(2007/02) February

Sunsweet, Leng Kee road is along the MRT track between Queenstown and Redhill rite? That is nearer to our place, but doesn't seem to have Honda there...

Hope will pass our basic theory test this month. After the test, still need to go down to Johor Ministry of Transportation for them to issue a letter to Singapore Traffic Police. But then they said once the Msia side issue the letter, they will cancel our Msia licence from the record, so then we can only drive in msia using our spore licence, which is ok, except for the police may sometimes kacao...

Hi ladies..

Thank u for yr kind support n encouragement rgd my MIL issue.

She seems to pretend everything ok leh. So well..I tahan lah..I keep on reminding my hb to to clear his own stuff n help me n his mum more, n he to 'nag' at his sis to be more initiative, not so lazy..
so that I WONT BE IMPLICATED.

Ah ger n Jas..

Some PILs are easier to live with..But the basic rule is that..2 families cant live together w/o some problems at least..even with the best PILs.
So its good couples have their own place.
My pastor also advised us to move out earlier..cos I had another prob few months ago when my MIL poured out all her grievances, which were complains about me n hb to one of the church ladies (who was a bit of a busybody that kind, n of cos we were so upset, I felt so hurt..how can she tell an outsider those things..aiyah..anyway she's never happy with us, but she very happy with her older daughter n her hb..cos they are high-flyers, got good jobs..got car, got house..sian..life is unfair lah..I already accepted this in my life right now.

Koh..

Dont worry..some gynaes are like that..my gynae is more relaxed with weight gain n baby's weight.
Do u know why yr weight dropped? Must eat well nutritious food ok..if not u cant increase yr weight very much..esp if u are on the slim side.
There's still hope..but u have to make sure u n baby put on to normal weight..

charis, agree wif wat u said on living under the same roof wif PIL. Luckily my hubby is the youngest son and we get our own place after ROM. PIL stays wif hubby's two elder brothers (2 families). But we go back often for dinner and give my MIL pocket money. And sometimes we did ask them to come stay wif us for a day or two. But think they get bored at our house as no matter how, their house is at my BILs' house.

bac.

Sunsweet - we did nt do test drive cos hb already tried both cars b4. Jazz - thru his coll & City - his bro. I guess he knew abt tis cos I was nt aware. If Jas is realy keen, she can always email me again then I give her my gf's sis's contact. Actually no obligations lah, so long as no test-drv if there is really tis lock-in thingy.

Jas - u din activate ur PM leh.

Jas - Honda is Kah Motors, it's located @ Leng Kee. If u alight @ Queensway MRT stn, u can take bus 51 frm the bus stop near the police stn or the so-called kopitiam, nt the HDB bus stop. Otherwise from my ofc here, or if ur side has 970/ 186, it stops just outside Hyundai showroom. Frm my ofc to Kah Motors is abt 30mins journey in the evening.

Wat u can also do is, get Kah Motors address, then u go www.streetdirectory.com, then u key in the postal code, then u can c roughly ware it's located.

as for test-drv I think u shld req a Sin licenses anyway.

Charis - tats y tat time when BILs asked hb hw cme we still wanna move out when hb's youngest (&I m think they want their privacy, so do we!), even MIL say move out is a better option. No matter hw chin chye either party is, will bound to hv conflict. Which is y we insisted on having our own homes then go thru everything like wedd.

Charis - dun b 2 bothered abt wat ur MIL say. Just 1 ear in/out, & ur life will b easier/ time also passes faster.

Koh - ur appt is nw every 2wks already? Hmm, when will we then start bi-wkly chk? Upon entering 3rd tri? Must try to eat more. maybe u make urself take more carbohs? Cos I know tat makes u put on wt very fast. Then also like white bread? Dun stress too much hw to make urself put on leh, cos it may worsen instead of helping. Just eat as per normal, I m sure u can gain the 2kg back. or hv u bn under some wk stress lately?

