(2007/02) February

mummy2b: I paid SGD185 plus minus for a medela single electric. Ameda lactaline is a dual electric pump. Price ranging from SGD310-350. That's the price i gathered from the net... The medela single electric is ok for occasional pumping but not recommended for heavy duty.

My MIL will be doing the confinement for me. So I will stay at my PIL hse for tht duration but its ok cos my OIL hse is just one street away from ours. Never thought of engaging a CL cos from the start already know tht my MIL will take care of this issue. We will be placing the bb under her care as well once Im back to work. But will be taking the bb back at night to sleep with hb and I.

Currently my MIL already taking care one of my hbs nephew (2 yr) and hes quite clingy to my MIL. And my MIL does all the hse chores by herself too cooking for the whole family (4-5 ppl on weekdays, 10 of us on weekends). Washing, cleaning and got time to bake cakes as wellreally pei fu her.

mummy2b,
good for u that u stayed so near ur MIL and she is able to help out in future.

Smurfy: U mean it's double during that time? Wow man... I suppose it would be more cost effective to cater food and getting HB to help out.

I never really did follow the confinement rules. Still showered 2 times a day and washed my hair every morning. I had lots of soup and the longan red date drink. Oh, by the way, they do sell the bottled ones though not as good in the supermarkets. I think the brand is allswell. I used to drink it cos lazy to boil my own.

mag, thanks for the info on the price. Looks like the Medela pumps are cheaper here in KL. Ameda pump also quite expensive leh...anyways, will do more survey 1st. My friend just bought a Medela manual pump. Will ask her opinion on this.

CL during CNY period is definitely double. My coll did asked for one for her SIL few days ago. Her SIL EDD is around mid - end of jan so the confinement period will touch the CNY. And the amount the CL is asking is RM5k!!! Really alot leh.

smurfy, have u enrolled for antenatal course? I have no idea on how to take care of a newborn baby, eg the feeding and bathing, so think maybe can learn from CL during the period. Haha... But now try to learn thru magazines and books.

mummy2b, u are lucky to have ur MIL helping out during confinement and after u go back to work. For me, my MIL need to help in family biz in the morning plus their house has no extra room for me. I prefer to have the confinement at the comfort of my own house too, that's why decide to engage a CL. Now the next headache issue is who to take care of the bb once i go back to work. Wld prefer the bb to be wif us in Spore so we can see her everyday. I have an aunt who might be able to help but she stays far from our place. Getting a nanny around our area is another option, but would prefer if someone recommend. So now hanging there dunno how...

aiyo... have to figure this out man. perhaps give me your email so i can email you the link then?

How do i share photos on yahoo?? Can someone enlighten me?

Sorry for the trouble.

smurfy....there r alot of things to consider during cfm.
other than food, u will need to bath bb, clean boo boo most of the time if bb is breast feed. Wash clothing & other household chores. Also cannot carry much heavy stuff...it's no good for the womb.

Remember dun over exert yourself....u still need plently of rest to recover.

mag...it's really quite a challenge for us to handle 2 kids + 1 newborn.
my girls esp the eldest one ...she is very sensitive. She gets jealous very easily & often ask me if i love her. I feel very bad.... worst of all she likes to do all those irritating things to stir up my temper. Hence I am bery strict with her.....

I still need to coach her school work...wonder how man ????

Mag...my email is [email protected]

i also wont be hiring CL...too expensive already. ard 2.5k for her fee, plus food ard 500 plus..cant afford.

wat we intend to do is hb takes 14 days leave, then he cook for me lor. if not my mum or mil can also help out. But seriously i prefer to do confinement in my own hse. Though my mum prefers me to go over her place, but i feel that since hb is willing to help, let him try and at the same time can spend our time together as a family mah..let him have a taste of how tiring taking care of bb

Hey..im back..Hmm..who's still around..

Pvl..ya put on more weight..hehe. I think can lah..eat n sleep everyday sure can put on weight.

Smurfy..my hubby is caring but he tend to be a tad too fierce sometimes..haha.

Wah stella..so ex to get CL..ya that's why Im not going to bother too..

Mag..how's yr photos? My email is [email protected]

Still cant see cherryale's photos leh..

Smurfy..u think its possible to do our own confinement? U know the ang mohs usually manage on their own with their babies..

