(2007/02) February

starlite, mine wifey now in her 10wks, think the symptom same as mrs wong.
gynae oso same as mrs wong, but i took up mine package $550 at tiong bahru mrt - thomson woman clinic.
although i living at hougang, i still took the package there cos cheaper by $250.. kekeke...

Hi starlite,

I also got constipation problem, so my gynae prescribe me a bottle of medicine (Duphalc) to soften the 'output'. He also prescribe me a few package of High fiber powder (u can put into ur soup or drink, taste like barley), it help to easier pass motion too. It help me a lot.

According to magazine, if we got constipation problem, must drink 2 litre to 2.5 litre water per day and eat more veg and fruits. So now I am trying to monitor the water I am drinking and eating.

Thanks for all the advice for constipation. Actually in my 1st pregnancy, I have tried the Duphalac, prune juice, etc. Not sure y its so serious cos nothing seems to work. In the end, what the gynae did is to fleet me.

That time the 1st time the nurse fleet me is so embarassing. Cos after the insertion nurse asked me to endure 10 mins then go toilet. In the end, the motion came out too fast and some of it already came off when I rushing to the toilet. So paiseh, keep apologising to the nurses and cleaning staff.

hi gals..
I'm new to this forum, juz went to the gyn today and my bb is 7 weeks old..thus delivery date will most likely be in feb 07. 1st child, feeling really nervous yet excited at e same time. so hope to know more mother to bes who are expecting nw...to share and learn more

Hi rachel..

Congrats n welcome!

Which gynae are u seeing? U opting for TMC is it?

Im also expecting my first..my 2nd pregnancy..My first dear baby I miscarried at 11 weeks.

Im excited too..but anxious at the same time.

Hi mrs wong..

I realise tat u are a nutritionist? So what do you teach in school then? I studied health and nutrition in my poly too..but that's about 2-3 modules only..more related to children.

Anyway, have some questions..should we go totally organic? Organic is ex though. Most foods, even vege have insecticides..for me Im staying off raw, half-cooked stuff, also caffeine eg gassy drinks like coke etc, tea, coffee, even my fav-chocolates. Is there any kid of tea that is safe? I've heard that camomile and pepermint is ok.

Hi rachel,

Congrats and welcome ^_^

since most of us have gone through our first appointment with the gynae, can share what happened? As I don't want to share the news of my pregnancy with anyone till I'm at least 12 weeks, there's no one I can talk to about the visit... not sure if my gynae was good cause I don't know what the benchmark is.

During the 1st visit, the doctor basically asked me some questions about my family's medical history and did a scan to detect the sac. Since I'm already on folic acid, he only prescribed some Duphaston to me. Read in a book on pregnancy that the 1st check up is suppose to be the longest if there is nothing abnormal in the pregancy... so I was a little surprised that it was so "chop chop". Paid about $150 (including the cost of the duphaston) for about 20 mins session.

After the checkup, my husband and I were wondering why the gynae didn't tell us the EDD and why he didn't take my blood pressure, weight and height... Is that normal? My husband was joking that he even saved on the test kit. We skipped going to the GP and went straight to the gynae so the only tests we did were on the home kit.

I feel quite comfortable with the gynae but my husband thinks he is not very thorough. How?

Hi winnie..

Im not sure wat u mean about benchmark? Did yr gynae say something like..after 12 weeks then u can be more certain or stabilised? If he did say something like tat, he is one of those few gynaes who are honest enough to tell you that the 1st trimester is a fragile time n basically there's not much we can do. Some gynaes are more naturalist..they dont want to comment much but jus let nature take its own course..In terms of EDD, dont worry..he will inform u once yr scans are more detailed..wat I suspect is that cos he can only see the sac not the baby yet so he doesnt want to give the EDD yet..EDD is jus an estimate..and is also based on the growth of the baby..so its ok u dont know now..but yours should be either mid or end Feb.

Based on my 1st pregnancy, my gynae wasnt very thorough too..He didnt do any test also..cos he say its not neccessary..he told me to eat my folic and hormone pills n get enough rest..that's all. Basically tat's all we can do I believe..and I'm quite comfortable that he's more conservative.

I've not seen my gynae at all for now..cos I think its not so important..like I said..he cant do much..jus to confirm and scan..Im already eating my own folic acid pills..So i'll go to end of 6 weeks where I know that's the time I can hear/see baby's heartbeat.

But I think he should take yr pressure at least..I guess he is the ultra-naturalist kind. But then again this may jus be a routine practice that may not be neccessary at this stage.

The nurse took my pressure n weight..n took it every week.

Anyway, which gynae are u seeing n delivering at which hospital?

Hi Winnie

My expereince with the gynae during my first visit is same as yours. Really fast. Only did some scan and a bit of talking...then go home. Nothing else. i paid about $95 , no medicine nothing. She did advice me to continue taking my multi vits, but that's about it.

I guess perhaps it is coz we are really early stage? i am about 6 weeks preg...so perhaps she wanted to wait till things are further along.

