(2007/02) February

sunsweet, i know this brand call Melilea (those of direct sales). Quite well known in Msia, think spore also got branch. U can check out their website. My brother said one bottle of this organic drink can last abt 60 scoops, so abt 2 months if take once per day. Abt RM165. Suitable for adults and kids. For those who want to lose weight, can take like 2 or 3 times a day. The ingredient is 100% organic so safe to consume.

miliea,
heard of it before, useful in detoxification. heard ppl drink it alone and without consuming solid foods for 7 days as part of detoxification process, therefore achieving weight loss.

maybe what jas meant is one glass per day with normal foods.

ah ger, no, think it is some greenfield organic drink.

It does not really direcly help to lose weight, but through cleaning the toxin inside our body to achieve weight lose for some. The main function is to replenish our body with botanical nutrients as all ingredients are from plants free from pollution.

I haven't got the drink from my brother. Will tell u more when i got the product.

can i check with you hor, how did your gynae did your detailed scan? Just measure the BB in more details or there is some pictures like x-ray film that kind?

Koh - so far the only suppls I've bn taking are folic acid, then iron & calcium pills.

Folic acid - if u wanna save $$ can buy frm Unity $2.52 per box of 100 pills. It's packed in their Unity box.

Iron pills - I m taking Neogobion, can also buy frm Unity $23.05 for 100 pills.

Calcium - my gynae gives Cavit D3, bt my coll gave me Calcidan + Vit D. Gynae says can eat also.

Other than tat, the rest I've bn trying to get frm natural resources. Bt I still drink milk though I take calcium pills.

peko, I haben decided bt seems like Avent nt a gd choice for bbs cos teats are hard?

I haben done any research/ feeback on these things. I merely went to chk out pricing.

Oh, talking abt pricing, the bb prep list, I haben do yet, no time las wk. Will try to do it soon & attach here.

Doggy - my detail scan was done @ NUH, nt by my gynae. Bt my coll & my gf had their scans in X-ray film type.

While doing the scan, they will tell u part by part, what is wat & hw is it & etc. Then will alos say out the bb's development.

For CK & my case, after the sonographer chked, the Prof will cme in & chk again. Then we will bring our rpt back to our gynae during the nx chk up then gynae will run thru again. If nothing is wrong, he will just say everything is fine & healthy. Bt again if there is something to highlight, the sonographer or the Prof would hv told us already.

Jas, thanksThats the usual pose she did infront of camera.

Ah ger, why cant use microwave to heat up? I dun have steamer at home leh. At first I thot of sharing my cf food with maid but my fren said it maybe too heaty for her. Ya lor, waste those food if its too much for us hor? Think my gal learns the pose from TV.

Pekochan, Ill use Avent milk bottles, Ameda elec breast pump, and Pigeon sterilizer.

Hi ladies..

Good to be back in the thread..let me explain my MIA last week. I was hospitalised on Thur nite..discharged on Sat. For persistent asthma..started with a sore throat on Hari Raya..eat my granny's goodies..haha..but I think before that I over-exerted myself liao..on Sat went IKEA n then help my hubby set up the furniture, Sun clear up room in prep for baby, then still go Geylang at nite jalan jalan, Mon nite help my mum bake cookies until 1am..

Wed nite asthma started..went to clinic for nebulizer, didnt recover..I was breathless for the whole of Thur, didnt know how I survived..admist all my Baby was still happily kicking. Went to GP again on Thur everning, doc say must go hospital..Im not having enough oxygen..so rushed to A & E, kena 3 rounds of nebulizer..still quite bad..so must be warded so that they can continue treatment..n they hook me up on oxygen tank for my stay in the ward!
But all the while, I was very worried about baby..docs assured baby will be fine..although they didnt have ultrasound to monitor my baby..of cos I was so anxious. My hubby actually called KKH to find out if they can handle my case first..but they said their A & E docs are not expertise to handle asthma cases..only o&b related emergencies..so we had to go TTSH.

We called up my gynae who assured us cos our baby is 24 weeks already..so very strong..he said oxygen wise, in nature the baby takes priority..so the body supplies the baby with more oxygen than the mother will get..so hence I suffer but baby should be fine..he said I should let the docs treat the asthma first, n not to worry about baby. We were so relieved..

But story havent end..cos of the side-effect of the nebulizer drugs..my heart n baby's heart beat very fast n hard..so my vital sign shad to be closely monitored..n cos of this drugs, my potassium levels dipped very low..so did my red blood cells..so the had to give me medication to counter this..on Sat, my doc said my lungs had more or less cleared..but said he emust do bllod test to ensure my potassium n RBC level has gone up..then he can discharge me..So my hubby n MIL quickly buy bananas, raisins n potatoes so I can increase my potassium n RBC level..then doc say can go home..but he saaid I still weak, so must stay home for the whole week..n recover..also must put on back the weight I lost..I lost 3kg within those few days!