[email protected]. Thanks...
She work in Kah Motor rite? Kah Motor is a distributor for Honda only?

ah ger,
my appt is every 2 weeks as my placenta is low.. gynae wan to monitor.. i think 32 weeks onwards u all should be seeing gynae every 2 weeks ba.. not too sure bout other gynae.. but for mi i think i will see him every week from 32 weeks onwards... so fast we all moving into 3rd trimester liao... as for my weight, i am not worry, i onli worry for my baby weight.. as wat if i give birth earlier? so i think this is why the gynae so particular bout weight lor... my HB onli keep on nagging mi, say is b'cuz i take supplement too late...thats why baby so light.... haa..

Jas

Yes, Kah Motors is the distributor for Honda cars. @ Kah Motors, u will c Jazz. If u go to those pte car shops (known as parallel impt), it will be Fit.

Just emailed u.

Koh - I know las 4wks or so will b wkly. Nvm, tis Thurs I will ask the asst.

Aiyoh, can't blame taking the suppls late lah. U've bn taking nutritious food also right? Thos supps are additions just incase u dun hv enuff nutrients, I would say they r more like a booster, cannot solely rely on them.

Hw many wks r u nw?

ah ger, i have already pass 28 weeks liao...
nutritious food? i think should be ba... i just eat as per normal loh... those birdnest, black chix soup or watever i din take.. but i think shouldnt be a problem also right...

Koh, I dun think shld b much issue lah. If bb received balance nutrients shld b ok bah. Nt sy u anyhw take somethign & regard as a meal.

Koh..as long as u eating a balanced diet of veg, carbo, protein is fine..plus calcium rich foods.

I also dont take birds' nest or essence of chicken..black chicken soup also once in a few weeks, fish soup n beef soup Im taking once a week..
Even if I dont take also I think its ok..
COs my MIL cook..if I was at home, my mum dont cook this kind of food, not really her culture.

When I go hme for dinner, mum will cook lotus roots soup, or white fungus soup, or the ABC (potato, carrot & onions) soup.

Koh - one healthy food u can eat - which will make bb strong also. U buy brown rice, or unpolished rice - tat one on the books/ internet is strongly advised. it is much much healthier than white rice cos it's high in dietary fibre & dunno wat other plus pts. Bt tat one usually I cook it in porridge form, then drink the water if u can't take alot of the grains. Brown/ unpolished rice are slightly more exp then white grains, bt it def is much better. Take tat then w/ some vege & meat, bb shld grow better. Then in tis way, u also no need say must purposely take any tonics to bu urself/ bb.

koh,
just make a concious effort everytime when buying food. choose those healthy selection wide in proteins, carbo etc. and with better cooking methods and you will be fine.

gals,

thanx for all the advises... normally breakfast i will take 2 pieces of bread from kopi tiam... then afternoon, mostly i take biscuit then thats it leh... onli evening i take rice or mee.. i don get to eat home-cooked meal... so everyday buy from market or coffe shop loh... if ask mi to cook, i don know wat to cook then ended up cook maggi mee... i thought as long as i eat something can liao? still must consist of vege, meat etc...?

suddenly i think of my first preg.. i also eat like this then still so lucky to have a 3.58kg baby boy... thats why i don find that there is problem with my eating... so this time i continue like this... now then discover i am not eating well... haiz... left 2-3 mths onli... don know how...

Koh: balanced meals are very important when you are preggie. I used to eat only a meal of fruits for lunch and 2 mouthfuls of rice for dinner b4. Now, i make sure i get BLD all in plus fruits and vege for fibre.

Perhaps you could use a slow cooker to boil soup b4 you leave for work in the morning then eat it with rice when you get home. That's what i did last time.

Don't worry too much though. I haven't been for any checks since 19wks. I'm now going 26 on thurs. Just try to eat better stuff for now ok..

