(2007/02) February

JC - yeah - I m already wearing flats liao, then in the ofc I change to those Bkk slippers cos light & easy to walk. Then whenever I stretch my feet *ouch* so aching man.........

I m also looking 4ward to NDP week. Still thinking if I shld take leave & stay @ hme nua or take MC instead.

Good morning ladies

very funny leh, now i dont feel so achy and tummy seems to be smaller after my first trimester. maybe the bloatedness and swelling all went away.

same as ah ger, i dont think i will quit my job. staying at home seems to make me more depressed

ah ger.....i thought of tt too. Taking leave or MC. I think most likely i will take MC on 10 Aug. reserve the leave just in cast when tender re can use to off set ......dun hv to wait 1 mth.

Good morning everyone, I am new here and finished scrolling a few pages.

Question: I went to the gynae 2wks back and I was not given any folic acid? She told me that normally she will prefer the MTBs to eat normally during the 1st trimester coz most of them will have poor appeptite and MS, and introduce supplements only during the 2nd trimester? I told her most of the time I am feeling tired and weak, then she gave me some multi vitamins and calcium. But I read that folic acid is important before conieving and during the 1st 12 weeks. So am I okay?

Btw, my EDD is 21st Feb 07.

HI MEI LING

welcome!!!

normally folic acid is to be taken before and during the 1st trimester.

after the first trimester, we do not need so much of folic acid cos the spinal is already formed, thus we only need those multi-vitamins.
it is most critical period for spinal development.. not sure y ur gynae says no need??? unless in ur daily diet, u can meet the requirement.

if ur gynae did not give u, u can go to pharmacy and buy, its very cheap. 100 pills at s$2.52 at unity pharmacy

cherryale,

Saw my gynae yesterday. Gynae so cute...look at my tummy for a while and commented that my tummy is growing.

I was lucky to go to his other room with 3D scan machine and he use the 3D to scan my bb...in comparison with 2D, can see clearer like can tell where is the hand, legs, body, head, etc.

bb measured 6.37cm. He told me im 12wks plus going to 13 wks.

Are u going for your NT scan cherryale? Gynae asked me to go next week. The scan cost me $100.

He only scheduled me to see him 3 wks later. How soon is your appt now?

As for folic acid, as im taking 3 a day, i can finish one slab of 10 tablets in 3 days leh...so i nvr really go and count. but sometimes does felt a sense of achievement when i finish one slab....hee...dont know why this type of feeling though.

hi smurfy,

i think its ok one. at least take is better than dont take. Last time, i only knew i was pregnant at 8 wks and start taking from then.

is this your 1st pregnancy? if so, think will be ok cos think our body should have reserve. I heard for 2nd and subsequent pregnancy, more impt to take cos need to replenish our vit and minerals after 1st pregnancy.

i also taking folic acid from unity pharmacy. 3 per day. morning, afternoon and night. maybe u can go and buy and start on it today?

Catz, you're lucky that your son still as sunny now. My gal changed her temperament after I'm preg. She's not the happy bb that she used to be.

Ah ger, hahaha.... thanks for your reminder. Must alway remind myself to stay happy for bb's sake.

Mei Ling, are u taking the multi-vit now?

Starlite, you take 3 folic acids a day? Thot we only need to take one per day? Must be very happy now after seeing bb rite?

giggler,

yeah lor...gynae told me to take 3 a day then i take. also taking one multi-vit and calcium a day.

yeah...happy and relieve after seeing bb ok yesterday. When is your turn?

Hi Starlite,

Wow, your baby is big and congrats on hitting that milestone already. I am not sure whether I should go for NT Scan as my gynae doesnt do that. Where are u going for the scan? At your gynae's place? What are the additional advantages of NT scan compared to blood test and measuring the neck? I have 1 more appt next week (wk 12), then can only see him after 3 weeks (wk15). He refused to see me once every 2 weeks leh..though I would have preferred that.

