(2007/02) February

Smurfy and Doggy,
my MIL is a rather selfish person, only think of her own and impose her ideas on us. Anyway, I am quite outspoken, so anything I dun like/agree, I will speak up. At the end of the day, we are all independent women with jobs so not like poor DILs in the past, got to put up with unreasonable requests. But of course if r/s with inlaws are good then that is a bonus lah, good for hb also.

my hb also prefers boy so that he can golf, drive and do all the man stuff with the boy. But as I prefer gal, over time he also quite keen to have gal. Ultimately baby gal and clothes are so cute, hard to resist lah. 6 more days to go b4 my appt, hopefully can see a bb gal.

Ah ger, enjoy your holiday!

i hope my breast dun shrink ..
ha ha .. else will look like deflated ..

ah ger,

this morning i checked nipple again ..
both is split ..
so maybe your theory is correct ..
enjoy your holiday at bkk ..
i'm still planning for mine ...
somewhere after my last lesson on 27th Sept

i also have joint account but he is holding the card and he very cautious over the money ..
cause he wanna set aside for reno when our flat coming up next year end..
also gotto budget for my school fees ...
so gotto be slightly cautious ..

ya .. can sign package liao .. the next time ..
my hubby agreed on letting me jump ship to dr tham .. he he ..
so does it mean on tat day we pay package or still pay for single visit price then package ?

i got bring the pricing to office to analyse ..
ha ha ..
still can't figure out ..
so the hospital tour is 12pm arr ?
need to call up and book ?

Hi ladies..

Anyone stil having MS? My MS like getting worse..yesterday had terrible headache n nausea..then evening start vomitting..its the first time I vomitted so far..Vomit 5-6 times the whole evening..I had a seminar at night..couldnt concentrate..had to bring plastic bag. My hubby thinks cos I ate chicken rice..haha..then tummy upset..oily stuff..cos so far I've been faithfully eating soupy n more healthy stuff.

Hi starlite..

Maybe u want to buy a B cup for yr bras now? I already bought 1 size bigger..no point using extensions..cos extensions are from the chest around the back circumference..but when preggie, our boobs increase in size. Anyway, when u start using new bra size last time?

stella,
i oso dunno what is split nipples. can someone help? I only know aorela beri big now.

charis,
no MS now, just plain tiredness and weakness, as usual.

Hi Charis,
oh yes...me still having bad MS...terrible man
just throw out everything i eat for dinner....simply cant digest!

hi smurfy,
ML = Make Love haha

Hi Cherryale,
thats a good one man! Me very outspoken too but whenever i voice up my unhappiness, my SILs will call up and say my hb one....so, most of the time, for the sake of my hb, i kept quiet but very seldom lah...haha

CK - the nipple thing din apply to my other gfs leh........ bt nvm lah....... boy or ger also like tat.

I m holding on to all the cards cos las time hb use it for other purposes then I got angry so I kept them. PlanB acct is a separate acct frm the joint acct. I hv to diversify then know wat is for wat. Actually I can save the trouble lah, all take frm the same acct, bt I dun want, I wanna c ware all the $$ goes. Joint acct is strictly for hme expenditure & groceries shopping.

Oh, u mean ur hb wanted to remain the prev gynae? Or do u wanna go back & chk w/ tat gynae, tell him/ her ur concerns?

I think on tat day we sign, we r already on tat pkg bah, I m nt 2 sure leh.

I got the slip frm the customer svc tat time, on my prev visit. Then I saw - it's on every Tues/ Thurs at 12pm. I dun think need to book bah..... I din c tat. Anyway my appt tat day is 9.30a, by 12pm I shld hv finished. So I will just go to the Customer Svc & ask lor.

Thk u gals, I sure will enjoy! Mai dong xi chi dong xi.....

gals, u all know our nipples actualy hv a line acrosss? Split nipples mean the line got more obvious, then seem like in between, then the nipple looks like 2 halves.

Full nipple on the other hand, shows very rounded, smooth, like no lines on the nipples @ all.

Get it?

gals, I think tis stage - we can't eat like 1st tri. During 1st tri, we simply take in anything then can kip us full, so fast food, spicy food or even oily food - we also can take. Bt tis tri, I noticed, I can't take alot of spicy food, I haben even really been eating fast food for the past few weeks, just dun feel like eating them.