Thank GOD Im back..n hopefully baby's ok..cos I had to take some steriods to treat the severe attack..I stopped eating already lah..very scared for baby.

ah ger, but i thot avent teats will prevent colic? im nt sure if the it's hard, onli noe tt many pple r using it. i onli find tt avent bottle look big. i thot of getting pigeons bottles and manual breastpump. then steriliser will get NUK.

giggler, wat's ur comment on avent bottles, ameda elec breast pump n pigeon steriliser? i thot of getting a manual breastpump cos i thot i can control the pressure, i scare elec ones will be painful.

ah ger,
mine was just some measurement of the head, hand, etc by my gyane. But my frens told me theirs are in those x-ray film types and encourage me to do that. Me very confused...

how abt other mummies? do you think i shuld go or???

hi charis,
oh, thats bad! must take good care now...better dun eat too much now. glad that you are fine now

Gig - I think it's bcos microwave will actually destroy most of the nutrients. So the best way is to use the normal steamer. Actually I've heard b4 someware, microwave nt very advisable for cooking cos of the nutrients & etc.

Since confinement food is only available during lunch & dinner, wat u all planning to eat for b/f?

Doggy..thanks..yup..will take care..

I missed the detailed scan, was supposed to go on Sat..so postponed to next Sat.

U mean u asking if u should go for the detailed scan? Some ppl think its not neccessary..for me, I jus want to make sure baby's developing well..n GOD forbid if he is not doing so well in some areas, then at least we can jus pray n be prepared.

Oh dear Charis, thank God you're better. Wah, your asthma is quite bad, hor? Mine is hardly there at all, though I do use Ventolin inhaler on occasion, whenever I start to feel a little breathless. Lately more, cos of haze, and the baby/stomach pressing on my diaphragm. But it's not really asthma I think. At 24 wks, the steroids etc shouldn't have an adverse effect on the bb lah. Don't worry. Just the heartbeat with the use of those anti-asthma drugs lah.

You lost 3 kg? You haven't put on much to begin with! Better try to put on a bit more wt, otherwise you may not have enough bulk and strength to carry your baby in the 3rd trimester. Eat balanced meals and get more rest.

DOggy..hmm..well u ask yrself if its necessary then..how much more detail will it show?

I think there's not much of a difference..both are ultrasounds..its jus the way the data is presented right?

Good morning. Back to work as usual again. And thank goodness the haze is gone (hopefully for good). Cant believe that we will be going into our third trimester very soon. Time really flies. And I am glad to be able to learn so many from all of the mummies here.

Talking about supplement, koh, I think it should be a good idea for you to start taking now. At least you still have about 3 months to go so its better than nothing. For me, I got to know that Im lactose intolerant shortly before Im pregnant. All these while, I have quite bad gastric problem (since I was small). But I do take milk from time to time. When I am pregnant, I realised tht Im not able to take any milk. I felt uneasy the whole day after taking the milk.

So i consulted my gynae and she prescribed me with calcium pills. But i also have yoghurt and icecream from time to time. I've read from other thread, it says tht mummies with lactose intolerant can try to take soy based drink. I'm planning to start on that. Dunno about the taste. Will update soon.

Pvl..my asthma is not severe actually..mine is like yours also, I need Ventolin occasionally only..n I will recover after 1-2 puffs..but now mine is considered persistent mild type..in fact, I didnt have asthma for some time cos I exercised regularly before my pregnancy..the asthma suddenly flared up during my pregnancy..cos he said im simply breathing for two..n lungs n heart work 50% more..So doctor said that my asthma has to be monitored closely now..n I have to be on Becotide(inhaled cortisteriods) until I deliver baby.

Weight wise I think I can gain..my appetite improving already..so I'll jus eat more..n yup balanced meals too..cos my system haywire liao after all the drugs..

Btw, how r u koh..I read the posts ytd nite..I hope its all clear n was nothing serious.

Starlite..as for yr GD..how did u get GD? Were u taking too much sugar? Dont worry..u take care of yr diet now..n continue to do so after delivery..u'll recover n wont hav it so easily next time.

Charis - thank goodness u r bac in gd health. Better take care. Can eat lah bt then moderate. U must hv over-eaten right?

Wah u lost 3kg? Erm........ which means wat u hv put on, u lost them all back? My goodness! Must jia you, eat more! Or else I dun mind donating some of mine to u. Ha ha ha....

