(2007/02) February

i started to feel my lower legs ..Calf area is geting bigger & harder.
Legs are very tired these day...how abt u gals ?

Ohhh...it started to rain & thuderstorm liao....

me happy happy....2moro can see bb liao...yeah ..

JC - tats part of water retention. U try do the pressing test on the shin. If u c a dent then slowly surface then there is a bit. Mine's like ur case lor. Then legs are super tired & esp when u try to straighten ur calves.

Yes - it's raining heavily!

I still hv to wait for nx wk, bt nvm, I m so glad tat wkend is approaching.

Haha..I love rice too..we asians must have rice..so that's why I switch to brown/unpolished rice..also I cut down on flavoured rice like chicken rice, briyani, butter rice etc..

Ah ger, think you can cut on cf catering. That is, order for lunch only? Will you be getting their trial? Abt bfg, if you think you can do, you can lor...
But dun need to give yourself too much stress lah.
I kept BM for abt 2-3mths. Fruits shd be ok bah? I think I'll wait for my sil to give birth next month to order for the trial. At least she can share with me the food... hehehe

mag, I got glass bottles from hospital to keep my bm last time.

Catz, same here... I nearly faint when I looked at the cost of FM. Aiyo... hope you dun get GD. You only gain 1.5kg for your whole preg or for the past 1mth? I try to get Vane involved in my preg so brought her for appt from the start.

smurfy, you can go to their website. www.neogarden.com.sg

Charis, I think in terms of hygiene lah. But hb said to let our son decide when he's older.

JC, I got to wait another 2weeks to see bb... Hopefully he decides to show us his face this time round.

Sianz..I so bored n home sick..dont get to go home to parents' house this week..my hb dont allow cos I still not well..my mum gets very 'sad' when I dont see her..n that makes it worse..Then my hubby works late, tonight he go church..Im left alone..not exactly alone, got my in laws around..but stil missing home..in laws are not real parents u know wat I mean..

jc,
enjoy ur scan tomorow and update us k? my legs r okie, except aches here and there when did not get good sleep the previous nite.

white rice is staple food for our parents/grandparents. they eat them a lot in the past coz it is in the form of simple carbohydrates that provides energy source fastest. and as we do less manual work in our generation, we dun need too much simple carbohydrates which turns into fats when not in use.

now ppl saying unpolished/brown rice contained nutrients in the wheat/germ/bran, that's why the switch.

Gig - I already mentioned tat I will order lunch only. Yes, yest I also mentioned I will order their trail nx wk cos nx wk's dinner (Wk 2) seem to b more sumptuous. :p

Giggler..hehe..I think most guys will decide not to circumcise..cos its quite painful, n recovery can be inconvenient..I know cos my church members did adult circumcision within last few years.

My hubby was circumcised when he was a baby..hehe..so not much of a problem. I heard in the US, they usually circumcise male babies..its a ready option after delivery.

charis,
ask ur mum to come visit u then.

giggler, ah ger,
then how abt dinner? what r u going to do for dinner as ur Confinement dishes? remember to feedback the trials k? me tempted on Newborn caterer coz TMC FBI has a 5%.

ACtually i like chicken rice n briyani..but I totally cut that out in my diet for past few years..unless when my mum cooks..yummy! I dont know how I psycho my brain n appetite telling myself I dont like it..since I know its fattening lah..

so many postings, but no time to read. Seems like we are talking about water retention. I have been having cramps at the calves these few nights and people have been telling me that my legs and feet look swollen already. Think its water retention. Read up on it and it said that salt is not proven to help or worsen it, just take it as per normal. One thing that can help is to load up on potassium which comes from bananas. What is the type of bananas that we can eat while pregnant?

Smurfy..that would be nice if she could..but my family n in laws are not on 'normal' terms..at 1st place, remember I told u my parents didnt agree to our marriage, n my relatives dont know that Im married..

SO they wont want to visit me here..furthermore they come from different backgrounds..plus we hav a dog here..my parents dont like dogs!

Charis - we both like a Chkn rice stall @ the Chinese Garden mkt.
Haben bn tare for a long time. 2 person's share + chkn liver I think is $7+ only. Then their chkn portion quite a lot!

