(2007/02) February

back from lunch..

PVL: perhaps you should take the umbrella since it's lighter. I would have gone to yangmingshan if i could but i couldn't go far off then... enjoy yourself

Ah ger: good for you that you've finally booked your car. I am thinking of getting something cheaper cos I dun even noe if I would be in town to enjoy the car after three mths. Perhaps buy resale?

Stella/ cherryale: I booked a single room cos I didn't want restrictions to my visiting hours and hubby could stay as late as he wants to. Anyway it would be a 2 nite stay, most probably for me so the difference wouldn't be a lot...

ah ger,
only heard that natal essentials portions r big but whether able to spread over 2 meals i am not sure. will ask my friend when i meet up with her to talk abt doing confinement on my own.

cherryale,
those flats near rosyth might be a lil higher. but they r oso quite old. yesterday in fact viewed one that is just across from rosyth. but low floor and malay owner, so dun really like.

jc,
kekeke me not taking chances as well. once i confirmed a school i want, i make sure hb and me go down do volunteering work, besides just moving near the 1km radius hahhaa.

mummy2b,
thanks. we like those chinese costumes so we chose quite a lot kekeke. the photographer is very good i would say.

any updates for mi?

ah ger,
for the neogarden confinement food, how many moths in advance we need to book? my fren sis in law will be giving birth mid of next month . needs to book now ? any deposit require?

Smurfy: You look good in your pictures all smiley and stuff. I was very grouchy when I took my shots. Haha...

U want your bb to go rosyth? I'm also starting to think of schools for my son and daughter too. My son more headache cos no affiliation. My daughter will go to SCGS, as my mum and I did, but i heard we have to join the alumni, and give donation, and do extra work. Aiyo...

mag,
thanks it was very tired smiles. my friends commented that i look tired in those pics.

rosyth is one of the options. other options will be those that are good in chinese language (hb pro-chinese). err me now trying to source for flats near these good schools lor. we all beri kiasu hor? but i believe the initial few yrs set the foundation lor.

mag

initially i tot of booking single room..but i am scared if i c-section or touch wood, bb need extra days of hospital stay , the bills will be rocket high.

does the bb charges follow the class of ward we choose ? like if we choose single bed, the bb charges will be higher?

Hi Cherryale...
old boys come first then Volunteer & affiliation then open to public at phase 2C. They will take in those within 1 km 1st. if within the supply then ok no need to ballot if not some good school at Phase 2C already start balloting.

Smurfy...not a bad idea too. so u are 1 phase earlier. Chances are higher.

Ah ger, now concentrate on saving $$$ so that you can spend on bb's items next mth. hehehe... Natal Essentials also got trial meal at $25. That time my fren managed to get free upgrade at GlenE cos of some promotions.

Jas, both my hb and me cant bear to let Vane sleep on her own esp she not feeling well these few days. So I think she'll stay in our bed for quite stime too. Doggie bb also good lah, dogs are very loyal one.

smurfy, my col's sil ordered from Natal Essential but she preferred Neo Gdn. Cos Natal essential serves the same food every week.

Saphira, my hb managed to stay with me throughout the nite though I got 2-bedded.

JC, what volunteer did you do for the Pr Sch?

cherryale, my sil got the cot from Robinsons during sale. Quite a good deal with lots of freebies. You can try BB Kingdom/Hypermart for cot?

koh, think you shd order 1mth in advance for confinement catering.

giggler.....i did some project on videoing & editing on science project.
Volunteer need to complete 40 hrs of volunteer work in a calender. Ususally got to start doing 1 yr b4 registration.

JC: Which school is your kid in now? Oh dear... think we have to return to sg earlier to be able to complete this man...

Hi jas..can i see yr preggie photos?

Hi nana..

The antenatal class was quite good..first lesson on nutrition..next 2 lessons are practical sessions. I think u going to meet doggy..she's goin today.

JC,

I read from MOE website, not true leh. Phase 1 is for child who has siblings in the school so this refers to parents like you.
Phase 2A1 is for old boys who have joined the alumni
Phase 2A2 is for old boys who did not join the alumni
Phase 2B is for parent volunteer.

At any of these phases, if you stay within 1, 2 or 3 km from the school then you will stand a higher chance.

