(2007/02) February

Ah ger, my col prefers the fried kway teow at Tg Pagar.

leomom, hehehe... I just called to ask my mom to buy Toto for me. Praying hard that I strike tonite too...

smurfy, so qiao... my BS also White Link that time. Good that you've settled your 'nest' too.

My hubby amused by my slowly emerging tummy..he keeps on looking n then smile..like chee ko pek..hahaha! Yesterday, we were out for dinner n went shopping @Marina Sq..Wah..I've not been shopping for ages..been resting at home..he bought me a maternity tee from dorothy perkins..got sale..so paid around $20plus only..jeans n pants selling @50% disc..so ladies can check it out.

so long never catch up with u all... yesterdy suddenly wake up with a lot of blood on panty, so scared but gynae was closed... went to gynae today, she says my placenta too low... its threaten abortion... now i already 15 weeks ++... very dangerous.... i feel so sad and scared .. but she assure mi that if i have lots of bed rest, as baby grows my placenta will be high back... but my boss ask mi to go back work tomorrow... haiz...

but a good news is mine is a baby GIRL... as my hubby wish... now i am like a empress with my HB.. cause he says i am carrying his princess mah... so bias rite....

well gals,

my gynae says now at this moment we cannot squat too much... i bleed bcuz i squat too much ( Brush toilet ) ... i don dare to squat liao...

take care ok... see u all tomorrow

hi gals, hv been mia from tis thread for a while.

Din sleep well yesterday nite, mayb having Oscars scan @9am at TMC. 1st, i was late. Then instead of gg to my gynae's clinic on 3rd flr, i went straight to 4th flr where the scanning is done. But was told need to get a form from clinic b4 gg to4th flr. *sigh*

so after getting a form from clinic, went back to 4th flr again. Was told to drink water for the scan. While in the room, sonographer mentioned tt bb was very active & then rite after she said tt, bb din move!!! BB must be petty as from then on, difficult to measure the neck. So was told to hv my blood test 1st b4 continue with the scan.

After blood test, went back for 2nd scan & this time, BB's position still no gd. 10mins later, BB seems to be tired of us looking at him/her, so he/she turned downwards!!! *argh* So sonographer asked if i had my b'fast & i said "no". So had b'fast at delifrance & pee b4 gg back for 3rd scan.

Went back for 3rd scan at 11am & both myself & sonographer kept quiet initially (afraid of saying wrong things... haha). While showing me the monitor, BB was stretching himself/herself & this is the gd time to get the measurement *BINGO*. Finally, after spending 2hrs+, we got the measurement!!! Will need to wait for the blood test results & clinic to call me tmr morning.

According to a nurse, it's common for BBs not to cooperate so dun worry too much if anyone here hving the Oscars/NT test later.... BTW, the sonographer managed to scan the bb's gender & it's most likely a girl.... :p

chole, i have fine hair on tummy too but Oscars scan showed it's a girl... so i guess hving fine hair on tummy is a boy does not apply to me....

anyone been to taka bb fair?

hi koh

oh dear, please take good care of urself from now on, no more squatting hor.

rachel, hey long time never hear from u!
haha... so wat i heard about hair and baby boy is not true afterall. wow, ur NT scan hor, so far i think urs the most drama.
So good ah, can tell urs is a gal liao. Mine dunno yet... Anyway, hope got mixture lor. Gal good leh, u can start looking around for gal's clothes. i drool everytime i look at them, so pink and pretty, boys' clothes less interesting. Even the gals' caps are nicer, got nice little flowers, laces and ribbons... heehee... i like girlish stuff, always find them soooo sweet.

Not been to any bb fair, easily tired nowadays... u bought anything yet?

hi koh

Now that i read ur posting again, realised u are also carrying a little princess.
Congrats and please really take very good care of urself. heehee... dads seem to have a soft spot for their little princess. i think my hubby is also one of them. He adores my niece and she sticks to him like superglue whenever she sees him.

kekekeke chloe..... so far, i hv not heard any1 here or my own friends having problems during NT scan.... will see if my friend who's doing her scan tonight hv such a prob..... i like girl girl's clothes too. Dun tink will buy much cos i hv 2 nieces so my sis will pass it to me after tt.... mayb jus go see see look look....

koh,,

pls take care of urself!!! congrats on having a princess!

oh now i have to take note..cannot squat. i tend to do that often

Hi Koh

Do take care. Try to pass those hsehold duties to yr hb or those part time cleaner. Don't overwork exert yrslf okie? So great, u r carrying a little princess w u.
mmm u r the first to knw. rest & don worry....