Cherryale, me actually also someone who will just speak up on watever I dun like. bt again, as a DIL, hv to show them respect, anything that I m nt happy w/, I will tell hb, so tat he will b the one to tell his parents & nt me. Vice versa when he's unhappy w/ my parents. Like tis, lesser conflicts will occur.

smurfy and stella,

ah ger said is the nipple is round round without split .. maybe is bb gal ..
if split then maybe is bb boy ..
he he ..

yesterday i checked was half half ..
ha ha ..

charis,
me only one time last sunday ..
after tat no MS ..
but i do get bloated if i drink milk ..
so sometimes i drink less milk .. mixed half with milo ..
or soya milk ..

ah ger,

me and my hubby only got 1 joint ..
generally groceries .. he'll pay from his account ..
he he ..
power, mobile bill .. all his own account ..
he he ..

my hubby ah .. ask me if i really want to switch .. then he called the old clinic to see if got refund .. he he ..
means he agree lo ..
normally he very stingy one .. he always say i suck his marnee ..he he ..
i dun want to go back to old one ..
like talking to wall wat's the point ..

ic ic ..
the hospital package i took from dr tham's clinic .. so never state the visiting time ..
mine is on monday leh ..11 sept
2.45pm
so i'll missed the visit ..
tat day i went to nursery ...
see bbs ..
they r soo cute ..
he he ..

Gals, yest I was reading the book, saying taking more healthy food instead of noodles & rice, take pasta. Yuan lai pasta is considered healthy food? Then I din know the reason, so tis morning I went to chk, I saw the packing saying it's made of wheat.

So tat means it's nt carbo?

Hmm, same thing goes for marcoroni. Which means to say - we can take alot of spaghetti also lor? bt of cos go easy on the sauces also.

Suddenly feel like eating pasta leh.... *slurp* bt here nearby dun hv.

CK
Milk/ soya bean drink - will hv wind also. So if u feel bloated, then instead of drinking one full glass, drink 1/2 glass in the morning then another one @ night. Then perhaps your stomach might feel better?

Oh, we dun want our own acct to b used for any other purposes, so watever we wanna pay for hme, shld all naturally b deducted frm respective accts. Like tat the accts will b clearer mah.
Bt we trsf a reasonable amt every mth to these accts lah, to make sure sufficient for all deductions lor.

Oh, I saw the price list, bt I din take the las time. I took frm customer svc bcos tat time nothing better to do, then I went to ask abt the 10% frm DBS woman's card shown on the flyer. Then the lady said it's only applicable if we pay the ala carte instead. Then after tat she gave me those price list le.

Oh, tat day I ask, they told me 11 Sep rather full. So I dun wanna take the risk, I'll take nx day morning, shld b less waiting time bah.

yeah, I've bn to the nursey b4 also....... can only hear the bbs cry.....

Oh gals - for those who r gng to shop ard for maternity clothes - DBS Woman's card has 10% disc @ Spring also. For other shops, even if they dun show, make sure u ask them "Is there any credit card promos?"

Oic..so some of u still have MS..Ah..terrible leh..I tell gynae no prob no need nausea pills cn manage..but think I need liao..n I wont be seeing gynae till mid of Sep!

Hmm..talking about nipples..hahaha. Anyway, mine seem to have got a lot of lines leh..its not really lines leh..but like got bumpy bumps..haha. I hope its normal..cos I dont know mah..never see others'. hehehe.

Ah ger, enjoy your trip! You really expert in maternity wear. Heeeheee

Octbride, think you better see doc if its sharp pain.

LC=lactation consultant

ah ger,

i think i'll go for PM ..
u mean your VIP card can get additional discount on top of their current discount ?

ic ..
i felt bloated whole day after a glass of milk in the morning ...
for me soya milk works better ..
recently me also ..
no more craving for fast food ..
more to mixed vege with porridge

ah ger,

i intend to:

1) everything for the family, uses his account
2) things for myself (e.g. clothes, makeup, facials, my family) uses my own account.
3) things that bb needs, uses our joint account.

kekeke i beri bad hoR? but no choice leh. My boyboy current situation at home is joint account for the whole family. Who have money, who pays more. If i dun work things out this way, next time all his money goes to his family, then me and bb got nothing.

Hi smurfy..

Good that u already plan out financially.

For me, we are not dual income..so everything my hubby pay..If I can keep my part time job..the income would go to my parents, n my own spending..but I guess I'll sacrifice some for baby stuff! Mother must make sacrifice right..no more expensive dining out already!

smurfy, I think you are being very smart indeed.. must protect our children's money!

Octbride, sorry I didn't understand you earlier.. will go and search and post here when I can.

The LC also gave me a piece of advice - whenever you are going to nurse or pump, drink hot drink and it will be easier to let down.

Charis, aiyoh, how come you so weird, now then have bad MS? Maybe you got tummy upset lah..

charis,

part time job? How come? U oredi has kids and looking after them?

