(2007/02) February

JC,
I am not sure yet, i actually send samples to test if it is becos of chromesome adnormality (ehem the backup gyane din tell me the price until I pay at the cashier. $400+ ) I might consider checkup for both of us. Anyway i also seeing chinese sinseh to pu my body.

Last time, i also had the test for my first m/c. most of the time, the doctor say everything is normal and m/c is due to bad luck when information lost after the egg and sperm merge.

Chloe, me didnt take drinking milk. Dun feel like drinking this time round leh. I took Enfamama for my prev preg.

PVL, hahahaK at least you still swim regularly mah. Me thot of gg to gym but still haven go yet.

pekochan, you can try drinking prune juice, it helps.

doggy, I usu called my gynae to check if its ok to take the med that GP prescribed.

Ah ger, you can start talking to bb to tell bb to cooperate and let u see gender this Sat. My sil just got those tonic for me, incl bird nest but haven start taking it. Ill only start taking ard 20wks.

JC, your tummy also bloated? I feel very uncomfy last nite too. Burped the whole nite and felt cramp too.

Re: bird nest
Though some say that bird nest helps bb complexion but also got pple say that it'll cause asthma. So most prob, I wont take too much. Maybe once every mth... guess Moderate is still the key word.

nuahcouple, my sil brewed black chix soup for me too.
I feel that it helped cos my mil used to brew for me during my 1st preg, and my gal quite strong lah.

icy, good to hear that you're doing fine. You must 'bu' your body now to prepare it for your bb next time round.
Take care...

Doggy - my hse dun hv slow cooker. ha ha ha....... my kitchen is an incomplete kitchen. Hv rice cooker/ rice container bt no rice. Ha ha ha......... hv thermal pot bt no hot water!

Cos we dun cook, even if we do, will use all the instant stuff. Then my rice always sey those tiny white things hence I threw them away lor.

Giggler,,

i also heard abt asthma and birdnest... unfortunately it happens to my own brother, dunno it is conicident or not

Hi icy..

Take care. Get lots of rest n recover..before u travel. If need to talk, can see u at the m/c thread ok..I go in a few times a week..in case need to support other ladies.

Giggler - I hv bn telling the bb liao - to let me c the gender tis wkend. Ha ha ha, then if I can c gender I can buy more things for him/ her.

Since my chk up is in the morning, I scared bb is still slping, so I think I will shake my stomach abit then poke here & tare b4 I rch the clinic & while I m waiting for my turn. Ha ha ha..... Will tok continuously tat whole morning thru'out the journey.

heavy heavy rain............... Dunno wat to eat for lunch leh.

I bought a kayan bread sine yest bt I din eat. Wanted to take tat as my b/f bt end up I bought something else.

i cant tahan the hunger, went down to cold storage n bought a pack of cadbury min-eggs...hehe! feel so contented now. guess i will hv nasi padang for lunch...always craving for it! hvg hard time in the loo still eat nasi padang, c hw greedy i am!

Talking bout food..I have a lousy appetite for tis few weeks..I may not have put on weight again..will find out this Sat when I see gynae.

I also have this 'training' not to give in to cravings..'training' from last time when I was on diet to lose weight. So even now when I feel like eating something, I usually dont give in..haha. Dont know how to eat well for the pregnancy like that.

Pekochan - rainy day wor............ I want something soupy......... So cold nw........

My hb tried the Calbury Boost - he said nice! Bt i saw the ingredients hv caramel - I wun ever touch it cos it's so sweet!

Charis - I hv tis ctrl also. When I m really hungry then I eat. Eg will b the 3 main meals. I dun give myself the excuse to snack.

Night time when I m hungry - either drink water or milk to fill myself. If the rubmling persists then I will go to bed! Ha ha ha.......... Of cos it's nt gd lah. Book always say 3 main meals + 2 snacks would be gd.

Wah - since las time I dun really fancy chocolate except for Rocher (is tat hw u spell), then the Dove got 1 choco - inside like kit kat biscuit one, in a long strip w/ hazelnut cream - tat one is nice!

jia lat - me hungry le - bt dunno wat to eat + the bridge sure very long Q.