I am so tired now, back also aching, just feel like sleeping.

starlite...wow ur bb in quite good length.

welcome....smurfy & Meiling....it's not too late to take folic acid....go to pharmacy & get it. Quite surprise tt ur gynae din give u.

Meiling...it's ok..during preggy will always feel tired & weak.But once u hit ur 2nd tri ...ur energy shd be back. Then at 3rd tri...energy going dwn again cos ur tummy will be too big....

cherryale,

Thanks. My gynae never give me a choice on the NT scan actually. He just told me that he will arrange for one next week. I ask him whether compulsory and he told me better to go and its not very expensive.

The scan is at Gleneagles but at the Annex block, not the medical centre. It will be done by a radiologist not my gynae.

Last time, i remembered my 1st bb, ex-gynae also do the neck measurement and blood test. Think at that time no NT scan yet.

Oh, so u seeing your gynae every week till 12th week? yeah, my gynae also extended my visit to 3 wks once now.

U sign package with your gynae liao?

btw, have u gained any weight? I gained 300g so far....

cherryale - me also sleepy. Tired the whole day man...........

my back has bn aching donkey mths ago liao, buttock also pain cos of the long journey I take everyday on the bus.

Starlite,
how old are you? Can I actually contact Gleneagles directly to do the scan? Havent sign package but think will do that after my next visit, maybe that's why he dun want to see me every two weeks. I have lost 2 kg, which i find strange cos I seldom vomitted food but I can't eat much per meal plus maybe stressed, that's why lost weight.

jus nw an agt called me - ask if I m looking for job.

Then I said yes bt I can't cos I m preggy. Then she said nvm she will kip me in the loop. She said Feb - very fast one, dun worry.

Gals - wats for lunch? It's pouring so heavily outside.........

HI sorry to gatecrash here. I am from Mar 07 thread and will like to know whether MS is indeed over by week 12. Anyone can share whether ur MS is gone already after u reach 2nd tri? thanks!

because many of our Mar 07 MTB are suffering from MS and we hope to be able to get over it soon.

afternoon gals
477927.gif

cherryale, starlite
i thought nt scan is to measure the neck one?? the doc wld scan the baby & try to get the measurement...baby must be in correct position though... that time for mine, baby keep moving & shifting position (doing acrobatics la) so end up we can see baby for quite long.... haha... finally then guai guai settled down to lie nicely so that doc can take the measurement...
mine also not done by my gynae...but by imaging technologist... cos i went to SGH O&G....

belle,
me lor...... haizzzzz.... my ms still on & off... now shld be going into 14 wks le... but still have ms ahh.... but dun worry lar...maybe u gals wld be over the ms faster than me...
my previous appt (at 12 wks plus) i told my gynae my ms is worse...she said some pp up to 4 mths then ms wld go off......

Starlite, wow you taking so many pills a day. I only take one multi-vit a day but stimes also forgot. I got to wait till 22 Aug to see bb....

Ah ger, me so sleepy now after taking my lunch.

cherryale, it's quite norm to lose wt in the 1st trimester. My gynae only want to see me every 4wks now.

belle, MS depends on individual leh... Not to scare u but some suffer ms till birth. But having ms means your bb is growing well lah.

Starlite,
I only take 1 per day, think maybe i also eat more.. since there is no harm.. I am feel moody cos yesterday my spotting becomes fresh red bleeding again.. *sigh* wonder when this is going to stop.

cherryale, I've also developed aches and pains :p Just waiting for wk 14..hopefully I'm not those suay type to kena MS for the entire pregnancy!

Giggler, so your daughter knows that you're expecting? My son is still blur. I told him there's a baby in mummy's tummy but he doesn't quite get it. Anyway, will wait when my tummy is bigger before telling him.. if not, he cannot see and understand.

