(2007/02) February

Giggler, yah lor this time MS is worse. With my son it was only dry heaving. This one, vomit out green bile.. SIANZ!! Thought my MS was over already :p But hor, think the bad MS is due to lack of sleep also.. lagi sian.

today is another bad day at work...
had a terrible headache since yesterday..
and my boss wants me to re-do the whole powerpoint presentation.. when i did it exactly the way he wanted the first time round..
then he sound me out again.. abt travelling for a one week business trip to Shanghai in early nov.. even counted and say 2nd trimster,safe to travel..

hi smurfy

aiyoh, why ur boss like that? No one else can make the trip? If u really dun feel comfortable, perhaps ur gynae can help to write a letter to excuse u? Nov ah, ur tummy must be quite big liao right?

back from lunch...not much appetite. took porridge. Me feeling uncomfortable too, bloated & slighty nausea too. Seem like it is getting worse. sickeness almost the whole day.

ya...hasn't been excersing since preggy feel very lazy...and "nuan". I stayed at home the past few days....basically doing nothing but lying & lying & lazing. I thought with so many days at home can accomplish more things but i did nothing.....

still coming back to work together seem good although not feeling so comfortable but at least not lazy.....

anybody got any remedy to get rid o the wind in the tummy??

smurfy....get a green light to travel from your gynae b4 u do it. cos boss is not going to be responsible for anything. Do take good care of urself. sometime, got to be abit selfish.

Hi Koh,

I'm still with Dr Heng bt hb complained that her consultation is too fast and she dun seem happy to answer qns...bt I think she is ok as she has lots of patients. From my last visit, gynea said everything is okai and will be going for blood test on the 4th Sept

Hi Pekochan,

my gynea said that swimming is good. I swim occasionally even b4 I know am preggie. When confirmed preggie, I still go swimming as I know swimming is the best exercise for MTB now. I dun swim everyday thou...at least 3 times a week. Am ard 13 weeks now. I think my auntie niece lost her bb ard 4th or 5th mth..not too sure.

my backache ard buttock area is due to sitting on sofa or sitting down on the bed or lying back in bed. When u wanna stand up to walk ...Ouch...beri painful.......

Btw, I do not hv MS during 1st tri...bt now...certain food that I take...I will vomit..already vomitted 3 times for the past few days

for those taking muti-vit and iron pills, pls remb to drink lots of water.....;)

anyone intend to go travelling? I intend to travel in ard end Oct and have checked with SQ...if you are not carrying twins....u can travel up to 32 weeks bt we still need gynea letter...not sure if my gyne allow me to travel...long flight...as hb going to Holland for training...

Chloe,
My boss going with me as well. Coz I am doing regional job and our HQ is in China, so most probably that's where WE will conduct the training

nuahcouple,
travel for fun is good. But when ur hb attends the training during the day time, won't u be bored?

JC,
I dunno how things will proceed. I think I can get the gynae say I am not fit to travel. But in a way, it will also affect my job performance in future. But the preparation work before and after will probably kill me as well.

At times i really dunno how to be a happy mum. So many things just changed suddenly.... Everyday I am either so tired out or can't accept the change

smurfy,
Your boss so tough one. When is your big day? Try to think positively lah. Change can be good. You probably should have not much trouble travelling, and I'm sure you'll feel better by then, so just relax and look on the bright side.

nuahcouple,
I think with my first pregnancy, I also had pains in buttocks and when moving after being stationary. But not so early in pregnancy. Probably your uterus is pressing against some nerve. I used to have bad pains in my groin area and at the buttocks for most of my 3rd trimester. Quite jialat. Hard to move around. Hope this time will be better. I think last time sometime around 5 months, I injured my groin accidentally slipping on some ice (last time winter in the US). From then on it was painful. But it stopped being painful after I delivered.

Hi smufy,

travelling with Hb I dun feel bored at all as whenever I travel with him, I always go gai gai and sightseeing on my own and on weekends I will be his "tour guide"..or we will go somewhere else...hehehehe..........my hb ex-job requires him to travel 80% of his time and am so used to travel with him and I go jalan on my own ;)Now since he changed job which dun requires him to travel much liao...he will be going in sept for 2 weeks and will not be joining him and in Oct he will be going again for 1 week and thot why not take a break from work and go relax.....

Hi Priviledged,

I asked gyne why buttock so painful and she said it's common and need to excerise loh...as mentioned I only hv buttock ache when sitting on sofa or bed....the chair in office I hv no pro at all
....walking I hv no pro also....

