(2007/02) February

Charis, didnt know that Christian also consider women after childbirth 'unclean'.

Ah ger, yup... I'll check out their menu before calling them for trial.
Ya lor... same concern for my parents too. That's why I asked my mom not to help me out cos she needs to pray Tian Gong. But she cant bear to let me handle alone lah so will see how it goes. Wow... that's fast, what colour are u getting for your car? Hokkiens emphasized alot of praying Tian Gong, it's a big thing for them. I used to take leave to help them out for the preparations.

Ah ger..my FIL side most are quite pantang..my MIL said she always kena 'scolding' from her MIL for being a 'malay' (she's chinese though)..means dont care about pan tang..cos she's a christian..

Haha..

Well u r right, no visitors also can rest more..but I like to hav visitors sometimes lah..not so boring..but cleaning up is a prob..

Giggler..Ya..its one of the laws in the bible..but not all christians observe this..cos its more of a jewish (judasium practice), but messianic christians also observe some of this laws..

Well observing this laws are fine to me..in fact I think its good as it allows or in a way 'forces' for her own good, the mother n the baby to rest, allows bonding also..same as confinement beliefs..although the hygiene aspects of chinese confinement may be a bit ridiculous.

Charis - initially we tot of the financial burden also. Bt hb wanna bring bb back everyday. So instead of spending $600 per mth on cabs (wkdays only), we might as well get a car. Then we can use it anytime. Hb will drv me to wk, so I dun hv to spend xtra $$ on tpt.

I did all our sums again, can save bt then def wun b as much as b4. Bt @ leatts better than nothing.

Mum also hands up for a car. She said when hv a bb, car is always essential. Nt say ease the burden of big/ small bags bt wherever we wanna go we dun hv to wait for cabs/ take bus & etc.

Gig - initially we can't decide which blue we want. Which blue u gals like? Mum said bb blue looks nice @ 1st bt nt nai kan. Dark blue my sis said like Malays (Subaru blue). http://www.honda.com.sg/jazz_colors.htm

Mum also think I can't handle, bt I said hb will b ard for 2wks, so we will try. She said on/off she will cme over w/ my niece.

Yeah Ti Gong is a big issue, so I dunno if PILs will nt pray just bcos of me. Bt it's ok lah, dun cme then I will hv peace lor. Ha ha ha.....

ah ger, yaloh, i think i not enuf top too, especially tops for weekend. Now about 7 tops only altogether. Weekend normally i go wif normal tshirt loh. But hard to find long tshirt to hide the maternity pant. Maybe will go PM Arcade see see look look next Monday. Ya, got their sms on the sale last nite.

Hei, do update us on ur car booking k?

On visiting during confinement, got pantang mei? Thot normally relatives will be eager to see the newborn. I thot we shd be consider how to avoid too many ppl come visit the bb and spread the germs.

Charis, since I can't help out w/ hsewk, I hope less visitors, if nt hb will b very bz. I also like visitors esp CNY. My hse everyyr w/o fail will hv hb's colls over then play until daybreak leh.

Jas - I have 11 also nt enuff let alone u. Ha ha ha.... + nwadays weather is so hot. If I go out for long hrs, cme back then if hv progs again @ night or after my bath, I will change another new pc. So sometimes, wkends alone I can easily change 3pcs of tops.

Yeah will udpate u. Oh yest hb said actually reverse sensor comes w/ the car. Then Jazz think originally already has the bodykit, bt will ask again. If hv bodykit, then really nt much to bargain for. Main thing is order frm someone we know better interms of service.

Ah ger..Oic..I understand..

My MIL didnt mention she thinks we need a car with the baby..in fact, she told my BIL not to sell his car to us..cos she say we cant afford to maintain one, esp with the baby coming n I not working..My BIL wanted to sell his car for $9k, b4 he bought the new honda..I pestered my hb abit..cos I know he can pay $9k upfront..cos he got tons of savings..but he say Im being unwise..cos the money is for baby n for us to buy house, do reno..he say even got extra can save next time can go holiday, well that's my hb..thank GOD too..

Well light blue is nice..but wat do u think of yellow..my bro in law jus bought a honda fit, hatchback too..similar to jazz..n its yellow..looks very sporty..

I think u should go for sporty colours..since u both a young couple..n so trendy..haha..I think hatchbacks are nice with brighter colours..

ah ger, now i sometimes mix with normal top so still can survive lah. But think as tummy got bigger and bigger, those normal tops will not be as comfortable. Today i wear a normal top (which was quite loose when i wear b4 pregnancy) but can feel a bit tight at the waist oredi... I went jb 2 weeks ago to see got any casual tops. Wasei, on sale also cost RM70-100! So ex...