Went to Great World for lunch..finally got out of the office! If not everyday tar pau very sian.

gals, I m bac frm lunch........ had nothing fantastic, then nt filling enuff (though nt hungry) cos 2day portion lesser (dunno y) so nw eating an apple.

nana,

ya i tot nt scan is to measure bb neck also. last time my ex-gynae had it done in a matter of minutes. Dont know why now gynae dont measure for me in his clinic leh. Then alot of pple here also talk abt NT scan then i thought ok lor just go since gynae adv. to go.

cherryale,

me 32 this yr, so i tot maybe becos of my age gynae ask me to go lah.

As for the scan, i think cannot just call up like that leh. cos i think my gynae clinic nurse help to call up to fix the appt one. For your case, im not really sure whether u can just call up like that. if u want, i can check out the no. and give it to u to check it out tomorrow?

your gynae adv u no need to do? u how old? Think gynae will adv those b/w 30-35 to go for this scan leh. maybe cos u young thats y gynae feel no need.

Giggler,

Ya, im taking quite a few pills per day. 3 folic acid, 3 gestinin, 1 calcium, 1 multivit and 2 senokot (for passing motion).

Yesterday, gynae prescribe me another type of multi-vit. He said have to change cos now bb bigger already.Have to take that twice a day plus calcium but can stop folic acid cos inside the mult-vit got that liao.

To help me remember to eat my pills, i actually bought a medicine box - u know those sunday to sat one? I find that quite useful lor and i will just replenish every sunday when i finished the whole week supply.

My next appt also 22 Aug leh....

Icy,

Sorry to hear about the spotting. U no longer on those chinese herbs already right?

Now that u are in your 2nd trimester, i think no need to take so many folic acid. I think so cos my gynae prescribe me another multi-vit and said just take that twice a day and no need to take folic separately liao.

But if u want, i think there is no harm. maybe u increase folic to 3 times till your next appt then see how?

Last time my gynae told me that there are some women who spot throughout their pregnancy but in the end they still give birth to healthy bbs. so dont worry too much ok?

i feel that u shd maybe take more carbo still cos carbo provides energy and when preggie, i think carbo intake need to increase. dont worry abt putting on weight for now. think what u want is for bb to grow big and healthy, right?

NT scan is like normal scanning but measuring the thickness of the neck rite?

my gynae did not charge me extra for that and it is done very quickly leh... how come i heard some gynae charges 100 dollars?

icy....hv u gone to the dtr already or call them up telling them u r soptting again. Take good care dun walk so much....try to rest & eat more...

do you all have cravings for sour things? My tastebuds is so bland now that I like to put sweets or sour things in my mouth?

And these 2 days, i experience the cramp like sensations in my lower abdomen again, almost 2 wks no such feelings, then suddenly it came back. I am wondering is it the muscle contraction for the bb's growth or issit due to the cold fruits i ate. No spotting for my case though.

haizz.. all MTBs here very happy hoR? Hope I can get some of your moods here. Most of the time, me too tired and no energy at all to feel/think of anything.

This is a shotgun Bb. Now still in the midst of preparing the ROM, Customery, getting photoshoots done, renovation the place to stay, getting the furniture...

smurfy....wow.. congrats to all the "xi Shi" going on at one time....isn't it very stress. got so many things going on...take care n be careful. Just dun over exert yourself... let ur hb do all the heavy stuff.....

hi smurfy
i wld feel like eating something sour some of the time... now eating some gummy sweets (sour one)... nice...

the cramp like sensations shld be becos of tummy growing... i wld have sometimes too... as long as no bleeding...shld be fine.. no worries..
wah, u gotta do so many other things at one go... very xiong leh.... dun be too stressed up ... try to delegate to ur frens/ hubby to help u with the preparations...
stay happy ok?? come chat with us anytime...

hi smurfy

no matter shotgun bb or not, they are still our little precious..so stay happy.. its not easy to conceive and we should be happy that we are able too.