PVL, you swim every nite? You very hardworking leh, me just plain lazy to start exercising.

ralliart/Charis/Catz, dun be sianz abt your MS, it means that your bb is doing well.

smurfy, Shanghai still ok rite? At least it's quite developed. But if you dun feel like gg, get gynae to help. Got to keep telling yourself that you got to be happy for your bb's sake? Main thing is to get yorself to think positive first.

JC, hehehe... me too, just laze at home, didnt do much yday. Supposed to clear my mails, arrange photos, do housework, etc. In the end, didnt complete all my tasks.

nuahcouple, you also start your ms now? Since gynae said you everything ok, most likely you able to travel lah. Did your gynae recommend what exercise for the buttock?

Hi Giggler,

mine dun even know if consider MS or not...haahhaha.........my MS beri mild one....exercise for buttock....hmm, she did not say leh....hopefully she allows me to travel as I remb when I 1st visited her...she was strict abt travelling...she said no no travelling...so dun know if for 1st trim or thruout the whole pregnacy.

Anyone has been drinking cold water lately? been wanting to drink cold water...such as cold soy milk, orange squash...anything that is cold....is it no good for bb?

Also, anyone knows when can we start reading to bb or let bb listening to music?

thenuahcouple

I crave for cold and sweet drinks. And I do drink them on and off. At times it is just a few sips to stop the cravings. More than 1 glass per day and I will feel BB protesting with the abdomen cramps.

hi smurfy

har, ur boss also going... maybe can discuss whether u can support thru phone if u are not the one conducting the training. Anyway, will still have to depend on gynae to assess whether u suitable to travel. But if gynae say no, then better dun go.

i love cold drinks and i drink them occassionally, not more than 1 glass a day. Used to crave for freezy coke, but now like dun fancy coke anymore... haha... now crave for ice jelly, just had one last weekend... looks like i have been a naughty mommy ;)

wow....i had more than 1 glass per day at times...morning..one cup of soya milk, lunch time..apple juice and nite time orange squash or soya milk again...oh no...am the naughty mummy.

Btw, can drink ice jelly meh..thot too cooling liao...I miss that too bt dare not drink....not even watermelon or grass jelly....

nuahcouple, think it's not advisable to travel during 1st trim lah. I also drink cold drinks occassionally but limit to non-gassy drinks lah.

hi nuahcouple

heehee... me not sure also, initially even wanted to have chendoh, but hubby said got coconut, later will have wind... so thot just have ice jelly, but i din take the pineapple that comes with it... i heard about cannot take watermelon and grass jelly too, so din have them ever since pregnant. now i also crave for ice longan... oh no, i better exert more self control.

ur cold drinks seem ok leh, mainly fruit juices and soya milk, not like me, i lagi more sinful than u lor.
Btw, if u wanna cut down on sugar, u can try asking for unsweetened soya milk, then they will not add in the sugar syrup for u.

i drink cold drinks all the time and most of the time its frizzy drink so that I can burp. But I refrain from those with caffeine such as coke/pepsi. My grandma told me no grass jelly as its too 'cooling'.

Chloe, I am drinking enfamama vanilla flavour, nice and I like it.

cherryale,

On fizzy drinks, recently Sprite came out with a new Sprite Zero...Its Zero sugar, Zero Carbo.

Finally there's one other fizzy drinks without sugar other than Coke and Pepsi which has caffeine. Its not too bad. U can try it out. My hubby bought it at Shop & Safe over the weekend.

Think i will go and get the half dozen can one one of these days.

hi starlite

ok, will keep a look out for the sprite zero!
i like sprite too, but have not been drinking it for a long long time. i enjoy squeezing a little lemon juice into sprite, tastes very refreshing.

Giggler,
Hahaha. You think I'm so hardworking. If I swam every night I think I wouldn't be so fat already! LOL.
I only swim once a week lah. No time otherwise. Not good for my eczema and my daughter's eczema. Also I have to travel to the swimming pool. So lecheh. But hopefully regular exercise this pregnancy will help in the aches and pains that I suffered in the first preg.

nuahcouple,
I ALWAYS drink cold drinks. Can't stand warm or hot drinks. But usually only water or ice milo or milk. Dunno how bad it is for the baby. I have not read any scientific reason for not drinking cold water. So I drink lor. In fact, when I delivered in the US, the drink they served me in the hospital was water with the whole jug full of ice chips. Hehehehe. None of the elders here in Singapore knew this otherwise they sure flip.

think cold drinks is again, one of those old wive's beliefs..
so long as it is not freezing shld be okay, especailly in our weather..

oh i tried grass jelly the other day and the whole day I was feeling unwell, the abodomen cramps seems worse than usual. It was only after that that i know that grass jelly is REALLY very cooling.

gd morning ladies! i got a hard time in the loo last evening. must hv eaten too much heaty food and plus the supplement it made my body really heaty. really hv to force myself to drink tons and tons of water! i poo poo until my anus so painful, got blood somemore....sigh if i can poo poo later sure will be damn painful! sori ladies im not trying to be gross so early in the morning!

me down with flu & cough...anyone know what medicine to avoid? I think i read somewhere that a doctor prescribe some medicine which cannot be consume during pregnancy!