Koh... our body gets weaker with each birth, especially if we don't do something to nourish it. I also ate tonnes of maggi mee for my boy, he came out 3.615, but my daughter, almost 14mths younger came out only 2.85, and i've been getting alot of aches and pains.

koh,

the bread served in the kopitiam are white bread right? Why not go NTUC and buy one loaf of wholemeal bread or those with "nuts and rasins", 'corn", "banana n walnut". that's a more healthy selection.

biscuits might last you prior your pregnancy but with the growing needs of the bb, it will not get sufficient nutrients. For a start, try taking fish soup or yong tou foo soup or anything that contains cooked egg, meat and vegetables. Eat spoonfuls of rice/noodles if you are not used to such full lunch. But you must eat some form of proteins n carbohydrates.

Mee and rice for dinner sounds okie. But it depends on what comes together with the mee and noodles. Eating fried kway teow or fried rice, carrot cake might be filling, but again it will not contain sufficient nutrients and can't meet the needs of ur growing bb. Choose slightly different variety from what you ate in the afternoon so that you will not get bored with the same food.

I oso seldom get to eat homecooked meals unless going back to my parents or inlaws place. But when I eat outside, I order a larger portion. For eg. if fish soup beehoon is $3.50, i will ask for $4 with more fish and veges and less noodles. If i buy economical rice, i make sure my plate got egg, green vegetables, 1 or 2 meat /fish.

Conscious selection is impt. (whispers, after talking so much, i still cannot let go of my craving for soft drinks or sweet items, still have to order them at times whahahhaahaa)

oh top up with plenty of fruits as well.

every morning i will take one apple/banana/red plum etc. (depends on what i buy that week) with my bread.

nite time i will eat another kind of fruit, in addition to the milk. And add on one yorghurt at times. and some afternoons, i will go get one yakult from the canteen's vending machine.

cannot be lazyYy. Must think and plan ahead what to eat for the whole day especially since we always eat outside k????

Koh - lunch time u just take biscuits? hw can? too little leh......... nt enuff for u & the bb u know? No wonder u lost wt then bb also put on so little.

Mag - wah u had maggie mee arh, my hb banned me frm eating tat, then all my Gong Zhai mee stored in the cabinet. He said he will eat them instead!

Smurfy - I agree w/ u. I also buy whole loaf of bread then I buy cheese & margarine/ peanut butter to add on. Gives both mum & bb the energy & required nutrients. I eat multi-grains one, u can choose those like Amurfy said, raisin, or softmeal & etc, think it will b healthier & also nt as exp.

yeah, those fried kway teow & etc, can eat bt then must take note of the nutrients. I will only take them @ times, bt most of the time buy cai fan or like hor fun where they hv fishcakes, sliced fish & veges. or else buy slice fish mee sua/ bee hoon & eat, it'll b just as nutritious.
I will usually end my dinner w/ an apple like abt 30mins later. B4 bedtime, make urself a cup of AnMum to drink.

I also eat out almost everyday, unles I go mum's hse on Tues &/or Fris. Then Sat @ PIL hse.

Koh..veg, fruits n protein from fish, meat etc are very important..I think a lot of ppl have enough carbo but not enough of the others..if u not eating from the different food groups then u are definitely not getting enough nutrients.

IF u really must have maggi mee..I suggest only cook the noodles..then add veg, eg cabbage, spinach..then add some mince chicken, egg or fishballs.

Or cook rice, have some canned sardines n fry a veg dish..its quite nutritious..n very quick.

Charis - nwadays when I feel like taking maggie mee, I will cook marcoroni instead. Then buy the chkn or ikan bilis cube, then buy fishballs, cai xin then throw in 2gether & cook. I try to make sure I hv @ least some nutrients inside. Cheap also.

29 I feel like eating spaghetti.
Hee hee.... I hv a btl of the tomatoe sauce then also hv a pkt of pasta. Bt then I will b eating alone leh, then cook for 1 pax is waste of gas & efforts man!

actually sometimes I do get cravings for instant noodles but will add egg. But I get turned off by the koka 'no msg added' cup noodles..taste really bad. I also eat out for most meals, only 2 times homecooked dinner in a week. Guess no choice when we have to work.