I think detail scan shld b done cos they actually tell u more abt bb's development. They chk on blood vessels, their artileries, the nose & lips, & many other things. However, if ur gynae does a vert detail chk for u everytime, & he/ she monitors everything, then it's up to u to decide. Cos I hv a gf who did not go for detail scan. She claimed tat the gynae does a very close chk for her.

Ah ger..oh u mean over-eaten on the goodies?! Haha..hmm..not really lah..I eat a bit only, I didnt even drink any soft drinks..but then start sore throat so fast..I think I was over-exerted lah over the last weekend..like move house like that..fix furniture, sweep n mop floor..pack stuff..

Ya lor..I lost the weight I put on for the month..Haha..I think I can put on myself..I have relatively good appetite u know..hehe..hospital food sucks lah..i see the food it kills my appetite..they gave us porridge for every meal leh..I had to request for rice..they think I severly ill or what..even so I think they forgot I have a baby to feed too..

renal pelvis:
Who asked about renal pelvis? (Not renal 'penis' ah
) heheheh. sorry , forgot to answer. Renal pelvis is the entrance/exit of the kidney where the urine made in the kidney drains off into the urethra (tubes). If they are dilated, it just means that the drainage may have some blockage, so there's pooling of fluid just at the exit point.

doggy, a detailed scan just checks for the bb's anatomy. I think it's useful cos then the gynae and the neo-natalogist can anticipate any problems should there be any. Or it can be reassuring when everything is normal. They can even see if your bb has a cleft-palate, hole in the heart etc etc. Most imptly they measure the head, abdomen, long bones to make sure your bb is growing normally. They check the placenta, the umbilical cord etc. Very detailed.

Charis - oh, tats gd lor........ so long as u can feed ur bb bac. Make sure bb is bai bai pang pang leh.

PVL - ha ha ha, it's me! Oops! I read salar, type also salar! Wahahahahahaha........ cos I speed read everything. Oh, wat causes all these?

Jas - incase u r ard, we r gng to book for a car tis wk! Shld b Thurs. Cos I happen to c my gf's sis wking tare. So we told her wat hb's coll's agt has offered, so shall c if she can match + lower more for us cos hb's cousin is keen in getting also.

Fri then I will update u, so if u r still keen, then Sat/ Sun u can go & look for her.

Charis, hope youre much better now. Take care and rest more.

Pekochan, I like Avent bottle for its wide neck feature. Ameda breast pump allows us to indicate the power so its not painful. For manual pump, I use Avent.

Doggy, did your gynae ask you to go for detailed scan? For my case, my gynae uses 3D machine so theres no need to go for detailed scan unless I rqt for it.

Ah ger, Ill just take bread/biscuits for bfast.

hi Charis,
thank God you are fine now. For those who want to gain weight or for baby to gain weight, it is good to eat beef. Initially my baby was one of the lightest here at 19weeks, then he puts on more than 500grams in 4 weeks. Thinking back, I realised that its cos of the steak that I had regularly on weekends! My aunt also ate a lot of beef when her gynae told her that her baby is measuring small and soon after she took beef, baby's weight went up a lot. Just make sure that you have your steak welldone.

Doggy, your detailed scan was done at your gynae already? If he didnt realise anything wrong, then most likely its fine. My scan was at Camden and it is also U/S, just that the machine is way more advanced and clearer than my gynae's machine. They measure brain, heart, all organs etc to make sure that baby is developing well. So as long as your gynae took all these measurements, then nothing to worry.

Ah ger, so u like the show too? I am only at disc 11 so more than half more to go. Its happy ending I suppose??

feeding bottles,
a lot of my friends recommended avent. but bb hypershop recommends bbabyfree (which uses a more durable plastic). my friend sis uses glass bottles from pigeons. think i will either buy bbabyfree or source for glass bottles (less chemicals).

breast pump
will borrow the medala pump in style (electronic pump, for use with both breasts at the same time) from friend and buy the parts to use it with, and oso prepare another manual pump (stand by and just in case). brand not confirmed.

sterilizer,
might consider pigeon coz friends recommend. but yet to compare.

how abt STROLLERS????? wht brands n models u r considering??

charis,
let ur body recover slowly now, dun be too rush abt it. most impt is balanced diet.

smurfy, I'm using Graco EDT stroller. I like it cos of its lightweight and very durable. My gal of 13kg is still using it now.

Charis, thank god you are ok now! Must rest and eat more to regain ur weight and energy.

ah ger, the organic drink i want to get is of "Melilea" brand one, dun think got said in GNC. But maybe the one u tried b4 is abt the same. This one is of powdery, then u put 1 scoop in the cup provided, pour with warm water then shake and drink immediately. Hope it is not too unpleasant to drink.

