(2007/02) February

Hi good evening all mummies & mummies-2-be,

Wow...just a day i din't chat n we have so many to catch up.

Hi Claris n doggy,
I called up Mt A to check up the antenatal class, it costs $126 w GST. The person told me to register when I;m abt 6 months of pregnancy. 6 sessions/2hrs.
time slots: 6.30pm - 8.30pm (weekdays)
1.30pm - 3.30pm / 4pm -6pm (weekends). Hope the information are useful to somewho r registering at Mr. A.

I tried calling TMC but the i waited very long still no one answer so forget it then.

Hi smurfy

CONGRATS ON YOUR ROM N COMING WEDDING.
Njoy n have fun. Do remember not to play too much as there is a little bb inside ur tummy.

Missed my wedding too. Really sweet n unforgettable.
kao_embarrassed.gif

Looks like everyone has gone out for dinner. So quiet.

Very excited for tmr morning checkup. Hope to see bb gender.

Take care everyone n njoy ur weekends.

Saphira, I see, u EDD so early Feb, no wonder so fast into 5th mth already, I just hit my 4th month only, my EDD 22 Feb.

Is the detail scan done exactly on 20th month or later? I was scheduled to go for detail scan next month 1st week of Oct, so late and I see some of you already going for detail scan?

My 4th month scan will be tommorrow. Duno can see the baby gender by tommorrow or not...Katle, u also going gynae place tmr right? Hope both of us can see baby gender tommorrow!!

Saphira, during my 1st preg, baby gender is discovered during my 5th month detail scan.

Giggler, I didn't go for triple blood test. I think the 3 tests is suitable for mothers under 35. As I am already over 35, I have to go into a more accurate one. I'd done the detail scan which claim 85% accurate at 1st trimester but opt out blood test.

JC/Charis, yes seat belt very important. There is one time I duno why i forgot to buckle my boy when he seated on the car seat (I never fail to forget) and at that very day which I miss buckled him, my hb jammed brake due to an oncoming car and he flew out of the car seat face down on the ground inside the car back seat. Cried very loudly...

Today gave myself a day off (on leave) haha.. Go Expo eat and eat and also go my bro place to see his baby ger. Very tired liao, good nite and hopefull to see you all soon.

KaTle, dun 4get to update us if u ca see bb gender tomolo!!

Cheers and good nite ^_^

Giggler - my gf said do leg lifts can reduce water retention, then blood circulation will flow. Just like y some ppl say put ur legs abv some pillow when u slp, to let the blood flow regularly.

Charis - mine was @ L2, her name is Sharon.

Giggler - my gf did @ her BS, then studio did make up for them then snap for them into an album. Nicely taken. Wat a memory.

went gynae appt this am, very fast come out already, but fast means baby is fine. Gynae didn't managed to see baby gender, said baby too small, very disapppointed leh..Have to wait till 5th month and on that day my hb reservist, can only go for the detail scan myself, sad.. today no scan pix for me aso..

As of today (16th wk) head to buttock baby is only 10.3cm, he estimated plus leg is about 12cm, so my baby is quite small size leh :-( {my tummy looks big, like one of the mummy mentioned, my tummy looks more inflated and bigger than breasts liao) I started to put on maternity blouse coz every1 can see for sure I m a preg liao.

PVL, in the end I didn;t sign up the antenatal package, thinking possibily I wun use up all 10 visits as I went thru C-sec previous delivery. Moreover if exceed 10 visits muz pay, why har? I thought a package should include "from now till delivered" right? In the end only few $$ diff,my hb and me was thinking maybe to reserve for the delivery package can deduct more from medisave.

KaTle, hope you can see your baby gender. U prefer boy or ger?

Me coming 35...not young not old juz hit at the 35 mark, consider "high risk preg", hopefully if ger, then I can close shop. Pity is that I always wish to have 3 kids, but my hb said after this one (boy or ger), can close shop... :-(

bibit,
we are already very lucky comparing to the olden days. Now we can see baby and know the gender while pregnant. Last time people won't know anything until baby come out. Be patient

I hope I am not going to the detail scan too soon. Next Saturday is exactly 5th month.

