(2007/02) February

Ah ger, don forget to update us aft yr visit wor...

Chole, u so cute. mmm..monitor by yr secret agent? wahahaha... bt on the other hand, thy r concern abt u. sometime, i worry w/o control i might eat rubbish for my bb.
thk on the bright side ok?
490118.gif

giggler, yr hb so sweet. cn imaging hw much he dote u & bb. hw much he knw u ve suffer for him.
490119.gif

nana, my hb also msian. juz like u, we visit thm once awhile. fil no longer ard. sil r quite nice too.
490120.gif

Giggler - 1 - 2mths is enuff lor. maybe mid Dec or so.

yeah, tats wat everybody is telling me. Let her cme early then let her get used to our environment then monitor her. If nt gd we still can change.

Tat time I told myself must note dwn - end up 4got to note dwn. Actually I hv more qns to ask, bt as I read the bk then I hv lesser qns eg the headache. it's bcos ur brain sometimes cannot tune to another thing too fast tats y sometimes u will suddenly feel giddy. Then stretchmark cream - bk did nt say if it's effective bt some mummies swear by them.

I guess tis time round I will hv lesser qns to ask bah.

leomum - dun worry, sure will update u gals. Just hope bb is growing well inside.
Esp when nw I can't feel anything & MS is nt as bad as previously, can't help bt feeling lousy.

Snack abit is ok lah - who doesn't snack? If u c already u dun wanna eat then worse right? U will kip thinking abt the thing u've missed.

I feel so bored leh, feel like taking up a course to upgrade myself. Bt if I start now, bu san bu si cos Feb gng to deliver then I can't possibly stop the course right?

ah ger,

i also wanted to take a certificate in counselling.. but cannot leh cos exam time is around feb..

actually i stopped my acca cos i find it too tiring

counselling? Counsel who? I dunno wat I wanna take up bt watever it is - course all need time to study/ revise. As we get heavier, i think we will get lazier & more tired also. So it's nt tat advisable lor. Unless u r pretty sure (for 2nd or more time mum) ur tummy wun hinder u & u wun get 2 tired.

Some ppl get very tired one......

hi ah ger

i am more interested in marital counselling ..maybe will make a career switch to social work. its my area of interest.

yah lor.. i think better wait till i deliver..but scared no time for after that

Ah ger, so your hb still not keen on having maid? long story why hb quarrelled with mum...I just try not to get involved.

Giggler, dun know, think for people like us who scan once every week or every few weeks, should be safe. But dun know how often Tom and Kathy scan their baby at home then..haha, perhaps its just one of those hollywood extravagance.

stella, i also hv interest in counselling, same as you.. dunno if it's easy to get a job in social work or counselling. how i wish i'd done psychology instead of engineering degree :p

cherryale, yah we're living very close by.. I'm just next to Downtown East.
Yeah it's definitely a blessing to have 2 cars.. in fact, one is sponsored by my Daddy to share btw my sis and myself but sis has kindly let us hv the car to ferry our Emperor around. Petrol costs are killer though :p Oh and btw, make sure u get baby used to being in a carseat from Day 1, else there's no way you can handle baby while driving alone. Thank God Tim is a good boy in his seat. Saved him from serious injury when we were hit by a reckless driver about a few months back.

Giggler, I think I will prob become SAHM after bb #2 is born.. at least until bb is 6 months 'cos me and my mom both die die don't want to get a maid
After 6 months, baby is a lot more stable lor. But then again, I want to look for something not so stressful, pref part-time even.

Ah Ger, cannot imagine not having car with bb and maid.. so will u be getting a car? Taxi fare will be very costly!

leomom, Medela mini electric single is not enough if you intend to pump for a few months. The motor is not very robust. For me, I bought Avent manual before delivery.. then at about 2 months post delivery, I invested in Medela PIS.. wah, it's a world of difference!! Can empty breasts very quickly.. MOOOOOOOO
Manual pump makes my hands and wrist ache. Single pump is very tedious as your other breast will also be leaking milk.

leomum - I would suggest dun get the pump 1st. Cos 1st - u dunno if there's other brands cheaper, 2) u dunno if u really will hv so much supply to invest in tis pump.

Wait till later stage then u decide lah. Bt I tot nt so exp one?

HI CATZ

how i wish i took up a degree in social work instead ..

do u have a degree from nus/ntu? if yes, u can easily take up a dip in social work. i believe in this industry , there is shortage of people cos not every one is willing to put in long hrs and get low pay.