Charis, i think moneywise ur hubby is rite and mature for his age. A lot of young ppl like to buy car first when they got some money. But elder ppl will think house shd come b4 car especially over here transportation is so much convenient. In msia it is opposite. U dun have car basically difficult for u to step out of the house, not to say u need a car to travel to work.

Jas - las time Jass has the dark grey one leh, bt ever since they brought in silver, they discontinued, then only Fit has the dark grey.

Silver or bb blue is gd lah, cos dirty, u can't easily. Bt then we dun like leh......

Charis - I like yellow actually. Bt we r choosing a col suitable for both of us. Mum said best if suitable for main driver. Yellow is suitable for me, hb says choose one tat is common among us. So tat leaves us w/ blue, grey or black. My gf says yellow like Citycab. Ha ha ha.......

I think we will take a look @ light blue tis evening cos on the rd very diff to find a light blue Jazz. So often I take the A-class bb merz tat bb blue as a gauge. I also think hatchback w/ bright cols r nicer.

Jas - I dun wear the normal tops already cos nt long enuff to cover the whole stomach & I dun liek to show off. I dun like the stomach area to b 2 hugging also.

Jas..ya..i still can wear my normal tops but they are usually too short to cover the band, plus like u said tighter at the waist already..cos our waist should be slowly disappearing..sob sob..haha..also too tight at the tummy already..I still will wear those tops out..but not to church..too 'sexy'..haha..

charis,
spring dun have sale ..

ah ger,
i like the silver metallic and the blue metallic ..
at least if dirty ... can't really see ..
if u choose darker colours need to wash often ..

ya .. me too ..
4 days never wash clothes only .. i'll not have enough pieces to wear ..
so far i have .. 6-7 tops only le ...
and 3-4 skirts and 4 dresses ...
i also dun wanna buy so much .. as i can see in jan .. need to come out with a considerable amount of marnee ..
neogarden seems nice le .. the way u described it .. heh e ..
i think my mum and mil will be taking care of wat to cook ba .. i'll check with her again ..

i was thinking when do i need to get a play pen and stroller ..
when u think is the rite time ?
must be get it before bb is out .. or after 1 month confinement ..

my mum was asking me to get the avent bottles as well .. she adviced just to get one big and one small bottle will do ..
then i need to get some cloth napkins ..
bb rocker ..
wondering if i should get the play pen and stroller this weekend when i go back to m'sia ..

Jas - yeah I also do agree, so in a way maybe we can consider ourselves lucky tat our only contraint is lesser savings bt nt = to no savings.

Ah ger..Ya yellow quite nice right, but only on a hatchback lah, thats why looks funny on a city cab..but based on yr options, then I think blue is nicest..I tot black for chinese not so good..hehe.

Or u see wat other brighter colours they have..

U dont like to show off tummy huh..I kind of think preggie tummy very 'sexy'..haha..today I went down with MIL to have bf n do some marketing, then her frens say I look nice with tight t-shirt n show the tummy shape, now fashion they say..haha..these aunties know latest fashion more than us huh..U know they are housewives in their 40s n 50s, but they go have bf n marketing, wear nicer than me leh..in fact my MIL dressed nicer than me today n its jus for marketing..I jus wear yoga pants n a t-shirt, n slippers!..she wore embroidery capri jeans n a fit top..haha! Her frens wear very nice too..funny!

Charis, I'd prefer no visitors leh... dun need to entertain visitors and bf bb at the same time. Hehehe...

Ah ger, my dad will def pray Tian Gong lor, wont stop just cos of me. But my mom said that the most she dun touch the praying stuff lah, let my dad handle alone. I prefer light blue leh.

Jas, some of my relatives pang tang cos they believe that they cant enter temple if they went into the bed room of women after childbirth. Some relatives still visit me but didnt go into my bedrm lah. I carried bb out for them to see.

ck, you can start sourcing for stroller or playpen now. If you intend to let bb sleeps in playpen then you got to get it before you give birth. Stroller still can wait after your cf since you cant get out of the house during that 1 mth.

CK - my youngest sis also says silver. Bt my hb says he will b hardwking in washing the car leh...... silver - we dun really like unless it's grey. We opted out black cos if we park under the sun, sure will be like oven. Tats y ultimately we chose metallic blue lor. Bt then the blue also very common on the rd already.

ck, yah i also like the silver metallic or the darker grey metallic
not so keen on blue cars.. but hor, regret buying a black car - shows up scratches so easily :p

Ah Ger, this is the first time my urine test has shown sugar. My appt was after bfast so I guess that may be why there was sugar, esp since I had milo and I was sucking sweets in the car due to car sickness (got jam, hubby kept jamming brake :p) Sian man...

PVL, Charis, I was actually all for circumcision until I saw the video during chidlbirth classes.. OUCH!!! Then after that, no more talk of circumcision.

