(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

speaking of which, yesterday we went to this chix rice restaurant (not boon tiong kee) at tpy to tabao dinner. then the staff were still preparing for dinner crowd, wiping bowls and stuff. i saw this young staff blowing her nose into the tissue then use her bare finger to kinda dig her nose then wipe her finger on the tissue. after which, without washing her hands, she carried on wiping the bowls dry!!!!

steamboat food poisoning news
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/421703/1/.html

YY, Autum,
don't like that leh. I like that cute young boy. :p

But Ai Jia's really better in her singing's technique lah. Jarod won with "ren yuan".

RR: i dunno that boy. coz i never follow.. i just happen to tune in to that channel. when he was 'singing' his gratitude??.. ha.. but really leh. the pitch hor.. gosh.. :p

re: steamboat in Geylang
Alot of those shops are opened by C***A people and I seriously doubt their hygiene standard. I've heard about them recycling the soup base ...

Astro,
actually no le, steamboat is quite safe cos all the food are cooked in boiling water! unless people didn't cook the food thoroughly, else it's very safe.. this case of contamination, my guess could be the sauce.. it's always the sauce that cause problem!

YY,
you mean the song he sang after he won ah? He sang that earlier on and it was much better. It was bad when you heard it cos he was crying and couldn't sing properly lah.

RR: ha. which remind me another contradiction.. u know those some very very famous dishes.. maybe not so in sg.. but certainly in china/taiwan etc.. they claimed they use the same pot for decades without washing it at all. hence the flavour! hahah :p

alamak another food poison case. Hope not as serious as the satay case.

edde,
agreed I also notice that, everytime I saw have the chong dong to approach them not to do so. Wonder they know what is clove meant for.

autum: hmm. i meant to say. when steamboat starts.. it is not boiling yet.. also when u add in the raw ingredients.. the temp drops 'drastically'.. and the soup is no longer boiling.. many bacteria need high temp to kil mah. of course it is still hot.. but i wonder how hot is the hot.. and are all bacteria killed?.. plus the chopsticks.. handle raw food and cooked food.. plus put in own mouth.. i always get confused..
in any case. i am normally relaxed with food.. but with steamboat, i am quite a stickler..

and yes.. the first reaction to miser ' must be never cook their food through'..same like BBQ lah..

i dun take my steamboat with suace leh. what suace? those special kinds? normally it is just chili for me lah..

Autum,
he has got "ren yuan" mah. :p Just like the last winner, shawn too.

YY,
ya lor, like those braised stuffs.

RR, OMG recycle soup base!!! yucks!!! i used to patronise this steamboat restaurant opp bugis junction, opened by P*C pple also. oh no..

astro, those kind diff coz dun hv pple's saliva.. imagine drinking pple's saliva in yr soup!

last time i got 1 student told me that his parents told him to rip the unfinished satay so that the satay man wont take back, make hot and re-serve the same stick. i wonder how much of our outside food is recycled. *yucks*

edde: which is differnt? the braised stuff in 'century old pot'??

ha. just as dirty mah. imagine we cook our stuff.. we scrub till shine! and i go and buy from century old pot.. ha.. funny i find :p

astro,
My family always wait till soup boiled them put things in one, and wait till soup boiled again then eat.

We dun really like to eat steamboat outside, especially those cheap one like $10 per person, I find the food not so fresh and it keep uncovered so unhygienic.

Astro,
i think quite ok one la. i know what u mean.. so eat steamboat only with people u know! hahahah.. not that it minimise any contamination but i think less scary! :p

YY, Autum,
one of the judge, Xiao Han thinks that he brings out the maternal instincts in women, haha!!!

Edde,
I don't know how true lah. But looking at the way they do things back in their country, we can't help but to doubt them.

I read about dogs seller in China dye light coloured poodles to teddy bear colour and feed them painkillers to make them active during the sale. The painkillers could actually kill the dogs within a week. It's scary to think that human beings can do these kind of things ...

edde,
You post abt chix rice make me want to poke. Which store ha? can sms me if inconvenient to post here. My hb always tabao form TPY coz his office there.

sahm: i 'force' my families to do the same.. particularly miser's family.. coz maybe they aren't aware.. first time i eat then.. i got to tell them explicitly why/when must do it! then they went 'ohhh..'.. my family, i know.. coz my uncle, who prepares such things, is a chef.. so he insists this be done.. and also.. i eat my paus.. with oter skin.. that thin layer.. peeled off one.. even if it is machine made.. ha. i know i strange :p now it has been ingrained in teng also. hahah :p

autum: ha.. i find it not ok.. so i seldom eat steamboat outside.. but u are right.. i only eat with pple who knows my 'style'.. else they might find it offensive

Yar, it was the worst vomitting I ever had. Most times, you feel better right after puking but I actually felt worse after cuz the acid kept flowing down from my nasal cavity back to my throat, burning the whole passage way. I started feeling unwell after I went to bed and couldn't really sleep, end up puked at 2plus am but in the end, kenna 'tortured' till 3am before I can sleep. I ate Fish and chip and Fish & Co. The food is very very oily. Maybe the oil caused indigestion? YT also ate leh, but she is totally fine but she din eat from my dish though I ate from hers.