Hi Rae, thks alot for the detail update. I will be hving my NT scan& blood test nxt tue. hope my bb won't take too long. so envy both u & koh got hint of bb gender liao. guess i won't till detail scan. cos nxt tue, me only 12weeks+.

koh, think your health and bb is most impt. Better listen to your gynae and rest at home.

Rae, it seems like having Oscar/NT scan is able to know gender earlier hor? Makes me tempted to go for it leh. Hehehe

koh/Rae, congrats on having Princess!!!

Hi Starlite,
I have been away from office since tuesday, that's why no posting from me. On tues, baby measures 5.6cm at 12 weeks 6 days (although gynae said I should only be 12weeks lah - same reason as last time). Then he surprised me with a blood test!! I 'scolded' my gynae for not giving me adequate prep as I am very very scared of blood test. As I am right handed, he tried to draw blood from left hand but vein was too small, so after a while the blood flow stopped, then got to take blood from right hand!! So ended up got poked twice!! Now still got bruises on my hand. He took the neck measurement again and it is very low, and can see the nasal bone already, so quite relieved. My next visit is 29 Aug, again got blood test...but at least this time I am mentally prepared lah. When is your next visit?

Hi Cherryale,

Aiyo finally got your reply. Thought what happen to you. Glad that everything went well. Where is there a need to take blood test twice?

Hi leomum,

Can u tell me how to set to allow private msg? I dont know how to do that? Alternatively, maybe u give me your email address i email to u?

morning gals............

Feliza - I hv no idea yet - bt I m sure all these fairs are round the clock one.

Koh - usually I kneel dwn, I dun squat le so tat my whole body is down. anyway if u squat dwn for 2 long, I find it very tiring leh........ esp when tummy is pressing against the legs.

Koh, dun worry, my coll also placenta is low, so she can't walk fast. Then she may get early bed rest like 1 - 2mths prior to her delivery.

Congrats to Koh/ Rae on having a bb gal. Hmm - 15wks can detect gender??????? *cross-finger* I can c it 2 nx Sat.

Cherryale - hw cme will hv 2 blood tests?

Starlite, sorry miss yr msg.

First, u go to top left hand corner to Edit Profile. Chg the setting to allow for private msg & save. alternative, cn i email my contacts to you? hope its nt too troublesome for u.

wow, we have 2 little princess here...congrats to koh & Rae!

My next visit will be 1 month from my last visit...how often is interval? 1 month too? BTW, why must measure bb's neck huh? can someone enlighten me?

hi doggy

NT scan is used to check the possibility of baby having Down Syndrome. 2 things to look out for during the scan 1) the thickness of the fluid behind the baby's neck, the thinner the better, too thick has higher risk 2) nose bridge, if can see then DS risk is lower, babies with DS tend to have flat nose

However, one thing to note that NT scan is not confirmative, it only measures the POSSIBILITY. There are babies who are tested with higher DS risk during NT scan and turn out to be ok.
Usually, NT scan is done from 12-14 weeks of pregnancy.

Congrats to Koh and Rae

Koh, pls try to rest more.. don't scrub toilet - leave it to your husband!!!

doggy, usually for 2nd tri, the visits are monthly but coming to 3rd tri, it will be more frequent.. I think mine was 2 wks until final month then weekly to check for signs of labour.

thanx for all the concern and congrats....
but i heard that low placenta may give birth prematurely and might need c-sect... is it true? any one going to gynae next few days? can ask for mi?

ah ger,

i cannot stop work leh... have to work till due date then can start maternity leave... my gynae says when placenta are low, is very dangerous ... as now i am in 4th month of pregnancy, she says that the placenta will have high chances to be high up again...

after nx Sat, I will then know if my visit will b every mth or every 3wks as 1st tri.

