(2007/02) February

hmm, I feel paisay if I tell my gynae that I dun want him to do the amnio but still continue to see him after that since I already sign up a package with him. Also,the last time when I did D&C I also backed out from this gynae and asked my uncle to do for me instead. 15th sept is just 1 week plus away, wow, I can 'see' you grinning from ear to ear.

cherryale, yah I'm just trying to finish up my handover items *then* I'll walk outta here with a huge grin on my face. Unlike my prev job when I cried all the way to the car 'cos I had such great colleagues and a great job (going to US for a loong time so had to quit lah).. Aiyah, no need to paisay.. it's your tummy and your baby and I think your uncle sounds a lot more competent and reassuring than your package gynae lor.

HI all!
i am new here
i am due in feb 21 next year and feeling very excited! just went for a scan few days ago and doc have confirmed baby is 100% boy le.

yesterday went to kiddy palace and was overwhelmed by the number of things there and started to think about the things i have to buy soon...so i will soon have a lot of silly qns to post and ask all the mummies here for your advice! heehee

cathryn

HIHI!!!

yah bb items are indeed so cute... but dont overbuy..cos bb grows up very fast.

i got alot of hand me down to save cost and looking to buy some sec hand things from this forum as well.

try to borrow from friends who have the kiddy palace discount card, or wait till warehouse sale , or survey in neighbourhood shops. Sometimes, they order lower prices.

happy shopping

Catz...congrats on getting ur desire bb gender. so 1 boy & 1 gal can close shop already lah. Happy family.....

talking about MC, mine is also quite high. each time i visit gyane will ask for 1 day MC. Since bg of yr till now my MC alrady abt 10 days. 4 more days left to take to finish this calendar yr. Anyway...it's our entitlment wah...so dun peiseh in taking........

Seems like lot's of mum is not feeling well. Do take good care. Sleep more & drink plenty of water. Do not take any bu when sick cos it will go to waste.

Me .....my tummy became pretty big since bg of this wk. Weigh myself suddenly put on to 3kgs instead of 1.5kg last wk.

Wow..cherryale ...u got such good coll & boss. Definely u need to set good example to ur sub & work hard for the co.....for those co tt doesn't care & very cat....who cares.........

bitbit.....hope tt u get a princess so u can close shop also.....& be a SAHM.

me going for my check up 2moro....wonder can see bb gender or not. Am also very scare to know to gender leh.....thought of dun want to know but hb say nevermind lah ......

Hi all mommies / mommies 2 be,

Its my first time here and its so great to see so many of you out there sharing experiences and stories to one another. Im due on 5th Feb 07 and this is my first pregnancy. But I had a rough journey throughout my 1st trimester. My morning sickness was so bad until I couldnt eat a grain of rice. I lost 4 kgs in the first 3 months. Im currently in my 18th week and feeling much better. My last scan was a week ago but the doc couldnt confirm whether the gender of my baby cos during the ultrasound the baby was like dancing around. I hope to have a baby gal

hee! thanks stella for the warm welcome.

just a tiny little rant: i made the "mistake" of letting some pple know i prefer a girl before we know the gender..because they asked.

now after pple know is a boy, they keep asking, so happy or not, is a boy??! i say, yes of course, then they will go on to say i tot u prefer girl one, how come so happy now...?huh?....

i have no idea wat to respond to this kind of qn nei..? do i say i take back to God or refuse to give birth....? of course i have preference..but even if boy, i will love him all the same.

Haha sunsweet, I like your imagination. I hope my baby will not be that active if not Im gonna have a hard time until the 9th month

Speaking about MC, I have already burned out mine, as I was very weak for the first 3 months. I was downed with flu, fever and sore throat at first and then my morning sickness kicked in. so literally my immune system is way downnnnnnnnnnnnnnn. Then during my 8-9th week, I was rushed to the emergency as I discovered some spotting. At tht moment I was scared and thought tht my baby will not survive. Thank goodness the baby was ok. Luckily my boss and my superior are understanding enough and they do not blame me and show me any black face. I am thankful to them. So now Im using my annual leave as the replacement for my MCs.

hi cherrybell and mummy2b, welcome

mummy2b, your experience of 1st trimester is like mine.. for both my pregnancies, lost 5kg in first tri and perpetually ill.. but this 2nd pregnancy is harder than my 1st. Oh well, say goodbye to awful first tri.