Stella - I m also thinking of career switch, bt I dun think I can cos of the $$ issues. 2 many tied dwn commitments.

Cherryale - yeah - he's nt keen on having a maid. He said got stranger walking abt in the hse - so funny. He sugg getting a car instead then can drv the bb to someone to take care. Bt I ask him - WHO? He can't give me an ans so obviously a maid would be more practical & logical.

Catz - I will nt b getting a car since I m having a maid. We dun need a car during wkdays - as of nw. Shall see hw it goes when hb ORDs. We take taxis only during wkends so I dun c the pt in spending close to $1k just bcos of wkend convenience. I certainly dun need a car to drv to wk cos driving to town is a killer esp CBD area.

Our distance to parents' hse is abt $10 per trip. So if you calculate on a monthly basis - the most we will spend would be $100 on Sat. Of cos we haben taken into consideration when we go out shopping during other wkends lah.

tats y after measuring all these - I think we will jus stick to taxis as of now.

besides, if we get a car + a maid - we will b left w/ no savings. I hv alot of things to weigh & measure, so car is a NO NO for nw. I wun say tat for the future if our finances are more stable.

Ah Ger, wah if you work CBD, then no point driving lor. For me, taxi fare is very high so no point. I think my issue with maid is lack of privacy also.. 'cos we're all in the habit of walking around half-dressed. Haha

stella, no leh, I'm an overseas grad but maybe will look into this area after popping. In my current line of work, I'm working with a lot of psychologists and psychiatrist and find their work very interesting. Sigghhhh..

A good breast pump is expensive, unfortunately..but seriously don't waste money on lousy pumps like Pureen, Tollyjoy.. end up even more wasted. The good brands are Ameda, Avent and Medela.. the rest, can forget it. Anyway, treat it like you're saving on one year of formula

AH GER

just my personal view lah... having a maid is practical but can be very problematic also..Can consider other options like babysitter etc?

Ah ger, I also think abt 1mths is enuf lah. I'll see how first, really dun like the idea of having maid. Sigh..... I'll be taking Jap class next mth.
It's better to get one pump to standby just in case you got engorgement. I got Avent manual pump, it's cheap and gd. When I feel that I can continue bfg, then I got the Ameda elec pump.

leomom, I dun think Medela elec pump is gd leh. The best is Medela PIS but that's very ex. I used Ameda elec pump, quite gd.

Catz, so you'll quit your current job after your ML?

what u gals having for lunch?

Hi stella n ahger..

I agree maid can be problematic. Very hard to find a good n trustworthy maid. If u intend to go to work, I think babysitter or grandparents better, then send to pre-school later.

For me, I'll be a SAHM..so I wont need a maid..but I most likely get a cleaning co. to clean up house once week, plus do ironing.

By the way, u ladies can check out Breastfeeding support group, the website..they sell n rent nursing items at cheaper rate.

Stella - I hv thought of tat b4 also. Bt right nw - hb & I can go hme otd, we can fetch the bb early bt when he ORDs then when I get a new job, we can't cfm right? Wat if we hv to stay back late to wk then hw? BBsitter is nt easy to find also. Hence I concluded tat maid is @ hem to help look after the hse & the bb is still more visible.

Giggler - Jap class. I took frm JCS las time. I took the Elementary class then completed. Went up to Intermediate bt the teacher was not very gd, hence my sis & I stopped. Bt I went on to Intermediate Conversational. Completed tat as well bt nw if u ask me - I hv rtn everything to the teacher liao. Ha ha ha........

Charis - I tell myself must look on the brighter side. There are many ppl who hv very gd maids also.

Charis - rent? Erm....... I tot they, I mean the things are supp to be more on hygienic - nursing things very personal one right?

Hi ahger..

Ya rent..serious..pump lah cos can wash n disinfect..not bras, or breast pads, etc. Haha.
I think those pumps for rent..are new..but instead of buying, u rent or maybe pay by instalments? Im not sure must check out the website. I jus look look..cos Im not ready to buy anything, except clothes, until 3rd trimester. Anyway they selling it cheaper then outside.

Yup..true..but very few..like I said..hard to find. My friend had a really good maid, but end up she got boyfriend problems.

Anyway, my personal view is that..Im not confortable with the idea of leaving my baby with a stranger..if I were to get a maid, she's only to help with housework.

Lunch giggler? I jus had breakfast haha. Always dont know wat to have for lunch. I cant hear my 'cravings'..haha..so I really dont know wat to eat.

