(2007/02) February

giggler, I am lao za bar liao, maybe after the #2 (C-sec) have to close shop liao. You young lah! I so scare of pain, and probably I am old liao so the wound might take longer time??
496868.gif

Hi almondjelly,
I have got a CL for 28 days, costing me $2400 excluding angpow. Very very expensive. So far only paid $200 deposit, so if I decided not to have in the end, then just forfeit it.

Charis, your MIL helping you to do confinement huh? Will it be convenient or not since I thot after giving birth our emotions may be a little haywire and may take it out on people around us??
My MIL took epidural for her 3rd son,now she got back problems and have been spending thousands see chiropractor.

Giggler, Octbride, what is the positive effects of cordyceps? You boil it with black chicken is it? I will ask gynae next week whether safe to take chinese herbs or not, if yes, I will also like to buy cordyceps.

giggler,

ya .. got think of tat .. but everytime i go doc i forget .. and recently dun have such symptom .. i'll ask him next time round ..
next appointment is like 2 weeks + from now ..
still quite some time to go ..

almondjelly,

i won't be getting confinement lady also ..
i find it too exp ..
my mum will be my mum cum confinement lady ..
ha ha ..
my mum want's to ask me go back for 3 months ...
then my MIL think wanna hire maid ..
but i think i want to continue my study ..
dunno if i can make it ...

Hi cherryale..

Ya..maybe a bit inconvenient..but my own mum cant do it..she's working. Anyway, im staying with my in laws..we quite close. I guess maybe emotional..but must learn patience..n try to be at peace lah..for baby's sake also..n hubby's sake too..n for GOD also..must be good example to my in laws as a Christian.

hi bit bit,

thank you so much.. my problem is i cannot do my check up on weekdays office hrs so i got to take up the TPS... is it expensive?

anyway thanx a lot for the link u found for mi...

din know cordycep are so expensive! wow, u gals paid so much for it? My coll who owns a medical hall, quote me $230 for 1 liang i thot expensive liao....wow, who knows you gals actually paid more! OK, at least i can buy from him now...more fan xin...really din expects so exp

kekeke i dunno it is so expensive.

my mummy ask me which one i like to start first, i told her bird's nest, coz bird's nest sweeter and good for skin
~

kekeke she will even use those charchoal type and double boil..

Hi Mummies to be, can I check does anyone of you conceived after taking TCM? If so, do you still continue to go back to the TCM doc when you are pregant and take the medicine? Becos, my TCM doc request that I do so. Any advise?

today i everywhere pain

Sit too much, buttocks pain.
cross my legs, upper thighs pain
walk ard a lil, lower limbs pain
use pc too much, shoulders pain

think i tonite go home, just lay in bed, dun move oredi :x

jinglebun

I'm not sure, but my guess is that ur regular TCM doc is giving ur "an tai yao". Shld be different as when u r trying to conceive lor?

Last time I tried TCM at Ngee Ann Medical Center for other issues, the medication and dosage changes everytime i go down, depending on health conditions.

hi smurfy

so poor thing. Everywhere also pain. Think u better go home early rest.

Eu Yan Seng sell is ex la.. but the cordycerps are of bigger size and out 4 pieces can already. I bought from ZTP 300 bucks and drink 5 times only. Also 1 liang

bitbit, I'm not young lah, over thirties liao. Most prob, I'll also close shop after this one.

cherryale, not very sure abt the benefits of cordycerps leh. I leave those tonic to my sil to take care for me.

ck, I suggest that you note down your qns somewhere if not you sure forget one.

doggy, your fren gave you very gd discount.

smurfy, aiyo... think you really sick liao.

did anyone know when to attend YOGA class for pple like us. I heard massage can make us sleep well so anyone know where can have it?

hello gals...

bitbit,
we r all young lar....as long as stay young at heart...keke... at least u have kid le... i only having my 1st one now...

gals,
i also not having CL.... most likely PILs wld be coming over from KL to help.... i dun fancy the idea of stranger in my house one...heee... also, CL is super ex cos of CNY period...

cherryale, ya.. she's my hb's sis. I must agree that she really nice to me lor. Do you know that she has been helping me with housework since hb & I got married? Initially just helped me with the common area except my bedroom, now she literally clean up my whole flat twice a week.