Giggler, yah 1.5kg is my entire pregnancy weight gain.. honestly I do not think I hv GD lah but best to do the GTT just to eliminate the worry.

ck, just 1 big and 1 small bottle??? Waaaaah.. so little. Esp if you wanna store bm.

Actually read tt it's not good to use glass bottles to freeze milk as the contraction and expansion of the glass could cause small splinters in the glass which you cannot detect..end up bb hv splinters in milk. So I would advise storing in milk bottles or bags lah.

Charis - all the cols r shown on the link already.

Charis - I dun like 2 clingy clothes, cos I m a very 'heaty' & 'warm' person, so if I wear a tight top, I think I will perspire even more easily.

When I go dwnstairs & eat b/f, I wear those shorts bought frm Spring $20+ lor. I only hv dark blue & black. Other than tat, out of my hse area, I will wear nicer.

Gig - I m contemplating betwn dark & light blue. Bt @ the showrm, only can c a small pc of metal, hv to visualise on the whole car.

My gf actually say stroller can wait till after full mth since u wun b bringing bb out tat period. Bt it's up to u, if u wana buy nw also can. Wait for yr end sale lor.

Ck..now is a good time, 24-28 weeks..after that we may start to get heavier..then u may not hav mood to do shopping.

My hb said we are going to shop for cots this weekend when Im better..I dont think i'll get playpen, cos my church fren was saying she want to give me one, so hope she does lah..will save some money then..but Im still deciding whether I want to use playpen..cos I find playpens restrictive to baby..limits exploration..

Catz - the darker grey metallic is only available for FIT! If Jazz has, we will take tat w/o consideration. I wun take black though nice bt thinking of maintenance & scratches, we wun. Ha ha ha........ 1 of my gf also sugg taking light blue if we dun want silver cos scratches nt easily seen.

Hmm....... me nw then recv sms frm PM on their sale.

Hi Giggler,
yes, my fren is using this Medela....I still find very exp leh...which brand are you using/considering buying? Me better do some research...know nothing man and so busy with work till got no time to catch up with you gals.

I will go shop ard after hb finishes his exam. Bt I hv nothing much to buy, just cot mattress, then a few gng out clothes for bb then milk btls all these buy later. Hee hee........ my coll say buy frm those medical halls better cos most teats suit those btls. If we buy specific brands, usually we hv to buy back their brand's teats.

ah ger, my only regret is i do not save enuf saving before getting married. The wedding preparation, the house and now the baby comes one after another and it is really tough to have saving now. Haha...

My colleague told me no need to buy stroller now as bb won't be using it until 1 or 2 months old.

Haha, Charis, not bad to be a sexy mummy as long as it won't make us and the bb uncomfortable.

Catz, your wt gain very little also. My total wt gain is 5kg so far. Will you get the Avent storage cups to store bm? I used the glass bottles from hospital to store the bm but not to the brim so that it wont crack. I've col who use the Avent cups or milk bags to store bm.

Ah ger, I dun know how to visualise the whole car using just one pc of metal leh.

Charis, playpen is white elephant to me leh. Didnt make much use of the one I bot.

doggy, I got Ameda elec dual pump, think it's selling at abt $300 now. Also got one Avent manual pump, this is cheaper and good too. I think someone selling the Medela PIS at much cheaper price than retail price leh.

Jas - we saved alot during hse reno & wedd, bt all utilised. End up even our HM we pay on installment (0% interest). I told hb I wanna getaway cos ever since after ROM, we din go for any hols cos of the hse reno costs & purchases.

Gig - I also dunno hw to visualise w/ 1 pc of metal plate, which is y, I've bn trying to kip my eyes open when I m on the rd, bt then veyr diff to find a light blue Jazz. So maybe in a way, if I get light blue, we will the the outstanding one???? :p

My bb is due on the 9th day of CNY, which is the day the Hokkien will pray to Tien Gong (my family Hokkien too). I dunno abt the pantang thingy, but hope my bb only come out when full term.

Normally each time i went for checkup, i will go to clinic first put down my name, took the weight and urine test, then go for breakfast or dinner.

ah ger, maybe they know u bot enuf so never sms u oredi. heihei...

Catz, 1.5kg is very little weight increase lei...

ah ger, our HM we pay in instalment too. Haha, can't imagine if no instalments then anything cannot buy liao. For reno, as our house is in JB we have to pay cash for the reno which left us very broke. Luckily breakeven during wedding banquet. Then soon we bot this Spore house. Cash above valuation, agency fee, reno all by cash and again drain up our saving. So now have to start saving again for the bb.

yeah, nwadays, usually I will take my b/f or lunch after I finish my chk up or finish the measurement.

Jas - we also paid hard cash for reno & all the furnishings. We spent $40k just on tat, then when it came to wedd, we had to save again - abt $20k. So all GONE!

Tats y after tat till nw, no hols then started saving for future.