Stuck here cos somebody's supp to deliver my Dir's passport lor, bt then he also stuck in the rain.

Smurfy - Gig once said tat the portion is rather big, so I will just save some & reheat for dinner lor. Can save 1/2 the costs leh.

Gig - my gf's coll tried & said the portion is very small leh bt my SIL gave the same feedback as u. I supp the trial set will b the exact portion of wat we will be getting right?

Cherryale..yup that's wat i heard to about pottasium..

U can get potassium from all kinds of bananas..but if scared 'cooling'..other pottasium rich foods are potatoes baked with the skin, raisins n prunes.

Hey, we didnt get yr email leh..can email yr link again pls..thanks.

Charis - I dun like briyani, dun like the indian taste in it. Ha ha ha, hb bought so many times frm the kopitiam dwnstairs bt everytime I ate a spoonful, I will ask him "y do u like it so much?"

Charis - so u mean till nw they still dunno u r already married?

Got one cleaning auntie asked me to avoid bananas, orange & bareley. Bananas - liang, esp those del monnte types, orange is phlegm, barley also liang, bt can drink @ times only.

Ah ger..u mean my relatives..yup they dont know..only some know..I would say only about 50% know im married..even my neighbours back at my parents plc in woodlands..they dont know I hav moved out n got married n expecting! Haha..can u imagine when they see me with a big tummy..or when they suddenly see me next year with baby! Wahhaha..but my parents dont want to tell them leh..they very funny lah..

Hmm..btw, I so fed up, I missed the Spring Sale at Suntec..I went last week on hari raya eve..but they were already packing up..so I only managed to grab 2 tops..n they had more nice stuff..but then I was hospitalised so couldnt go again..

Anyone works near or at Suntec, or anywhere else in town, pls do inform me if there's any sale on maternity clothes..cos i really need maternity clothes!

been busy lately ..
after exam come back ..
loads of work ...
booking and booking ...

charis,
i just went upstairs ... collect white skirt ...

and yes ... PM is having sales ..
and i bought a black top after disount is 37
he he ..
sales start today ..

ah ger,
i'm here ...
only got time to read posting ..
ha ha

charis,
ok, maybe I will try prunes and raisins instead but will they have too much sugar? Oh, you didnt receive the email link?? Who else didnt receive? Cos I thot smurfy and someone else responded on the gowns..strange. I will resend to you.

Cherryale thanks..ah ger didnt receive too..

My email is [email protected]
That's an underscore.

Ck..oic..thanks..if u go again suntec that area again, can help me see if spring has sale too..thanks! But unfortunately I can only go shopping next week when i fully recover.

Ya cherryale..try prunes n raisins..a handful a day shouldnt be a prob..take it with cereal n milk or munch as a snack..

Hey cherryale..thanks for the photos..yr dresses are lovely..btw, green is a colour very few will pick..n u look really good in it!

A question ladies..I can feel baby's movements above the navel already, almost 10 cm above the belly button..so fast uterus grow up to there meh? BUt my tummy not very big leh..

Charis,
In the US, at least in the state I was in, circumcision is default for male babies. It is usually done within the first few days of the bb's birth before bb and mum leave the hospital. If you don't want circumcision, you have to specifically request not to do it.

hello ladies,

just to share my 6th month appt..very happy today coz didn't expect that my gynae haf the 3D scan available...so i caught a glimpse of my son..he's weighing 921grm at 26th week...only gain 300gm..but i gain 2 kg..sigh..

giggler,
my daughter lurves to be carried by me..its getting tedious at times nowadaes..but i try to carry her whenever i can..coz at 2 yrs..kids lov to show affection for you n i think we should reciprocate in case they dun feel " balance" when the junior arrives..

mag,
your kids are lovely!!! is it the weather in china or genetics..they have very rosy skin..so cute!!..

oh..regarding CL..i didn't have one during my first birth..haha..i was quite brave to handle everything with the help of my younger sis-in-law who was only 20 yrs old..hehe..we had fun trying to figure out things like bathing the baby..cleaning the house n cooking for ourselves since i dunno how to cook..its quite a challenge! esp to cope with a new crying human..now dat i haf a maid...i think it should be easier since my meals are taken care off...the only things i followed through my confinement was to drink red date soup only and bathe everyday with the chinese herbs...i brought my daughter out shopping one week after delivery coz i was too bored at home..heee..

wonder if all you ladies here are going to do the full month celebration coz it will clash wif CNY!