ralliart, think we can start pre-natal yoga now if you want. You gg to join?

nana, the cost of CL is really ex during CNY period. Now I wonder if those cf catering jack up their price during CNY period or not. Sigh.....

giggler...

i think caterer also jack up price leh... plus some dont do delivery on 1st few days of cny. dont say caterer jack up price, ,market stalls also jack up price

Giggler, how old is your sil? She stays with u and hb? I always thot staying with sil is problematic but seems like in your case, she is truly a blessing. Yah, to spend a few k on CL really seems so expensive, but i worried that my mum cant handle leh. She has not taken care of baby for so many decades, so actually i dun know whether i can 'trust' her or not. very bad of me to think this way of my mum but dun know leh, just worried that she cant handle.

Cherrydale

i also worried cos my mum also never take care of newborn b4.. me and my bro are taken care by maternal grandmother. BUt at least she knows how to carry /bathe/feed newborn lah..

my mil worst, after giving to 3 children, she told me she dunno how to carry and bathe bb...

well...i think we cannot expect them to be expert, its a journey and we have to learn along the way

giggler,

i remember but then when i see the doc ..
i'm soo excited over the scan ..

dun talk about my previous doc la ..
he ah ..
jab me already said "bye"
u think got chance to ask ?

u got a nice sil ...

i'm currently staying with my mil ..
she dun do house work one .. only clean the altar and prayer and wash her clothes..
so everything me and hubby "pao" all ..
half half ..
he he ..
ever since i'm preggy .. everything i also close one eye ..
only clean twice a week for bedrooms..
u know my hubby also super lazy .. only clean the floor once a week .. worst than me ..

ck, that is quite hardworking already leh, at least u clean bedroom twice a week. My hb only vaccuum the floor (whole hse) once a week and his standard not very clean wan. I dun hsework once I know I am pregnant cos must rest during weekends mah. I also close one eye to a lot of things, cannot expect everything to be perfect, as long as it is not super dirty and unhygienic.

for those of you who are asking mum/mil to do confinement, will you still 'pay' or give them some money/allowance for it?

Hi Cheeryale,
think we have to pay our mum/mil too....initially i thot can save but realised all my frens and cousin actually give their mum abt 1k for confinement. Think i will pay give my mum an ang pao of abt 1k too....not sure how the rest think tho....

btw, my bro did give $600 to my mum too....

cherryale,

i do on weekend nite .. chop chop fast fast one ..
use magic clean dry mop ..
he he ..
one time dry one time wet .. then tat's it liao ..
he he ..
tables and grills .. i only wipe 2-3 weeks once ..
unless i really see it's dusty then i'll do it 2 weeks once ..
use to wipe every week ..
now lazy lazy .. he he ..

for me ..
i'll give her allowance ..
if need more marnee to buy those ingredients then top up ..

i forsee will be using lots of marnee on feb ..
hospital, doc's fee, bb items .. bb clothes, bb milk powder, tram .. mat, mini pillow and all bb necessities ..bb milk bottle sterilizer .. new pot to boil water .. bb bath tub ..
the list goes on le ..

I got myself a confinment lady for 22 days only. Cos she says she is going malaysia for CNY. She wanted to work back the days for me. But i dun want. Wat for since by then i am already out for my confinment. Cost my 70$ a day and she is staying over at my house.

Didn ask my mum-in-law or my mum to help me during confinment. Dun want to "ma fan" them esp sometimes have to wait up at night to feed e babies.

Chinese Cordyceps (Dong Chong Xia Cao) is actually a caterpillar fungus. boosts the Yang, tonifies the kidneys, supports the lung function, and reduces phlegm and stops bleeding. Due to the above functions, it is used in the treatment of sore and weak lower back, poor kidney functions, impotence and chronic cough and wheezing. As a health supplement, it is the best and safest product for enhancing the immune function to prevent immune deficiency diseases.

My cousin who is a doctor says she will also opt for caesarian cos of the following reasons :-
a) pelviv floor may prolapse
b) might have urine incontinence next time
c) baby may deprive of oxygen if get stuck.