Anyway, I almost goin to do that if I move out house earlier..but since I'll be still staying with in laws, I'll ask my MIL to do confinement..but baby I manage myself, housework hubby will do, once I get my strength n confidence going, I'll start doin simple housework..My girlfriend still ask me why Im not getting a maid/helper to help with baby n housework..she thinks she cant cope, but I think even if i cant, I must somehow..helpers are extra cost leh..

charis

i feel that the money can be put into better use..me too, dont bother to look for CL

i believe if left with no choice but on our own, we will push ourselves to cope bah. buman beings are like that, die die got to handle when we are left with no choice

Stella..ya i guess u r right..for yr situation, I think if yr hubby can cook, then make him do it lah..haha..how about confinement order meals?

How bout ask yr mum to stay in for the 2 weeks/1 month? Or ask her to cook every 2 days, then ask yr hubby to fetch the meals?

I'll be doing the same as PVL.. own confinement, catering food (hopefully not popping during CNY!!) and hb will hopefully take 2 wks of leave like before to help out. I know that I will not be able to bathe the baby for at least 1 wk.. after tt, will try to cope. Will prob send my son to my parents' for 3 hrs in the morning as he is still too young to go for nursery.

Charis, yah lor, think about all that $$$ gg to a CL who erm, is not childcare trained, not CPR trained.. wah biang, heart pain. :p

Ah Ger, Odyssey is very luxurious lor.. *drool* But maybe can only afford Stream.. need to save $$. Car is always considered luxury item.

Mag, yah I hope tt my son will not disturb his sister too much also. Wondering how to get him to nap well without having me by his side.

mummy2be, maybe you should check out the price of the Quinny Buzz from S'pore Baby Hypermart 'cos I realise tt most imported items are much pricier in KL. The maxi cosi infant car seat is a really good buy.

For manual pumps, the best is still Avent...

gals, sory tat I MIAed after lunch, was rushing something for a Mgr then I needed full concentration.

Here goes my long posting again. *yawn*

Starlite - my bb arh, still moving ard the same timing. During wkdays when I wk, like after b/f, I can feel some movements. Then ard lunch time or slightly after lunch he will move. Later day I dun feel, maybe 2 pre-occupied w/ wk. Then evening when on my way hme I feel his movements. then ard 8+pm again, then 11+ again lor. If I slp late then he will still b moving inside. bt these fw days I KO rather early like 10+ 11+ so whether he moves or nt I also dunno, cos already in dreamland. ha ha ha.........

Dun worry, slowly u will b able to monitor. Perhaps ur bb moves bt just tat the movements r nt veyr strong or u din really notice. Usually when my bb moves, I will put my hand on the stomach & saiyang the stomach.

PVL - I can only c trembles bt which part of my bb moves (eg legs or hands) I dunno yet. My skin is still 2 thick to let me c. Ha ha ha......

Breast pump - my coll advise me to get Medela also if I m investing bt she said get dbl cos incase when u express 1 side then the other side leak then u will feel very heartpain cos breastmilk is very precious.

Smurfy - I m nt engaging CL also cos it's almost dbl, hw to tahan? Imagine her food & our food nt included leh. Can't accept the fact tat I hv to spend like 4k on overall cos CNY food sure more exp. As the 1st 2 wks are gng to b more tedious, my hb will take 2wks AL to stay @ hm & help out. I will also order confinement food, so tat eases the problem of "Who's cooking?" B/f will just chin chye eat lor since Neo's delivery for lunch is 11a - 1pm & dinner is 4 - 7pm. I m still deciding if I shld get lunch & dinner or just lunch.

Yest I did a calculation, an estimate on amt gng to b spent for the nx fw mths:
- Antenatal $500
- Delivery $1200 (acc to my gf, normal w/ epi for GlenE)
- massage $500 (est)
- confinement food $1400 (lunch & dinner or $700 either one)
- bb full mth buffet $1000 (est)
- full mth cakes $500 (est)
- bb purchases $1000 (est)
Total: ~$6k

So I m thinking food I may cut dwn, bb purchases I wun spend so much. Just chk w/ mum, she said bb clothes, booties & mittens I no need to buy cos my niece has alot. I only need to get a fw pcs like for discharge then also for full mth can already. Then milk btls, teats, pacifier, then diapers lor. So I guess I may b spending like $5 - 600. So my overall expenses will go dwn by $1k.

As for buffet, most ppl say u tend to cover the costs. bt again, I dun wanna pin so much hope, so maybe less another $2 - 300 lor. Then massage if can find $40 - 50 per session then only 7 sessions, it's abt $350 max, so less $150. So again my expenses will b lowered to abt $4.5k.

Stella - same here, hb will help out in hsewk during 1st 2wks, thereafter I supp I will b better already. I dun wanna trouble mum during CNY period, I also feel more comfy doing it @ my own hse. I also hope bb will cme out only during Day 1 or 2 of CNY, cos Neo garden doesn't deliver frm eve till Day 3 leh. & yes, CL during CNy period is @ least 2.5k, hw to afford?