My MS is fine right after 12 weeks and I happily told my hb abt it. Well, after i told him, MS started again and hugging toilet bowl again...

Hi Chole,
i'm taking enfamama choc flavour, nice too...u can try. i dun take those non flavoured milk so this is the only one with choc flavour.

morning to all.............. yest IE dwn then I was on 1/2 day so I din read anything.

Let me speed read then I chat w/ u gals again.......

hi All

Let me try to reply some of the things.

Bitbit - I m coming to 15w tis Fri only. Last wk is 14w. Did I write wrongly?

Also - walking & swimming are gd for preggies, my gynae even advise me to do tat since 1st tri. I told hb I wanna go swimming bt then he said wkend pools are very packed, so I dunno when we will hv the chance to swim.

MS - gynae say though wk 12 is end of 1st tri, bt will subsequently go off by wk 14. However diff preggies will hv diff rate, so gals, jus stay +ve!

I read abt Icy's case....... may god bless her w/ many many more angels to come. *pat pat*

Travel - I m gng to Bkk nx wk, for 3D. I m also in the midst of persuading hb to go hols bt he's nt very keen, always ask me to wait. Dunno must wait until hw long........ by then my neck already grown by dunno hw many inches liao.

Cold drink - I take grapefruit/ cran juices - those tat hv to b stored in the fridge. bt when I take out, I let it cool abt 10 - 15mins. Same thing goes for my prune juices. I dun fancy fizzy drinks even b4 I was preggie, I had no probs burping out the gas so far......

Milk/ Soya bean - I've bn taking since I know I was preggie. Bt during 1st tri - I was very resistant to milk, & even just 1 sip will make me go nauseous the whole day. Bt I still drink cos if I dun take in enuff calcium (though I still hv calcium pills), bb will take all then I may end up w/ dental probs.

Both milk/ soya bean will cause wind - as acc to my gynae, so just drink abit lor, then let it fart out. Ha ha ha.... I drink HL, bt I let it cool abt 15 - 20mins (same as watever cold drinks taken out frm the fridge)

Reduce wind - gynae told me can drink Ginger Tea. Some old wives' tales said Ginger will cause jaundice bt gynae said it's irrelevant. So far I took once, I got it frm Daiso - $2 per pakt w/ 10 sachets I think. Alternatively, u can buy ginger then add in black sugar or rock sugar lor - healthier than the normal white sugar.

I dunno the effect though cos it was @ night when I took it. Although it's old wives' tales bt still if u can avoid it then drink less.

As for dessert - well, if u say chendol hv cocnut, then nasi lemak, laksa all hv coconut. I think again - MODERATE is the word lor. So long as it's a bit it shld be fine, or else ask the dessert seller to pour less lor.

Grass jelly is very cooling one. If las time u miss ur menses - green bean soup, pineapples, grass jelly can help u come faster/ earlier. tats wat I tried las time lah......

Doggy - I was sick initially, in early June. I forgot wats the med I took liao - very mild. Think flu tablet is Chlomine, then the cough one I finish liao. Bt it tasted like kids' cough syrup.

U can ask the GP to prescribe for u - make sure it's indicated safe for pregnancy. Then the nx time u go ask ur gynae abt it. or perhaps u can ask ur gynae 1st then u get GP to prescribe for u.

Here is a link you can read up on. http://www.obfocus.com/high-risk/meds1.htm

Wah....... hope my replies are all complete. Did I miss out anything?

Time flies, and I m having my chkup tis Sat again. Bt appt is early 8+ in the morning. *yawn* Wonder if I will b lucky to c bb's gender tis wk.

hi ager,
thanks for the info...that was a long posting!

i think if its boy, easier to detect, am i right? i hope to see my bb's gender on my next visit too. by then i will be in my 15wks +...so exciting!

Doggy - aiyoh, I din cme in since las Fri afternoon leh....... then wkend I din read. Then yest couldnt' cme in - then u all got so many posts, so I one breath reply all lor. Ha ha ha.......

Dunno y everytime when it's nearing gynae chk - I start to worry abt alot of things one leh........ Jia lat right? Anything & everything can flash thru my mind.