JC, I'm sure you will want to know if you can see.. hehe.. then can plan mah.. My tum also seems to be bigger now.. putting on weight liaoz.

KKang, welcome.... can you leave your email here so that I can email you the scan? From my experience, boys can be known earlier than gals.

PVL, you dun intend to teach her earlier? Think some parents start teaching their kids violin once they turn 3yo.

Chloe, you also not feeling well? Must drink more water leh.

cherryale, your gynae will do the amnio for you personally? One of my col went to another clinic for the amnio instead. Dun need to be pai sei lah... if you feel more assured to let your uncle do the amnio test for you then just go ahead.

Catz, wow... so nice... can start counting down to 15 Sep liao.

cathryn, welcome and congrats on having boy!

JC, I realised I put on more wt these 2 weeks too. Though I'm sick and got no appetite to eat but wt still gg up leh. Hope you can see 'stick' tom...

mummy2b, welcome!!! You gg to go for detailed scan?

cherrybell, hahaha.. some pple will give really insensitive rmks lah, just ignore them

A big welcome to the newcomers!

kkang, this is my first born, but my situation a little different cos i am expecting 3 babies.

catz, thanks and yes, it is exciting preparing for 3 babies, just that it is very tiring as well. My cold has turn out to be a flu, so now flushing my system with lots of water, hopefully can relief the flu symptoms and get better soon. Wow, u must be looking forward to ur last day of work!! i am on no-pay leave currently, focusing on my preg since it is a high risk one. And i am glad i did that cos my work is stressful and pple are not appreciative. If i continue working at this stage, i think i will be very upset every day, so wat for? Babies more impt.

HI CHLOE

u on no pay leave till giving birth ???

yah,, since urs is high risk , u should rest more.

Giggler Am going for my detailed scan end of this month. So hopefully that time my baby will be able to show more. There are so many things to buy (and tempted to buy) since this is my first-born but am yet to know the gender so need to hold back for a while.

Chloe congrats! Cant imagine that u are having triplet and for me one already stressful enough. Really salute u! And I do agree that rest is very important. Work-wise, its a never ending story and nothing is more important and our own flesh and blood.

Catz, Giggler, you really think it is appropriate to let my uncle do the amnio? I am afraid that my gynae will mind since it does signify that I do not trust him. Also dun know whether my uncle mind or not, but of cos if I insist, he wouldnt say no to me...aiyoh, I think I am exhausted by all these decisions decisions that I have to make...stressed...

cherryale

All the best for ur amino test. Like wat the gals said, best to get a gynae whom u are confident with to do it for u, cos amino test involves some risks.

stella, yalor, and i'm glad i did that! Already not happy working there, so good time to take a break. Moreover, for triplets, dr will advise rest starting from week 20, cos high risk of pre-term labor. i kiasu, started taking leave before that. i am now in week 18, and dr already warned me no unnecessary shopping! Looks like hubby got to help shop for babies' stuff now. But occassionally, i think i will still "sneak" out with hubby to look see look see, just make sure dun exceed 2 hours, cos very tiring to walk with jelly legs nowadays.

mummy2b, thanks, and yes, very tiring to carry triplets, got to maintain positive mental attitude to carry on with the preg.

I'm looking for gown to buy/ rent for my sis-in-law's wedding next month.. any where I can start shopping for?

Welcome newbies to this thread!

Sunsweet,
Try Maternity Exchange. It's at Specialists Shopping Centre somewhere.

Giggler,
I'm not sure when I'll start Sarah on the violin. Have to see her fine motor skills, self-discipline and interest.

JC,
My tummy also seems to have become more protruding over the last few days. And I haven't been eating any more than usual. I hope not to put on too much wt this pregnancy. Cos I am heavy enough. Hehehehe.

gals, 2day I can chat liao! yest after posting tat miserable post, my mouse suddenly kena heart attack then died.

Hence I can't do anything for the whole afternoon.