Mag - I can't c the pics also. Can email? [email protected].

Catz, yes, indeed it's very luxurious bt then again if can afford by all means then nx time can stop buying other cars le. bt again if just for convenience, I think no need to buy so big & exp car. Tats my thought.

gals, has anybody started to get water retention? My sis said if u press on the shin area (the bone), then there is a dent then slowly surfacing back, then u r siffering frm water retention. My legs hv bn soaring, it's like I've walked 2 much then aching. Then the calves like being stretched, cos when I tried to straighten my legs, I feel ached. Then my sis did the test on my shin, & there was a dent. So frm 29 onwards, I hv to do more leg lifting b4 I slp. Mum said like tat, very diff to drag till CNY.

Koh - hw r u? Feeling better?

ah ger

ya.. ur estimation is similar to mine also. I am thinking either buffet or cakes. meaning if i invite them i will not be giving cakes. if buffet for both sides families and friends abt 1k lor.. but i hope can dont celebrate..heehee save hassle and cost.

food wise, its kinda scary to spend 1.4k hor.. since hb is cooking, i budget only abt 500..dunno enuff or not. Surprised to know that my family dont practise so much of confinement, mum says all along they eat normal food and get to bathe everyday!!! hooray..

breakfast can chin chye eat lah..milk plus bread , like wat we normally eat will do.

all $$$, now only pray hard that i wont kena c-section

mag,
send to me too [email protected]

me down with flu today...so sian, dun feel like coming to work...*yawning*

wow ah ger, so fast you are calculating all these cost...me dun dare to think of it man...maybe yu should include buying a car cost too...keke

Hi Giggler,
my coll told me to get a good electric breast pump which cost abt $800-900. Though the price is very steep, she claimed that its beneficial esp if we are going to breastfeed for a longer period. no sure if i can breastfeed and if yes, dunno can endure for long or not!

notice that quite a no of us doing confinement on our own... lets support each other!!!

whenever i say i am not engaging any help, my coll dont believe and some even give comments like how it is possible.. sometimes a bit discouraging.

stella, ah ger,
we all very adventurous hor, to think of doing confinement on our own when this is our first child. but we r oso lucky in the sense that we dun have to divide attention to other kids.

same tots of CL: they ain't trained but just with years of experience. the food they cook might not be to our liking, personal hygiene, possibility of conflicts, not pro-breastfeeding, having an outsider in ur house, the high cost during CNy.

have not handled a bb so small before. but will be going to antenatal course at TMC and will start talking n meeting up with friends who have done it on their own before.

yah, if Ang Mos can do it on their own, why can't we? though hiring a CL is the norm for us in Asia (even my mum say she has one last time). we just need to know what r the things to look out for.

stella, ah ger, catz,
That bring raise to the next Q. Asking hubby to take 2 weeks AL to help out. Issit worth it, the pay he is getting and the price paid to the CL.

Started a thread in:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353640/561101.html?1162304092

stella,
hirin a caterer will solve the hassle of marketing and cooking and washing up. i am considering 5 days lunch and dinner, weekends make my mother n MiL cooks :p

Hi Gals....goood morning.........

What a not so smooth morning to start with.

Some error in the ERP cash card reader....when going through the gantry. Think going to get fine liao....

Hey mag....tks for ur pics. all ur gowns are very fanciful & nice. ur bb so cute esp ur gal.

Salute to those 1st time mum going to do cfment on their own.

me going for my check-up 2moro....will update detail again....koh.....r u ok...din hear from u for a while....

Morning...

Talking abt CL, for me it is kinda a must as none of my MIL and mother able to help out during that period plus I will be having confinement at my own house. The most they can do is drop by once a day (quite far from my PIL house to my house) loh. Plus my hubby just got a new job which requires lotsa travelling and impossible to get such long leave. Now i just hope he will be around when i am due. Pray hard...

For most westerners, they dun really care much abt confinement. However, a good confinement is crucial for our overall well being when we getting old. Read from magazine that's why asians look younger than westerner when approaching 40 or 50 years old.

mag,

wah u and ur hubby look so young even though ur kids are so big. ur children are so cute. i hope my daughter will be as cute as ur daughter

oh mag want to ask u when your baby is born how do u get a passport for her? If u already have a passport, can u just add ur baby into your passport or have to do a brand new passport? What is the procedure and cost? Need to take baby photo? Thanks! Coz i am thinking of bring my baby to HK.

hi belle...as what i know. now all kids need to hv their own passport. No more tag along with mum. Cost wise same as adult $60-$70. But now with the new passport system i think is $90.
Hope this info is useful to u

JC, even infants also can have own passport? then more convenient lor, anyone can bring baby through immigration. My passport can last till 2015, if i remake can only last 5 yrs so bo hua.

morning to all. Start of a new mth means bz mth for me. Ha ha ha........