Charis,
You are around 24 wks pregnant? Your uterus should be about 24 cm above your pubic bone. Last time in the States, during the checkups, all the midwife would do was to listen to the bb's heartbeat on the doppler, and then measure the fundal height (height of uterus) to monitor growth. No regular scanning.

Pvl..yup i heard that..still is?

Im 24 weeks..Oic..that's wat they do huh..interesting..ok I'll measure..hehe.

Pvl..hey measure already..yup its around there..24 cm above pubic bone, not exactly sure where is the pubic bone..but roughly lah..so i feel mvtms around 10cm above navel, so its the baby..correct..

Fat babe..good for u..baby n u doing well..weight wise is normal right!

I dont think I'll do buffet 1st month, cos will be quite tiring for me, baby n my family to have so many guests at that time..I think since its CNY time, relatives n frens will come on their own accord to visit..We'll jus send 1st month cakes.

charis,
actually i dun understand the purpose of sending out cakes le..its juz to inform people about the arrival of baby huh?? for my daughter i did a buffet la...coz first grandkid for both me n hubby's side...now very lazy...esp clash wif CNY....doubt haf time to do..also worry dat guest busy wif CNY visiting...

oh..about the bb movement..i think sometimes you can feel it below your ribcage already...your tummy may not be big but according to the books wif pictures the uterus should be longish yah?? haha...

Fat babe..ya exactly..i feel it so high up already..so scary leh..but since u remind me about uterus being longish..yup i guess its true..i read the uterus extend upwards..not really horizontal..i have this funny impression my uterus will get bigger, rounder n rounder concentrated at the part near navel..

1st month cakes huh..i tot its a chinese custom..sort of jus to announce arrival of baby i guess..my in laws say no need to do leh..so good also lah..my hubby thinks that 1st month no point have buffet, but he said we could have a 1st year party..

Just came back from Malaysia last weekend. It was a very good trip accept that my mom and mother inlaw cooked a lot of things for me to eat. My mom gave me red dated to drink everyday. Have been eating too much sweet things cause when I did my urine test on Monday, found sugar content for the first time. So sad. Have to do the blood test again. Hopefully it's not diabetes. I was shocked to find out only after 3 weeks i've already gained 3kg! I've really messed up my weight this time. I am going to be in my 28th weeks this Saturday. I have already gained 10kg on the whole! I am now 54kg
How ah? Have to be careful with my diet now. Is it ok to take fruits and nuts for my condition now?

I just did my own urine test just now. It was negative. I am thinking that maybe the way I did the test the last time was wrong. I was letting the stream of urine past the strip for very long. I was letting the urine flow on the strip for more than 20 seconds. maybe that causes the wrong result cause I can see that the test strip was over soaked. I didn't know that we are suppose to just wet it and remove the strip from the urine. Result is to be read immediatly after 30 seconds. Phew! I am not that worried now

Morning Ladies...

Have to go to class soon so will catch up later...

Charis: I didn't do the first month thing for my daughter and my mom said it's not good cos it is believed that by announcing that the bb is one month, it'll be like telling the whole family and your friends as well as getting them to acknowledge her. That's why she is always saying now ppl pay more attention and ask about my son more than my daughter cos she didn't get recognised. DUnno how true man.

Anyway, my daughter is 2YO today. Haven't bought her any present (horrible parents we are) but really dunno what to get for her. Any suggestions?

Hi Saphira,
I think sometimes when we do the urine test strip shortly after consuming things that are a little sugary or sweet, the test strip might come in positive. It happened to me in my first preg, had appt right after breakfast (Post Honey Bunches of Oats cereal), and it was slightly positive. But subsequently, it was never positive again. Midwife did ask what I had for brekkiee that morning and said that was probably the cause.

Charis, PM is having End Season Sale storewide $19.90 to 50% (free bra and voucher wif purchase). U may want to check it out.