Guess u all must b away for lunch. Let me read thru prev postings.

welcome all the new entries (sorry, 4got the new names)! *clap*

Talking abt MC? After today, my total # of days taken would be 13 days already. Imagine June I was this sick also, & also took 4 days, nw 3.5 days.

Jia lat. Heng it's only every 1/4 like tat, if nt sooner or later boss is gng to ask me to pack up liao.

Sunsweet - like what Giggler said, Maternity Exchange has clothes on rental. Depending on how you want the dress/ gown to look like. Otherwise, u can go to those Maternity shops & get a nice simple dress that wouldn't cost u much either, & you get to kip the dress.

Talking abt weight gain, dun seem to gain alot + I m sick this few weeks. Dun put nvm, I only hope tat bb is still continuing to grow healthily. Maybe the bb the trying to help me gain lesser weight? Ha ha ha...

Chloe, I think taking NPL for you is a good choice, esp with triplets.. gosh. Do make sure you rest well and well, with online shopping these days, you'll barely need to leave the house

PVL, same as you.. I would be super obese if I don't watch my diet :p As it is, I'm already 63kg and gaining... erks.

Ah Ger, aiyoh, your poor mouse.. so are you feeling better?

cherryale, you're the patient, you have a choice!! Anyway, if you're too stressed, then just go with the appt.. you'd also better try to rest well and think happy thoughts.

afternoon gals
wah alot of postings...... i speed read hor... cos feel very down....
currently have rashes all over my body... red patches & little red bumps.... so gross.... went to see doc said is eczema.... allergic to something.. but i not sure what i allergic to...

i very scared....hope it wont affect my baby.... hoping the rashes wont get worse & wld recover soon....
507823.gif

gals, I passed by EYS just nw, saw 15% off for birds' nest for non-members. It's those bottled up type, where u just need to take a tablespoon every night, can last 1wk+ 2wks. Members can buy @ 20% tis mth.

My throat has got slightly better, bt flu & cough remain. Hv an itchy throat nw though.....

Catz, my mouse arh, revived many times b4, bt yest sudden attack, so no choice lor. Hb came bac @ night to revive still cannot. Just nw went outside buy a new one lor.

Ah Ger, dun like the EYS birds' nest.. still prefer to take the Lo Hong Ka wan..lagi shiok

nana, aiyoh, eczema very itchy..my friend always kena very bad eczema attack during pregnancy yet she can tahan and go for #3!

seems like many pple sick these days...do take care girls! drink more water and rest while u can.

just went downstairs during lunchtime to watch my colleagues swim (they came over to my house). even sitting under the shade made me perspire so much~

nana, can put some calamine lotion? maybe it will help?

Nana, did you take any 'new food' lately? Which is why you had rashes? Or is it because it's time to change bedsheet? My hb has rashes also if we 4get to change our bed sheets. Did the doc give you cream and apply? In the meantime, perhaps try to eat more healthy stuff and monitor if the rashes go off.

Eczema - once kena, will hv it on all preg meh? Or it may just so happen to b tat preg?

Weather is so hot!& I realised my MBR aircon is no long cold, as in to me! I kip asking hb - aircon so warm........ he asked "ware got?" Imagine I can perspire during my slp leh...... yet hb is all covered up bt I hv to push my quilt cover to one side & slp w/o it.

catz/ ah ger/ cherrybell
the doc gave me a cream to apply lo..... & a medicine to eat for the itchiness... is antihistamine...
actually hor it started last week.....a little bit near the belly button there....thought it wld go off....but then it got worse....now already "can bu ren du".... *wails*

i cant think of anything new i ate leh..... except the nutrisoy drink with brown rice one.. but hor.... how come can be allergic to that... sigh...

Nana - if u wanna take the risk, you can try buying that and drink when you recover, and see if you get rashes again. Tats the way to find out if you are allergic to tat. It could be some other ingredients contained inside that you are sensitive to, bt nt the soy nor the brown rice.

I wanted to try that flavour also, is it nice?

I noticed Nutrisoy's soy bean tasted abit weird leh, I dun like. I prefer Marigold's. NTUC's expiry date is also faster, if I know I can't finish on time then I wun buy it.