Doggy - i felt sick too last night...sneezing through the night. Finally got to go to bed at abt 11pm after finsih off with my daughter school work & spelling. Wow.....very tired leh...this morning my neck all aching cannot turn. I din take any medicine, what i did is sleep. If really today still not ok then i will eat the flu tablet. So far so good lah....no more sneezing.

Is pineapple really cold. I took some cooked pineapple on Sun. After a couple of hr.....my whole tummy is so uncomfortable. So bloated & the wind kept on turning & turning....very awful feeling. I wonder it is bcos of the pineapple?

Powdered Milk - I started drinking a couple of weeks ago. But not consistent lah.....esp this few days my tummy so uncomfortable & full of wind i dare not drink. Only drink milo...

Wow...ah ger...u so fast 15wks already. putting on wt? hope u can see ur bb gender. u want a girl or boy ?

bitbit.....r u in? how's ur gynae visit ?

guess its normal! i always worried this & that too becoz i have a m/c last time....hb is worst, become very paranoid! everytime i went for the scan and the bb is fine, i'm very relieve...well, thats y mother is always so "wei ta"

JC - pineapple is acidic only. bt then I read frm fetal development, an ang moh woman I think, said she had heartburn, then she took pineapples & was alright.

I take pineapples also during 1st tri - bt of cos is those pizza's pineapples lah. I din take alot either cos 1st tri mah. Las Sat I took apple + pineapple juice. Shared w/ hb lah.
Try to limit the intake 1st cos nw just passed 1st tri nt long ago.

JC - yeap yeap tis Fri is the mark of the end of my 15w! So happy. Me arh - actually any gender is fine for me. Bt if really I can get to choose, I hope to hv a gal then subsequently the gal can look after bro the nx time.

On the contrary, I hope to hv a boy also, cos my family has no boys @ all, I hope tis one is a boy then can make my mum happy. PILs would b more than happy to get another grand-daughter cos they lack of gals! Ha ha ha.......

I hope to c bb gender tis wkend though gynae say usually can detect betwn wk 16 - 18. I will kip the family in suspense 1st cos it's nt the detail scan, dun wanna make either one side happy for nothing.

Put on wt of cos lah! Bn putting on steadily since 1st tri. every 3wks 1kg. 1st tri I alreayd put on 3kgs lor, shot up to 54.5 after meal. recently I chk my wt - I think I m abt 56 @ the end of the day, bt when I wake up the nx morning, mt wt fluctuates - sometimes dwn to 54.5kg, smetimes can go to 55kg. Watever it is - indeed I put on lor. Everybody says I din put on alot, maybe just the stomach tare lor bigger lor.

I just measured my statistics las wk. As compared to 10w+, everyware increased by 2" except for butt abt 0.5 - 1", then my arms nt yet.
My hairdresser said my face nt round yet leh....... Heng arh.........

Oh - somebody was asking when can start letting listen to music & talking to bb? I dunno, i feel like it then I tok to bb lor. I think my gynae said something like Wk 20 - 23.

Music - I hv nt tried yet - if I m to listen arh - maybe let the bb listen to all my instrumental CDs instead of bb CDs bah. ha ha ha....

Wah.. another long posting frm me. I super long-winded man. Ha ha ha....

gals - hv u all started taking birds' nests?

I just spent close to $500 on tat. Cos Eu Yan Sang tat time got special deal for VIPs. Then my gf ask if I wanna buy. 20% off for the Hua Yan (orange packing one) valid till 13 Aug. So I asked her to help me buy lor. I bought 3 Orange + 1 purple (normal 5% nia). Cost me $277.

Then i told hb, hb said dun trouble ppl, go ask hw much it cost to b their VIP, so nx day we went BPP & ask lor. Then they said $200. If after 20% then I still exceed, then can get the VIP lor. So again tat day we bought 3 Orange.

Sep gng to hv disc on both Orange & Purple one - 20% off.

We bought the concentrated one - more birds' nests. Then UP $88 after 20% is $70.40. Scoop 1 tablespoon every night b4 u slp, no need to dilute. Then kip in the fridge, bt must consume w/in 2wks. Bt my gf & also the staff say if we take every day - 1wk+ sure finish liao.

Cos I can't b expecting MIL to always make bird's nests for me to eat mah..... so we decided to buy some on our own lor.

ah ger, ya i've started taking bird's nests oredi but not those instant one. izzit very sweet? heard fr my col bird's nest is gd for bb complexion

ah ger..

tot birdnest can only be taken ard 20 weeks? i dunno is it for my case, cos my TCM doc told me it is cooling also. and must clean the birdnest very carefully .

pekochan

during 1st tri I've bn taking those brewed by MIL. Then very exp mah, she always make liao then for whole family to eat.