The only thing tat should render more attention from gynaes is when is a high-risk pregnancy, eg

1.Mother has diabetes, high blood, kidney problems
(which the mother herself should be aware of n inform the gynae)

2.History of miscarriage (usually 3 or more)

3.Assisted pregnancy or multiple pregnancy eg IVF, etc.

If not any of these, most of us are considered normal pregnancies.

But still, a gynae should be alert to dangerous situations like ectopic.

My friend who is 2 months plus preggie (her 4th child) have not even seen her gynae yet. She said no use to see so early..waste time..Hmm..But that's worse lah..I wont wait that long cos Im excited to see my baby.

Hi, first time here. Can i join?

Went to see my gynae last sat but only manage to see a sac. He didn't tell me hw many weeks i am but i thk i am 5-6weeks base on my my LMP.

BTW, my gynae is Ben Tham. So i thk my delivery shd b Feb07.

Hi Charis,
Congratulations!!!
I am so happy for you... Wish you a smooth 9 months
and be positive and happy

Sometimes at end of 6th week, cannot see heartbeat yet...

Hi lyn..

Hey thanks.

How come suddenly appear here? Haha. How are u? Have not seen u in the thread for a while.

Mrs Wong,
Yes i kind of know my estimated O date.. and I know my BD date ahahha.. cos only 2 days i tried w/o precaution.. ehem then I realised too early for piggy mah.. hahaha.. so i have everything on records.. my o date should be ard mid May. My edd date based on LMP is given by the gynae leh.. haha so confusing.

jajabing,
I just feel extra cold these days at nite, dunno why, cant sleep until I adjust a warmer temperature. Toilet activity still as per normal, but i heard if u eat iron pills, u might have some constipation problem.

Charis,
I had the same thoughts as u, I hope I can teach my child on my own. It would be better for the child.

Starlite,
I made an appt on 10 Jul to see the sg gynae. My hb just told me that we can come back sg this saturday!!! I am so happy, i see if I can change my appt earlier then I can see my bb soon. heehee. My first scan.

My tummy suddenly expand around 2 weeks back then now it stopped.. i think should be all gas inside cos i keep having tummy ache.

Charis,
ur gynae sounds like the bkk gynae here haha.. i not quite used to it. :p Just eat folic acid, rest.. dun need see him until 12 weeks.. unless spotting or serious ms..

Thks Charis!

I went to KKH AMK clinic last sat. The nurse there took my pressure, protein test, weight, height (i thk tht's all) Thn doctor do a v.scan for me. He chk my family history, telling nauses mean its good. i told i tend to feel hungry often, he said juz eat, don worry. :p

I will only see him 3weeks later.

Charis, I teach home econs and Food & Nutrition (upper sec).

You do not need to go totally organic. If you want, you can.

Just wash your veges more carefully. My family is used to eating organic veges, so I'm taking organic vege. Organic meat is way too expensive, so meat we still buy from market

Tea: anything that does not use tea leaves is fine. Rose bud tea, peppermint tea, etc. Try not to buy packaged tea. If you want peppermint tea, buy fresh peppermint, wash, crush slightly and add to hot water

Winnie, don't worry. During my first visit also chopchop fastfast finish. Not cos he got other patients, cos there is realli nothing else!!

First visit (4 weeks): U/S to confirm pregnancy is not etopic, detailed medical history, answer questions we have. Take blood pressure.

Second visit (5 weeks): U/S can see sac with v v v tiny fetus. No heart beat yet. Take weight, height, blood pressure.

Third visit (6 weeks): U/S can see sac with fetus (4.3mm) and v strong and fast heartbeat. blip blop blip blop blip blop. Take weight, height, blood pressure. Test urine.

We signed package on first visit, so all visits now are included in the package already. Dunnid to pay ala carte

Charis, sunnygirl & Mrs Wong,

Thanks for the reassurance. Glad to know that the check-up was routine. Just feel very "sotong" ^_^ I think for the next visit (3 weeks time) I will request for my weight and BP to be taken.

Charis,

I'm seeing Dr Wong Mun Tat from Thomson Women's Clinic at Bt Batok. I did't want to ask my friends for a recommendation as I want to keep it to myself a little longer. So I just picked one close to my place.

Mrs Wong,

your package seems like a really good deal. Very tempted to switch to your clinic... How long do you usually have to wait to see the doctor?

Winnie, I assume you stay west side? My gynae is Dr Woo Bit Hwa. I'm seeing him at Punggol cos near my parent's place.

You can go to his clinic at Tiong Bahru. Mr iceblue brings his wifey there
Package is cheaper at S$550

At Punggol Plaza, there is no such thing as waiting...haha...I arrive, give my appt card, go get a drink from their water cooler and can go see Dr Woo le :p V fast

Mrs Wong,

Thanks for the info. I love the "no waiting" part. Too bad Punggol's way out for me.

iceblue,

how's the waiting time like at Tiong Bahru? My hubby's office is around there so it should still be a possibility for us.

Hi Icy,

Glad to know u can come back to s'pore soon. At least can go for checkup and scan as what you have hope for.

U be staying for a while? Y arrange so late 10 Jul?

winnie, i been there twice, the waiting time still ok.. 5-10mins, depending on the crowd. usually mine appointment i put ard 11~12noon..

just mine 2cents worth!

