(2007/02) February

Wah..my fren end of 2nd trimester..she already put on 10kg! Another fren put on 6kg end of 2nd trimester. I guess its really how much food u are eating..cos baby's weight at 2nd tri. is only around 500grams-1kg only.

U know I was checking on the net on birth stories..n most western women dont have episiotomy cos a lot of them engage doulas..
It seems in general vagina more or less confirm tear..but perineum not neccesary will tear..n big babies does not mean will tear very bad..some women small babies also tear bad. I guess it depends how well u stretch..so perineum massage helps..n proper breathing n pelvic techniques during delivery helps a lot.

my friend lagi cham.. every day guzzle 2litre of full cream choc milk and gained total 30kg!! end up her baby was like almost 4kg and she tore very badly..

Charis, dunno leh but my friend's mom who's a gynae says that ang moh ladies can stretch more down there whereas asians tend to tend, hence episiotomy lor.

Catz..

Wah..30kg..oh no!

Ya lah..dont know why ang moh so steady..I think one thing that helps is they do a lot of Kegels n pelvic exercise..cos they got a lot of support from midwives n doulas even before birth..who are more pro-natural n more patient. Gynaes tend to be chop chop, very medical..esp our local gynaes right.

Im thinking of engaging a doula like that leh..But must discuss with hubby cos its more cost.

But my hubby was saying..we can do it..n he is a very assertive kind..he'll insist if gynae try to 'bully' me..to decide out of my birth plan..but scare my hubbby also freak out when time for delivery haha.

Ah ger, you having sore throat? Me too also got UTI so GP gave me mc for yday and today.

Catz, its gd that the med works for you. I only put on 8kg the prev preg and managed to lose all within 2mths cos of bfg leh. I also see the benefits of bfg and hope that I can bf as long as I can this time round too.n 30kg is a lot leh!!! Your fren managed to lose her wt?

smurfy, your boss really funny leh Are those pix very gross?

ck, I got pple asking if Im preg and offer seat to me leh. So grateful for it cos me was feeling so tired that day.

doggy, same as smurfy, I got the feeling if I eat the wrong things, like too cooling etc. My breasts also bigger this time round.

Giggler, wah you're very lucky to hv ppl offer seats to you!!! Yah I'm glad that I can finally sleep better lor.. my friend hor, she took a really long time to lose all that weight.. then after that, got pregnant again.. haha

Charis, hmm.. check whether your gynae works with doula 'cos not all gynaes welcome doula into the delivery suite leh.

Yup catz..I better ask him first..

Giggler..wah good lah..i so far not offered any seat yet..haha. But my back aches when I stand or sit too long.

giggler
how come UTI at this stage? Ai yoh, u better be careful n take the medications. After that, can continue with cranberry juice onz and off for maintenance regime k? UTI beri uncomfortable n coz it's near/at the uterus, must be ultra careful.

the pics definitely gross lor, imagine skin of finger being scrapped off leaving bones coz wearing rings when dealing with moving machines.

hi gals....wat a sian day. This am kenna back step by one coll. Aiya.....she is so one kind one anyway not the 1st time already...used to it.
How i wish i can quickly quit dun hv to wait till after ML. But ahh,....see how the situtation lah. Ren ...ren...anyway definely will quit aftre ML.

giggler...grink plenty of water & flush it out so can recover faster.

jc
yep yep endure! endure!

Question:

Does the taste of plain water still taste weird? I dun like to drink plain water even till now. So most of the time, I am drinking very diluted ribena. Other times is fruit juices, tea, can drinks without ice, soups.

Smurfy..

U still need to drink water..try at least 3-4 glasses a day..or 500ml of mineral water..try drinking cold plain water or warm..lukewarm may taste funny.

Hi smurfy,
i dun like to drink water too coz my tongue like very bland. Like wat charis suggested, drink cold or warm one. i also feel lukewarm taste funny. but hor, i only drink 2 small cups per day...