Im a chocolate person all along..but self-control..I only eat once in a while.

My hubby very well-informed..he dont allow me to take tea, coffee, chocolate, cakes, durian..cos of either the caffeine or sugar content. So if i want to eat, must sneak sneak..yesterday I bought a cup of bubble tea..hehe..but then i ask for less tea, less sugar..end up rather diluted!

Charis - wah, ur hb is very strict leh........... they say if u wanna eat something & u dun get to eat, nx time u get a salivating bb!

I only restrict myself in tea. I dun drink coffee. I m nt a cake person either bt I def take durians (hw can dun take????). After tat drown urself w/ lotsa water lor.

Bubble tea - ask for less sugar can liao mah....... u dun take everytime so once awhile is ok.

There is this stall - Sweet Talk - their drinks are very cheap leh - got all kinds of bubble tea & dunno wat. Bt I nv drink lah....... always long Q + whenever I pass by I dun hv the temptation to drink.

me...going for lunch too....feels like vomitting. dun know why leh.....sneezing starts again. Think i need some sleep.....

chat later

Ahger..

haha..so funny..Ya. my hubby is one strict person.

Anyway, I think i'll let my children try eat different kinds of food/snacks, but within boundary..cos I heard if u restrict children, they become 'suaku', then see other ppl eat, they want also.

Btw, ladies..in order to breastfeed, must drink a lot of milk meh? How come nutrition books didnt say that? My MIL has this idea that I wont be able to breastfeed cos I dont drink milk..she say to have milk for baby u must drink lots of milk yourself..I dont believe. I believe breastfeeding is demand n supply. Also I feel GOD given neccessity to mothers is milk for their babies. Im not drinking milk now cos I have nausea..milk makes me kind of want to puke..So Im eating 2 slices of cheese as subsitute everyday instead.

Then my MIL say already, cannot bathe n wash hair for at least 2 weeks during confinement! I very scared already. Dont know wat to tell her.

I checked on the net on breastfeeding myths..one very important point brought up- "Cows dont drink milk to make milk".

Haha..true huh.

More views are welcomed. Those 2nd, 3rd time mothers feel free to tell us what u think about breastfeeding. Have a lot to learn still.

talking about breast milk....hmmm ur MIL so cute. she think "yi sin bu sin" mei. pls dun get offended. basically, it likes wat u said demand & supply. But during cfinment. can eat more fish or papaya soup to hv more milk. As long as u keep feeding ur milk flow will come.

I fed my elder gal for 6 mths. I quit cos she doesn't even want to substitute it with Milk powder & she refused to use milk bottle at all.
As for my 2nd gal .. fed for 4mth...cos need to come back to work. So only pump out in the am for her & breast feed her at night. Then suddenly, one day she refused to drink. When I tasted it ....the milk tasted slightly bitter. So i think going to be no more milk that's why got different taste.

Basically, breast milk is blend but has got a little sweet taste.....try it gals.....

Charis, wah admire your self-control. Now my appetite slowly returning and I crave for rubbish snacks.. so whacking potato chips and seaweed at my desk. Hehehehe

As for breastfeeding, well, it's difficult at first but persevere and it will be a piece of cake. I bf for 10 months direct latching.. gave up 'cos found that my skinny boy drinks more milk from bottle. He never emptied my breast so sometimes super engorged and leaking everywhere :p Oh and I guess you should drink *some* milk for the calcium that you need for your breastmilk.. no need to drink litres and litres.. it's just for your OWN nutrition.

Still having insomnia..hope the sleep disorders doctor can help me :p

i read it in popular book store on cfinment book but din remember the receipt. Maybe, this weekend go check it out again.

hi gals...........

2day my lunch very incomplete. Everyware also flooded w/ ppl. End up I go buy junk food - popiah & Pepper O' frm OCk. Then nt filling, I had my kaya bread + milo.

Charis - u can take ice-cream (if u dun let ur hb sees it) then also yoghurt. All hv calcium one.