About size of baby. I guess if smaller, easier for labour isn't it? You must be strong to have the thought of wanting 3 kids. I am so afraid of labour as this is my first time. Don't even want to think about the 2nd one.

By the way, has everyone thought of a name for baby yet? Hard to find a perfect name isn't it? Especially chinese name. My hubby is cracking his head thinking of names

I went 4 blood tests this morning. wow, the nurse extract 2 tudes( abt the size of a man's fingers) of blood from my palm.
kao_scared.gif
Poor palm...It swells initially but went down in the afternoon. Still feeling painful. As i'm a left-handed, the blood test was carried out on my left hand (??? connection to the heart???), so my poor left hand can't carried heavy thing.

Oh..it was an excited moment i went in for the checkup. Again i brought my camera along to record the process of my scanning. I saw the bb 3D n 2D scanning. It was so beautiful. guess what..I got a princess!!!(a girl!!!)
father-in-law a bit disappointed but nvm...as long as it's a healthy baby. Can try again next time. Doctor said it's 80% girl.

As i've lost count of the weeks, nurse said i'm 16 weeks but my mothers said 5 months. Think i'm probably 4.5 months. Detail scan is done during 18-22 weeks of pregnancy. So, I have made appointment in 2 weeks time at TMC.

huh...spent $200 on blood tests. Wow..raising kids very expensive. But worth it. I'm keeping the receipt to for filing.

Hi saphira,
Mmm..., 1've yet to think of bb's name as will do it in Dec probably. i'll look for master to give a nice name as my chineses name isn't sound nice too. Think modern people are very concern of naming their kids as it influence their career in future growth.

I'm not signing up for the antenatal class as after delivery, the hospital do conduct classes to teach u how to breastfeed n bath the bb.

Hi bitbit,
don't feel disappointed as bb is shy. Want 2 keep u in suspense. or perhaps it just happen to rest at that position when u had ur scanning.

wonder anyone believe that u can tell the gender of the bb easily by looking at ur tummy.
(Just 4 Sharing) From my observation, my stomach grows bigger than my tummy but i don't eat a lot. As for my colleague, she's 3 weeks earlier than mine her tummy grows super fast.
I read book that said if it's a girl, ur 'swelling' is at the uppper part than tummy(also wider n not so 'pointed'). If it's a boy, ur tummy swells bigger(lower n more 'pointed') than ur stomach. My case is true.
Does anyone want to share their experiences. How abt already a mummies of a few kids 2 voice ur opinion?

ok...looks like everyone is having a good shooping weekends. cya tmr. bye
kao_byebye.gif
Oh. my hubby went 2 buy an OSIM i-massage chair to be used for us...sadly i can't use it at the moment as preggy women can't use it now. wait till after delivery.

I have a question. Does anyone intend to breastfeed the baby after the delivery? I would like to BF my baby but am worried that I have no enegy right after the delivery as I intend to opt for C-sec (worried about the nausea feeling after the delivery). Any mommies out there been in a similar situation? Can the breast milk be expressed before-hand and give it to the baby after the delivery?

mummy2b,

as i understand most ppl would have breast milk few hours after delievery. so its not possible to express the milk b4 hand b4 delievery.

Good morning everybody,

KaTie,
Hope your palm is getting better now. What blood test did you go through? How come extract from palm?

Has anyone done a detail scan yet so far? Wonder how is it like.

mummy2b, I'm afraid it's quite impossible to extract milk before you deliver.. plus any nipple stimulation could send you into premature labour. The colostrum is very little and it will feed your bb until your milk comes in.. the best way to build supply is to latch bb.

saphira, detailed scan is just an ultrasound but it's going to take quite a long time if bb is not in the right position to take detailed scan of the vital organs to check for proper development.

katie, wah osim massage chair lagi SHIOK. I also want but yeah, us preggies cannot use.