I intend to be a lil rich smurf after i get married arr. must save more $$ so that my child gets the best in future.

charis,

i think the cup b bra that i bought looks slightly big due to the padding lor. but i quite comfy with it cos the width is wide enough and the bra cup does not press on my nipple. so though it looks huge when i wear tight fitting dresses or shirt, i think its ok lah as long as i feel comfy in it.

I cant remember when i change mine the last time. I think i never change at all leh. i only remember buying maternity bras at PM only...my 1st pregnancy is 3 yrs ago so some things already forgotten :p

Whats your size now? U bought how many size bigger? Last time mine is 75A and now is 90B.

I was not successful in my breasfeeding last time. For two months, i only manage to pump 30ml from both breast so i start to wonder is it due to my small breast that cause me to have no milk. I think there's relations to it though many say no. But i will try harder this time and my strategy is to let bb latch on more rather than pumping out milk.....Some friends said this is more effective in generating more milk.

Hi Catz..

I think its the combi of 3 things..headache, nausea (MS), plus the oily chicken rice! = VOMIT!

So, today I wont eat chicken rice or oily stuff liao..so I think wont vomit anymore..haha.

Smurfy..

No lah..I no kids yet. Im only working part time now, its a teaching job..cos I quit my full time teaching job late last year..cos I was travelling with hubby. Then after my 1st pregnancy then the m/c, I couldnt work full time cos I was recovering..so I jus took the part time job. So i hope I can keep the job after baby comes..I only work twice a week, 2 hours only..but pay is good.

Starlite..

Oic. Oh for me, I wear B 75..now have to change to C75..I bought jus 1 new bra with underwire..then I bought a maternity tube bra from Spring previously. Other times, I jus wear the B cup one..but quite uncomfortable..the boobs come out a bit lah..can see if wear fitting top..haha! At home , I wear sports bra..more comfy. So I think I better buy more C cup for now. But I think after bf, sure shrink back..hehe..of cos I dont mind having bigger..haha.

Hey..u can read more about bf from the net..Dont worry..u believe demand n supply..let yr baby latch on properly..he/she drinks,the more milk come out. Although I never bf before, but I truly believe the demand n supply theory..haha. Anyway, u can get a lactation specialist to advise after u deliver.

Starlite, actually technically speaking, you should not be pumping in the first 6 wks of bf.. 'cos latching is the best way to build up supply... unless u use those hospital grade pumps lor. Def not 'cos of small breast size.

Charis, wah you're lucky to get part-time post!!!! Got lobang for me?

smurfy,
My hb and I work almost the same way as your plan:
1) Housing loan, maintenance, groceries,car - Hb's account
2) Everything for myself and my parents - my account
3) joint account - this is meant for the giro transactions for PUB, SCV, Singtel etc but I have stopped contributing for a long time, so effectively its hb's account.

Although it seems like hb pays more but no choice lah, he 'head of household' mah. Always tell him this is to instil responsibility in him cos he comes from a fairly well-to-do family and last time everythng paid by parents so he leads quite a sheltered life..Plus if everything I also have to pay 50:50, then I might as well not get married. But for the bb expenditure, I will share 50:50 with hb. So far I have paid for all the gynae fees. Then hb will pay for CL and the hospital stay.

Anyone knows how much it costs for hospital stay in GlenE?

Hi catz..

Tuition is one of the best part-time jobs. Jus take 2 assignments, can earn about $500. The higher level, the more the fees.

NO lobang for now, but next year my school doing rescheduling, maybe got positions to fill..but its teaching posts lah.

Charis, yah but tuition need to be committed to the kid lor.. and with baby on the way, a bit difficult. Was thinking of perhaps getting those ad-hoc temp teaching posts at schools.. heard that it's not bad

cherryale, I think hospital stay largely depends on whether you take single/double/4 bed and whether you deliver natural or c-section.. I think I paid total about $2k cash for single bed in TMC - assisted del/epidural.. incl doctor's fees and hubby's room-in fees. The rest is CPF deduction. For C-section, might be more expensive, say $2.5 or 3k cash since the stay is longer and the surgical fees cost more.

charis,
you really got a good part time joB. Can look after ur bb and work at the same time. Since u used to teach, then the pay shld be quite good. must update with the current syllubus and things like that k, to maintain ur market rate.

Cherrydale,
even gynae visits i use joint acct arr. Dun care, if boyboy dun have enough $$, he can get from his family, coz last time he always pay for housing loans and car loans. now their turn to help contribute to our financial crisis. So angry with him the other day, thinking of using the joint acct to help his dad's shop mortage. I told him that money meant for bb only, no one can use.

