(2007/02) February

saphira,
this might be useful: http://www.thomsonmedical.com/

I also have to go to toilet a few times in the nite time. It seems like water retent in body during the day time and nite time all release out. I know it's very fustrating. Maybe our urinary tract lower n bb pushing it when we lie down? i dunno. Coz even before pregnancy, i am those who need to wake up 1 or 2 times to go toilet at nite.

Saphira,smurfy,
I got no scanner lah. My computer is an ancient relic. I must get my file back from my church friend. She keeps forgetting to return it.

Catz,
Yah. The antenatal prog covered a lot of things, esp pain management, and pregnancy health. And the stages of labour, what to expect, when to actually go into the hospital etc. We even made a rice sock for back labour.

I was also induced from practically 0. The contractions that eventually came, after 7 hours of increasing dosages of Pitocin, were very severe and close together, hardly any time to breathe. This went on for 8+ hours!! But I managed did it without epidural or gas. But I did take the jab, called Nubaine. Maybe it's the same as Pethidine. That helped the dilation. It did wonders.

Saphira, other mums to-be
If you have questions, just ask lor. I'd be happy to share. But I've never been pregnant in Singapore before, so that particular aspect... I'm as lost as anyone else.

Saphira,
6 times is a lot leh. I only go about once. At most twice. Lately, it's been better, once at most. Sometimes don't need to go all night. I think the baby has moved up and is not pressing on my bladder anymore. 3rd Trimester, expect to go a lot again.

Giggler,
Yah! Hahaha. Earn $$. But for my antenatal programme, I hardly paid anything. It was by donation. And cos my hb & I were 'poor', so we donated the minimum. Maybe just US$10 for the 8 sessions.

Hi Cherryale,
yes you are right...my coll just told me that we should not stroke our tummy in circular motion as that encourages contraction. The recommended way is upwards or butterfly style.

I'm glad to be here. I have 3 guy colleagues their wifes are pregnant and due around out time. Was asking the daddies to-be instead of mummies to-be questions. Feels funny.

smurfy,
Thank you for the website. It's going to be helpful.

I'm glad to be here. I have 3 guy colleagues their wifes are pregnant and due around our time. Was asking the daddies to-be instead of mummies to-be questions. Feels funny.

smurfy,
Thank you for the website. It's going to be helpful.

Saphira, u must be drinking A LOT of water.. even at my worst, max I wake up once or twice to pee.. I try not to drink anything after 9pm and then I'll go and squeeze out my pee before I switch off the lights.

PVL, wah you're so lucky.. we paid for ours but it was a real eye-opener. My labour lasted for 24 hrs.. very shack. By the time I asked for epidural, I was only 3cm dilated after 20 hrs of labour.. sian or not? Then with the epidural, I dilated really quickly after that and was going to fall asleep when they told me I needed to push. Alamak, no energy already.

Dreading the 3rd tri when drinking one gulp of water makes you instantly wanna pee.

I also got probs on my face lately, ever since I got preggy. More breakouts & etc........ then my fren intro my this brand TouchSkin, then my blackheads reduced, pores also smaller & tigher & the skin is smoother.

Some get their results faster some slower. For me, it took me abt 2wks+ to c more results & feel the smoothness of the skin.

Though my skin still hv those previous scars bt it's getting lighter. & I m happy w/ the results. Bt the only thing is, I do nt know if the ingredients r suitable for me. I asked the consultant tare & she said it's ok, cos Vit A & E are on the mild side. Bt to play safe, I will bring & show my gynae nx week.

If you wanna know more pdts, can go to www.touchskin.com.sg. Consultation is free, only need to pay for products purchased.

Saphira, I hv nt bn taking for the past fw mths. Bt I think if u limit ur intake it shld b fine. Book says can limit your coffee to max 2 per day.

ah ger...i also got horrible breakouts..during first few weeks, even my back also kenna.
clothes my mil bought for me are all spag straps which i also dun dare to wear...sob sob. now clearing up a bit le, but some scars remained!

my chest area also got those pimply spots. They dun itch anymore bt the spots are still tare. Look so horrible.

My back also hv some pimply spots........

Applied Aloe Vera gel also din help much.

Sobs.......