Im going to mothers en vogue at delfi this afternoon, got sale. But today last day of sale. Finally get to go out..1st trimester, I stayed home most of the time.

Charis - yeah I dun intend to buy those things until 3rd tri - or unless I really c they are dirt cheap then will stock up abit. I will also ask my mum to help me buy lor since she goes to the mkt more often than me.

I m gng for lunch nw.......... cont later!

Think those pumps for rent - well, only the HOSPITAL GRADE Medela or Ameda ones are suitable for multi-users.. Else, breastpumps are very personal items, wouldnt' buy / rent 2nd hand. Eeks...

Charis, same as you.. I'm very paranoid of maids. Too many horror stories already. Me too, enjoying 2nd tri.. got more energy even though no sleep so go gai gai during lunch. Anyway, my colleagues are quite anti-social so one person eat lunch very boring.

Tip for shopping - don't buy unless it's 20% off for baby items
Even pumps can go on 20% off.

Giggler, yah I will quit this job after ML.. if not sooner
Trying to hang on for the sake of the $$ lor.. but really quite miserable.

Hi Ladies, thanks alot for sharing on the breast pump. Maybe i will do more research first.

Charis, thks for the website. I will chk chk later.

Thanks for sharing, so looks like it is around $500 for caregiver. That will be about $1500 for my 3 babies!! heehee... must ask my mom for discount.

Hi chloe..

So u either sending yr triplets to nanny or yr mum is it? I guess u'll be planning to work?

Wah..nanny can handle triplets?

Where do u live?

Chloe, it must be so exciting to have 3 lives growing inside you!! Wowee.. I cannot imagine. Er.. I think for 3 babies, there'll be economy of scale 'cos they'll share certain items
As long as you provide your mom with the bulky items, diapers and milk, think she would gladly take care of the 3 darlings for $1k since you guys also have to put aside money for their future right?

Catz, I also lunch alone most of the time cos the colls here all hv their lunch buddies already......... so usually I will go walk ard then buy back & eat in the pantry.

Bac frm lunch sometime back........ nothing to eat so I bought wanton mee w/ no char siew.

tats wat I wanted to tell Chloe also...... can't b 1 is $500 means 3 is $1.5k mah. maybe $1k shld b ok right?

everything gng to b tripled..... shiong arh.

Ah ger, at least Chloe's cost is triple for good reasons cos she has triplets. Mine will prob be triple for all the wrong reasons. MIL only agree to supervise maid on Mon, Wed, Fri. She wants my mum to look after on Tue and Thurs. Which means I need 3 cots (my home, MIL, Mother place)and everything else 3 sets!! Like that I rather get a nanny, simpler.

Ah ger, I'm taking Jap class at Bunka.

Charis, I also not comfy with maid handling my kids leh, thats why I really dislike the idea of having maid.

Catz, thot you're enjoying your 2nd trim now, why still miserable?

Chloe, hahaha.... you really got to ask your mom for discount. Your mom will be taking care of all 3 alone?

cherryale, aiyo... everything also 3 sets, very siong leh. So you'll be looking for nanny instead?

cherryale,
Wah, 3 sets of everything very xiong. Unless your bb just sleeps on a mattress on the floor lah. Then easier. But you will still need 3 sets of some other stuff, but not so expensive.

PVL, cannot let baby sleeps on the floor lah, so poor thing. Already told MIL, doesnt make sense to ask my mum to take care for two days then have to incur unnecessary cost. Also, not good to move newborn baby around. If she refused to look after from Mon-Fri then we will not need her to look after at all. That's y hb very mad at her.

yep, my mother will be taking care of my kids, and my dad will help out. Both of them have retired, but it is still kind of tough to handle 3 kids at home. i think got to talk to them and see how much allowance they will need for the 3 babies, $1500 is indeed a lot of money hor. They are not working anymore, so not so nice to ask them to spend on the kids' expenses... As for working, yalor, i think my preference will be continue to work.

Maid is out of the question for my mom. She heard too many horrible stories about maids, so she said she rather it is more siong for her than to have a maid at home.

ladies with bloating problem:
Any of you use ru yi you on your tummy? Is it safe to use ah?
I found that one of the things that cause my bloatedness is noodles and starchy things.

cherryale,
It's quite a dilemma. But I suppose your MIL wants some free time to herself too. That's why she doesn't want the baby every single day. Quite tough looking after a baby.