My friend's all commented that I'm not even pregnant looking inspite of this being my 2nd child. It was the same with my 1st pregnancy..just quite surprised that I'm still so small this time. Anyway, the last 2 months is when I will BOOM

Charis, let me find the time first... hehehe...

bitbit, thot that triple blood test is compulsory for all, didnt know that there's age limit. I also considering if I shd sign up for package too cos I having c-section. That means we'll go for fewer visits hor? You mean your gynae limits your visit?

Ah ger, ok, think I better start to do some leg lifts too. So you gg back to your BS to take pix of your tummy?

Saphira, me also thinking of names liao... hehehe

Katie, Congrats on having gal! The shape of tummy doesnt apply to me.

mummy2b, I had epi c-section and I managed to bf my gal after my delivery. I didnt have any naseuous feeling after delivery lah. Dun think you can express milk before delivery leh. Why do you want to opt for c-section?

good morning!!!

started off with a bad day.. was on mc on last friday.. as my mc has reached the max.. i was kena warned. aiyoh, i not on purpose , still have to stay back and clear my work due to mc.

sianz...

stella, oh no.. *sayang* aiyah, these ppl dunno how to take care of preggies. I also v pissed off with my boss. When I was only 7 wks, I told him that the next month or so would be really rough for me and can he pls go easy on me? He macham so nice, say yes yes.. then 1 wk later called me into his office to give me a shelling. @#$%^ Lousy boss.. :p Nevermind, u try to drink more Brand's and take shorts rests hor.

Giggler, how come u know u will hv c-section? I v scared of c-section 'cos 2 good friends of mine who ended up with emergency c-section went through bad post natal depression.

triple test not compulsory right?? only HIV compulsory.

Hi gals!

today will be busy day for me as I have to clear everything before I go for amnio tomorrow, then mc for the whole week. But I will still find time to come in, need to de-stress. Was having headache during the weekend.

Stella, u so poor thing. It is actually quite common for pregnant ladies to reach the max of mc. Guess they should just inform u that u have reached the max and not to the extent of warning u lah. One of my colleagues also hit the max couple of months ago and after that her gynae usually gives her hospitalisation leave if she needs to rest.

Hi gals....me back to work after 2 days of MC. Slightly better but chest area still pain. Went to c dtr on Sat. Dtr said it might be only the soft tissue around that area is injurged. It will takes more days to recover.

Giggler...so will i opt for epi-c-section again for this time round. me still thinking. I had both experience, Epi-c & GA. Hmmmmm......

During my last visit to gynae last week. Due to shocked after the accident din ask dtr too much on the size & length of the BB. Just scan to make sure bb is ok & also heard the Heart beat.

When i reached home then i reliased that i forgot to ask so many question. now gotta wait till next visit in bg of Oct. Think by then shd be able to do the detail scan.

stella, ur office is so mean,Kenna warn so wat? They think ppl take MC for fun is it? let them deduct unoay leave if they want. Sick means sick, what else and wat they going to do? Dun be scare stella, fight for it.

giggler, triple tests not compulsory lah.. can choose the test packages from 1 to 3. $$ and accuracy is different.

Eg. 1) 3 tests, 2) earler test + blood 3) Later scan + blood. After that decide whether to test amino or not. I choose #2 but opt out the blood test & amino test so pay lesser coz watever it is we are going ahead with the pregnancy.

mummy2b, i think u wun hv BM before delivery. After BM will come in few hours to a day after delivery. Mine came after a day so during the first day, baby was given bottled milk :-(. Next day baby dun wan my breast liao. Experience tells me tat you should let ur baby suckle to simulate the milk to come in earlier as fast as possbile after delivery before the nurse give them bottles, aso baby can "practise" their mouth muscles. If bottle is introduced first, baby would rather prefer bottle since bottle use less mouth muscle. My 1st preg, I give total EBM coz my boi already rejected my breast from the very 3rd day. Lac consultant told me that I am 1 day late liao, nevertheless we still try to latch him but fail. coz he is a very impatient baby, cry to the top of his voice when I try to latch him (and still little milk came), so give bottle.