In this case, assuming me and Smurfy both want our kids to go to Rosyth, my kid will enrol in phase 2A1 assuming my hb join alumni while Smurfy (assume both she and hb are not from Rosyth) but are volunteers, she will enrol in Phase 2B but will get priority from other volunteers if she stays within 1 km.

Wow, actually all along I thought it is a straightforward thing, didnt know there are all these variations. Plus must really get hb to join as alumni 1 year b4 enrollment date. Being a parent is really not easy.

cherryale,
i think it is oso coz we kiasu, want to give a good headstart for our kids lor. some parents dun do all these but their kids turn out fine as well.

cherryale...opps sorry i din notice the must join alumni part.
Guess join or not join also no problem cos Phase 2A1 & 2A2 usually do not hv so many pple enrol.
the bulk of it is Phase 1 & 2C.
Where as 2B is pretty safe as i understand from the person-in-charge of taking in volunteer. She only take in abt max 30 or 40 i guess. So to prevent parent from going into balloting even at 2B. She alos dun want parent to waste their volunteer work & still need to ballot.

As i remember during my yr of intake which 2005. no ballot needed for 2B.
Whereas, this yr....think they need ballot at 2B.

So it all depend on the yr whether there are many kids or not. Not forgetting that most of the school is going to have lesser kids in class & going into single session. I am sure all these will affect the intake each yr.

so for ur case u shd be quite safe under 2A1 or 2A2.
Smurfy...though plan to do volunteer under 2B but there is still aliitle uncertainty there.

JC: Since we are on the education topic, just wanna ask do you have any opinion on kinderland and their teaching styles? I am looking for kindergarten for my son and playgroup for my daughter. Any suggestions?

jc,
if do volunteer work and within the 1km radius? wahahha the most i can do is volunteery work arr. no donations to the sch arrr...

then i think i must suggest to boyboy that we do volunteery work in 2 schools, if one sch within the 1km radius cannot go in, still got the other school to pin hopes on hahahaha :x

bac frm lunch + bz doing something.

Stella - I meant tat qn for u. If completed b4 u deliver then chances r u may get a 4 bedded. bt if nt, then u will likely b upgraded to 2 bedded.

Cherry - I really intend to deliver after I hv my reunion dinner! Ha ha ha........ cos I dun really eat CNY goodies.
Must tell bb again 29!

Smurfy - when will u meet her? Yeah do kip my updated. Hmm......... if tats the case, shld I still try Neo's trial set nx wk?

Mag, bcos COE is cheaper nw, it may nt b really visable to get a 2nd hand car. Unless u r getting really a lok kok one. U know wat I mean? Bt again lok kok car may means more prob cos they r much older. If u r getting a 3 - 5yrs old car, then I think I will rather buy a new one.

Gig - I asked the customer svc abt the upgrade bt nw no more. I cna't b tryigyn 2 trial sets bah, $50 leh. so exp.

Just nw I went to PM Arcade. Their sale is quite gd as in it's betwn 30 - 50%, some 10 - 20%. Bt it's storewide - gd to buy clothes nw though. I wanted to buy tops bt perhaps bcos I was looking for more slv tops & doesn't need ironing + I din really run thru them properly, I din find one I like though. Will try to chk them out again.

Hi ladies... long time never come into the forum, so much to catch up. Me have been mia for the past 2 weeks as I was on mc. Have been asked to rest in bed by gynae, cos suddenly got a little bit of bleeding 2 weeks ago. Today juz went to gynae for follow-up, and he finally say I can continue with my normal activities

hi jo jo

tats great to hear tat u r all well & healthy again. Do take care & try nt to lift heavy things if u think u can't take it.

thanks ah ger... normally dun do much physical work oso, dunno why suddenly juz bleed. But anyway, now I like queen at home :p Everything also my hubby do liao..

Koh - I din ask them hw long in adv to book leh. Bt can call them up & ask. Pehaps onec u deliver already they will make necessary arrangements to deliver after she's discharged bah. The person in-charge is Sally.

JC, that sounds interesting...

Saphira, yup, I was at GlenE. Hb slept on the chair at nite.

jkids, I got pimples and dry skin and I'm conceiving a boy.

cherryale, you got to join alumni or clan early to be qualified.