Cherry - add egg - tis time round cannot make 1/2 boiled, must make full boiled cos no raw egg. When I eat the handmade noodles (bt I ask for mee sua instead), I ask the man to boil the egg longer. Then when I bring back to ofc & eat, I only take like 1/4 - 1/2 of egg yolk bt take more of the white cos it contains the main thing we want - folic! Tats y they say we can afford to eat egg everyday BT leave the yolk out! They say bb can grow bigger & faster also.

Bt when I eat nasi lemak - ha ha ha, I still take those sunny side up then use the yolk & spread over the rice. Sedap!

Cherry - yeah lor..... mum 29 nt cooking cos sending my sis to the airport, so I hv to buy my own dinner lor.

Koh..rule of the thumb..
Avoid empty calorie food like biscuits, chips, fries, soft drinks, sweet desserts, fried snacks, chocolate..

Outside food, avoid fried food like prawn mee, char kway teow, mee goreng that have nothing much in it except noodles (the carbo)..
For snacks go for fruits, plain crackers, yoghurt or milk.

For meals, go for econ rice (best choice, but not the fatty fried dishes), fish soup noodles, porridge (but have a good big helping).

For breakfast, have bread, not kaya toast at the kopithiam..but make yrself a sandwich, cereal or if have to eat out, go to Long JOhn silver for a cheap n nutritious bf, they have baked beans, sandwich n milo.

Follow some of these advice we give u..sure can put on weight!

Ah ger: Last time bo bian. No one at home and very low on cash cos no job. Hb's mother promised to pay us the money owed but she ended using it to buy a condo so what to do, no iou...

Aiyo... i miss nasi lemak

prawn mee, char kway teow, mee goreng - all these once in a while can eat/ treat ourselves, dun b 2 strict. Bt if take tat as everyday meal then of cos nt gd lah.

think i caught the chill again

was recovering from my cough and cold and feeling very well today, until i had cold soft drinks today, now suddenly inside feeling very cold

Yup..same here..i dont like to cook for 1 person only..

But when my MIL complain tired then she dont want to cook,
Then I happy make myself nice cheese n chicken sandwich, or have maggi mee or soba noodles but with nutritious stuff inside..then she complain that I dont eat nutritious food..n worse say that i dont know how to cook..
Hello..I can cook lah..jus that like u all say- waste time, gas n effort to cook a meal when nobody eats except u.

wah......... bt then I like maggie mee! Slurp! thinking of gng hme & eat tat for dinner today! ha ha ha......... bt then hv to buy vege to add on lor. Evening time, all the veges all look ugly le.

Ah ger..hehe..of cos can take once in a while lah..I also want to eat sometimes..yummy!
Hehe but for koh I think she need "crash course"..so that's why I say for her to avoid for now..get as much nutrients..

Going off soon..have housework to do..if not the MIL make noise, complain, etc etc..

Tonight staying at my parents' place..at least I got some peace away from the critical eyes of my in laws! Unfortunately I cant go home so often cos my hb not comfortable staying with his in laws..haha.

tat day when I was @ NTUC, suddenly I saw Chicken in a biscuit, then I felt like eating, so I bought a box. Bt end up the box is still nicely sealed up. Ha ha ha......

Charis: why can't u go back alone to stay with your parents occasionally? I think it'll give you some time to relax and hubby too.

Ah ger: I thought you said u wanted spaghetti?

yeah - for Koh - I think wat she needs nw is PowerUp nutrients.

Charis - gd, @ least u get to go bac & meet up w/ ur parents, then u wun feel so lonely + u wun kip thinking abt unhappy moments. Wah ur hb nt used to being w/ his PILs, bt then u also nt used to being w/ ur PILs mah. Ha ha ha.......

me nw thinking if I m thinking of getting early rest frm gynae (HL), then my brought over 5 days of AL - hw m I gng to use them?

Ah ger: We have to clear annual leave by end of this calendar year so no choice. I will be taking ML from Jan 2 onwards. Anyway, can go back early. Still have to search for cars. Aiyo, car prices increased liao. Super headache. Think have to buy resale liao.

