so bz today, came in to take a break.
SQ: i tot u bz too still can sneak in here ah// hehehe
autum: i ans ur qs
1. I read recipes that say "bake in pre-heat oven at 160C...".. does that mean i switch the temp to 160C.. then I must pre-heat for how long? 10 minutes, 20 minutes? 1 minute?
u can just on ur oven at 160, leave it and then prep the ingredient for ur muffin, when u r done, oven should be nice and hot liao. oeven has a temp control will maintain at 160 degrees..so if temp too high, they will auto switch off the heating device. understand?
2. Recipes that call for milk. What kind of milk must i use? can use fresh milk (cold) or those UHT pack milk? can use milk powder or not - ie. use milk powder to make into liquid milk first?
Can use both fresh and UHT... for for bb, i buy full fat cream milk. i usually use UHT cos i can buy and store in cupboard and its cheaper too.
3. Recipes that say use oil.. err, what kind of oil? our normal cooking oil? or use margarine? or butter?
if recipe says use oil, u use oil (olive or nomal cooking oil). they will specify if need to use butter or margarine. Unless u heat and melt the butter lah. no need so much trouble, just use ur reg oil can liao.
4. I saw so many type of flour until i blur.. Got self-raising flour, top flour, plain flour, and many other types.. how do i know which type to use huh?
Buy and use plain flour.. safest and remember to add baking powder hor. self raising usually for cakes lah.