I know las tri is almost every wk. Tats wat I saw frm my sis's prev pregnancy.

leomum,

ya lor, we so funny play hide and seek.

I already sent u an email. We will confirm again on when to pick up the maternity wear via sms later when u msg me.

Koh - my coll is also wking........ oh bt for ur case is slightly diff. She also realised she has low placenta early stage. Her gynae also told her she has to do c-sect cos of the bb position. bt hw early/ late is she delivering I dunno.

So hw's ur neg w/ ur boss? Has he revised the employment letter?

Starlite/Ah ger,
the second blood test is the second tri screening, think it costs 150 and is called the triple test?? Starlite, my package including delivery is $1200, will pay half first then another half later. Gynae said next visit, may be able to see the sex of baby..I am hoping for baby gal

Doggy, I will only see gynae once every 3 weeks from next visit onwards.

feeling so tired today, backache!!! Anyone having backache? Also, gynae asked me to try to sleep on my left as its better for baby but I can't sleep on my left leh, so still sleeping on my back. Any advice how I can sleep better on my left?

cherryale, why do u need to do 2 blood tests consecutively?

Ah ger, what u having for lunch later? My fren meeting me for lunch but no idea where to go leh. It's so boring here at Tg Pagar hor?

doggy, my visit is also 1mth interval. The bb's neck measurement can predict if bb got down's syndrome.

Catz, how's your ms? Better?

koh, it's true that if your placenta is too low, you got to go for c-section. But there's cases that some placenta will move up later. So dun worry too much now. What u need is bed rest....

Koh,
Take lots of rest please. If your boss asks you to go back, just take some leave lah. The baby is more impt than anything else.
With my #1, my placenta was scanned low at the 20 wk scan. Was a bit worried. But the midwife said that it would most probably move up. And she was right. If placenta is not too low, no need to go for C-sect lah. If placenta is sort of covering the cervix, then definitely must go for C-sect. Don't worry too much. It will probably move up.

Wah, you and rae can see gender already? So fast! Congrats on your princesses. I'm sure you'll enjoy them very much. Girls are so nice to take care of.

koh,

take good care okie ..
soo nice .. so now u have 1 of each sex liao ..

u still going back to work since doc give u mc for today ?

u think the doc will tell me .. if he discover something abnormal with bb ?

ah ger,
my doc dun encourage test .. but he said should be normal lo ...

cherryale,
do you use a bolster? Bolsters can help you to sleep better on your side. But sometimes it's hard if you're not used to it lah. Like my hb. I always try to make him sleep with the bolster on his side, but he just cannot. Eventually, when you get bigger, I think you'll have to sleep on your side. I also use two pillows when sleeping on my side, so that my neck is not bent at a funny angle. But it really depends on your comfort lah.

Hi PVL,
I dun use bolster but I have 3 pillows and tons of stuff toys on my bed. When you use two pillows, its for your head is it? For the bolster, its to hug in front or put behind to support the back?

Hi Giggler,
actually I dun know what is the first blood test for although gynae did mention the purpose but guess at that time I just didnt pay attention cos I was too scared and whining away.

priviledged,

i am the only one working in the office, so its rather hard for mi to take leave and my leave are all used up... my gynae give mi mc but he still says i have to come back...
i am into 16 weeks so i can see gender ...

ck,

ya i am working today... no choice...
hmm... ya 1 each sex liao... can closed shop liao...

ah ger,

my boss din revised the contract... but i think he wont bring work to my place... my HB will sure give him a black face... haha... though he is not married.. but i think he should at least knows some of the do's and don's during maternity... i will tok to him agagin before i give birth... he says now too early liao

ck, I feel that gynae will let u know if there's anything abnormal with bb.

cherryale, hahaha... I understand cos I also very scared of needle.

koh, pls go home if you're not feeling well. Nothing is more impt than your bb.

koh,

but no more bleeding rite ?
u make sure okie then go to work ...