Drinking enough water, not too much..helps to prevent water retention..n have enough salt too..if not have swollen feet..

Catz/Charis, I also very surprised that the lady bothered to ask if Im expecting and offered me the seat.

Catz, your fren no bad leh at least she managed to lose the wt.

smurfy, I also not sure why I got UTI at this stage leh.

JC, now drinking plenty of water so got to go toilet more often.

How's everyone? i've not been logging in for a while, cos i was putting up at my mom's place and there's no internet access. Might not be able to login so often now.

gals, an update on my review last week. Babies are well, 16weeks, about 10cm. One of them is a boy, one suspected to be a boy, and one is a big question mark cos he/she was not coorperative (backfacing us). Now hubby keeps teasing me that all are boys... urgh... i hope at least got one gal else cannot buy nice picky clothes liao. Hopefully will see more clearly during the next scan. Watever gender, still my babies, and i love them all. This week will be my 17th week! Time flies

gals,

Zoe Tay I think she put on abt 11 - 12kg leh cos tat time I heard one. Then if u c the Extrim ad her b4 birth weight was low 60s, then when she took the Extrim, she went dwn to 48 or 49kg.

bt someware I read she put on 18kg. Def cna't b 6kg only, cos her 2 papayas already hw heavy le.

I drink lotsa water everyday, in the ofc abt 1.8L, @ hme also abt 2L. I m a water gallon. Ha ha ha......... Bt drink alot also must make sure u go toilet & release everything lah.

Cloe - congrats on successfully seeing @ least 1 of them. Really hope u can get mixed gender so tat u dun hv to stress w/ all 3 boys. *cross-fingers* for u.

My nose - still as blocked. Took med, nw waiting for it to take effect then I can slp whole night thru lor.......... I hv prob taking drowsy med, always, cos I take long time to make myself sleepy.

Anyway I will try to come in 2mr & chat if possible...........

Hi Chole,
wow, so happy for you....wish i can be like you..give birth to 3 at 1 go and close shop..haha. Take care..

morning everyone,
another boring day...nothing to do and always sit aimlessly, waiting for time to pass...going for my gynae visit this sat and will need to do blood test...guess most of you have already done that...

I am back to work today. Yesterday was my gynae checkup and also did the blood test. Baby growing well and....its a boy! Actually I was hoping for a gal, so when I saw from the u/s a penis-like thing sticking out, I pretended not to see. But soon after that gynae said'its a boy, see the penis.' I think I was very emotional and actually cried cos all these while i have been hoping and planning for gal though of cos I will still love my boy. Gynae has to console me that boy or gal is the same. Hb is very happy, think he went round telling his friends that he will have a boy soon.

Ah Ger, hee.. cannot trust what Zoe says lah.. very fed up with all her backpeddling rgd her confinement, her bf etc.. to me, she has zero credibility lor.

Chloe, mummy's pampering is the best, isn't it? Wah your 3 babies are doing so well..lucky girl!

Starlite, shockingly, my friend did not kena GD leh! But of course it's not nice to be such a HUGE pregnant penguin waddling around. For the 2nd pregnancy, she did watch her weight.

Drinking water - now I can drink lukewarm water already but my pref is still for cold cold drinks
Trying not to drink so many sweet drinks if not sekali GD siah...

Giggler, hope your UTI goes away quickly.. it's horrible having to pee and got blood etc..

chloe,
glad that all ur 3 bbs are doing fine

cherryale,
congrats on having a prince

doggy
me oso going to see the gynae this sat, at TMC.

cherryale, I think I may hv the same feelings as you.. but congrats that your boy is growing well! Now I'm waiting for 4th Sept for my turn to see.. really hv no 'feeling' whether boy or girl whereas with first pregnancy, was very sure that it was a boy and I was right!

hmmm, i got no feeling whether its boy or gal too tho alot of my friends like catz, got the "feel"!