Irin,
but hor, nowadays right, all the superstar show, if u look carefully, they always let the popular one win the title.. then all the runner-ups, are the ones who get all the singing contracts.. or can last longer as artistes..

mejo: got one time. i ate from AMK fish and co.. both miser and I had tummy upsets immediately after that.. dunno why.. then after that.. miser said. no more fish and co :p

astro,
actually, to eat steamboat, must definitely wait for soup to boil before and after putting food in right? or else how to let the food cook properly? so your style is the only style isn't it?? *scratch head*..

astro, at least no saliva! haha!

irin, the dog seller, really shld be qiang1 bi4.. mei2 ren2 xing4, worse than dogs!!

that competition hor.. i think its very unfair to ai jia.. that acapella is so difficult lor! and jarod's one not so challenging as compared.

mejo: ops! :p

autum: no lor. u will be suprised.. there are pple.. who tucks in 'all the time' :p
miser's family last time was a typical eg lor. till i 'TRANSFORMED' them.. ha..
no wonder.. miser's stomach not that strong when i first met him.. ha

edde: ha!

Irin,
no contracts meh? chey, then what for? :p i thot the whole idea is to have a singing contract. kekek.. or at least a doorway to fame and future opportunitities..

Edde,
think they chose their own, right? Or it's "zhi3 ding4" one? I missed out the 1st part.
But someone ever mentioned that it's a superstar contest, not a singing contest so ultimately it's the audiences' votes that count though Ai Jia's better in singing lah.

this campus superstar like not so great, just another way for them to make money thru phone vote. If i'm not wrong the winner only get 2K nia, no singing contract.

Autum,
no lah, cos these are still students. But they'll still get invited for some singing, acting jobs lor.

mummies, past week, we have been trying to train EJ to fall asleep on his own. heh heh.. normally he needs us (either papa or me) to go in and 'sleep' with him.. normally we wait until he falls asleep, then come out of the room. these few nights, we just ask him to sleep, then leave the room almost immediately.. sometimes succeed, sometimes he will still wander out of the room. kekek.. wish me luck!

Astro,
i thot eat all the 'dirty' things then stomach will become stronger?! waahah.. i quite dare-devil when it comes to eating 'dirty' food.. and so far so good.. *touch wood*

Autum,
then when he wanders out, what you do? I'm getting tired of accompanying them to sleep, thinking of doing the same too but I seriously think they'll just play inside the room even if they don't wander out.

Astro,
You so brave first time eat with miser family dare to tell them.

Hey me too lei, I will pill the pau outer layer off even the mini paus, the first time my ex-boss & collegue saw they keep ask me why, I told them the skin very dirty. :p

Submitted for gymboree. Star, I only managed to order the watercolour dots hat for you. We've got $75 gymbucks to use. I'll divide up according to purchase amount before shipping for the redemption spree.

hi muumies quite sian n bored dun feel like zzz

astro
i also dun like AMK HUB F&C..aiyo the food came after 20 min nevermind..then its cold! not even warm ok, i m very shocked n ask the waitress why its cold? she apologise n say will heat up. ok lor fine..came back i expect to be piping hot liao.. guess wat ? i dun even need to blow my food i can put into my mouth w/o burning my tongue..GAVE UP. last time their std very good onen le.. now ...hmmm

autum
i forgot to check for u the tiles.. its outside the hse hee.. i check for u tom n report to u ok..sorry abt it.

Irin,
just now he wander out, then hubby carried him back in and talk to him to sleep on his own.. then hb came out immediately.. then EJ didn't wander out liao. hmm, he also don't fall asleep immediately la.. he also will 'play'.. as in turn here turn there.. then sometimes sing song or mumble some stuff.. but eventually he will sleep. for your case, cos got 2, so RR will play with each other! haha.. but ok la, let them 'play' a while, they also will sleep la.

edde,
thanks! so u also training anthea to fall asleep by herself?

i'm ard too... hv been reading since 1030pm abt the food etc etc. sick now. my eyes r "glued" tog bcos of blocked tear ducts due to blocked nose. damn sian. def got it fr Jo.

belle,

Wah, that bad ar. I only feel that the place very very cold. I'm freezing while eating. The food okay lar. A bit too oily but was hot when served. But turned cold super fast.

autum
stimes i practise wat u did too.. leave chloe to zz on her own, there was one week (pete on night shift) she is very good. wah i said SLEEP! she immed go to sleep position n cover her eyes..very funny n i went out to fold laundry expecting her to come out..but she did not n fell asleep le. most days we wil off all the light n sleep with her lor..stimes we talk to her till she zz., stimes play with her..just now play HORSE haha .dpds on how FREE am I too la.

belle,

You saw my message about your OOS items hor? But never mind, next spree you can buy more with gymbucks. Keke.

autum, nope.. last time after she is 6 mths old she actually slept by herself in her own room. but after since we came back from korea trip last june she is stuck with us on our bed!! and i hv to accompany her to sleep

belle: ops. now all siam that outlet liao :p

SAHM: i have to lah.. this one hygiene.. of course i do it in a 'suggestion' way. then they asked why.. then i tell them the reason.. ha..

ha.. yes. the skin is very dirty.. in fact the whole pau skin is dirty.. if i follow my uncle's logic.. so i normally stay off handmade buns/paus.. :p

autum: got limit one lah.. like if the food gena rat dropping kind of contamination.. strong stomach also no play liao..

going off. night ladies..

belle,
the tiles ah, pls dun bother if too much hassle. so Chloe can fall asleep by herself? aye, she sleep where? on your bed?