(2007/02) February

Reply to Giggler on a qn on the prev archived thread.

Giggler, I use it on dry skin - on my legs - got those white scaling ptaches cos 2 dry. then I find it ok. Bt I m nt a hardwking person, so till nw I dun c alot of results yet. bt on my chest area - yes, I think it's getting better, @ least I dun itch after applying.

Charis - oh............ for me - I bought the 3/4s alreayd $69 per pc @ MM le, then I went ard to c then all the pricing abt the same. I guess it's very individual bah. If the $30+ can last u till full term then of cos gd for u lah cos u found something cheap & gd! bt if u hv to change @ almost every stage, then isn't it back to sq one? Although u spend little @ a time u dun feel the pain.
PM gals @ Suntec din manage to push me to get things though, they asked me to try I just ignore.

I feel they r very friendly, as they showed me diff clothes & etc, then I try already I like then I buy, I dun like, no matter hw they push I also wun buy.

Bitbit - diff gynae gives diff med. Since he said I shld take then I shld trust him. as for tummy - aiyoh, long time ago already show until dunno ware bt it looks like I m fat bt nt preggie lah........ all my bottoms getting tighter liao lor.

Cherryale - ur gynae also frm GlenE? Mine also, then mine is frm O&G Centre Dr Tham also 5th flr.

Starlite - 1.6k incl antenatal pkg???? hmm........... if so then it's gd price, cos I know most of them antenatal is 1 pkg, then deliveyr pkg is another. bt I think if mine antenatal + normal delivery is ard ur price also.

Wah, so pekochan's bb is bigger than mine afterall. Mine heng arh, still consider small. ha ha ha....

Cherryale - I got their maternity charges tat day bt I think I threw it away. U can try calling them & ask them to fax to u. Their hv 2 - either alar carte or pkg. Of cos ala carte will b more exp. However if u choose to take ala carte, DBS Women's car hv 10% off. I asked them las Sat when I was tare cos DBS Womens got tis mailer then I tore out & ask the customer svc.

So many gals frm GlenE........... Feb is like GlenE thread. Ha ha ha...........

Ok, 1 shot reply all, I cme in again later.

hi girls.. good morning!

I was very happy with TMC and will not hesitate to recommend to all my friends. My hubby was so pampered that he also didn't want to leave. Hehe.
This time definitely going for the same - single bedder so that hubby can room in, maybe even my son might room in (if allowed)..

starlite, could you pls mail me at [email protected]? Thanks!

hi starlite,
do email me too... [email protected]

hi stella,
a few friends recommended me to lawrence ang as well reason being the charges are being reasonable and he is good. Btw, all claimed that he is anti-epidural and always encourage mummies to go without

good morning ladies ..
long time never come in liao ..

last nite appointment with doc ..
last nite appointment he only jab me .. and feel feel my tummy then said okie ..
doc said dun scan cause scan too much no good wor ..
next appointment is 2 weeks from now ..
so disappointed cause no scanning ... cannot see bb..
now the jab also feel more pain ...
he is quite insistant on the jab ... i still got 2 more appointments with him then 2 more jabs ...

my package with my doc is 500 exclude delivery + supplements ..
i dunno how much does my doc charge for delivery ..

lynn, rem to take multi-vit then since you afraid of not enuf nutrients.

Ah ger, think I'll buy one bottle to try then. My skin is so dry that it's scaly.

Catz, heard of gd svs at TMC from frenz but too bad my gynae is at GlenE

ck, did your doc let u hear bb's heartbeat?

hi doggy,,

yup his charges are one of the lowest. however, his clinic is always very very packed and he is always very busy. He seems to be in a rush, but if u have any queries, he is patient to explain.

Yup one thing i like abt him is he encourages us to go with epidural. I would love to go without if possible.

giggler,

so far my obimin pill also not been taking everyday ... swallow only will come out ...

nurse advice was take half a day ..
i'll try tat from today ..

ms seems to reside lately ..
not as bad ...

my skin also dry and scaly .. especially the tummy and breast area ..
i put on cream that i bought from kiddy place ..
12 dollare per tube ..
just started last nite ...
not bad .. then i dun feel so itchy liao ..

never hear heartbeat also ...
my doc's machine not so high tech le ..
how do u hear it ? from the machine ?

the last visit .. hubby told doc .. can we hear the heartbeat .. doc just said cannot !

catz,

your doc .. got 2 choice rite ?
TMC and Mt A ..
one of my classmate said Mt A good le ...
i got 2 choice ..
TMC or Mt A ..
i dunno how to evaluate ...
cause cost wise is almost same ..

hi gals,,,

dunno is it my hormones at work or wat, i feel a little pissed off this morning.

i was looking at a recipe of how to make soya bean milk, then one of my coll says i should not eat that cos it is liang.. everytime i eat something, she will comment not healthy lah, must take this and that. she even say must take one can of coke immediately after wake up to ease morning sickness. When i say i chose TMC, she also say no good.. arggghhh.