HI Cherryale, congrats and as long as bb is healthy, be happy
how many weeks are you in? wonder can i see mine this sat! my colleagues all are betting on whether me will have a boy/gal...haha

Catz, guess u will want a gal given that u already have timo.

doggy, I am 15 weeks. As long as baby is in the right position, it is quite easy to see. Mine was very very clear. I even asked gynae is he 100% sure its boy and no chance it will be a gal, he said Yes. My colleagues (those who know) all commented that mine will be a boy from couple weeks back. Dun know whether this is a tell-tale sign, I have a couple of zits here and there and its at the jaw, side of the nose area. That was one reason why they speculated that its boy.

hi cherryale, me in my 15th week too...i very anxious leh! my hb can tell like boy coz he is the only son(got pressure lah) but i like gal....so stress leh. anyway, i always tell my bb must be healthy
hopefully my bb will be in good position this sat. i dreamt abt having a gal and my hb not happy in my dream.....sigh!

cherrydale, congratulations.. U cry becos is a boy huh?
I saw mine on the 12 weeks, something sticking out. Doc suspect a boy too. I wanted a gal as well. But I am going to visit my gynea this sat for checkup and to DOUBLE-CONFIRM again :p

Hi ah ger, ZOE tay's papaya are HUGE. Heard she cook some soup for herself and that soup helps her to have "lots" of milk for her bf preparation.

Hi doggy, i am going to see Dr hoe as well..

Doggy, my hb is the eldest son in a family with 3 sons. My inlaws know that I want gal, so when my hb informed FIL yesterday, he said'nevermind, as long as baby is healthy and normal.' Its my hb who always wanted a boy. Now we got to think of boy's name instead of what we originally wanted.

cherryale, acherly it's my hub who wants a girl and I want another boy - 'cos Tim has A LOT of nice clothes..heh.. and on a serious note, I don't want my girl to inherit my PCOS (easy to gain weight, acne, fertility problems). But then again, it was all decided 14 wks back during conception lor.

no mood to work liao... but really should hand my stuff over swee swee lei..

hi cherrydale,

Not sure whether is true. Heard from the old ladies' folktale that if hubby is in a family of ALL boys and if hubby is the eldest, then first child from hubby is a BOY . But is true for our side.

My first sister's hb is in a family of all sons and her hubby is the eldest. First baby is a BOY. My second sis's hb side also is in a family ALL sons. His eldest brother 's first child is a BOY as well.
My hubby side is in a family of ALL sons and my hubby is the eldest. I am having a bb boy.

Strange isnt it..

chloe,

congrats ... can see one of your bb sex ..

updates,

i bought 3 tops, 1 dress and 1 skirt from PM ..
total is 206 dollars ..

cherryale,

maybe look forward for the next one ..

Ah ger,

u really drinks alot of water leh...i normally boil 1.7L of water in office everyday, but usually will left around 500ml like that.

i always pass alot of urine when i drink water esp. in office.

cherryale, chloe,

Congrats on having boys....I feel that this year still alot of pple giving birth to boys leh....If you read the Jan thread, there are 12 boys and 11 gals the last i read. So its like a tie....

Not sure how the Feb thread will fare in comparison. I find this interesting as slowly the gender of each of our bb starts to show.

last nite my hubby went to see old doc ..

doc giving partial refund ..

amount is 290 ..
so for my next visit with dr tham .. i can sign up package and dun need to fork out lots liao ..

doggy,

me also haven't blood test yet ..
but i think 11th sept i'll do the blood test ..

wow...ck...guess u enjoy ur shopping yesterday.

cherryale.....congrats...not bad 15 wks can see gender already. me going gynae visit on 7 Sep, by then will be abt 16 wks+. hopefully can see lah.

doddgy....me also like you ...nothing to do. wait for time to pass.

Chole......good tt all 3 bb growing well and i hope that u really do have a mixture of boy & gals. so u can close shop already......

