(2007/02) February

Hi ahger..

Hehe..for me more than 30 over bucks is quite ex. I bought 2 pants from PM previously at $60 plus..was kinda 'persuaded' to buy cos PM salegirls very pushy leh..the one at Suntec..My hubby quite 'unhappy'..cos he thinks I should spend less since Im not working though he gives me some allowance..but wat he dont know is most maternity wear esp pants are around that price right..hehe.

Cos Im only working part-time lah..Supporting my parents also..so looking for cheaper alternatives.

me very long never log-in liao, basically no time in the office anymore, now I m almost taking over evertyhing and new ger is still novice and learn very slow, but my work got deadlines, if she cannot finish I hv to stay back to rush everything. Duno y she muz "poke" then will move else "gong gong" sit there stare at the ceiling. Really stress out..

seems like alot of you standby maternity dresses & pants already? I am using my old clothes still and was thinking of borrowing from my friends who lend them to me during my prev preg.Hmm... but still not yet 12 wks, so I am not telling her yet. Stuck here duno whether to tell her or not coz want to borrow clothes from her, my tummy is showing already. Juz now look at the mirror, sideway got "pop out" quite obvious liao. Any1 showing obviously at 11th week already?

nana, u r 14 wks already ah? So fast? I am still in my 11th week, next wk going or the scan check-up, very scare and worried..

So envy you all talking about size of baby already, my last record of bb was during my 1st scan, only 1.5cm. Until now still duno how big he/she had grown already

giggler, how come your gal changed her temperament after u r preg? She is old enuf to noe? Mb telepathy or something? My son is 19 mos, nowsaday he cling on to me more than my hb, duno is it becos he noe I preg? Hahaha..

ah ger how come u start to take calcium pills & iron pills already? I still on folic acid and vitB leh, JC, how come urs is Vit D??? Am i losing out something?? Confuse??

very sianz I m having morning sickness in the mrning these few days. Usually I only feel the MS in the evening, now even hv it in the morning and almost puke this morning in front of the PC, stupid, duno is it becos I too stress. Juz now my hb said my face very pale. I wasn't like that in my 1st preg. This preg quite "xin ku" for me, alot of worries, stress, cramp and MS..

Going to bed soon, gotta wake up early tomolo and then start work cycle again, sianz.

giggler,
i had been bleeding away for quite some time.. cos at first I had a blood clot beside the sac..*sigh* i hope I am one of those people who bleed throughout pregnancy.

Went for my NT scan yesterday, everything is fine. Finally i'm 12wks! bb is now about 6 cm, it's really great to c bb moved during the scan. At first bb is facing down then suddenly turned around and hands waving.....so cute!

Hi mums to-be
Had my check-up yesterday. Baby was fine and saw the heartbeat on the scan. But couldn't hear on the doppler. The doc didn't really try hard with the doppler though. My doc didn't measure the baby cos he said baby was all curled up and no point measuring. Not accurate. But he did measure in the end cos I kept asking him. The curled up baby was 45 mm. Baby was sleeping, I guess. didn't really move. He said baby is fine. He's quite relaxed about it. Gave me Obimin for the next trimester. Next visit is in 4 wks time, 30 Aug. *Biting nails already*. Detailed scan scheduled for Sept 27 (wk 19). I'm supposed to be 12 weeks today. Had routine bloodtest also.

JC,
The doc didn't prescribe the Omega-3. I've been taking it regularly. Yesterday he was going to prescribe Calcium tog with the Obimin, but I told him I already take calcium, so he cancelled his prescription for Ca.

Hi Starlite,
can you check for me the number? THanks! Cos my gynae didnt tell me to go, I feel a bit embraressed to get the nurse to arrange for me. But how different is the NTscan from the scan that gynae usually do? My gynae also measured the neck thickness in my last visit and it is normal. Although it doesnt cost much, I am just not too keen to do too many screening test. I am not young, 31 yrs old. But many of my friends also didnt do NT scan leh, so dun know whether really needed.