Hello Mag,

Happy Birthday to little Mag
keke

what she likes? story books? I still have my story books given to me by my aunt when I was a toddler haha good memories..

else bring her out to her fav place for a treat keke

Ah ger, sorry... was speed reading so didnt get to the part that you ordering lunch only.
2nd week more sumptous? Maybe I'll do that too... hehehe. I not sure abt the trial leh. Haven call them to check. My col just ordered last mth leh and she's full of praises for Neo Gdn.

smurfy, for dinner, I'll take the left-over from lunch. My col who ordered just last mth said that the portions were big and enough for both meals. New Baby also got trial leh but more ex at $30.

cherryale, I only know that we cant take Del Monte bananas, the rest shd be fine. Try wearing socks when you sleep.

PVL, so will you rqt your bb to be circumcised now?

fat_babe, same thot as you lor. I dun want my gal to feel abandoned cos of bb. I still carry her whenever she rqt lah. True that she likes to show her affection towards me now.
I not sure if they'll come even if I invite them to bb's 1st mth leh. Cos hokkiens are pang tang abt visiting nb, they consider mummy doing cf 'dirty'. Hehehe...

Charis, think my relatives are pang tang abt cant go into temple to pray if they visit me so I'll have a quiet CNY.

Saphira, it's ok for you to gain more wt cos you below to the small frame.
My bil keeps telling me to eat walnuts, saying that it's good for bb.

mag, I didnt do 1st mth celebration for my gal too but my relatives still 'acknowledge' her mah. It's norm that most pple only rem the eldest one lah. How abt books? Happy Birthday to Miffy!!!

Saphira,

Did u take the glucose test that gynae advised the last time?Think he ask u to take the test 2 hrs after the meal type right?

Hi giggler..

Hey..interesting belief..for us we observe the Bible Old testament laws..women after childbirth is 'unclean' for a boy-40 days, for a girl-80 days. But i think my church frens will still visit, its jus that we observe abstinence n doin forefront ministry duties in church.

Jas..oh really..i'll check it out next week, cos still cant go out yet..hehe.

morning to all.

CK - PM on sale? I realised I lack of tops leh........ tis morning almost can't decide wat to wear.
After counting I think I hv 7 tops, + 3 frm BKK, then 1 frm my sis. Then 11 tops in all bt then nt enuff leh. Cos sometimes both wkends I also go out, end up I wear 7 tops, then I only wash laundry during wkends, 1 dark cols, 1 light. If I wear a dark top after washing the dark col clothes, they hv to KIV till following wk then wash. End up I hv no clothes to wear.
Bt i dun wanna spend $$ again liao leh.....

Charis - wat I din recv?

Charis, my coll also say my stomach is very small leh, nt veyr big for a 6.5mths....... the movements are all over the stomach; I din go & really monitor which part moves/ dun.

Haiz, my ribcage has bn aching so much man, bt gynae said luckily it's on the left nt the right cos right side has the liver & etc, will b more headache if it hurts on the right.

Fat babe, 921g @ 26th wk, so my nx visit 27wks shld b over 1kg already?

Gig - u can chk out their menu lah, then u decide lor. Their menu is 1st & 3rd wk - same, 2nd & 4th wk same & they deliver only Tues - Thurs for trial. So I m think of getting 2nd wk's Wed dinner. :p

Koh - I found another option for food! Instead of mee sua (which is flour), perhaps you can replc w/ marcoroni??? Cos it's buckwheat - supposedly to b healthier & nt so fattening. :p

Gig - I also think I'll hv a quiet CNY cos my PILs r Hokkiens. Bt hb said maybe they may nt pray to Ti Gong if I really deliver during CNY period. I said it's ok lah, dun cme over then I rest more lor.

Ah ger..My PIL are Teo Chews..hope they not so pantang..got visitors then not so bored..I would like baby to learn not to be scared of ppl.

I told my MIL about this pantang thing..n she said she didnt know..cos we are christians, we never observe this kind of thing..

Ah ger..hehe..happy lah..

Hmm..i sometimes wish my hb would buy car..but I also think of him..it'll be a financial burden n also I dont like the idea of him driving to n from work..cos he's always very tired after work..scared he cant concentrate on the road..so well..If he can afford to buy car then I think I'll drive it instead..

Giggler,
Haven't discussed with hb regarding circumcision leh. Probably we won't do lah. I think have to pay extra here to do it. It's not standard procedure.