Saphira, for detail scan, the sonographer will look into baby's heart, stomach, liver, fingers and of course gender etc... Usually takes about 30 to 45 minutes. The pix will be enlarge on the screen to look into details. Even my small small fibriods can be seen (hahaha...)

mummy2b
Yes, breastfeed as soon as you are able to. The more the baby suckles, the faster the milk will come in. For some it may take a few days. In the meantime, the baby will have colostrum, which is rich in antibodies. Don't worry, baby usually has a store of fats enough to last at least a week. They may lose some wt the first few days, but they should start to put on once the milk comes in.
Remember the article a few weeks ago saying something like many babies are overfed these days cos pple like to have fat chubby babies. The risk of obesity in adulthood is much higher for chubby babies, and they also develop bad eating habits.

I wonder why most mother to be prefers natural birth. It's so painful isn't it?

Yesterday, I accidentally burned my fingers while cooking because of the stream from steamer. Have not been in such pain before. I had to dip my fingers into iced water for at least 3 hours to reduce the burning feeling. Couldn't bear the pain without the iced water. Can see blisters on my fingers now. I was thinking to myself, would the pain be the same during labour or worst, futhermore need to withstand for hours. Hope I can manage it then.

bitbit,
Yes, I'm having breastpain. Sometimes after lying in one position at night, then I move and change position, my breasts protest

Oh yes, mummies,
Later on, I'll make a table to record dirty nappies, wet nappies & feedings so that you can monitor your breastfeeding. Anybody who wants can let me know. LATER in the pregnancy, OK?

JC, you poor girl.. pls do try to rest and recover. I'm sure the ppl at office will understand how traumatising the accident was for you. As for bb's length etc.. you might be able to find the info if your gynae printed out the scan for you. My gynae usually will do the crown to rump measurement and it will be printed out the scan, somewhere on the right margin.

cherryale, good luck for the amnio tomorrow and do rest well to prevent amnio leakage yah? We're all rooting and praying so hard for you and bb.

Rgd latching, I regret that I was too blur right after delivery to latch.. I asked to latch about an hour after delivery and by then, Timothy had fallen asleep already. Then back to the room, waited for awhile because they were warming baby up and then tried again to latch.. he wasn't very interested...but only the 3rd try then he latched well.. *phew*
bitbit, i only had sore boobs in the initial part of first tri.. now OK lah but quite busty.. haha
Boobs still bigger than belly..

Saphira, I think honestly natural birth is better lah 'cos c-section takes longer to heal. Besides, u can't feel anything with epidural.
Hope your blisters heal well, poor girl.

PVL, same as you, I also recorded all the dirty nappies/feedings in a journal
Really makes it easier to remember which boob to latch on.

pekochan,
No, no swelling yet. Try not to take too much salty and sour food. Maybe it will help.

By the way, I can feel baby's movements already

bitbit..

wow.. u are gungho leh...

i am not scared, but i am sort of guilty that i hold up the whole dept, after the "psycho-ing".

but come to think of it, if i dont put my own health above work, then will the co think for me or not?

Catz, got to have c-section cos I've had op to remove fibroids before. I also delivered my gal via epi c-section. Actually I'm ok with c-section leh. Didnt suffer much pain and most pple in hospital even mistook that I went for natural instead. I even managed to bf my gal after my delivery. My fren who went thru natural suffered more pain than me as her stitches was not done properly. Think I got to thank my gynae's stitching skills lah.
I didnt take any HIV blood test leh.

cherryale, gd luck for your amnio test tom.

JC, I rec epi c-section....
At least you can see bb first-hand

bitbit, thanks for your info on those tests.... You're right that you got to get bb to suckle as early as possible. I told nurses that I wanted to total bf my gal so no bottle was given at all. No... I not having breast pain.