sometimes some guys even married also weird one ..
i asked a guy this morning in train if he could exchange his seat with my hubby .. so my hubby can sit next to me..
the guy just told me "NO, sorry, i want this seat"
i wonder wat's the logic ?
then my hubby blur .. thought he could come over .. preparing to take his bag ...
this is the first time i actually asked someone and i got rejected ..

giggler,

ok ok .. like that then i dun go for test liao ..
next visit i'll ask my doc .. if anything abnormal please let me know ..

i'm scared of needle too ..
use to be not scared .. but ever since i get jab every 2 weeks ..
i get a little paranoid ..
cause it's itchy .. and causing a small lump at my butt ..

chloe,
my tummy also hairier ...
but hor .. i think is with the hormone jabs ...

cherryale,
I hug the bolster. If I sleep on my side, then the bottom leg is extended and the top leg is curled on top of the bolster. But sometimes, I feel more comy with both legs curled round the bolster. Pillows for the head.

Hi koh..

Ya..its true..higher chance for premature n aslo may need C-sect..provided the placenta did not go up..the condition is placenta previa..the placenta blocks part of the cervix so have to C-sect. If bleeding is persistent..the placenta may pull away from the womb, n hence premature labour..its a serious condition..not trying to scare you..but u must be informed.

SO hope that for u the placenta will go up..then should be ok. But u need bed rest..

My girlfriend also currently having this condition..she had jab n 1 week mc..then mc finish she straight away go back to work, go jalan-jalan..then this week bleeding again..gynae scold..gave her a jab n 3 weeks mc this time.

Try not to go to work if possible..u should be resting at least a few days.

Can I join? I am expecting my first baby EDD 7 February 2007. Very excited!

So far, I have been feeling OK. I do wish I don't feel so gassy, burpy and nauseous all day and night though.

I have had two ultrasounds and two blood tests so far.

I had a dating ultrasound at around 6 weeks, because I wasn't so sure when my last period was, so my doctor sent me to determine the gestational age of the baby and estimate the EDD through ultrasound. At this ultrasound, hubby and I could see just the little sac with the heart beating.

I also had a blood test at this ultrasound to confirm my HCG levels, blood type, glucose level etc.

I had my 12 week/first trimester ultrasound two weeks ago. It was determined that I was at 13 weeks 1 day, baby measured 6.9cm (so tiny!) and the baby's heartbeat was measured at 155bpm. Hubby was busy concentrating on counting ten fingers and ten toes.

We saw all bebe's arms, limbs, fingers, toes, and even the spine, and the brain!

We also did the NT scan at this ultrasound, and coupled with another round of blood tests, it was determined that I am at very low risk for a baby with down syndrome, trisomy 13, 18, and 21.

Crossing fingers that the baby will continue developing healthy.

The bebe was really active during this ultrasound, turn left, turn right, and could even be see 'bouncing' around. It just refused to stay still. It took almost an hour before the doctor could get a proper NT scan and crown to rump measurements.

Hubby jokingly said bebe may have disciplinary problems in future. Also we are guessing bebe may be a girl because it was cheekily crossing and uncrossing legs during the ultrasound a la Sharon Stone in Basic Instinct.

---

For those who might be experiencing placenta previa, I understand that in most cases, the placenta will slowly move upwards as you progress in pregnancy. So don't worry so much for now.

Hope everyone is feeling good today! TGIF!

priviledged,

ya loh ... ppl r really strange..

my bed is a queen size le..
assuming if i take one bolster in ..
then it'll be tight liao ..
lately i do like to take my pillow and sleep side way .. cross my leg over the pillow. .then ended up my head no support ..

Welcome pbuttercup! I enjoyed reading yr detailed description of yr baby.

My previous appt at 10 weeks plus..we could see the baby..was lying down on his or her back n the heart was beating..n I asked the gynae in child-like innocence. 'Wats the baby doing doc? And my gynae replied in most daddy like manner..'Well, baby is sleeping'..Then suddenly the baby stirred, moved the body up and down again and continue sleeping. Then all 3 of us, exclaimed together, 'There the baby moved!'
We found it quite amusing.

I excited to see baby again next week. I should be around 14-15 weeks.