Anybody knows the CONS for caesarian then?

stella, me haven really call up any cf catering to check on price lah. But found out that New Baby still operate during CNY period.

cherryale, no... my sil doesnt stay with me, she stays a few blks away from me. Not all sils are problematic leh, I'm sure I'm not one. hehehe... We also not expert mah but it's gd to have CL to take care of you and bb if you can afford. I gave my mil and mom red pkts but they only accept small amt from us.

ck, me also getting lazier with hsework, just cant find the energy to do hor?

doggy, I cant rem how much I gave my mil/mom/sil liao, but I rem that they rtn us the money and only accept the red pkts. So in the end, we bought jewellery as gifts for them.

octbride78,

cons of c-section? longer healing period bah... think the aftermath of c-section is alomost the same as any surgery.

but most gynae dont recommend c-section unless for medical reasons.

The a & b reasons for c-sections actually dont happen to many people, unless the bb is very big. And kegel exercise can help to prevent also.

Octbride, yah those are very valid C-section reasons.. but must always keep in mind that it is a surgical procedure and the standard risks of surgery will apply. Also, apart from longer healing time, read that those c-section babies tend to hv fluid in lungs due to the fact that it is not 'squeezed' by the mother's 'down there' during the birth. The Cons apply largely to the mother lah..

Giggler, so you'll more or less order from New Baby? I still really like the menu from Neo Garden lei.... :p Fussy hor? 'Cos I don't like traditional confinement food like pigs trotters.

So tempted to take cordyceps but expensive!! Is it very bitter?

Not sure any of u have experienced water retention. Here are the causes :-
a) Hot or humid conditions which can contribute to water retention.
b) Not drinking enough water, which can trigger the body to retain fluid.
c) Standing for long periods of time, which can cause the lower extremities to swell.
d) Over consumption of diuretic foods like caffeine.
e) High sodium intake from processed foods during the day

Well.. there are ways to curb water retention. ;) They are :-

a) Keep moving throughout the day.
b) Wear support hose to help promote circulation in your legs.
c) Exercise regularly if possible.
d) When sitting or resting, elevate your feet and legs to reduce swelling.
e) Avoid wearing clothes that are too tight or uncomfortable.
f) Wear flats if possible.
g) Drink plenty of water throughout the day to help reduce water retention.
h) Pregnancy massage

hope this information is useful!

Hi Catz,
Neo garden is good.....used them for many occasions and so far their food nvr disappoint us!

Hi Giggler,
my mum sure take the money one...haha...coz she not working! anyway, you very good too still buy jewellery for them...if my brother, he will take and go man...haha

btw, hows everyone huh? me still vomitting leh...

hi gals......busy like what since yesterday. Peep in to de-stress abit.

Octbride_78 - well....talking abt c-section. ya..is true tt it's takes a longer time to heal also after surgery it is very very painful to stand up. You wouldn't want to stand up to walk. But the nurses will encourage u to do so & to go toilet if u can. So the 1st step out of bed it very terrible & painful. Server pain last abt 3-5 days. Pain shd be gone in 2 wks time. But still got to be careful & gentle on ur wound. Menses wise is not so much. Heavy abt 1-2 wks, thereafter quite light, cleared by 3 wks.

Natural birth is pre pain + slightly post pain below.
C-section no pre pain but intenses pain after surgery and longer post pain.

bitbit....me cfm closing shop after this no.3. cannot already cos abit old. If i am going for another one i'll be 37 or 38 already. No more energy. Though my hb wanted 4. I told him STOP liao.....My older girls are in P1 & K1 so need alot of attention on school work. I hv to coach them every nite 1 hr each. So left with no time for myself.

As for the c-section. It will on the same spot as the 1st one. well.....definely the skin get thinner. so after ur surgery remember to bed rest well & do not carry ur older son. If "sway sway" the wound tear u gonna hv a big problem.
Actually, for u 2nd one....ur gynae may ask you whether u still want to opt of natural or not.
You still can go for natural for 2nd one but if like me 2nd one also c-section...3rd one cfm must c-section also ....no more choosing.

hi JC, thanks for e information.
wah.. not easy to be MUMMIES.. If there's next life for me to choose, i may want to be a MALE this time. *Sigh

hi octbride78

yep is not easy to be mummies... but it is definately the best experience we can get... the men wont get in.

my mum will be coming over to help but hiring a confinement nanny may be less tiring for her lor .. there's 1 msian lady who quoted me $3.6K!! TMC have confinement nannies also which cost $2.5K during CNY but they just strictly cook and take care of baby ..

will still ask ard, see which one can get the best price ...