Chloe, you can get a part-time local lady to help your mother just do the heavy cleaning.. that's what my mom is doing now so that she can focus on taking care of my son. Saves her back too 'cos she had slipped disc.. and since we're so anti-maid. Haha

PVL, I don't dare to use ru yi oil now leh.. quite strong lor.. 'cos already for aromatherapy, we're supposed to avoid rubbing oils as they are absorbed into blood stream.

cherryale, think you can forget about counting on your MIL. She sounds just like mine.. in the end (after so many promises/fall-outs) she walked out on my SIL and baby after 2 months of 'helping'.. sigh..

Giggler I'm only miserable 'cos not enough sleep. Last night slept at 10pm (trying to make myself super sleepy), took antihistamine and then woke up at 11am and then 4am.. like owl :p

morning gals!

Haiz, I had a bad evening las night. Dunno y my lunch was nt digested, end up while taking my bus bac i already felt nauseous. The moment I rch interchange, I walked quickly to BPP's toilet. The moment I rch the cubicle - I started merlion-ing. Very xing ku.

After tat, I din even hv the appetite to eat. then when I rch hme, again merlion bt tis time dunno y all bubbles/ foam only. Scared hb out of his wits.

After tat I din even feel like eating dinner. Then the middle part, someware ard below ur bra (starting of the clevage tare), very fan wei, I dunno is it gastric bt felt very uncomfy lor. Laid on the sofa for sometime b4 I took an apple for dinner.

Hb wanted to go dwnstairs tapao for me bt i said I can't eat........ so I went to bed w/ an empty stomach lor.

Tis morning I dare nt take heavy meals again - end up I had only chkn porridge.

Hope later lunch time doesn't give me tat problem.

Priviledged - yes I hv bloated stomach very often. Hw I know is bcos I always pass out alot of gas. & 1 gd eg will b my throwing up foam/ bubbles yest.

Hb wanted to make ginger tea for me to drink bt I said I can't take anything in, I rather rest my stomach. Hb tot I gobbled 2 much during the day, I said I only had my b/f & lunch & I din even snack.

I hv nt applied Ru Yi You b4, bt I intend to ask gynae 2mr. Let u all know.

PVL, I also dun dare to use ru yi you now that I am pregnant. Even when I ask hb to massage my back it will be with olive oil instead of aromatherapy oil.

Catz, Giggler, PVL, my MIL's conditions of taking care on Mon, Wed, Fri already include us hiring a maid so she is only supervising on the 3 days. She already has 1 maid at home but she wanted another one to take care of baby. Hb and I are mentally prepared that she will not need to take care of baby, we will find our own way. As for my mum, got to see how, dun think she can cope on her own cos she doesnt have a maid at home too. So, if my mum takes care, I will get a part-timer to clean her house like Catz.

aiyah, so 'fan' with this 'who is going to take care of baby' thing. Its really additional stress to my already stressed and sleepless situation. Catz, do let me know after you meet with the sleep therapist ok? I have been yawning non-stop in office and its not good lah, people will talk.

haiz........... everybody here always headache over who's taking care of the bb.

I hv tot of putting the maid @ mum's plc bt then no plc for the maid to slp. Besides my mum is very particular abt cleanliness, I doubt very much she will trust the maid in cleaning her hse.

HI CHERRYALE

ur situation reminds me of my auntie( mum younger sis) her in law also comes out with the mon, wed,fri thinggie. last time i see her really busy with all the ferrying and sometimes she also forget today must go to whose place. The bb also had a hard time adapting to different environment.

for my case, i will ask my mil whether she wants to help me. if she wants, most prob my pil will stay in my place. not feasible to ferry bb to and fro as my hb dun work regular hrs and i dont drive.

if she dont want , i will ask my mum. I will ferry bb to and fro if that the case cos we live quite near.

Of cos, i hope for situation 2, but out of respect, must give my mil priority.

Chloe, ya if maid is out of qns, can think of getting tingkat dinner so your mom doesnt need to cook, or having PT maid to help with housework.

PVL, no didnt try ruyi oil.

Ah ger, what did you have for lunch? Try not to take that stuff these few days? Same here... thot of leaving the maid with my parents but no place for her to sleep unless one of my bro give up their room. But dun think any of them willing to do that.

cherryale, think you better dun rely on your mil, she doesnt sound keen to help you. Me same here... having care-giving prob too.

AH GER

i dun think so.maybe they rent out.

its not the most ideal solution, but its the most practical one.