Starlite, for Jan 05, it's like 80% boys, only 4 girls amidst all the boys. Even when my son was in the nursery at TMC, there were 12 boys and just 1 little girl.. so weird. Heh.

ck, glad that you're getting partial refund from your idiot ex gynae!!

Chloe, congrats on having boi! Hope your wish come true that one of your kids is gal.

Ah ger, you shd rest more for your flu to recover.

doggy, I'll only do my blood test next mth. Usu the dream and reality is opp one leh. Hehehe

cherryale, hahaha... you so cute leh. Congrats on having boi! Same here got zits all over my face, esp my jaw and chin. Maybe that's the sign of having boi?

Catz, there's no blood in urine lah, just that I got tummy ache and keep having the urge to go toilet.

Starlite, ya, we'll be able to know if we have more boi than gals soon.

ck, it's nice of your old doc to refund you money for your package.

HI JC,
Me still staring...!!!

hmm, i went to take a look at Jan thread, now is 12 biys & 12 gals. maybe we should ask Koh to start updating our list too...so excited!

I have a coll who is expecting a gal and she actually wanted to abort it as she feel she wont love her...coz she wanted a boy so badly. i feel rather sad after hearing wat she said...

doggy...ask ur friend dun do tt. boy or gals also our kids. doesn't mean tt boy is better then girl. These days they are all the same.
of all ur friend knows ...this daughter of hers will take care of her & be filial to her.

Gender is not an issue......is the upbringing & personality

octbride, I heard about this family genetics theory too. Seems quite true for my friends and of cos now me. Actually our family predominantly boys, so chances of boy is very high according to this theory.

ck, I also hope that next one can be gal but no one knows lah, at the end of the day if I can have two kids who are healthy and cute, that will be the most important. Good that u got a partial refund! Who knows he is damn used to such requests..given his service level.

Catz, I am praying hard that baby will not inherit the genetical illness that we may have in the family such as asthma etc.

JC, hopefully u can know the gender of your baby at your next visit. Before the visit, I told baby tat he/she must be cooperative and let mummy knows whether its boy or girl. Then baby really very kwai, lie there in the perfect position for gynae to detect. He also measured baby's head, thighs and stomach yesterday, so quite a detailed check.

When are you gals starting prenatal classes?? Gynae gave me a pamphlet and ask me to attend the classes if I have time. Also, he said it is now safe to do light exercise like swimming, walking and of cos sexual intercourse.

doggy, thought usually ppl want girl to sayang them!! boys aren't as affectionate lor.. aiyoh, whatever it is, boy or girl must love the same

Giggler, you're lucky that they could quickly diagnose the UTI even though no bleeding.. 'cos quite dangerous if not diagnosed hor?

Zits - aiyoh, I went to see my dermatologist and so many treatments are not suitable for preggies. So trying out Benzamycin for my breakouts (quite bad 'cos never sleep well, plus work stress)..hope it works. See lah, one pregnancy, end up having to see not just gynae but sleep specialist and dermatologist. Pai mia hor?

cherryale, think I'm exempt from prenatal classes..heh.. already been through very comprehensive ones in the US for my first pregnancy. Will just attend the 'refresher' at TMC after delivering (the nurses will come round to the wards to round everyone up to see live demonstration on bathing baby)..heee

Speaking of genetics

my hb family lots of boys ... my late grandparents in law says whoever give birth to gal will be prosperous..haha. True enuff, my father in law bros who have daughters are very well off. heehee

cherryale,

ya .. can't choose ...
but there's this brochure ... they guarantee 99 percent success of whether gal or boi ..
u can get it from the doc's clinic for reference .. also no medication .. just some charting ..

doggy,

dun stress okie ...
sometimes is about chances of the X reaching to the ovum first ..
dun worry too much ... but why your hubby so pro boi ?

hi ck
guess he is the only son and hope to have a son! at least "answerable" to my in laws coz my in law very old fashion...this is wat i guess lah. Imagine my MIL has given birth to 10 gals and she manage to have him as the 11th!!!!!