Hi All MTBs,

could I check is there any departmental store or when can I find Pre Preggo's stroller?

Hardly see them in the departmental store leh.

Wow the thread grows fast.
I guess CNY is really touhg to get Confirment lady, thus I beg my mum to help me thru this period. I know it could be a little difficult for her cos she still works 1/2 day. Guess i got to learn to handle the baby myself. *sweat*

I was just wondering if we opt for natural brith but at the end requires emergency operations the hospital will chrage us double for both the dlievery suite and op theather rite? Wonder what will the cost be like. Cos I was hopping not to take Epidual and if really bo pian got for Ops.

Smurfy,
I was also ill for more then 2 weeks this month,
Started with sore throat then fever, cough, flu then fever again. Finally now I've recovered.
Took medication (suitable for preggy) from My GP was helpful but not beats the antibiotic I took from KKH during my last visit for FTS. Maybe if your GP's Med does not help, check with your gyne see if he or she could prescribe you with the right medication.

Koh,
Some details for your update:
EDD: 26 Feb
Hosp: KKH
Doc: Dr. Judy Wong (KKH TPS)

Catz, I prefer Neo Gdn's menu too. Also like the fact that they change menu alt week. But only New Baby operating on CNY period leh. Cordycerps not bitter lah.

doggy, got to show our appreciation mah. Not easy for my mom to travel everyday to bathe bb for me, also tough on my mil to cook for me every meals since she was quite old. Then my sil also came by everyday to do housework and laundry for me after work.

JC, I was still alrite after my c-section. Not much severe pain, could came down from bed the next day and walked ard. Most pple who saw me that I had natural birth instead. Told my gynae and he boosted abt his good stitching skills.
Will you go for ligation at the same time of your delivery?

longan, $3.6K is alot of money leh.... you got to factor in the red pkts to give CL too.

Was wonder if i dun take any herbs during preggy.. maybe just bird nest it should be fine too rite?

Can't afford the expensive herbs!

Giggler, yah lor, Neo Garden menu very nice..their catering also very solid.. if I pop early or late, then can order liao. Haha

Cordyceps not bitter in relation to ginseng kind of bitter? I'm not used to taking herbs, therefore very sensitive to 'weird' bitter taste.

wah, really cannot afford confinement nanny esp during the CNY period..

Just tendered my resignation..will be leaving end of Sept. One load off my mind lah 'cos really not enough rest, feel very tired all the time. Hubby kept encouraging me to resign, he will take care of the finances.. really thank God I've got such a loving and supportive hubby.

Wah....seem like this thread is running real fast.Welcome for those new comers
498028.gif

I really wish i can go natural. 1st thg is bcos of the cost & heard its easy to recover frm natural birth.

someone mentioned abt sat appt? I seeing Dr Ben tham at KKH AMK on sats so tht i don need to take leave & hb cn come along. As for NT scan(done) & detail scan shd be at KKH TPS. mmm...seem like quite a few mommies is giving birth at KKH.

my mom will be helping for confinement. oh, someone mentioned abt ru yi yu? hb will apply for me everynite before sleep, front & back. bt colleague mentioned, do nt apply near tummy side, only on the chest. cos bb will nt like it. u will able to feel bb kicking naughty at later stage whn u do so. so funny hor...

catz

I think i have to wait until tonite, in my dreams, then can hear hb saying the same thing to me..hahaha...

gals

JUst to vent out , today me and hb got a minor quarrel over the phone.. i was feeling very unsecured these days (due to some past issues) and questioned my hb when he went out earlier. Hb was angry that i suspect this and that and says he feels very pek chek, and feel like throwing his hp on the floor... i heard that , i lagi angry..cos i gave it to him as anniversary pressie ...

anyway , after cooling down, i should not have feel suspicious. And both just apologies...to prevent matter from blowing big.

somehow i feel that hb is very tolerant at work, but at home, cannot step on his toes.

Anyway..to keep my sainity, i rather go out with my mum to visit my granny rather than stay at home and hu si ruan xiang.