Catz, do u do anything to relieve the aches and pain? I only ask hb to rub for me a little but doesnt help. I am so sleepy these few days. Didnt want to come to work today actually but no choice, got no more leave. I am taking leave next tue for my appt and also to celebrate crossing 12 weeks, then on 29 Aug to take blood test.

bitbit, you really sound stressed out with your work leh.... Take a deep breath and relax, ok? My hb told my gal abt bb lah, after that she changed her temperament. But my mom said that it's normal for kids to behave this way when her mom is pregnant. Sigh........

icy, did your gynae prescribe anything for you to stop the bleeding?

pekochan, must be very happy to see bb waving at you!!! THink I must go and take a look at my scan, miss my bb.

PVL, it's such a relief to know that bb is fine rite? Do you bring Sarah along for check-up?

bitbit....take good care, dun stress too much. Once u got stress up, baby will also feel it too. Why dun u announce ur preggy so tt ur boss will not load u with too much work......

icy....r u feeling better today, anymore spotting??

Cherryale....am quite surprise tt ur gyane din explain to u on some optional test or scan to be taken. I guess maybe ur gynae already measure the neck thickness....no problem that's why never tell u on all the tests.

cherryale, quite sore leh, esp under the ribs and back area (so weird, like macham aching from doing boxercise) so don't really want to be massaged by my rough husband. Heh. Just trying to lie down straight so I don't get any weirder aches.. but very xin ku. Wah you take leave for all your tests? For my OSCAR next Monday, my gynae said it's covered by MC leh. For me, I'm running out of MC to take..heh.

bitbit, yah 2nd pregnancy is also more xinku for me. Out of the blue vomit at my desk..luckily got plastic bag. Take care hor.

giggler,
Sarah was having her nap at home at the time. My hubby took half day leave to come home and babysit, cos my parents have gone away on holiday. Usually I will leave Sarah with them when I go for my appt.
Yes, Thank God bb is fine. Must just keep praying that all our pregnancies will proceed smoothly, esp once all of us cross the 1st tri.

cherryale,
I'm not doing any of the screening tests at all. My gynae was Ok with that. He didn't insist. Yest he told me his machine in the clinic (The Private Suite at KKH) is not very high resolution. He is not the one doing the detailed scan at 19 wks. I have to go to the 2nd floor of KKH to do my detailed scan. I guess different machines have different capabilities. If your doc managed to measure the neck thickness, then that's as good as the NT scan already, i think. Only for NT scan maybe they measure more accurately and also look at the nose bone.

Giggler, think its normal for your gal to behave this way esp they are first born and used to get all the attention. find it quite amusing to hear from my MIL said my hb actually bullied his second bro when the bro was borned and became very naughty too when all along he was a good boy. But after a while, they will be fine. So dun worry, am sure your gal will be back to your little sweetie again.

icy, hope u will get better soon. Rest more and eat a little more than your usual. I also used to just eat my normal amount but since I have lost weight, think I better make sure I dun play with my food anymore and try to finish them.

bitbit, I am 11 weeks plus and am showing already. A tiny bump, but this tiny bump sometimes look like a big bump (like 4 -5 mths) when I am very bloated. But I am still wearing normal skirts cos havent washed my maternity wear. Think I will start wearing next week already. I will also go and cut my hair next week.

catz,
aiyoh, you so ke lian. Vomit at your desk. Better keep plastic bags handy liao. So do all your colleagues know about your pregnancy, since you vomit at your desk? You must take care, yah? Eat what you can and when you can. It will pass soon (I hope

JC,
This morning, I was scare to hell, when I go to my first toilet session and wipe out a major pc of blood clot. almost like close to 2cm.. I start to wonder if that is bb. I start screaming for mil to check for me.. mil says is not.. cos anyway it is smaller than bb. I hope that explains why I had spotting for the past 2 days.. Wonder why i have so much blood clot.

giggler,
nope, gynae didnt give me anything to stop the bleeding. Only can be explain by my womb is bleeding and there is blood clot inside.

cherryale,
yeap, I had to try.. *sigh* everyday telling bb to grow and grow.. then on scan day must straighten up and show the full length.