Mag - ha ha ha, spag/ marcoroni & maggie mee are 3 things I haben bn eating. Ha ha ha....... Bt I m still nt hungry yet leh...... just the thought of it.

cooking for one person can be easy..Me survived well with 1 person cooking when was studying overseas..

if you like soupy stuffs..
buy a ringlet of fish like Thredfin (ngor hee) or Batang.. slice them and mainrate with some soya sauce , pepper and sesame oil (optional) and slice ginger

U can use this to cook either Porridge or bee hoon or mee sua soup..

Note: dun always eat instant noodle.. cos I was told instant noodle has a flim of pastic or wat as preservatives and quick too cook.. therefore consuming too much instant noodle is not good for health .. not to say its worse for baby ..

other than fish can buy a chicken drumstick too..

Add lots of vegetables to the soup.. this way u add fiber in your diet.

Add some soy sauce to taste

if you prefer rice.. My simple version of "claypot" rice...
Have slice chicken breast meat marinate with some cooking wine, pepper, Oyster sauce and slice ginger.
cook them together with rice..
Microwave is a easier way to cook for 1 person for this dish.. u'll need a big bowl with cover.. bowl should be about 1/2 filled to allow boiling...
Probably u'll take 1/2 cup of rice, add 1/2 cup of water and pour in the chicken with marinate and cook in microwave for abt 10-15 mins.
when the rice is almost cook, U can add some xiao bai cai on the top and turn on another 3-5 mins.
Wala.. a simple version of Claypot rice is done!
If rice is too moist, remove the cover when cooking the veg..
U can add some pre-fried onions for extra omph!

haha enjoy cooking

Mag - car prices went up, COE up, GST gng up in Feb. Bt then when I chk for Jazz's price, I dunno hw they allocate, the selling price seem to b the same still leh.

hello, i am back.. sorry busy just now... wah so many recipe for mi today.. hee hee... thanx a lot gals.. charis, u very strict to mi leh... haahaa.. but i will follow.. for mi and my baby good... ok.. will go NTUC buy some vege and meat to cook... hopefully next appt got good news... heehee... maybe cook minced meat porridge today.. first time cooking porridge.. wish mi good luck.. hopefully today no need to ask HB da bao back home...

minced meat - u can marinate by adding some pepper & soy sauce, if nt the meat is w/o taste. Then if u wanan cook those Chinese style of porridge, maybe I think lah (I dunno, everything has a start though), can use those chkn/ ikan bilis cubes then boil the water add the cube then add the rice grains in, then in tis way will hv some taste?

Can also add some peanuts inside. Or cut some sliced fishcakes.

Ah ger,

thats why I cook all in 1 pot/ bowl and eat from the pot/ bowl... corning ware makes a good option in this case..

Minimise all the washing keke I also lazy to wash..

but my hub cannot eat this way.. must have at least 2 dish 1 soup even if just 2 of us makan..

As for better taste those Knorrs ikan bills/ chicken cube can be helpful in cooking soup but dun take too much maybe for 1 person cooking use just 1/4 of the cube? cos I remember 1 cube is for liek 1lt of water/soup.

Make own stock is not too diff.. I just pop those dried white ikan bills into the soup to boil. if cook porridge, pop in together with the rice grains and boil till cook .. keke

u all very hardworking hor. home to me is like a chalet. since the customery one mth back, our home is still an empty shell. no pots, saucepans, only the bare minimum to keep each day going kekeke. received gifts such as rice cooker, slow cooker , microwave but not yet opening ceremony. no maggi mee as well only biscuits and bread.

Wah Smurfy... how you can tahan living like that... even when i came over to Guangzhou and found a place, the next thing after putting my bags in the hall is get the agent to bring me to the supermarket to buy all the pots and pans and food and whatever. I like my home well stocked.

U go home to eat everyday?

tat time when I was sick, then I din feel like eating dwnstairs packed food, I boil 1+L for 1 cube cos hb said still very salty (though it's w/o msg). Bt it was mainly for my 2 meals - lunch & dinner.

Own stock can lah, bt then I dun like the residue of ikan billis. ha ha ha........ Oh - if can, buy the small white ones - they are better!