How's everyone? My MS was very bad so had not been logging in.

Jajabing, going for scan today?

i went for my scan yesterday. i am expecting triplets! Saw 3 heartbeats on the US. Babies are doing fine, 16mm, 17mm and 18mm. Looks like i am going to be a busy mother and the following months are going to be increasingly tough for me.
Well, hubby and me are very excited about our 3 little puppies. EDD should be 6 Feb 07. But since i having multiples, very likely it will be Jan 07. Wish me good luck!

Mrs Wong, read in the Jan thread that u custom making ur baby cot?? Can share the contacts? i may need a custom-made baby cot to house my 3 pups!!

Hi chloe..

WOW WAH..triplets! Triple blessing! Congrats!

So happy for u..Thank GOD they are doin well too!

Hi Charis,
Nice to meet you here

My EDD should be in Feb too...have not seen a gynae yet coz still in early stage of pregnancy! But MS has striked and I have been vomitting like nobody business....

Hi doggy..

Welcome. Did not see u in the other thread too..I guess u must be resting lots cos of yr MS.

Take care. I have MS too..but not so severe..no vomitting, jus nausea n giddiness, headaches plus tummy upset.

Which gynae u thinking of seeing? When was yr LMP? Mine was 12 May. I think yr EDD should be around the same as mine.

Hi mrs wong..

Thanks for the info.

Hmm..is chrysantenum (dont know how to spell leh) tea ok..those flowers u buy at the chinese med hall..n boil.

Thanks for the good wishes.

charis, now can drink chrysanthemum tea??

Btw, anyone knows whether eating strawberries is ok? i have been eating them for the past few days, dunno why got such craving... i tend to think that they help to curb my MS as they are sour...

oh, i recall we discussed about birdnest some time ago. i have checked with my doctor. He does not believe in birdnest cos he felt that they are just expensive saliva. As such, he told me it will not cause asthma
But he mentioned that if wanna drink, still can, but must eat those that we make ourselves cos those instant ones contains lots of sugar.

Hey chloe..

Why? CAnt drink? Im not sure anyway, that's why im asking mrs wong.

Srawberries..hmm..that's good wat..u craving for healthy snacks! Haha..u remind me of my strawberries too..I got my friend to buy from Sydney for me dried strawberries n dried kiwi...its dried without any sugar or salt..better than those u find at the snack stall..Ichiban or something, which tend to be super sweet.

Haha..birdnest expensive saliva..ya its ture i guess. I dont drink it..so well..i think i won't really like it..cos of the saliva connotation. haha.

hi charis

oh, cos i thot normally we drink chrysanthemum tea when we are heaty... so i am not sure whether it is cooling or a neutral drink...

agree, better than those preserved fruits that got sugar or salt. u can bring to work lor, then whenever u feel like chewing, just pop in a few.

actually wat my dr said is true lar, now i also dunno whether should eat birdnest... will let my MIL knows cos she wanted to make birdnest for me during my 2nd trimester. If she feels that birdnest is good, then since there's no harm eating, then most likely i will eat.

Starlite,
At first, I was coming back only on the 8 jul, so i quickly book appt since my gynae need 2 weeks advance booking.. then hubby yesterday suddenly announced we are only back sg this sat. I called my gynae but there is no more slot next week.. *sigH8 so disappointed.. so I am sticking to my old appt on the 10 jul.

Hb actually quite concern now, cos he will be going to new york the very very nite after the appt while I stay in sg for 3 weeks.. was asking me yesterday *touched wood* what if things dun turn out well.. he made me sob again.. *sigh* but i told him he can continue his trip. *pray hard* bb will always be Okie.

chloe,
woah congrats!! This is exciting!!

Hi icy..

Which gynae u seeing? That's very in advance..

Hi chloe..

Im not sure about that.

Ya..those kind of dried fruits is good. But for u be sure to eat more cos of yr triplets.

Charis,
I am seeing Dr Yeoh Swee Choo at Mt E Medical Centre. Actually she is not my original gynae but i seek her for 2nd opinion last time and found her better than my original one. so now i decide to stick to her.. my hb also prefer her as compare to the original one.. (*sigh* long story there). Her waiting time also can be quite long 1-3hrs..

Icy..

Btw, who u staying with while yr hubby is away? Yr in laws? Anyway, if u need company..there's always us here..I dont work also so im quite free some days.

MS this morning, so ended up have to take half day leave.
I thk this week started slightly more than last week. nausea, feel like vomitting but nothing come out.

Hi Chloe, congra!!! so happy for u. take gd care.

Hi leomum.

Can you describe yr MS? i jus want to find out if similar to mine. Cos I dont have vomitting..but nausea, n hunger pangs, queasiness in tummy..How long do yr MS last?

Hi Charis

My MS is on & off. I will feel my chest uncomfortable, thn i will "orrch" like i vomitted. But actually nothing come out. My hubby will hv to rub oil on my chest & back to make me feel better. Sometime, I will hv to drink hot milo to make myslf feel better. I thk MS will last half hr? what abt u?