JC, yah, I think I learnt more about those tests from this forum than my gynae. So far, he kept saying baby is normal, healthy, the neck measurement is normal etc. The only thing he said that I didnt need to do is amnio. Maybe I should contact my uncle who is a gynae at gleneagles to arrange the NT Scan for me. When is the latest time for us to do NT Scan between 11 to 14weeks??

PVl, my gynae said he will also look at the nasal bone and something like if that is obvious then very low risk of DS. I will ask him next week when I see him again when he will check nasal bone.

oh icy,

did your gynae advise u under what situation u shd see him? did he gave u jabs like projesterone to relax the womb, hormone pills, etc?

Have u tot of seeking a 2nd opinion?

cherryale,

i forgot about getting the no. think maybe i call the clinic later and check with the nurse for u to see if u can call up and fix the appt yourelf...

Starlite,
My gynae would be on leave now, but there is another gynae in the same clinic which she says I can approach. I had tons of hormone pills.

I actually checked with my hb to 2nd opinion, but then hb decide to trust what our gynae is saying. My last m/c, we also went through 2nd opinion.. and he said he realised "what will be, will be".

Anyway I hate the waiting time since we walked in and x my finger to see the scan.. and have to hope for the best and listen to good/bad news.. I actually become scare of gynae visiting now.

Hi icy..

Are u going to see gynae today? Cos its good that he check u see if everythings alright..also check yr cervix..in case its dilated, etc..but dont worry..jus routine..jus to be sure. Take care.

Icy,

I think it may still be good to visit a 2nd gynae to get a 2nd opinion. That's my personal view lor.

I think most of us here is fearful and nervous when we due to see gynae. Guess we are all somehow affected by what we have experienced in the past. But everytime just have to pyscho ourself to think positively. If its meant to be ours, it will be ours.

My hubby always asked me to be strong. Somehow, I tell myself i have to try....for my family sake, for bb sake for my own sake.

icy... i also agree with the rest of the gals, u shd go for a 2nd opinion. Whatever the case...for bb sake ...for peace of mind sake & also for ur body sake. Just to reassure.

I thought usually this type of case, dtr shd be putting patience on jab or hormone pill or even bed or hospital rest.

Kind of worry for you.....pls promise to take good care.....go....c another gynae.

icy,
If you passed a bigger than usual clot today, it might be a good idea to go see a gynae. Just to reassure yourself that everything is OK. Don't want to worry you too much, but try to get more rest, right?
But on the positive side, maybe that clot is the one that has been in your womb all this time and you have finally passed it out.
Be strong for your baby and your hubby.

cherryale,
Yah. NT scan is between 11 to 14 wks.

charis, starlite, JC and priviledged,
thanks for all the concern. I would definately get 2nd opinion if I get bad news from my first gynae.

My hubby is not around already, I dun want to create any fear for mil.. today my fil is coming back from overseas too.. even if I wanna go, I hope I can go secretly.

Icy,

Y wait n not go now? U never know, perhaps this 2nd gynae can really improve your current situation?

And y u need to go secretly? Cannot just tell your mil that your gynae wants to see u?

PVL, I brought Vane along during my prev gynae visit. She got a scare when she heard bb's heartbeat. Hahaha........ You'll only do detailed scan then? My gynae told me that he'll send me to do abnormalities scan but didnt mention which week.

cherryale, me praying hard that my gal will be my happy bb again. So sian to hear complaints from my parents abt her everyday. Me thot of cutting my hair cut this time round too. Find it very tiring to maintain my curls.

icy, I'll freaked out if I saw blood clot too. It's really ok according to your gynae? Maybe you shd give your gynae a ring to get peace of mind.

Icy..