Hi catz..

Ya..its true..but u dont need a whole day u see..jus 2 hours the most..either at yr own home or at the kid's place near yr home.

Oh..for that..u can jus sign up on MOE as relief teacher..then they'll contact u when there's a position to relief. I sign up..but so far no post.

Smurfy..

Its good that u clear up financial concerns before marriage. Like who pays for wat, etc..

I guess if yr hubby is quite well-to-do..maybe family can help out a bit..eg. for the wedding etc..

For my hubby's family, they quite tight..My FIL is taxi driver, MIL dont work..my SIL only 14..she still needs lots of money for studies. Only my older SIL n her hubby are DINKS. Heard of DINKS?..SM Goh's term for Dual Income, No Kids. Hehe. So both of them salary wise not bad lah..but they got high expenses..jus bought new house 2 years ago, got car, always go holiday..so I heard they hardly have any savings!
I think they should contribute more to my hubby's parents leh..since they have no kids, n not planning to have some more..But I cant say that also, cos my hubby is the only son.

charis,

if u need the vomitting pills ...
i have some .. can pass to u ..
cause so far i dun have serious MS ..
just sometimes nauseous only ..

cherryale,

glen e charge for normal delivery with epidural in double room is 1470
this exclude doc fee and if bb is admitted ..

for normal delivery in double room is 1260

for assisted delivery in double room is 1365

for single room u can add about 800 more ..

wow you gals are so lucky... it seems like not much financial committments on yr side..

at the moment, i only pay for the internet and tel phone. the rest all hb paying. But next time, with bb, i think its going to be tough

charis,
these r not sorted out verbally. I just keep quiet during payments, unless it is my stuffs then i offer to pay them. I only make my stand to him very clearly abt the joint account. Me no savings, that's why me no $$ to buy bras and maternity clothings arr. :pppP

in ur case here, u do not have much say, coz it is ur HB family financial status lor. Maybe u can hint hint youR Hb that now u got additional mouth to feed, it may be harder for him to contribute as much, perhaps the elder SIL shld do more, especially they are DINKs. But kinda hard oso lor, coz she oredi "married out".

My boyboy is the eldest, that's why he always have this responsibility oso. But the rest of his siblings all in their working lifes oredi and all single. So I think my boyboy can contribute less there and more into our side loR.

smurfy

huh.. i pay the least meh?? maybe i should re-phrase my reply, for house expenses.. i pay tel bills and internet , but i still pay for my own expenses. Groceries, i din really count cos now only two of us , so not much also. housing loan i also got pay ard 20% , but thats thr cpf..so no pinch.

stella,

no la .. my hubby dun earn lots ..
he's working ma .. so why can't he pay ?

when he NS tat time .. i also got help him pay le ..
so now his turn ..
he he ..
power, mobile, internet, home line ..
all around 250 can settle liao ..
lucky him i'm not the type who on air cond all time .. in fact i like to sleep non air cond .. cause i feel tat got more air circulation with the window opened ..

Hi stella..

Dont worry..As long dont have extra unneccessary expenses, I think most of us can manage. My frens n SIL complain no money to raise kids, etc..cos S'pore std of living high, everythng is ex. Not very true..Cos if we learn to live within our means, we can survive. Its cos, most of them have car, credit cards, too much insurance or investment plans, etc..so much expenses. I believe in simple life. There's great saying by someone really great- "the meek shall inherit the earth."

stella,
Dun think is HBs earn a lot. But it is more of how we manage our lifestyle and current family situation lor.

For my case is because my boyboy very poor in managing money, So if he dun spend on me and BB, all his money will go to his family lor. So i must do things this way lor, otherwise Bb will suffer in future. Boyboy mentioned before, if anyone in his family needs money, he dun mind selling everything to help (house, car, stocks). Wow Lao, if that happens, and I dun have any savings, what will happen to me and my child?

stella, actually i earn about 1k plus more than hb but I stated all these very clearly before marriage as I didnt want financial to be a topic for marital quarrels.

Charis, it will be difficult for your hb to ask the elder sis to contribute more. Think the parents should be the one to say. Actually son or daughter should have the same responsibilities towards parents. Like I pay for my parents maintenance too although I am already married.

ck, I definitely want single room for privacy sake. So if I want epidural, it will be 1470 +800 = $2270. But a portion of it will be from medisave right? Or all cash? Like that, hb end up paying more than me cos he still have to pay 2.4k for the CL + 2 plus k for hospital. Must tell him to better stop spending money on eBay already..

bac frm lunch!