Milk arh - they say papaya soup leh. My mum cooked for my sis b4. Ralliart - sorry, I can't help u - cos I dunno hw to cook. Ha ha ha.......

As for letting kids eat all food - I think is gd. Bt again if the mother herself (who is ME) doesn't take certain food - can't b expecting to hv tat food on the table right? Ha ha ha......

My SIL restricts her sons alot of food, particularly bcos they r weak. They fall sick easily, so again must c whether ur kids can take it or nt.

Catz - so far I still ctrl myself nt buying any tidbits & put in the ofc. Sure gone one. Wkends I will eat bt again abit only.

Hi JC,

think you need those pot with another layer inside....those make from clay..if not wrong. U can ask your mom and mil..am sure they will know how to double boil. also remember, only use kampong chicken then taste much better.

Hi doggy,

wow, u see the chicken till u wanna vomit...hahah....ask ur mom to pour the soup out for u lah so that u won't see the chicken. Dun u find it beri tasty...yummy...bt only drink once a week.

Hi stella,

yup, that's the best "chicken essence".

Hi giggle,

I used to have black chicken after menses. bt during pregnancy I dun take black chicken and you need to use chinese her to cook with black chicken then taste nicer...and since cannot take herbs...so stop taking black chicken...anyway, mom do all the boiling of GOOD soup for me during pregnancy ;)

I hv nvr hear of taking lots of milk then able to have enough milk to bf. Only heard of papaya soup and of course must eat lots of fish. Actually if one can bf or not also depend on individual. You must have the will to bf or express every 3 hrs....

Eg, my cousin who gave birth 2 mths ago....did not bother to express or bf every 2 or 3 hrs and ended up she has infection and fever non-stop till doc told her she cannot bf and hv to stop. bf. Plus since she did not express every 3 hrs....she has engorment till infection. She only bf 3 or 4 times since bb birth and stop....all she wants is Zzzzzzzzz......hence, I think this is a irresponsible way of being a mother. anyway, she is beri young...only 23 yrs old.

I bought a confinement cookbook for my mum to cook for my sis tat time, maybe I go & take it bac frm mum then I go & read up?

Tat cookbook says all food an expectant shld eat frm preggie until delivery.
Then wat drinks to drink is gd for wat & etc. Very informative, I think less than $20 the book. Then hv it in Chinese/ English.

I got it @ Orchard Emerald books booth there. On/off they hv ppl selling those all sorts of books.

Ahger..ya ice-cream n yoghurt! Yummy.

Thanks ladies for the views on breastfeeding..

Catz..10months is quite long..most mothers stop after 4-6 months. Im sure yr 'skinny boy' has all the good nutrients from yr milk! Hehe.

I notice most older gen. dont recommend breastfeeding..I hope my MIL will be more supportive..my hubby sure support cos he say save money!

Anyway for all yr info, there's a breastfeeding support group in S'pore. They even have a office hours hotline that u can call where the counsellors can give u advice n tips on breastfeeding.

thenuahcouple....u r right. got to feed every 2-3 hrs. I remember I fed my elder gal every 1hr.

As she was born very tiny. I worry she got not enough so keep feeding her. Also she only take 1 breast at a time. so it's very tuff for me to remember. I actually got to record down in a note book which side i feed & what time i fed & also how long i fed. Wow...tell u very blue leh....

i still think tt bf is the best. Easy, convenient, cost saving and most of all good for bb & us.

Ah ger,

if you are going to bangkok soon, why didn't you wait till you are there to buy the birds' nest? Should be much cheaper there mah right?

Hi JC,

oh ya, must record wat time we feed bb and how long we feed...

Even up to now, my eldest sil has already stop bf for mths...they still record down what food my niece makan, how much ml milk did my niece dink and wat time is the feeding time etc...my niece coming to 1 yr old next mth and they still record down everyday...amazing.

Winnie - cos I buy those bottled frm EYS, I din buy those in pcs type. Besides I dunno exactly hw much is cheap since I nv go & yan jiu.