Yest when i went to c the doc, I almost "fainted". Rem las wk I was sick, I went to c doc also? The Raffles doc gave me Dhasedyl for cough syrup. Bt it din help me. So yest when I was @ the clinic below my hse, I asked the doc, wat cough syrup is he giving me cos I had Dhasedyl, bt it din relieve me @ all. He said "preggy shldnn't b taking Dhasedyl @ all."

I paused for awhile, & told the doc, tat the prev doc knew I m preg, so can't b giving me something nt suitable right? Then he said, in anycase, just stop the med. I told him I finished the whole btl liao lor.

Thereafter, I was so scared, worried tat something may happen to the lil one inside. So I called my gynae's clinic. Then the nurse assisting him took my call. She said they also prescribe Dhasedyl to their patients, no need to worry.

*PHEW* I tell u, a big rock was released frm my chest man. Thank goodness!

ah ger,
it is not too bad...... u can try it....
ya maybe wld do so if i recover......but hor... so wasted.....cos my hubby dun like to drink... i hope the rashes wont get worse & wld go away soon..... sigh...
i going KL this fri somemore.....

i logging off le.... going to have lunch & maybe rest abit... doc advise to drink lots of water... & sleep it off..... cos when sleeping then dun feel the itch so much.....

have a good day, gals!!

nana, sometimes allergy can occur anytime even though in the past you may not have any problem with the particular type of food. Try to ensure that your body is clean and dry thoroughly after bathing. Stop the nutrisoy drink and brown rice and see if it stop. In the meantime, just try to bear with the itch. Hope u get well soon.

Ah ger, thot wat happened to u. Are u still resting at home or back to office already? There are quite a number of people with gastric flu, one of my colleague brought her daughter (14mths) to COMEX and a kids party and ended up now daughter has stomach flu. So try not to go to crowded places. I still feel cold at times leh, but sometimes I can feel my body heating up. For experienced mums, when do you start to heat up?

Catz, I think i will just go with my gynae lah, if not, lagi stressed. My uncle already said I am splitting hair over something like that.

Hi ladies..

Thanks for yr concern.

Im back..yesterday didnt log in..cos I was very sick..I saw the GP on Mon nite, he said my lungs sounded real bad..so no choice go on the nebulizer..gave me other stuff like anti-biotics, cough mixture..But the asthma worsen Tues early morn..my dear hubby so worried, n lovingly took leave to take care of me..Was so breathless..so bad that we contemplate going to the A & E..

After asking for prayer from our church elders, we decided to jus see the GP again..n he gave another round of nebulizer, which helped slightly..n I started to take the meds after double checking with my gynae.

Both gp n gynae say baby is not affected by the asthma nor the meds. Was quite worried..I think my baby had a rough time rising up n down in my tummy..cos of my heavy breathing n cough! Haha.

Well as u can see, I feel better that's why can chat..but still cant do any housework..hehe.

Hi ah ger..

How are u feeling? Cough recovering already?

HI pvl..

Oh ya..I read yr post from yesterday..So u know Thomas Teh is it..he's the one i/c of IBLP. Yes..could u PM me yr fren's contact. Also, is there anyway I could take a look at the program books..from a website or something? Thanks.

cherryale

once I m sick, I get really sick one. Very bad....... nw @ hme, bt gng back to wk 2mr leh. Lotsa things waiting for me to clear leh, early of the mth somemore....

Wow...a lot of posts updated in the morning.

Hi giggler, my email add is [email protected]

Hi Cathryn,
Congrats to u. You got a bb boy.

Hi Chloe,
Congrats in having a triplet. ypu must be a great mother-to-be. It must be very tiring n difficult than most of us. Do rest well and stay cheerful ok. The little angels (ur bbs)would love u and bless u good health. "so little triplets...got to be good and not to tire mummy too much ok".

hi Ah ger,
I think most pregnant woman would feel hot at a later stage as their tummy gets bigger...so it's ur temperature goes higher. Tell hubby to switch the air-con to lower temp and love u more to be more understanding that you r expecting his angel because of him.

Hi nana, avoid eating seafood or those sensitive food items. Drinks lots of water.