I might not be well-off as her, i pay wat i can afford and get hands me down from others..she also say preggie must try to look good , cannot be lazy..haiz.

stella,

soya milk is good for bb ..
my mum also always ask me to take more soya...
ignore your coll ..

actually TMC no good meh ..
is private ma ..
else go to which one ?
also depends on your gynae use which hospital ..

Ck...

She says TMC is very old and not much people lor.

The best thing is she haven give birth before, but can comment so much.

I think TMC is good enuff, judging from so many positive comments from the forum

just now, she added that vaginal birth no good, c-section better. and my gynae is no good cos keep recommending people to go natural without epi..

aiyo stella,
ignore your coll! My coll loves to say all these nonsense too..its like very discouraging man! just go with your heart

starlite...am interteted too..pls email me [email protected]

last nite got craving for maggie curry noodle again. but din eat lah......scare fat leh....so settle with a piece of "so ta piank" then go to bed already.

hv u gals starts putting on weight. I alwasy weight myself in the am & nite. Wow.....the diff can be abt 1kg. morning 47.5......night 48.5.....

stella,

your coll talks a lot le ..
dunno then dun talk so much ...

natural birth is the nature way !
easy to heal also ...
caeserian longer scar ..
and longer healing time ..

have noted email addresses who want the "In The Womb" powerpoint slides.

I will send it out later. If anyone else interested, pls send me your email address by lunch today.

I am interested in the ppt slides as well. My email address is [email protected]

I oso have cravings for maggie mee? It just seems so tasteful, compared to the rest of the "healthy" food. But I only have one, two sips of it whenever my sister cooks it :p

ck..

aiyah.. she says no need to endure pain and after delivery , no need to bear with heavy menses. I dunno abt the menses part , is it true that c-section, gynae will clean up all the blood?

anyway, i dont want to argue cos ultimately it is medically proven that natural is better (unless due to medical reasons)

its not that she dont know, in fact she is very knowledgable person, but her way of thinking is quite different... maybe due to her job nature, she is quite insistant on people accepting her view.

I already called my gynae, I would only need to see her if I had cramps.

I had further bad news from my NT scan. My bb dun have risk of down syndrome, but the risk of edwards syndrome (trisomy 18) is high. it is an physically adnormality which will be miscarriage during early stage or still born or died within 1 year of birth. for my age. it should be 1:1091 but the result shows 1:144. In terms of percentage, it is just 1% but I dunno how big this 1 % may be. I hoping that my bb will be the 143 babies.

I had already informed my hubby abt this, he will fly back and do the re-scan with me. And if there is no improvement, we will seek for 2nd opinion together.

ck & stella,

ya...it is true tt menses will not be heavy after delivery. The dtr will clean it for u after taking out the bb. So flow wise is lesser & shorter.

It's a total diff feeling.

Obivously, natural is the best cos that's the way since ages how a bb comes out. And also no matter what c-section is still quite a major operation so i guess there is still some risk there. However, now the medical is so advance so shd not post a big problem.

Gynae will only propose c-section is there is a need. If not all shd be normal. Maybe...i am not sure...the gynae want to earn more....cos it's more costly to do for c-section.

starlite,

gotten your email ..
thanx thanx .. is soo nice the pics ..

jc,

thanx for the c section highlight ..
unless during delivery got complications .. then i'll opt for caeserian ..

but how long it take u to heel ?
when u feel okie to move around without pain ?

how long would the flow be if natural ?

stella,

i also dunno about how long is the period though
ha ha ...
first time le..

icy,

so now no more spotting ?
wat the doc said about the edwards syndrome ?
wat is his opinion ?

icy.....oh gosh....what shd i say. I am feeling sad for u too.....yes...u shd do 1 more time scan & also seek 2nd opinion. Does doing of amino helps too. If so ....just do it.

Stay calm & relax & see how the suitation goes .....take care !!

icy,

i am not good at words, but stay positive. it only measures the risk, it does not say its a confirmed case

ah ger, my bb big meh? hw big is yours? btw, when is ur EDD?

icy, dun worry too much, look on the bright side. we gals here will pray for you.

there is a treatment oil from clarins that is for stretch mark and firming. i tried it and like the smell. it's $76 per bottle. anyone plan to go pre-natal massage? heard that it's advisable to start from 5 mths onwards. quite keen to give it a try.

ck, JC and Stella,
Thanks, I still have hope that bb will be fine. I still have hope. I can't do CVS test or amino becos the rate of miscarriage is actually higher than the rate of bb getting trisomy and there is 10% of inaccuracy. So gynae dun advise it. What we can do now is, wait for another scan and see what is the next step.