Stella - $500 maybe nt enuff for food cos during CNY, everything may dbl up esp for fish & chkn & pork. So it's best u cater more for food, then @ least if u hv extra u will feel happier. Yeah $1.4k is horrendous, so I think I may just order lunch to save costs.

So gd ur hb is gng to cook for u. bt then ur hb is gng to cook for you during the 14days only right? hw abt the other 2wks? U DIY? By then u hv ur bb to look after also leh. B careful nt to tire urself out.

Yeah, b/f I will also chin chye eat. Bt must take more calcium REM esp when u're bfg.

Cakes - will give relatives lah, then ofc maybe just a ew boxes for them to share lor as an yishi yishi.

Doggie - cannot dun think abt the costs, cos I wanna make sure my acct has sufficient $$ inside. If nt by the time cmes then think of it, will b abit 2 late to think of a remedy.

Doggy - car cost will nt b in tis calculation cos we will b using $$ frm another acct. All these $$ u c abv is strictly frm our bb acct.

Doggy - $8 - 900??????? I wun get tat lor, so exp. Perhaps you can borrow frm somebody else, then u c if u really can breastfeed for so long. If really possible then i invest. if nt end up bcme white elephant.

Stella - yeah, my gf's hb was saying "dun b so stubborn, u nd plenty of rest & etc ...... certain $$ cannot b saved." I almost wanna shout @ him "hey, u r nt in our situation leh, hw can u give tat remark?" His bb came out during those off-peak period leh, of cos can afford lah.

Smurfy - yes I do agree we r lucky is our 1st child. bt if I hv another one, I would ask mum to take care of the elder one while hb & I handle the small one during 1st mth.

Personally I would say, nt all CLs r gd, again it strictly depends on luck & ur expectations.

Smurfy - hb has AL to clear also. besides they are entitled to AL, nt say he's taking unpaid leave or watsoever. Anyway, even if he's taking unpaid leave, I think it's still worth it, cos is his child also, he has to learn hw to take care of the bb too. U'll rather trust ur own hb than trusting a stranger right?

Smurfy - I was asking hb if I shld order 5 days or 7 days. He said just order 7 days, cos we dunno if my mum or MIL will cook for us. Even if they really do, it will be @ most 1 - 2 dishes extra. So he said play on the safe side, or rather, ask them dun go to the xtra effort, we will just order our own food.

I also agree ordering catering food will solve everything. Stella - if u hv budget constraint, then perhaps you can do wat I m planning to do, order lunch only x 7 days, per mth is $680. Better than ur hb buys the food then prepare & cook right? Unless u prefer ur hb's cooking. Oh, I m calling them up to try out their trial dinner nx wk. I c Wk 2 & 4's dinner are more sumptuous, so ordering tat & c.
$25 *heartpain*

JC - u can write in & appeal lor. Said u really put the card bt somehw it was not read or deducted. Then u say u will go & pay for tat gantry's fees or so. C if it helps.

Westerners DUN do confinement. They asked me "Wats tat? Can't go out? Can't bathe?" & they all gave me a funny look. 1 of my Dir, went out & exercise the following wk or so.

Mag - Thks for sharing the pics. Just finished looking @ ur pics.ur son looks like ur hb leh. U look very pretty also. Ur 2 kids are adorable also. Hw cme the name is meowmeow & miffy one? Their names or nicknames?

belle,
How old are you thinking of bringing your bb to HK? All kids have to have their own passport. Cannot tag along mum or dad's passport anymore. You can check the ICA website for the details. You have to take a baby photo. Believe me... it's not easy taking a photo of a very young bb. My girl made a passport at 10 days old. It was hard trying to get her to 1)Wake up to take the photo 2)Keep her head up 3)Open her eyes
Later, when she was 7 wks old, we took another passport photo. That was slightly better. At least she was a bit more awake, although my hand could still be seen in the photo, holding her head up.

PVL, thot of the same problem too. Baby a few weeks old still so soft how to take their passport photo? So we are actually allowed to hold the bb while taking their photo? I need to do one for my bb too so can bring her over Spore wif us.

Privileged, i am thinking of bring baby to HK when she is 2 months. So where to take infant photo? At the immigration ? So for infant, they also have their own separate passport?

aiyo if retake many times because baby don open eyes then how? Hope the person wont charge too high.