My ex-coll & I had diff concept, she still go hols every yr after wedd, cos she feels tat when she's preggy, she has 10mths to save $$.

icic ..
okie .. thanx ladies ..
shall look for play pen first ..

charis,
thinking of play pen cause next time can fold and keep in storage ..
cot is exp and space consuming ...
tat's my mum advice lo ..
so i just hear and buy watever she think is rite ..
after all she's more experience ma ..
if u have the energy to look after all the time then no need play pen ..
but if u got some things u need to tend too ..
then putting bb inside would be safe and temporary only ..

catz,
he he .. storing milk ? no la ..
tat's for only making formula milk ..
one big one for formula milk and small one for water ..
as for storing of milk .. never thought about it yet .. even the pumps also not sure ..

ah ger,
yup i've booked ..
going on 10th coming back on 14th
any idea can go for hot spring or not ah ?
i think cannot le ..
haven't change yet le ..
gosh .. i'm soo stucked with things ..
this weekend go back m'sia some more ..
soo busy ...
i still haven't gotten elancly cream yet ..
i dun see the 20% sales ..

stella,
i saw your pics ..
tq .. u look tiny and sweet ..

Catz..but circumcision for babies esp on the 8th day is best..hardly any blood n healing is very fast..of cos bby will cry..i think..or not..they not given LA?

CK - then when is ur appt?

Wah u also fast hand fast leg leh....... say go means go. I think u can't go hot spring leh, better ask. Cos temperature is very high. Just like we can't do jaccuzzi.

Ck..I also heard hot spring is not good for preggies..At the 1st trimester..not sure about now..ask yr gynae ok..

ah ger,

a lot of colours r common on the road la ..
i think baby blue metallic is wise choice ..
your hubby ah .. i think say say only on v hardworking to clean car..
only beginning stage ba ..
after tat .. go to those auto car wash ..
he he ..
ya is difficult to visualise .. but any colours tat r soft and metallic is good ..

suppose to be 11th ...
i will change it to 10th instead ..
cause flight is departing at 2+pm ..
so morning i go see doc ..

will call him later ..
still waiting for confirmation from sa tours .. on the hotel ..
but so far the flight booked liao .. only left with the hotel ..
then today going down to make payment ..

I think im going to take a nap soon..hehe..cos woke up early today..not enough sleep lah..My MIL talk n talk some more about her USANA products..n my eyes goin smaller n smaller..hahaha.

ah ger and charis,

okie .. i will check with doc next friday ..

ah ger, yesterday i saw your estimate for jan ..
u got include the pumps as well ?
i'm only going to breasfeed for 3 months only
so i'm not sure if i want to invest in a good pump .. as bb will not be with me lo after 3 months .. starting to miss the feeling ... when bb go back with my mum to malacca ..
now bb is with me .. inside .. so i can feel tat he's doing okie with me ..

my weight now already 55kg ...
8.5 kg increased liao le ..
heh e ..
catz .. good le ..
u only increased 1.5kg
soo good le ..

charis,

going to taipei F&E .. 4D3N + extension 1 nite

ah ger,

ha ha ...
fast meh .. already pending since last week ..
so get it done ..
now got special fare up till nov 15
then the lady told me .. now is high season ..
might not get hotel wor ..
i choose santos hotel .. dunno if can get or not lo ..
hope so ..

CK - tats wat I told him also. He claimed he will wash wor, esp ferrying bb.

Morning go c doc arh, u hv to make sure very early leh cos very risky. Like tat day, 23rd, after he chk mine, he went to deliver for someone.

ah ger,

the flight confirmed liao ..
the hotel if can't get this one .. get others lo .. still got other hotels ma ..
they got a few option
cosmos/santos/leo foo/golden china/gala
i was cracking head last week seeing which one i want .. i find their hotels very china looking le ..

okie .. if can't make it .. then i'll change to 14th .. ha ha ...
cause 14th i'm coming back noon time around 2pm
so after tat can see him

10th they r very full ..
so changed to 14th 3.45pm

then i can't ask about the hot spring liao ..
maybe i just dip my legs in ...
ha ha

ha ha
i thought is like a pool ...
then u can sit at the side .. put the legs in ..
i think my assumption is wrong
ha ha ..
okie .. i call again and ask nurse ..
r they nurse ?
i thought they r clinic assistant only ..

I dunno the dip in lah, bt maybe really can? U ask the agt lor.

CK - usually I call them nurse. Ha ha ha, yeah lah, they r asst, bt then I supposed they are trained in nursing also.

Startlite,
I just did the blood test (to test sugar level) 3 weeks ago and it was negative. I am quite sure I over wet the test strip. I'll be testing my urine everday now. If all negative I am not going to do the blood test again.

PVL,
When I was on my way to the clinic, I was taking soya bean milk (less sweet)- finish the last drop right before the urine test. Maybe that will cause it too.