Edward's syndrome is genetic or can happened without a reason. I just have to continue to jia you.

ck, yup, I managed to hear bb's heartbeat from the doc's machine. Mt A or TMC nearer to your place?

stella, hehehe... I agree with your col leh. We must not be lazy and must make effort to look gd but it could be difficult at times. It's true leh, I had c-section and I dun have much lochia.

JC/doggy, I just had myojo curry noodle for supper last nite. Hehehe........

icy, dun worry yourself too much first. Wait for re-scan and see how result.

icy,

*hug*hug* take care.

Remember it only measures the probability of the risk occuring. Seeking 2nd opinion and reading up more on the issue might help you feel better.

icy,

please take care ..

giggler,

ic ic ... my doc machine dun have tat function...
maybe the machine is as old as him ..
he he ..
he never upgrade ...

just happen this doc got 2 choice of hospital ..
Mt A or TMC ...
TMC is nearer ...

i just cut my hair yesterday ..
my hair also long and slight curly ..
cut it to neck length ..
feels so much lighter ..
easier to wash also ..
comb also ..
lazy me ..

i haven't got any maternity wear yet ..
and tummy is getting more protruding ..

JC and doggy,

me also like curry maggee mee ..
but recently never cook le ..

recently i've been eating a few days ..
on braised duck rice ...
duck rice night time ... or lunch duck rice. .

icy,
dun worry too much.... the nt scan is not absolute... everything might just turn out fine... take care *hugs*

starlite,
can i have the slide too?? [email protected]

giggler,
i also like tha myojo curry noodle.... keke... but nowadays cant eat too often.... sigh...

stella,
It's obvious that your colleague doesn't know what on earth she is talking about. Maybe you could just tell her something like "thank you for your comments. I shall take it into consideration". And walk away or turn away and don't give her anymore attention.
Many many pple love to deliver at TMC. They say the service is really good. My only grouse is the carpark.
How can C-sect be better than natural. God made us to give birth naturally. C-sect is a surgery. Recovery takes longer. Maybe no labour pain but certainly your surgery wound will hurt. Walking will be difficult after surgery. You would have had your intestines moved about and all. How natural is that?

I also made soya bean drink myself last week
. It was easier than I had imagined.

icy,
Hey, don't worry so much. It is only a slightly elevated CHANCE of having this condition. Please don't worry. It is in NO WAY a certainty of the condition. SMILE!!! Be happy for your baby. Pray pray pray.

This is one of the reasons why my hb and I didn't want any tests that are not conclusive. My hb is a big worrier. Any elevated 'chance' would have him worrying for the rest of the pregnancy. What for? And I'm so old, the figures would be skewed because of my age already. Every baby we can have will be a blessing, no matter what. So we must be thankful. So keep on smiling

PVL...

i also like to try making my own soya bean milk. do u have the special machine ? or u soaked the beans overnite and use normal blender? the ones sold outside is very sweet and bland.. i dont like it.

Hi icy..

Im sorry about that news..but its never for certain..there's always a chance everything will fine..n the baby healthy..so hang on there. Take care.

My lady pastor also similar case..the NT scan showed her baby to be down's syndrome..but she didnt want to do amino..cos no point..she n hubby was prepared to keep the baby no matter wat..n they prayed n jus trust GOD..n the baby turn out fine n healthy..her girl is now 13..very smart girl.

So I hope things turn out fine for u.

stella,
I soaked the beans overnight. Next morning, I de-shelled the beans (this is the most time-consuming part). Then I put beans and water into a blender and blended. Then strain and squeeze through a coffee strainer bag. Then boil with some sugar and pandan leaves.

icy,
The chances of the baby being normal are actually far better than the chances of the baby having trisomy. So take heart. Unless your result was very strongly positive (which they weren't).

after icy's experience, I really wonder should I go for the NT scan. I am worrying excessively already so if the result turns out bad, I dun know if I can take it. Should I stick to the conventional neck measurement and 2nd tri blood test as recommended by gynae or go for NT scan?? Any advice?? Starlite,what do u think?? Your NT scan is coming right?

Icy, take care and will pray for you and baby to be well.

Hi cherryale..