Ah ger, I thot of trying both Natal Essentials and Neo Gdn. You didnt manage to get anything from PM? Surprise, surprise...

jojo, great that you're ok now!

Jas, you still look slim leh and your tummy not very big.
Where did you get those cardigans? I've been wanting to get one.

Jojo - enjoy the life of a Queen nw b4 the bb is out. After tat I think we will all look like maids rather. Ha ha ha......... I m still trying to help out w/ hsewk, cos by the time bb is out, I think 100% will b done by hb.

Gig - I just did a browse thru only. I like some tops bt then need ironing. Some other tops r nice bt then slvless. Then I m so conscious of my big arms (I suspect my whole body is starting to get water retention, nt just legs), then so ugly! Then I m so scared of hot weather, I dun wanna wear w/ cardi, I think I will get heatstroke. ha ha ha....

smurfy,
if u do volunteer work and lives within 1km from rosyth, this means that at phase 2B, you will be given priority compared to other volunteers who stay farther. So still worthwhile to look for houses near rosyth.

for me,since hb is from rosyth, I will do volunteer work in all-girl school like MGS cos i come from all-girl pri sch and I like it that way.

Ah ger, i got the sms about the PM sale too, maybe i should go suntec tonight to check out the tops. Need to buy 2 more tops, running out of clothes to wear. Also, I think I want to bring back my tube tops for them to attach the straps, think need to pay $5 cos I feel conscious wearing them even though I have a jacket or cardi on. Yesterday night, my colleague commented that I am very busty now
feel very conscious.

mag....my gals are from kinderland pre-school too. Personally, i find the school is good. They dun keep reading & writing ...which is pretty dull for the kids. They have a lot of hands on learning whereby the kids can explore it themselves. Every yr they hv at least 4 outing.
They hv music lesson once a week. Art lesson every fortnightly. They serve snack during lesson.

The only thing which i m not quite happy with for this yr is tt they hv follow the MOE rules on chinese. Learn to read ...& not so much of writing. Unlike previous my elder girl got homework on writing chinese character but now my 2nd girl do hv not any writing. Which i find not so good. Cos though she can write but the stroke are all wrong.

In general i am quite satisfy with the school circumlum.

FYI ...it's a 3 hr programm. Fees are paid per term. Each term is 10 wks = $1,050 include materials....

Smurfy...if u do volunteer then no need to worry abt whether u r with 1km or not. cos u will be 1 phase earlier then the public which is 2B instead of 2C.
No point doing volunteer for 2 school cos when registration time u can only go to 1 school.

how do u tell the difference between water retention n fats??? i also got big arms now... but think it is fats leh. I put on 2 kg in the past 2 week... by juz eating and lying in bed.

Cherry - I saw some dresses. Was thinking of buying dresses instead. Ha ha ha........ Then I no need to wear separates bt my main concern was more for wkend wear. Cos my wkdays clothes also wear for wkend already. Like no differentiation.

I hv a tube top bt then even w/ my cardi on, I also feel fat & yes - tare abit busty also. ha ha ha.....

Jojo - I told the gals the pressing test.

When u press on ur shin, then there is a dent then slowly surfacing back, then it is symptoms of water retention. My calves are tighterning also, & feels like I've just ame back frm a long walk when I stand straight.

Arms I dunno, bt then when I press the flabby area, nt so much. Instead it's the biceps (is tat called biceps?) area tats tightening, more meaty.

ah ger, congrats on your car...hehe.. let your hubby take care of the black paint lah. must recommend u to do toughseal though.. it really protects the paint but it's about $400 and it's cheaper if you do it within the first wk of delivery of the car.

PVL, I only shifted Timo out of my room when he was 6 months.. at the same time, did sleep training. This time, hubby says baby is out of the room after wk 7.. sigh.. so poor thing lah this 2nd kid. I told him see first lah.. maybe 3-4 months we keep the crib in our room. Still got danger of SIDS mah.

For hospital pkg, I already booked my single at 16 weeks.. hehe. Same as my first delivery. I cannot share room wih ppl, esp 'cos my son will be lagi noisy. PLUS hubby will room in with me.

Catz - thks for the advice. I told him if the paint fades he better hv it respray & I m nt paying for it! Ha ha ha.......