I know how u feel..I feel the same way too when I see the gynae...My heart beat very fast n hard like I can hear it against my chest..n some visits, the nurse say my BP is a bit high..she know Im nervous. But if I dont see gynae, how to see the baby right..so I jus pray he or she is doing well..n seeing the gynae is jus confirming how well baby is doing.

Clots can be normal..it could left-over from a last menses..or u may actually hve it all along everytime the womb lining is thickening. I've heard some women have clots in their womb thruout their pregnancy..Of cos in some cases (i've heard), they may present problems if there's a lot of clots in the placenta or in the cord..So its the gynae's skill n experience to detect some of this problems early. So like starlite said, a 2nd opinion mayb good. But its up to u n yr hubby ok. If u do decide to see a 2nd gynae, I have a good recommendation if u want..a gynae in GlenE..my 3rd opinion gynae from my 1st pregnancy.

Hi giggler..

I tot of cutting my hair short too..I hav long hair..n its getting a bit thick..maybe i'll even rebond..hehe..but cos of the chemicals..i guess I wont do it till maybe 3rd tri or after confinement. But cut short, then face look round round haha. So I guess I'll jus trim it every 2 months..n have nice but thick long hair all the way. For u, mayb u can keep the curls..jus trim..curls will grow out eventually..cut short later..it is easier to have short hair during confinement. I wish i can curl my hair..but will make my hair thicker!

Icy,
I also think u should get second opinion cos some gynaes tend to have the idea 'if its a good pregnancy, bb will be fine, if not, the body will flush it out.' hence they may not do anything for you. My gynae has this mentality, which is while I sought a second opinion at Dr K K Chow at GlenE for my last pregnancy. Though it didnt work out eventually but at least I have done my part to ensure that I do not deny my bb a chance of survival. That time, my pregnancy was still very early but now you are already passed 12 weeks so chances of the baby continuing is much higher, definitely worth seeking a second opionion. Take care and hope both you and bb will be well.

Starlite..He's dr. fong chuan wee. i think its fong clinic for women. Im not seeing him currently..glens too far for me.

Hi Charis,
this dr Fong is very good. My cousin just delivered her bb by dr fong...
Thot of using dr fong but glenE also too far tfor me

Oh then he not my gynae. My gynae is Dr Peter Chew. His clinic is located on 6th floor. Also very experience gynae in his 60s. but his clinic always alot of people one. Minimal wait is 1 hr.

Seems like Gleneagles have a couple of good gynaes i think. The other one i heard is Tan Han Yang. Think that is Chloe's gynae.

Starlite, Tan hang Yang is my gynae
. He is on 5th floor, same floor as Dr Fong. Didnt know that Chloe is seeing him too? Dr Tan is good but think he takes a while to warm up. The factual type of gynae. Dr Chow is more warm and encouraging but I chose to see Dr Tan as he is in clinic very early in the morning so I can see him then go to work.

Catz, I have no choice but to take leave for the blood test as my company minds employee taking mc though my boss does not care. But dun want people to talk lah, so rather take leave.

starlite & Cherryale....my gynae also in Glene, 7th floor just opposite the s'pore baby & child clinic............

Anybody know when is Taka having the baby fair....?

I am oso falling asleep... z_Z

Does all gynaes have packages? Mine did not mentioned anything when i went for the 1st visit. and i paid $195 oredi for the 1st visit alone (consultation $100, scan $70, multivitamin + calicum $15). Seems so expensive compared to the packages I see you girls mentioning here.

Btw, I tot I read in the bk "what to expect when you r expecting", BB shifting a lot when doing the ultrasound scan is coz he can sense the high frequency waves and that's why he's shifting his position to avoid the waves.

Hi smurfy..

Hey are u new here? If u are, welcome!

I havent sign up have package too..usually gynaes start their package around 13-16 weeks.

Rgd ultrasound is it true..its from the book is it? I tot high frequency waves cant be detected/heard/felt by humans..only whales, dogs maybe..Unless babies in womb have special ability..then that's cool..but then again that's bad..cos wont it affect the baby?