I think basically u have to think why u want to go for NT scan..purpose..n wat are u going to do when u get the results..For eg. Cos for some, they want to keep the baby despite bad news..but some want to decide to abort or not to..some want to jus be prepared.

hi icy

so sorry to hear about the NT scan. Glad that u are going for a re-scan. If u look at it from another angle, there is a 99% that ur baby is normal.
Keep us posted and meanwhile rest well and dun worry too much ok?

hi icy, stay positive.. like chloe says, it's 99% that your baby is OK! so take care!

ck, a couple of my friends who delivered at Mt A didn't get very good lactation help so couldn't bf..whereas at TMC, they really make sure you can leave hospital and breastfeed successfully.. thus TMC is always my first choice.

stella, that woman doesn't know what she's talking about.. of course c-section is not preferable unless you hv some severe medical condition. STUPID!!! Just ignore that ridiculous colleague :p

pvl, waaaaaaah.. you're a domestic goddess, can make your own soya bean milk!! gosh!

doggy, erm, for me I only returned back in my 8th month of pregnancy so I think I had to pay slightly more cash to my gynae as I didn't take package.. hmm.. can't really recall but maybe I paid out total cash $3k or less? Not incl baby's jaundice which was about $750 cash for 2 nights hospitalisation. Does anybody hv the details for doggy??

catz...is it difficult to travel back in ur 8th mth. Does the airline still allows preggy woman with big big tummy to travel. sorry to ask a little silly question.......

JC no lah not stupid question lah. Er.. for me it was quite ok 'cos I was still very compact.. and my dad paid for biz class for me to travel back from US. Travelled without hubby
Got letter from gynae and travel on SQ is OK for Singaporeans
'cos coming back home mah.. dun think other countries will allow you to enter though. Like M'sia, above 6 months pregnant cannot enter.

ck, then just choose TMC lah. Since there's some mummies who praise abt the hospital. Me really tempted to cut my hair real short too. Maybe till ear, now my hair is below bra line. It's so long and curly that I find it diff to maintain. Sigh.... Me prefer soupy stuff recently.

nana, I cooked whenever I feel like eating the curry noodle but usu cant finish the whole pkt nowadays. I find that I cant take too spciy food nowadays.

PVL, I had the same thinking as you abt having bb is a blessing alr.

cherryale, I'll trust my gynae and just follow whatever tests he suggest to do, wont do addition test on my own.

Gals

most prob i will choose tmc also...its nearer to my place.

maybe we landed up as room mates during our stay...

stella, yah lor
maybe we all see each other..last time, a few of us Jan 2005 moms also crossed paths at TMC.

JC..hmm.. I would say don't travel to US in your 3rd tri.. if anything happens, the medical bills will pok kai you!!! For my 8 months of prenatal care, I paid about USD5k leh! Delivery (normal, one day hospitalisation) is around USD18k.. so I would say don't go 'cos if anything happens over there (choi choi), you will end up paying through your nose.

Anybody dropping hair? Or suffering from insomnia???

gals, sorry - really tied dwn w/ my wk. Just glanced thru.

Pekochan - my bb 12w 2d is 5.8cm mah, tat time the gals say my bb so big, bt then urs @ 12w is already 6cm so isn't urs bigger than mine?

icy - dun think too much, all the MTBs here will mentally support u!

Then as for those who did nt do the test - if u chk w / ur gynae & he/ she says it's nt necessary base on wat he/ she sees then dun let urself worry too much. BT if u really wanna hv a peace of mind then by all means do it.

I did ask my gynae on tis - he said base on his chks, everything is ok + my age & blah blah blah. However if I still wanna do, I hv to tell him soon cos supp to b dwon w/in this XX wks. So I said I trust him so I m nt doing.

Stella - ignore ur coll lah - everything u r doing/ choosing also nt gd, then everything she has is gd meh? Ignore her lah - some ppl r just like tat, like to pour wet blanket.

Just nw I tot of having Korean food, so I went to RP w/ my coll & ate @ "The Palace" - took Ramen, taste like maggie mee lor.

I miss the Korean stall @ Le Meridien food court. *slurp* one day must go & eat liao.......... bt again must c when my boss is traveling. ha ha ha........

I finally pluck up my courage to call my uncle who is a gynae in GlenE (didnt want to call initially cos I am not seeing him, so pai say).

He said that given my age 31, he will not recommend me to do the OSCAR. He said gynaes sent patients to do such tests cos typically pushed by the industry. Essentially the test subjects the patient to increased chance of false positive when actually they do not have to do so. Also, depends on what the couple wants to do if the result points to high risk of DS, do they want to do amnio which carries slight chance of miscarriage? If they do not want, then there is no point to do the test.

So, I think I will not go ahead since Dr Tan didnt tell me to do it but will discuss with hb first. But most likely he will say baby is fine, no need to do and he does not want me to worry.