Giggler, think the HIV blood test rules only kicked in later.. so maybe it was not compulsory for your first preg but now it's confirmed compulsory liao. Wah fibroids so serious ah? I hv one cyst lah but it seems to go away during pregnancy and then it will come back after delivery but below 3cm so no pt removing.

GA very horrible.. epi is OK... but this time I will try to do without epi. The last time, no choice 'cos induce from zero dilation very painful.. tahan until 20 hrs without epi then too painful liao.. took epi then delivered 4 hrs later.

The nurses at TMC will cup feed bb if you say you want total breastfeeding so tt bb will not get nipple confusion and reject the breast.

Thanks for explaining to me on the BF issue. Hehehe me a bit blurcase as this is my 1st pregnancy. I hope to BF my baby but am also scared that it will be a painful ordeal or no milk incident. I would like to all all the experienced mummies, how do you all know how to latch your baby properly for the first time? Is it mummy instinct?

Anyone gave their baby EBM right from the start? for EBM, which is better - electric/ manual pump? And which brand? Anyone has difficulties using the pump for the 1st time? Is it painful?

Sorry for asking so many questions.....'pai seh'

pekochan,
i am at my 19th weeks plus. Due date 3rd of Feb. The feeling is like someone touching or pushing u from the inside of your tummy (depends on how hard the baby kicks). my hubby can feel it too when he place his hand on my tummy.

mummy2b, dun worry,w e're all willing to share experience with u. my advice? LATCH BB IMMEDIATELY AFTER BIRTH. Get the nurses and LC to help you.. the later you leave it, the more trouble you will hv. Nope, I don't think it's possible to give EBM right from the start 'cos your milk only appears 3-5 days after the birth. Pumps - get electric and if you're pumping in the first month, you need to use hospital grade pump (Medela) if not you will never get your supply up to match bb's needs. The best pump is BABY LATCH!!! Pump not painful, just weird..haha

Saphira, for a first time mom, you're very lucky to feel the kicks so soon! For me, I only felt my son's first kicks at wk 21.. this one was much much earlier.

Catz, yup...my case was quite serious. I got abt 8 fibroids and the largest was abt 12cm big. Really had a hard time then. Luckily my epi c-section was a breeze.

mummy2b, I asked the lactation consultant of the hospital for help on latching on the bb. Usu the nurse will teach you but think it's still better to get the lactation consultant. Direct feed bb is still the best way to stimulate milk ss. Also you may not get much milk when you express the first few days. I got both manual (Avent) and electric dual pump (Ameda). Both are gd as they serve different purpose.

Catz,
Thanks for the valuable insights and advice. Will try to latch bb imediately. Hopefully it would be a smooth one. As for the pump, I do read some stories from other mummies that they experienced blocked duct when using the pump. Sound scary. At first I planned to buy a manual Medela pump - but then, i think it would be too tiring to the hand and also slower. Then, I was thinking will the electric one be too harsh?

saphira,
My EDD is very close to you - 5 Feb. For the past one week I felt some slight 'movement' but cant be too sure it's from the bb. I will be going for my detailed scan end of Sep and hopefully can see the bb's gender this time.

Hi ladies..

My cousin's wife jus gave birth by C-sect on Sat. Hers was initially induced, then started dilating about 2 cm..but she cant tahan the pain/contractions..after jus 3 hours she complained hungry lah..etc..n insist on a C-sect. The baby girl is a real screamer..cry n cry non-stop..healthy n pink but not latching on properly..so everyone thinks no milk..then put her on formula already...dont why the mother give up so fast..