Starlite & JC,
Actually my bleeding stops. just the spotting goes on and off.. *sigh* I wasnt worry abt putting on weight, but i just no additional cravings.. I just eat like when I not preggy..Is it too little? I used to not eat breakfast but I am having one now.. with milk. :D

But i think with my condition, it is fortunate that I dun need to work.. i can rest more.

icy, did u see gynae abt your spotting?

Catz, think my gal understands that she gg to be jie jie lah. She talks to bb every nite b4 she sleeps.

Starlite, so qiao.... what time is your appt on 22 Aug? Mine will be in the afternoon.

smurfy, dun tire yourself too much with all those preparations.

Hi all, how's your skin condition? I find that my skin is very bad recently, got lots of pimples on face, chest and back. Sigh.........

Giggler,

i arrange for morning appt on 22 Aug. Cos my appt yesterday was in the afternoon 4pm. Think i realise i so gan cheong that i have no mood to work and also got stomach cramp.

So tot maybe i go in the morning next visit lor...

Icy,

Eating like normal shd be ok leh...but since your gynae say bb growth a bit slow, maybe u can try to eat a little bit more?

I also feel that i not eating enough fish for this pregnancy, thats y yesterday i force myself to eat more of the steam fish my mil prepared.
I ate more chicken instead....

JC
I'm also dozing off at work! I even doze off in the middle of meeting last week. Can think of nothing but sleep nowadays.

All,
has accepted that the bb is part of me oredi. Not really stressed out by all the things, coz my boyboy is the one taking care of most issues these days. Just tell him I am too tired to think properly.

2 more hrs before knocking off. no place to hide and sleep :p

giggler
recently i got many pimples on the side of my face....dunno y.....
hope they go off soon...
but then again, my complexion all along not really very good type...wld have pimples on & off esp during menses... but now like suddenly got more...

Giggler - my forehead also kena one - then my chest also got 2 leh...............

Then my coll say pimply is gal - I told her impossible cos my sis's skin is flawless, so was my gf's skin. Another of my gf's skin was gd & she got boy.

So I told her - it's nt scientifically proven so it's nt true lor.

Oh gals, I wanted to tell u all abt the aloe vera gel I m using for irritating & dry skin esp the aerola area.

My brand - bought frm Guardian is "Fruit of the Earth" - No alcohol, 100% Gel. Packaging is transparent bt the "Fruit of the Earth" is blue strap across, then the word Aloe Vera is in caps, then also blue in col, stands in the middle of the tube packing.

I can't rem hw much already bt I know less than $20. I use tat for the breast nwadays cos very itchy then the only way to prevent me frm scratiching is to apply the gel. Then skin also dry so i also apply. Then the rashes I mentioned the the clevage area rem? I also use tat, then nw I can c slowly it subsides lor.

There are many brands in the pharmacy bt I bought this.

ah ger,
i also bought the "fruit of the earth" aloe vera gel last wkend when i went guardian... think is $10 plus after discount... cos now on offer... before discount think is $12 plus...
can apply the gel on the aerola area also? cos sometimes i feel itchy there also..

nana - since it says no alcohol - I dun care. I apply liao then it's gel mah, then liang liang b4 it dries up then after tat I dun itch liao.

The tube also say - gd for irritating/ itchy/ dry skin, so I use lor.

Starlite, I'm ok with fish this time round... I try to eat fish every meal if poss.

smurfy, good that your hb gg to do all the preparations for you. You shd rest more now.

nana, my skin also not very gd all along but recently it got worse. I dun dare to use any acne cream also. Sigh.........

Ah ger, I also feel that it's not true. My skin was ok when I was having my gal. The aloe vera gel is mainly for dry skin? Do u use it as stretchmark cream?

Hi ryes..

Ok. Take care. Keep me updated.

Hi cheezel..

My first menses was very heavy too for about 2 days..but tapered down after tat. Its quite normal. Its good that its heavy too cos then it will clear any left-over blood n tissue.

Sorry ladies..ignore my previous post.

I thought I was in another thread that I usually frequent too. Sorry again!