Nw only managed to control the face a little, bt lately I've bn sick, then body is veyr heaty, hence I can c my face having pimples bt after tat I pressed them & they went off.

cherrybell & Ah ger, try eating food that are freshly prepared. Avoid canned, pre cooked and overnight food. I believe skin problems and sickeness is a way the body is trying to get rid of the toxics in our body.

Catz, not only my face kenna pimples but my neck and body also have. But dun think I'll want to spend money on it. Now I just apply pimple cream from GP and hope that they'll disappear asap.

Saphira, I got to wake up 2-3times every nite to go to the loo too. Guess our bb getting bigger so it's pressing on our bladder, thats why. I still take coffee once a while.

PVL, we shd have 'free' antenatal class in Spore also hor? Since the govt is encouraging us to give birth mah.

Ah ger, is their pdt safe for preg?

cherrybell, wow your mil must be quite young hor?

Hi ladies..

Feel much better today..at least can walk around the house n make my own breakfast..last 2 days hubby serve me from am to pm..hehe. Asthma is terrible..make sure yr kids dont get it!

Hi pvl..

I used to take becotide too..but I stopped it after 6 months, after my asthma improved, n after much prayer. I only get bad attacks if my flu go unchecked, like this time..cos immune is lower during pregnancy, n I didnt want to take any medication for the flu..so got worse. If not my asthma is almost non-existent..well that was previously before i got preggie when i exercised very regularly..now I take the blue inhaler almost once to twice a week..very very mild intermittent attacks.

Ok so u PM me yr fren's contact ok. Thanks!

hi ah ger

ur sore throat still there ah? how about trying some honey? It works on me. i mix some manuka honey in luke warm water (not hot water), and drink it before i go to bed. i drink it after i brush my teeth, the next morning feels much better.

I wonder am i normal.. i dont have to wake up to pee even if i drink water b4 going to bed.

could it be becos my womb is retroverted? thus minimal pressure on bladder?

stella, wah you're lucky..maybe the hormones didn't really act on your bladder so badly.. enjoy it!!

chloe, just wondering if you did fertility treatment or do multiples run in your family? Sorry ah, me kaypoh. For me, they thought my first pregnancy was twins 'cos got ultra high hCG and I took Clomid..hehe..

Giggler, you're lucky if the creams can help you! For me, I'm starting to scar already.. I've got very fair skin and I scar badly.

Saphira - I dun take overnight food + there's no overnight food @ my hse cos we dun cook. Hahahaha.......

Giggler - I asked the consultant, she said it's perfectly fine. Bt hb thinks I shld still consult my gynae, so nx Tues I will bring my pdts & show him lor, then my hb can zip his mouth. Once I know le, I update u, so that if u r keen, u can go & look for them. It's so convenient, they r located @ Orchard Plaza.

Chloe - I dun hv sore throat already. Thks for ur concern. Still having bad flu & cough + itchy throat.

Stella - dun wake up in the middle of the night to go toilet might b bcos b4 u slp, u dun intake alot of water? Or perhaps u can hold ur bladder well? Dun worry too much, everything shld b ok.

hi stella

me also having retroverted womb, and i do wake up to pee these days.

catz, yes, i did fertility treatment. heehee... and u are also right that multiples run in my family.

Hi stella..

No worry..actually I dont have to pee so often now too compared to 1st trimester..I read that 2nd trimester, the uterus start expanding more upwards n outwards..so relieve some pressure on the bladder.

Btw, u say yr fren gave birth natural w/o epidural right? Good right, very brave..

Hey but ladies, its achievable u know..Its not impossible leh..at least for most of us who dont have other medical conditions like high blood or complications like placenta previa. Im going towards that..natural w/o epidural..

U know my girlfriend, her twins was delivered naturally w/o epidural! And they were full term 36 weeks..so size wise her twins were quite big..n she's not very big sized. If she can do it, we can too..hehe.

Hi Charis,
I sent you a PM already. My asthma was practically non-existent in the States. But in Singapore, if I exercise too vigorously, I will feel that I can't catch my breath. If the air-con is too cold, also same thing. Funny smells, cigarrette smoke also same problem. What to do? I've had it since I was 6 months old. My 'attacks' are also really mild. Just a slight feeling of too much congestion. I deal with it before it becomes any worse although I'm sure if I left it alone, it would resolve on its own.