Then my MIL also told us she has no milk..my hubby who had been 'educated' by me said.."No such thing as no milk lah..she give up so fast that's why." Then my MIL say, "No lah, a lot of mothers also same." Then she started telling us to buy the tupperware container..the type can put milk powder..saying that I may not have enough milk, so must get ready to supplement..Hahaha..She really no confidence in me lah. Anyway..I nudged my hubby..told hm to keep quiet, dont argue already..Then i told him its ok..I hope to prove her that I can bf as long as I have the will n patience to do it.

mummy2b.
Yup. Get the nurses to help you latch on. Also you can check some breastfeeding websites that have pictures on correct and wrong latching, and what to do if the baby latches on slightly wrongly. Also they have solutions for blocked ducts. But as Catz & Giggler say, the best pump is a direct latch. So if you're not in a great hurry to bottle feed, try to latch on directly all the time in the first month to establish the supply. Can start pumping in the second month if you need to. Even with direct latching, I also had blocked ducts. I discovered that it was often due to carrying my baby in my front pack carrier which somehow pressed on some crucial ducts and caused them to be blocked the next day.
With my antenatal classes, we had live breastfeeding demonstrations, as well as 'practice' sessions with dolls, to practise the different holds etc.

Giggler,
WAH! Your fibroid was 12 cm? That's gigantic! Thank God it has not affected your ability to conceive.

Giggler, wah your fibroids really very serious.. luckily you can conceive easily.

mummy2b, in fact, those electric pumps are easier to use. I find that with my Avent manual, at first I dunno how to use, end up bleeding 'cos press too hard. My Medela pump in style was really shiok to use - good suction and not painful and very easy to get let-down.

Charis, wahahaha.. your hubby really well trained. Impressive! Good for you.. think you're set up for breastfeeding success.

Charis, yah, A lot of older generation always pressurize a new mum into giving up breastfeeding. I sure hope my MIL will shut up and not say a thing. They never think that if 'a lot of mums' have the no milk problem, they probably would not be here now. Lots of babies would have died of hunger before they reached 1 month in past generations if lots of mums had 'no milk'.
The next challenge your cousin is going to have is to delay solid feeding. In the recent past, pple started cereal feeding at 4 months. But it's best to wait til at leat 6 months, when the baby's digestive system is more mature and developed.
Beware, if the baby still cries, the MIL might suggest putting baby cereal into the night feed.

Catz..

Ya..hehehe..I educate him almost on everything important on pregnancy, childbirth, confinement..n also train him on wat his mum might say on certain things n how to counter it..hehe..esp on bf, comfinement food eg, I shouldnt eat too much ginger, wine..also must let me drink water, n bathe..Must prepare hubby lah..so that he'll support me! When hubby stand with u..its goin to easier to be a successful mother.

Priviledged,
Thanks for all the useful info and will take your advice to check the website for bf method.

catz,
Thanks for your recommendation. May I ask how much is the Medela PIS cost? And as I plan to continue giving my bb BM, I am thinking is the dual pump neccessary? Read some reviews that dual pump is much more faster especially for mothers expressing milk at work.

hi charis

way to go .. gal...

its good that u start to "educate" yr hb. I also make it a point to tell my hb abt the facts & myth cos i know my mil style. the last thing i want is to have disagreement with mil during confinement.

Stella..

Good for u too..must educate our hb.

Pvl..

Ya..im prepared for my MIL's 'pressure'..so that's why I must get hubby on my side..its for baby's sake..not about who is right or wrong..but what's best for baby. Cos the older gen will have a lot of things to say..n they would say that they got a lot of experience n seen or know a lot of mothers with similar difficult experience so they tend to be more negative n 'backward'.

I told hubby already that I want a LC after delivery. So nobody can discourage us otherwise.

mummy2b, I think the PIS is retailing at $600 but you can also consider the Ameda Lactaline which is also a dual electric and the closest to the PIS in terms of suction. You def need a good pump to maintain your supply if you wanna be a pumping mom. I used the manual until got hand ache, no good.

Charis, your hubby is well trained.. as is mine. His mom went and ordered home made wine for my confinement.. in the end, she had to drink them all.. told her I'm not taking any alcohol but she nie nie go ahead to order :p

Wah..good pumps are real ex. I saw a book that teaches how to squeeze breasts by hand, no gadgets at all..n I heard it works..for some women i guess. But like catz say, I guess if u r goin to be pumping often eg for a working mum, I think no time to hand squeeze the boobs..hehe.