The concentrated ones r w/ rock sugar, I haben tried yet bt it shldn't b very sweet though. Another one is sugar free - more meant for diabetics. MIL bought me those small btls 1/2 doz instant ones - yest hb & I took - doesn't taste so nice.

Bt the ones I bought frm Eu Yan Sang - u can tell it's birds' nests cos it's still in complete strips one.

Those in 1/2 doz ones tasted more like cai yan (jelly) to me.

Initial stage I took bcos mummy also need to bu mah. bt din take often lah - every 2~3wks once lor.

MIL very long nv make liao until las Sat she brewed again.

Stella - no leh - some say 2nd tri can take liao. Some ppl also say 1st tri cannot eat durians, I also took. I think so long as it's nt everyday in big qty shld b alright.

my MIL buy those birds' nests I think quite exp one. She spent like $400+ then ard 6 - 7pcs only. Then 2nd purchase again spent like $300+. I dunno hw much she has already spent bt I thought we should do our own part lor.

I guess maybe if ur ody can't take 2 much cooling stuff as acc to TCM, then u follow lor. I think my body is heaty type cos I m afraid of hot, then if I drink milo too often I can get fever/ sore throat one.

I also take watermelon & etc. Some ppl also say watermelon is cooling one.

ah ger....me too juust started to eat last wkwnd. I din bought the instant. i also spend abt $500 for abt 17 pcs of bird nest. my daughters said " mummy very nice to eat...can buy more next time" i fainted liao....

this type a bit troublesome ...got to clean up the tiny hair & feather. But it is very easy to cook.

oh me too, just started takign birdnest last weekend...but i make myself. Bought 6pcs for $160...i bought dong yen no need to clean....

yeah, I dunno since wat time MIL start preparing. I only know when I m tare, after she cooked the dinner, then she will brew it lor. Then she will brew a bigger pot then divide for 3 families to eat. So nt just me benefit nia, I benefitted everybody. ha ha ha.........

My gf took the EYS for a long time liao, she said very gd lor - very zi ren (nourishing). When u c the btl - u cna c the birds' nests - it's equally gd one. Serious!

JC - *faint* of cos nice lah........ EXPENSIVE delicacy leh...... Ha ha ha.

I heard frm EYS (dunno if they r bragging or nt) tat Hua Yan supp to b more exp. Tats y the Orange pkg (Hua Yan) is $88 while Purple (Dong Yan) is ard $70.

I dunno hw to wash all these things + I dunno must use wat to brew so suan le - buy those 1 btl - scoop 1 tablespoon & eat everytime easier & more convenient.

Their dilueted ones - u can tell the yan very little only, hardly can c. The concentrated one is full of birds' nests lor. tats y the price is diff by 1/2.

For soya milk, i bought those from NTUC...Nutri Soy with reduced sugar. During my 1st Tri, I took Anmum Chocholate favour bt after that I can't drink that now...as I will puke..hence, I switched to soya milk ;)

Wow, u gals started bird nest already....me will be starting soon...waiting for mom to prepare. During my 1st tri....mom bought kampong chicken and pounded them into small pieces and double boil....no need to add any seasoning and it's really tasty. According to the chinese sinseh...is to keep bb stronger since no chinese med/herbs during 1st tri. Drink that once a week.

Anyone has pro zzzzzzzzzing....i can't zzzzz for the past few days

Thanks for all the concerns. I am doing just fine. My hubby is with me and I am doing mini confinement for 2 weeks before we fly back to bkk and then to taipei together.

thenuahcouple.....double boil chicken soup....sound & taste good. Do we need a special pot to boil. Pls advise...i think i wanna drink it this weekend.

icy.....all the best...

sorry to ask more question...did u ask ur dtr to check the reason behind the MC. Is there something u can do to ur body or how....to prevent it happen again.

the nuahcouple,

thats the best "chicken essence" you can get!!!

I dont think i will take bird nest during preggy cos the cost is too high and my feeling that it is unjustificable cos it only benefits the bb complexion. Not sure is there other health benefits? sorry , its my personal viewpt, hope i din offend anyone

hi nuahcouple,
i drink that chicken soup too., the TCM sinseh tld me its good. now, i drink till i see the chicken, want to vomit man!

ah ger,
just soak the birdnest in cold water for half an hr then throw in to the slow cooker can liao...very easy!

hi nuahcouple,
i drink that chicken soup too., the TCM sinseh tld me its good. now, i drink till i see the chicken, want to vomit man!

ah ger,
just soak the birdnest in cold water for hald an hr then throw in to the slow cooker can liao...very easy!