Giggler - me no expert leh, I also hearsay frm here & tare one. Maybe bcos I also kia ard alot, so I seem to b abit more well-informed lor.

CK - if u borrow my PM card, u only hv 10%, bt if I m ard, u can get 20%. Get it?

I went to get my VIP card just nw, then hor, I've reserved my grey capris liao. Actually just nw I tried the L size (the cutting is abit small), bt then nt as tight as yest's. Then the gal told me XL is even bigger.

Nevertheless, they are asking the tailor to do an XL for me, then @ the same time kip L for me. When it arrives, then I can decide which one I want. One thing is - I hv to pay 1st lah, tat means cfm I m buying. If I decided nt to buy the capris then I use the $$ to buy other things lor.

CK, u just let me know when u wanna go shopping. U were saying when u can/ can't make it? Hb studies every Tues/ Fri, so either one day is mostly preferred. Bt if u want other days, we can wk out also. if other gals wanna join in the shopping tour - feel free also. Actually I m more familiar w/ the gals @ Arcade, if go tare I think they will b friendlier bah.

I also hv MM's 10%, then Spring 10% if u need.

Food:
CK - me no fast food lately, no cravings also. We r the opp. Ha ha ha...... Bt I still dun like rice though.

Smurfy:
nt everybody wks like my way lah, it's just me. I find my own method wks better for me. Ur plan is gd as well, so long as u know ware the $$ goes. No need to b like me so ks, open so many accts. Ha ha ha.....

CK - Doc's fees - can b shown on Dr Tham's price list. it's a separate one. If I m nt wrong, his normal delivery fees are abt ~$1k, then assisted is ~$1.2, C-sect is abt ~$1.7k. All these dun incl Epi. Rm charges are charged by the hospital. Oh, all the prices u listed abv are for 2 days' stay.

charis,

I agree in living a simple life. But I'm oso a paranoid. I will be thinking what if suddenly we needs a lump sum of money? For e.g. if BB got special medical case, or we suddenly lost our jobs?

If young and single, dun care oredi lor. Just spend whatever we have. Kekeke that's why me no savings. But now different.....

Ck..

But Im having bad runny nose now.

Any safe off the counter med I can take?

Im took Vit. C, n some menthol tea..to clear up my nose. The tea is caffeine free..safe for preggies.

Hi smurfy..

Ya u are right. I also think like that. Simple life..but must save.

Some ppl think simple means no need to save..jus eat, drink, sleep, work , play..Some of my frens like that..dont save..

Actually when young must save. My hubby save almost all of his scholarship money..even have reserves for future baby n/or babies..haha. Im not as thrifty, but I learn this good habit from him.

cherryale ..
wait ah .. now looking at the list ..
ha ha ..

exact for single room, normal delivery with epidural is 2297.4

max medisave claim is 1,250 and ante natal 450

this is just the hospital package. .
does not include doc's fee ..

doc's fee is depending on your doc ..

ah ger .. yup yup i got the list here ..

dr tham charge 900 for normal delivery
1050 for assisted delivery,
1680 for caesarian ..
also need to plus 5% gst of course ..

ah ger, the epi is from the hospital rite ?
or is it still have to pay additional ??

charis,

as for flu ah ..
i need to go home and check ..
my old gynae prescribed one ..
let u know 2molo ..
but flu pill will cause drowsiness leh ..
i only eat 1 pill a day the other time when i was down with flu ..
it never really worked cause suppose to take 3 a day ..
ha ha ..

Stella,

Y did u say tat? My hb def dun earn alot. Well, @ least for nw is, almost on par w/ me lah. bt another 2yrs dwn the road, our hsehold income will go dwn cos he's gng to ORD, + no experience wking outside, I really worry wat he can do. haiz......... tats y nw I always tell him, we must try to save watever we can/ hv, for rainy days. tats when I hv tis Rainy Day acct to tong lor. Hee hee...... Me typical Singaporean right? When I tell my frens, they also always say I very ks, hv so many acct for diff things. Bt bcos all so "well-diversified", end up I can nv save enuff $$ to go Europe. Sobs........

I agree w/ Smurfy, it's hw we manage lor....... Every mth when salary cmes in, I will quickly trsf all the necessary $$ out to all accts like insr, rainy days, mum, Plan B. Then wats left in my acct will b just sufficient for my F&T + maybe abit of allowance for misc spendings for the whole mth.

CK - my hb can't do w/o aircon, hence our power bills per mth is ard $100. We dun cook, & we on aircon only in MBR when we slp. In the living rm we on the fan. Bt as ur stomach grows bigger, u give out more heat, hence u will tend to feel very hot. tats y many moms at a later stage all wear slvless tops.