Giggler,
Yes, it's true. Govt should sponsor the antenatal classes hor?

Ah Ger,
My gynae did. He scheduled me for it, and there's an extra piece of paper in my appt booklet regarding it.

Some people are just sensitive to the pregnancy hormones and their skin breaks out.

Catz,
Yah. They even had models of the womb and newborn doll, to show how the baby crowns and emerges.

wow charis

ur friend very brave. Any idea wat's the weight of the twins? Really envy ur friend, i really wish i could carry mine till 36 weeks like her. For my case, no choice, sure have to do c-section, and very likely, i will want to do it under GA. i dun even have the guts to do the epidural c-section. i think i will be freaked out hearing my tummy being opened up and the medical crew's conversation amongst themselves...

i also go toilet to pee at least twice everynite. last week, there was one night i went like about 14, 15 times in 2 hours, no joke! and every single time is VERY urgent one....faint. my hubby found it "amusing" though, keep asking
"again??" *BISH

Hi pvl..thanks..I havent checked my email yet. Yr gal doesnt have asthma right..hope not. Some docs say its genetic..it maybe true..but I believe we can pray n break generational curses.

Ladies..

There's a motherhood seminar on 30 Sept. Details on motherhood website. Anyone interested to go? We can go together..Dont know if my hubby wants to go..its $25 per pax..no couple price. Refreshments included. There's a talk on photography, pre n post natal massage, n a talk on Pneumococcal disease.

cherrybell

could it be u r having Urinary tract infection? do u pass very little urine each time?

charis

yah, i keep telling myself i can do without epi.. since my mum and grandma can do it.

gals,

even during my first tri, i dont wake up to pass urine also.

Sometimes wanted to drink hot drinks but seems that there are a lot of things I can't drink. Too much milk make me feel bloated.

Chloe..

Haha..she's not the brave kind..but I know she say that she dont want to take epidural no matter wat..cos she heard a lot of bad side effects of epidural.

Hmm..I think her twins were around 2kg each..I remember they were big for twins, but small for singletons. Her next son, also natural w/o epidural..But all were induced. Now, she's expecting her 4th..a girl.

Yes..stella..be positive! I think we can first opt for natural w/o epidural..but what happens we dont know, sometimes end up must take epidural..but at least we try our best.

Pvl - oh, when did he schedule for u? Cos the las time I meet him was 15wk+ mah, maybe still early? Perhaps my visit nx wk he would hv scheduled for me liao?

wats retroverted womb?

Anyone delivering at Mt.A?

Mt. A antenatal class start from 24 weeks onwards. Im signing up. $100 plus, include refreshments..around 6 sessions in all.

stella, i got no other symtoms lei, could it still be uti? soemmore always quite a lot of urine...hehe, lucky only for that nite lah, nowadays better le..only twice a night.

Ah ger,
The detailed scan should be around wk 20. Mine was scheduled at my wk 12 visit. Last week was my wk 16 visit, he reminded me to see him immediately after the scan.

Charis,
My girl has eczema from both my hb and me. But asthma, not yet. We prayed very hard. And I breastfed for 18 months to minimise these things.

Saphira,
I don't restrict myself from eating anything now. Everything in moderation. Anyway, I can't really eat too much. Feel so big and bloated if I do. I don't really like pineapples, so I don't take that.

PVL..

Oic..hopefully her eczema goes soon as she grows older. Most of the time, there are triggers..I think u can try to look into her diet..she's on what kind of solids? Try not to eat pork, shellfish..

For me, I've been on the Jewish kosher diet for 2 years n my asthma n eczema has improved tremendously.

Hi everyone, good afternoon.

I do have problem like going to the toilet more often than usual. Esp at night...sometimes abt 2-3 times but i think it normal as the pressure from the bb.

Hi Cheerybell,
thanks a lot for sharing ur handsome prince pic with us
kao_kiss.gif
...wow..i'm not very professional (in my point of view) to tell whether that is a boy or not. but can't wait to going for my check up this sat...

Hi Charis, I've chosen to deliver at Mt.A but i'm not sure the antenatal programme u refer to is it the same as the one i 've pay a deposit at the clinic.

Hi giggler, it's alright already as Cherrybell has showed her handsome prince on the web with all of us. It's ok, I understand u 're bz. I just hope to get a glance of it so that i could be prepared to see what to see on this sat if possible.

