up being the one having to do the legwork and paperwork. I'm very sian about having to do all these things already. Sounds a bit selfish but then again, I feel unbalanced also.

edde,

Come to think of it, hb and I are the strongest proponents in getting a maid one cuz I don't think my MIL can handle with her bad feet and stuffs. So, maybe I did ask for it. Sigh.

mejo, hmm, i don noe good or not, but i hate gu xia ju. Lol! :p wah! Serious? Yt love those cars so much! Hehe, next time her first car must be one of them. Keke!

Bunnie, i cant turn off the tv la. Nick will kill mi!

Yvonne,

Wah, first car want to buy ferrari and lamborginis???? Yar, I'll buy her a die-cast one. LOL. She really loves car hor. She can take my hb's car catalogues and come and ask me to read to her. |||-_- I told her that she can ask her father to read those to her, I'll read her storybooks...

Yvonne,

Problem is "change" is also a problem. Anyway, as long as my MIL is not at the state of feeling like kicking her out, I'm just going to continue on in my own happy way.

mejo, erm, if u are comfortable with it, den is ok la. But if ur mil feel with her around is making everyone more busy, really buying a prob lei. :p

kekek... talking abt wacky maids? i had a maid who told me her hb was shot dead in a gang fight in a laughing tone! i thot she must be joking! then found out actually she married him cos she was pregnant w his kid... but not living with him wan. no feeling. so weird! laugh abt it?

then there was another one as frivolous as mejo's... always laughing wan..esp in front of men!! she will giggle n act coy! heh...

Yoyoyo!!! I slept on my own last night! Anna bluffed me and went back to sleep with ayden after watching tv. So I had the reading light on through the night. Wahahah!!! I'm so chicken..

Mejo: Could it be an indonesian trait or mentality? As in, to laugh the matter off? I remember I have an indo maid who's as what you've described too. She maintained her smile when being scolded too. Thing is I find that it's really psychotic to be smiling when one is being reprimanded. It made me uncomfortable plus she has BO so when Anna came along, we changed her. Maybe your MIL has the same issue with her - ie your MIL is uncomfortable that she smiles when being scolded. If this is the case, pls let your MIL change her. Cos it's not fun and very stressful to be living with someone who makes you angry everyday.

Autum, Bunny, Edde: I will shut my maids up if they start telling me about their ex-employers or other employers. I mean, wanting them not to gossip about us got to work both ways mah. Since I express clearly to them we don't like it that they gossip abt us in front of others, I shouldn't be participating (and thus encouraging) them to gossip about others in front of me.
Plus, I believe the (philly) maids are quite smart. They will use such opportunities to pai1 ma3 pi4 to us for their own advantage.