Ah ger, I also very conscious of my big arms leh, so thot of getting the short cardigan tat Jas has. I went to PM at IP but didnt find anything I like leh. I saw one dress that I like from PM but lazy to try.

cherryale, you shd be proud of you being busty mah cos your breasts may shrink after giving birth.

JC/cherryale/mag/smurfy, seems that there's quite a lot of things to take note with regard to Pr Sch hor?

Catz, we may let #2 sleeps on his own in the cot this time round leh. Cant have 2 of them on the same bed with us leh. It's like so unfair to him hor?

Gig - the short cardi hor, erm, actually made me look bigger leh. Dunno is it bcos I also widen on my body, so when I wear the short cardi like abit tight when I stretch.

yes, just nw their 2 fitting rms were full then I was lazy to try also. Then I was telling my fren, I m nw looking for the cheaper ones cos I hv most of them just tat nt enuff to wear.

these days very "jia lak" cannot sit too long also cannot walk too long......very sian.
Buttock pain ...!!!!!

jc,
points noted about finding just one school. i oso got buttocks pain. actually, is here there everywhere pain. could be due to my sleep position as i am still sleeping "lying on my back".

giggler,
busty might not be that good arr. hard to wear clothes arr. those sleeveless tops i bought from PM very tight at bust area. and those workclothes need to sew press-studs.

ah ger,
me oso looking for cheaper clothes from PM. But i think i got enough Maternity wear to last me till end of pregnancy, so dun tempt me with sales hahahaha

Wow... dunno we need to do so many things to get our kids to famous school here! Actually for primary school, i dun mind to send my kids to neighbourhood one as i think they are pretty good too.

Gig, if there is a choice, we actually prefer a piggie bb. At least for me i think i get along better wif ppl born in the year of pig loh.

Ah ger, hope got time to go over the Arcade one next week. Really need to get some top.

jojo, glad to know u can resume ur normal activity. Do take care...

Gig, the black cardi i got from PM (think $29.90) and the white one from Robinson during sales.

cheery, can we bring the tube to PM to add the straps? I bot 2 tubes from PM, they are nice but dare not wear out without the cardi, and sometimes feel the front part will slip down whenever i walk. Me not busty enuf.

Charis, send...

JC - yeah, me all along also pain bt it's getting worse & worst!

Smurfy - cos I wear a few pcs during wkends if we go out, so end up my wkwear also bcme my wkend wear. then my sis kip saying "hw cme I kip seeing u wear tis top?" Haiz.....

Jas - the cardi u got is the same as the one I hv. Bt u r skinny, hence u wear shld b still comfy. I wear already nt so comfy leh. They hv a light purple one though, bt bcos the arms hv tat slim trimming again so I dare nt buy even though the fabric is softer. Maybe can go This Fashion & chk out their short cardis.

Jas - the tube wun slide dwn, bt when I wear the tube, i wear w/ the cardi. U can ask them to add on the strap. bt I tot there's a hook inside? so maybe u can wear strapless bra yet hook w/ the tube so u dun hv to spend xtra $$?

Tks ladies for your concern... I will take good care of myself for the sake of my little princess.

Jas, can i see ur preggie photos too? [email protected]

I have not taken any photos since preggie, as I feel very fat! Have put on close to 10kgs since the start... and still got 3 more months to go. Haiz... dunno how to lose the weight next time

dot dot dot, i wear those tubes, now look like "bao ba zhang".

jojo,
YAH LOR HOR! now then i realised 3+++ months more. geez, this is horrifying, so many things not bought / prepared yet.

one more hr to go before knocking off

Jas, I think there is, u can go & chk, cos my pink tube I think has it. nt say hook bt u know like the bra loop thing?

if nt another way is, u buy ribbon then u b more creative, u tie a ribbon @ the end then makes it look diff frm others instead.

I m supp to b left w/ 3mths 6 days to go. bt I kept telling myself I still hv 3mths 15 days. Wahahahahahaha...........

15mins more to go man!

thanks for telling me, ah ger, will go back and check. U very creative lei think of tying ribbon ourselves. Good idea but if need to use needle to sew then we cannot do lei, as "old wive tale", cannot do needle work during pregnancy.

ah ger me same as you ...abt the same time.
me going c-section around 8 - 12 Feb. Maybe can see u in hospital !!!