Hi kaTIe..

Could be the one at Mt. A. Unless yr clinic does antenatal classes?

I've not sign up yet..but have to soon. How many weeks are u now?

Catz, not sure if the cream will work on me leh. I just tried it on Wed.

Ah ger, ok... I'll try the pdts if your gynae gives green light. Hehehe... Orchard Plaza is far for me leh.

Charis, wow... your fren is really capable to give birth naturally to twins.

PVL, actually I feel that the govt didnt provide enough to encourage birth lor.

Chloe, if possible, go to epidural c-section, you wont regret it. I had epi c-section and hb was with me so we could witnessed my gal once she's out. It's realy an amazing experience.

Saphira, you can still eat chocolates while preggie mah. Just take in moderation will do.

kkang, I've emailed to your hotmail acc.

Giggler, what cream are you using? I'm currently on Benzamycin 'cos Clindagel and Dalacin didn't work for me. :p

Saphira, don't think you need to avoid chocolates lah.. I would die!!

My first preg, I was really careful about what I ate and hubby watched me like a hawk. I'm not anyhow eating for this pregnancy lah but aiyoh, I'm so tempted to eat sashimi. Heard it's OK to eat as long it's from a reputable restaurant.. *slurp*

Charis,
me! I'm going to deliver at MT A...the package price has increased. Me also intend to take up teh antenatal course too, have you check it out already? Pls let me have more info...thanks

I may be going to Antenatal programme in Gleneagles Hospital unless TMC is better. Anyone been or going to Gleneagles for Antenatal programme?

Charis,
My girl had eczema from the earliest time. About 5 wks already, had eczema. She was on breastmilk exclusively for 1 year. I watched my own diet cos I too am allergic to shrimp. I doubt her eczema is diet related. Pple tell use not to eat chicken, pork, seafood, ikan bilis, eggs, milk etc etc. Everything also cannot eat. At the end of the day, I'll die of malnutrition. LOL. But I KNOW what I cannot eat and what foods trigger itching for me. Like me and my hb. Diet is only a part of the problem. The rest is enviromental, climate, stress etc etc etc. The list is endless. I'd better be a recluse and a hermit if I wanted to avoid the eczema. I think Sarah's is also like that. Hereditary. And it's only in her legs in a few specific spots.

Giggler,
Yah. Esp for our #1, and my being a SAHM. Didn't get a single cent from the govt for her. PM announced the benefits for those born after Aug 04. So Sarah missed out. Maybe she'll decide that she wants to take up US citizenship at this rate! hahahaha

Saphira

Chocolate - y cannot eat? I still eat bt nt recently lah cos I m sick then body is very heaty. Chocolate has milk mah, so can take abit also.

PVL: no leh, my gynae hasn't told me anything, bt he told me long ago, Wk 20 will do detail scan lor. Oh gals, nx Tues 12 Sep I will b on leave (can't use MC le lah cos MC so many days le, better use my own AL bt still thinking though).

Giggler - they are just like facial cleanser w/ cream & etc lor. Did u chk out the website? They have pricing also, I find it rather reasonable esp when you apply them, u dun need big qty.

I got my pdts thru my gf's coll though. Bt wat i did was I met up w/ her to let her analyse the skin for me. Then she helped me get the pdts. She wks nearby also, @ Raffles. IF u r really getting the nx time, wat I can suggest is, u get ur analysis @ the salon itself (oh, they r nt pushy kind), 1st purchase maybe u can buy tare (since u r there already) then subsequently IF u find them gd, I can help u get the pdts then I pass to u lor, since we wk so near also.

Catz - better dun take the risk arh....... reputable also u dunno hw they handle the food cos nt they eat anyway......... Just another fw more mths, just endure lor. So far I hv nv thought of eating sashimi @ all though.

Oh gals, if u all are keen on Jap sashimi buffet (of cos less the sashimi), IKOI @ Miramar Hotel serves very nice & fresh ones. Bt they dun hv soft shell crab & unagi lah. If u want, Honjin is another one though bt I find Honjin nt as nice.

did anybody watch the variety program by Tony Soh & Bryan Wong? They showed the prawn noodles - so nice............ *yummy* Bt then east side leh. The tim sum also look so yummy.