Dont mind..Im not countering wat u say..jus expressing my view.

HI SMURFY

i guess diff gynaes have diff charges..

mine is dr lawrence ang from tmc, his charges is considered cheaper. consultation is 40, scanning is 20. however, his clinic is terribly small

mine is the same range as smurfy. I will be abe to sign the pkag my next visit which will be my 12th wks...nxt wk. Her pkgs is $700 exclude delivery.

i go home check the book again...

kekeke me next week oso 12th week. going for the oscars test on fri and appt with gynae on sat. :D

Hi Starlite,
I havent sign up package yet but I think it is about the same as yours. I should be able to sign up after my next visit. I wonder how much is the maternity ward charges when we deliver at GlenE. Do you know? Are the nurses/food good? My friends typically deliver in TMC and they are all very pleased with the standards there.

Hi Smurfy,
at the moment, I am also paying per visit, usually cost me about $170 including folic acid and jab. If I dun take the jab, it should be about $105. The nurse told me Dr Tan is one of the cheaper gynae but that can't be true cos Dr Chow is much cheaper, i remember paying $60 - $70 for scan and examination at Dr Chow. Btw, I also have the book that you mentioned. Its a very good pregnancy book.

cherryale....dun worry the food & nurses are nice & good. Nurses are friendly. And the food good...they hv a variety food for u to choose. They even hv chinese cfm food. Basically....i like the food there. Been in there for 2 time....this will be my 3rd...am quite happy with GlenE.

So when is ur next app?

Ya...heard of those more popular gynae in GlenE Like Dr Fong, Dr Tan, Dr Tanny Chan. Dr Lisa Chin

Hi JC, thanks for the info. This will be my first time at GlenE, first time mummy too. Looking forward! My next appt is next tue 8 aug...I should be 12wks plus then, so will have a mini milestone celebration. Already asked hb to take leave

Actually my take on popular gynae - think a lot depends on the ability to click. Some of my friends decided not to see these popular gynaes after 1 or 2 encounters as they didnt like their style. Even for Dr Tan, initially my hb didnt like him. Find him too stern, but I like him, so I continued. Now he is very smiley and more talkative towards me, even hb also starting to like him.

Starlite, I am in happy mood these few days, hopefully it lasts and unlike last week, become worried and scared just b4 seeing gynae.

Lynn, welcome!! I dun have change of appetite, tummy shows a little but more when I am bloated.

Gals, finally its end of Thurs soon, one more working day to go b4 weekends. Cant wait to be able to zzz at home.

Hi Lynn..

Wah..13 weeks already..that's good. Welcome!

Im 11 weeks plus..same as cherryale, my tummy's showing a little too..but more of bloatedness..rather bloated..water retention I think..I think Im not having enough salt..Appetite ok only..have some MS, so dont eat much.

hi starlite

My dr is from GlenE, but not Dr Tan
. My dr is Dr L C Foong, ground floor, Annex block. Hubby and myself are very happy with him. He gives his patients a lot of airtime to speak and he listens very attentively. Very detailed dr.

icy, i read about ur blood clot. Suggest u quickly see ur gynae, dun delay anymore. If need be, a second opinion will be good. Take care ok?

gals,

I have a interesting powerpt slides called "In the womb" if u interested to see, pls send me your email address and i will send to u.

Charis, I very tired to maintain my curls leh. So thot of cutting my hair short... thot of rebonding my hair too but scared of the chemicals like u.

JC, hahaha... got the same effect as you after lunch. So sleepy leh.

My gynae also in GlenE, 3rd flr.

smurfy, my gynae's package only start from 3rd/4th mth, cant rem. My package is $770 excl delivery but incl supplements.

lynn, I got no change in appetite and I think my tummy is showing liao.

Giggler,
my appetite changed. I usually eat everything but now I don't like meat, fish and milk. taking vegetables most of the time. I am just worried that the baby is not getting enough nutrients.