I dun intend to go tare spend a bomb leh - dun hv so much $$ also. My motive is to R&R then buy lingeries only + of cos eat lah!

If we can't take chinese herbs, what can we boil the black chicken soup with har? Am thinking... Just black chicken, red dates and "gou qi zi" will have taste a not har? Anyone got recipe to share? Feel like making something nuitritious for myself leh... always feeling light-headed nowadays. Sianz...

Ya..stella..they did..but most likely not very long also. I also heard from my MIL that her mothers' time, those rich families get 'breastfeeding nannies' for their babies instead.

Also I think they find that now more mothers r working so not convenient to breastfeed, n ppl have more money to buy formula..so they think we mothers shouldnt breastfeed now.

Before ur inputs on powdered milk came in, hubby already bought mamilmama last evening. Tried drinking, tastes nice, and so far din puke, so i think will continue religiously.

Btw, i saw this TV program where they interviewed Dr W C Cheng. He mentioned that during confinment, drink hot soup or warm milk can help to stimulate more milk for breastfeeding. Has to be warm cos the body will take longer to absorb cold fluids.

Ah ger,

I've also booked a trip to bangkok in Sept. Sama, same, going there to pig out. (Am counting on my MS to be over by then). Told hubby I'm going to make up for the 2 months of puking by eating with a vengence there so he better be prepared :D

Also hoping to buy maternity undergarments and do lotsa reflexology. Really enjoy thai massages but I think I'd better not risk it and just do reflexology cause I'm afraid of hurting the baby.

anyone here has experience with buying birds' nest in bangkok? What to buy and how much should I expect to pay har? Scared get "kan" leh.

winnie...like what thenuahcouple said...just double boil the kampong chicken will do. one chicken after a couple of hr of bouble boil will squeeze out abt 1 bowl of concentrated chicken essence. Very "bu" also.

I am planning to cook it tis wkend too. but if got cold, flu or cough, pls dun drink till u r ok.

Hi Winnie,

before preggie, either mom will boil for me or i will buy those packet herbs for black chicken soup. As for wat are the herbs that we can eat during pregnacny I really dun know as nowsaday too lazy and tired to cook and mostly mom will boil for me.

why dun u drop by any chinese medical hall and ask.

Winnie - I wun eat like nobody's biz lah cos I m still consicous abt the rate I go. I want it to increase steadily & nt boom up @ 1 shot.

My gf told me I can do foot reflexology cos it helps to reduce water retention, bt tis Sat I m gng to ask my gynae again. He's also gng to teach me all the on-plane exercise.

As for maternity under-garments, I will buy cheaper ones then maybe 2 - 3pcs each then I forsee I will increase by 2 cups bah........ I dunno leh...... very hard to gauge. As for panties, I will buy the cotton ones - cos mroe comfy to wear @ hme. Then @ wk, I had alot of those Wacoal seamless panties bought in Bkk.

Birds' nests - I dunno ware exactly is cheap & gd quality - so I rather buy in Sin.

Ah ger,
no worries, the recipe request was not directed at you. I know better than to ask someone who doesn't even have rice at home :D kekeke

JC,
thanks. Will try that. Wah... very "zhong ben" leh. One chicken, hours of boiling, only one bowl of soup. *peng*

Nuahcouple,
thanks for the advice. You're so lucky that your mum will boil soup for you *envious envious*

Ah ger,
only 2 hours flight so should be ok right? Usually I sit behind my desk for hours at work too mah.

been wondering... those under belly maternity underwear looks exactly like normal underwear leh. 2nd/3rd time mums, share your experience can? What's the diff between underbelly maternity underwear and normal underwear har? Why so much more expensive?

Ah ger,
oh ya, oh ya, I'll be really really happy if I can know the baby's sex before my holiday... then I can buy lots and lots of cuuuuute baby clothings in bangkok

Also, just to share, quite a few people have told me about birds' nest causing asthma as well. Some went on to say that it's because of the feathers in the birds' nest... not sure if it's just old wives' tales but I guess same rule applies lor... EAT IN MODERATION.