Lastly, my MC also very high. beginning i got D 7C got 2 weeks MC, next pregnancy in May, also had terrible 1st trimester, wanted to have a lot of rest but my work is demanding so i persever. did tell gynae to give me MC but i think he did not hear me as i told hime i got headache now my 2nd trimester got dizziness. Got to rest more. Colleagues and heads are very understanding. Think i have abt 18 days of MC already.
but for bb sake...i have to take good care of my health.

All mummies to be or mummies, rest well. Really envy those SAHM as they need to show discipline in themselves to take care of their kids. For me? I think after a few mths, I would be bored and would be at the gym most of the time to see handsome instructors.

Hi cherrybell,

I understand how u feel. All of us have preferences. Whether it is a boy or a girl, we can't decide as it was a gift given by god as long as the bb is healthy.

I know that you would still give the same amt of love to ur little bb. Remember 2 live happily n welcome ur bb so that the bb would come out 2 be a cheerful, handsome and obedient boy.

Charis

Aiyoh, u also feeling so sick......... *bless u*

Me arh - still coughing alot, bt I try to cough less, if nt chest pain leh. My cough is those when u try to cough out the phlgem, you tend to wanna go toilet, jia lat right? My cough gets worse @ night. Flu is still as usual, bad.

Hi ah ger,

is ur cough the cold one or the heaty one. try drink warm water instead of room temp water.

wow...ur cough is really serious as when u cough, u would throw out. Must take good care of ur health. See doctor already? Looks like our immune system are not so strong. Me sneeze a lot too n light flu. Try to stay away from medicine as preggy women cannot take normal medicine, not good for bb. I Think u need a lot of rest to recover. even though you do take medicine, not enough rest would take a longer time to recover . Hope to hear u well soon.
kao_smile2.gif

Ah ger..

Oic. If yours is bad, doc didnt prescribe antibiotics? I got antibiotics..no choice must take..I have a chest infection, from the flu n the asthma.

I have pain near the pubic bone too at the front..really odd kind of sharp pains..Anyone experienced that lately? I checked it out on the net n books..n it seems like its like joint pain..cos of the hormones progesterone that softens the joints n ligaments..esp around the pelvic area, n which also may cause backache as baby grows heavier..

Im monitoring it..n if it persists I better check with gynae.

KaTle, the aircon is nt extremely warm lah, bt just dunno hw cme I would perspire las night. Ha ha ha.....

Weather so warm already still drink warm water? Will die leh...........

Charis, I did ask, he said no need antibiotics for nw. Better avoid as much med as possible lah. Once my flu & cough gets better, I will stop the med also.

charis, yah if chest infection, need to take antibiotics.. last time I kena until bronchitis so now whenever I start wheezing, will hv to use inhaler to breathe. Salbutamol is OK for preggies but Ventolin is not, I think. Or is it the other way? Hehe.. blur already.

Ah Ger, think your aircon is aiming directly at your hubby.. keke.. my aircon not cold, need to go and service. By 3rd tri, you will be like a penguin and your hubby will hv to wear winter clothes.. bey tahan, very HOT!

mummy2b, must learn to control and not over-buy.

cherryale, to me, the most impt thing is the assurance lor. What does your hb think? Dun be too stress with all this lah, just follow your heart?

Chloe, have u put on much wt?

PVL, think Sarah will more or less have interest in violin bah since she got exposure to music.

nana, the doc also got no clue what cause you to have eczema?

Ah ger, I usu call gynae before I take any medicine prescribed by the GP.

Charis, is your asthma better liao?

Catz - the aircon swings, & I get the cold air also, bt dunno y hb feels colder than I do. ha ha ha, he gotta wear winter clothes. Yeah yeah, I think so too.

Giggler, usually I dun call. The doc will specify on the btl tat it's safe for preg. Then during my nx chk up then I will show. Bt Raffles tat one, no indication bt I told him on the spot I m preg tats y he can't b stupid until give me wrong med right?

Hmm..anyone knows about pubic bone pain during pregnancy?

I saw from the net that many women complain about it.

Hmm...I've no idea of what is that. Just know that i do have some back ache problem if i stand too long.My sis says i might have wear too much of high shoes in the past therefore now having back ache.

Hi Catz,
My air-con is installed right in front of my bed, I did not let it swing as i've been feeling hot at times too. Can you try shifting the properller to face ur direction so u get the cool air too when it is not swinging.