U getting Honda Jazz this week? How long u need to wait for the car? Do we need to put downpyt on the spot? Our concern now is the initial cash outlay for downpyt+roadtax+insurance as we have used up most of our saving on the house renovation recently. Need to start saving recently... How much u think the initial cash outlay will be? We not confirm getting Honda Jazz yet, maybe Nissan Sunny which is cheaper. Anyway, do update me after ur car booking k?

Giggler, how much is the Ameda breast pump? I heard electric pump cost hundreds of dollars! So ex...

thanks for all the inforamtion...
since my gynae did not detect anything unusual, i supposed my bb is growing well. thanks all

bac frm lunch.

Gig - bt if u breastfeed, will u hv enuff to feed ur bb? My mum said she cooked mee sua for my sis every morning. I m thinking of buying the AnMum Breastfeeding milk to drink during the 12wks of ML.

Cheery - cannot tell u the ending lah, u watch lor. Bt then towards the end abit draggy lah.....

For those who are into Princess Hrs show, here is the link u can dwnload wallapers.

http://www.hancinema.net/korean_drama_Princess_Hours.php

Smurfy - I hv a free stroller frm my gf. Brand new one - Mas Baby. I m fine to take over, since can help me save $$.
Bt many ppl say Combi is gd & it's light.

Jas - oh the Spirulina has 2 types, either liquid or powder form. For me, I m the lazy type of cos get the syrup one lah. Just sqz them into a btl of water then shake it then can drink already.
Bt my ex-colls find it yucky cos it's green col & they say it looks like algae.

As for the car, I heard frm hb is deposit $3k. We will pay thru credit card lor. Then if we decide to pay dwnpayment (min 3k) then they will do the offsetting themselves.

Cos after tis COE, we all speculate it will go up, usually tats the case during festive season. So even when it goes dwn in Mar, it will b base on the increase then dwn & nt frm tis current amt. Diff might b abt the same or slightly higher. We r nt sure exactly hw much it wil go up the nx bid. Waiting time is earliest Jan collect.

Initial cash - say $600 incl insr (10 yrs loan) + road tax. Bt then road tax 1st 6mths (worth $378 I think) free mah. We also dun hv alot of $$ bt then sqz out abit still can, other than tat no more le. No prob, will update u again.

ah ger, thanks for all the info. Will discuss wif my hubby again after he comes back next week. Downpyt of $3k still not too bad lah. I dunno road tax got free 6 mths wor... Still need to consider whether to buy a weekend car or normal one. Most likely we will only get the car after January. Maybe we can order now then January take delivery hor.

strollers,
my colleague recommended maclaren, lightweight and easy to manevour. i saw maclaren techno XT $380, quite like it for the number of awards it won hahahahaa. was told can withstand up to 20-30kg. looks very comfortable with lots of cushioning and lots of side pockets to put things in.

then we also saw this Quinny Zapp $399, those 3 legged strollers (lagi easy to manevour and light, can take up to 50kg) but dunno how comfortable it is for the bb leh,coz not a lot of cushions. heard from sales person that it was used in Jackie Chan's movie - Rob-B-Hood.

WHAt r the considerations when choosing strollers?

Ah ger, aiya, tell me whether it is happy ending or not lah..dun have to tell me the story. Cos, I still havent got the second set of discs as the shop has rented it out. But I think for such shows, most likely happy ending. Most korean shows very draggy at the end. Which prince do u prefer? The xin or lu? I like xin better, cos he is very proud!

Ah Ger: What is the offer you r getting now? I'm super interested, especially if the downpayment and initial cash is low. I'm talking bout the car. U getting a Honda Jazz?

By the way, how come insurance so cheap? I was quoted 2100 for lancer brand new....

Ladies... as for strollers, I like my maclaren the best cos it grows with your bb, can use it for a longer time. I even tried putting my 2kids together on it (33kg) and it still goes easily. I also have a combi but the problem is as the bb grows, it becomes harder to manoeuvre around and the wheels tend to get stuck when u go up the escalators.

Jas, I think hv leh, cos frm the internet also wrote. U can chk their website again. U ask ur hb to call & ask arh, I dunno if my info is accurate or nt.

If u bk the car in Jan, u hv to note tat COE may go up again. Bt I dunno hw much they will go up. Me also know nothing abt cars. I just hear tis/ tat only. We decided nt to get a wkend car bcos of the restrictions, after 7am cannot b seen on the road, Sat after 3pm then can go out. During wkdays if u need to b on the road then u hv to buy the coupon. Though it's cheap (if u dun use it everyday) bt it's a hassle to make sure u hv the coupon w/ u whenever u need it.