JC, your gals quite big alr mah... Now we cant really bear to let my gal sleeps on her own so didnt rush her for it. Ok, I'll rem to take note of the childcare leave next yr.

mummy2b, think the medela elec is selling at abt S$200 here. As for the Ameda, I got it from the supplier at ard $200+ but heard that there's incr in price. My col told me the feedback abt Medela elec. Ameda is dual pump, cost abt $300 now.

Jas, Medela got a few models of elec pump. Ameda is more ex than Medela mini elec but its much better. It's comparable to Medela PIS and much cheaper.

mag. hahaha... even your son wants your gal with sleep with all of you? LOL... Ameda is quiet, I even used it beside my sleeping bb at times.

Catz, today is the 1st time that you brought Timothy to gynae appt? I always bring Vane along to my gynae appt. Usu she's more excited than me to see bb.

smurfy, I'll get maid and my mom's help for confinement. My fren managed to find one cf lady for me but can only start on the 4th day of CNY. But that'll be too late for me lah.

Ah ger, I haven got water retention. Your mom feels that you'll give birth early?

doggy, think your fren is talking abt Medela PIS. I agree with your fren lor. If you got the budget, it's best to get the best pump. Actually come to think of it, if you got a not gd pump and didnt manage to bf and in the end got to give FM which is also ex mah... So I feel that it's worthwhile to invest in good pump.

belle, you got to apply your bb's passport on her own. Can do it online as it's cheaper, think it costs abt $70.

hello, i am back ... i feel better liao.. but still having tummy cramp... got to work at the same time...
ah ger, my boss confirm with mi ler.. he say i can only take 2 mths maternity leave... so no choice.. i say ok loh...
wah u ger so good hor, hubby take 2 weeks leave to accompany for confinement... my hubby only can take 2 days leh... then i got to look after baby and cook for myself... my hubby says work is more important.... so sad

belle, you can take the photo at the ICA if you want. They do digital photos. At least you'll know that the photo is acceptable. They will take until it's OK. When we made Sarah's Singpore citizenship cert at the ICA, the guy taking the photo was very patient and did it several times til he got a satisfactory shot. Then they'll print it for you and only charge you for those prints. Hopefully you get a patient photographer then. Yup. Infant also needs their own passport. Sarah has 2 passports - US passport made at 10 days, and Singaore passport made at around 12 wks with the photo taken at 7 wks (before she became an 'illegal immigrant'

Mag..thanks for sharing the photos..yr kids are adorable..U on yr hubby so young n so on to take family potraits..My family no fun..wont take this kind of potraits..

Who has water retention already? I think if walk n stand too much will have water retention..drink more water, empty bladder regularly n DONT cut down on the salt..maintain salt intake..of cos not suppose to take so salty until u get high BP!

I havent got water retention..but i know my sis in law has it very bad..her legs, feet are super swollen..gynae gave her medication..By the way, for yr info, she has already put on 20 kg! SHe 32 weeks preggie..
Wahahaha..so much right..her gynae never tell her to control somemore..

privileged, thanks for ur advice. I think better play safe to take photo in ICA. Else got to retake and send back troublesome.

Was wondering whether Baby need to have visa to stay in HK for long period or not....another headache.

Ah ger..haha..ya westerners dont do confinement..n seems they turn out ok also leh.. lot of this stuff are 'pantang', 'old wives tales'..no such thing as cant bathe, cant wash hair..But Im ok with having confinement food, after all they are quite nutritious..of cos those bf must not take too much ginger n wine. I think not going out for at least 2 weeks is a good practice..cos our bodies still weak..but then again..I remember being rather well after 1 week rest after my m/c early this year.

I will defintely go out on the 8th day after delivery..cos we'll be circumcising our son..according to Jewish custom n the Bible Old Testament laws. Wonder wat my MIL will think..

charis ,

wah, ur sis in law put on so much.... then her stomach must be very big right...
i went for my appt on saturday.. my weight only 47.. so till now only put on 4kg... gynae says ok.. but try to eat more... she wan mi to put on 12kg by 36 weeks... so another 8 to go...

charis, u also put on a little rite... ur gynae says anything?

koh,
hubby say work is impt, coz only work can bring home the bread and butter for ur kid n bb mah
at least he oredi asking u to eat supplements to boost up ur health
think in ur case,no choice but to accept ur company;s arrangement of 2 mths ML coz u wanna them sponser ur course right? endure!!!

Ah ger,
me calculating whether hubby taking 2wks AL worth it or not based on "if they resign, then the unused AL will be cashed back". unless he got ample leave and needs to clear leaves.