I gave a serious thought, if we get it in Jan,w e can still do las min shopping for bb stuff & etc. + if I really deliver much earlier like wat my mum hopes, then perhaps by CNY we will need the car to go ard. Usually we rent cars during CNY bt nt for tis time round.

Smufy - my gf told me McClaren is gd for toddler,s for bbs nt as gd cos they reclination nt alot, then for bbs, when their heads are still vulnerable, they shld hv 1 tat can recline as flat as possible. I dunno hw true bt I din really go & try on the stroller. Since I hv 1 free, then the more I wun b checking out le.

Cherry - it's a happy ending! I like Xin. Bt then hw cme u like him when he is proud? I like him as I watched the show, I find tat he has those Prince charisma - the way he walk & hold himself, I find him 'suave' in a way. I like his sharp nose.
I dun like Lu, cry-baby, then like a gal leh....... Bt my family thinks likewise. Anyway diff ppl diff tastes.

Mag - I dunno wat freebies they gave, hb knows the details. I let my gf's sis talk to hb. Hb said they din discuss anything on the phone, Thurs when we meet up then we will know. bt I m sure she will match wat we were given elseware, cos 2 deals waiting for her to close leh!!!!

Actually hor, they calculate 2gether one. Eg car is $54900 (no loan) then the insr (1st time buyer, 30yrs old) is abt $2k, so + dunno wat % & rebate & etc, loan is 10yrs, so each mth is abt $5 - 600 lor. Best if u can get someone else's license (older) & get the car then it can b even lower. So if u hv dwnpayment then the mthly installment is supp to b even lower.

As for road tax, 1.6L cars & below, 1yr is abt 1k+/- only. I dunno if diff cars hv diff insr amt or nt, bt I know diff insr Co has diff insr premium. There was once I heard for dunno which brand's car, the insr is slightly higher. My BIL said AXA insr is higher, Alliance is lower.

When u r @ the showrm, they will calculate for u one.

To ans u on the car, yes we r getting that. Nw only to decide on the car col.

Thanks ladies for the concern n advice..Will take care..Pray baby is ok too.
My hubby say no housework for at least a week..I think I'll go easy with everything now..

Mag..isnt' Honda Jazz a hatchback? WOuldnt it be kind of small since got baby n family in the car?

Charis - Jazz is a hatchback. Bt wat I know is, the interior is rather spacious. My gf sugg Altis, bt when I chk on their measurement, the width is abt 30cm wider only. Bt of cos sedan cars, the boot will b deeper lah.

bt when young, sure drv a more sporty car mah..... + we dun drv the car for 10yrs, so during the nx fw yrs shld still look sporty! Tats hw I feel.

By the time we hv another child (if we hv), then we will upgrade to an MPV already, think we also 2 lao kok kok to drv a sporty car bah. Ha ha ha.....

Bt for Mag's case, I dunno hw she intends to use the car. If she intends to drv a big family, then I think Jazz is nt suitable. I heard Wish is a gd choice for MPV though.

Charis: Yes, the jazz is a hatchback. I'm looking for a car more for transport purposes so thinking more on the cost and maintenance. Also thinking about resale but have to see lor. I'll be back so close t january dunno how long it'll take to get the car by then. I have 2 kids plus a bb so really headache but aiya, don't think so much la. At least got car can already....

Any other car options you all can suggest? Was thinking of the lancer but they say need at least 10% downpayment and insurance and stuff. Add up also need like 8k perhaps...

Mag - I heard for Lancer, their auto gear is nt as gd as manual gear leh.

I din hear anything abt the 10% dwnpayment though.... hb only told me a deposit of $3k.

ah ger, yay, happy ending, I like it!! I like xin's nose too. He is the type that I like, thin and tall and proud..haha like my hb. I used to detest my hb in JC cos he was very proud, only hang around with smart people, very elitist. But, I think its his confidence that attracted me and the rest is history...haha

Charis and Doggy, I will send u the link via email.

Ah ger, i agree the jazz is a sporty car, and it's not that ex. The reason I'm looking at cost more than anything else now is that I have had quite a few cars b4... got a subaru impreza at 19, toyota celica at 20, lexus es300 (resale) at 21, renault scenic (resale) also at 21, and toyota estima at 22.

With that, can you imagine the amount of money we've lost on cars in the past few years? Estimated at 120k sgd. That's like how many years salary man!!!

How I regret big time now. That time young, dunno how to think. Idiotic....
So anyway, we kindda think budget to save money, and also cos we've gone through the different kinds of cars already.