(2007/02) February

Hi icy
tks for the concern, yup its tru that im quite stress up at my work, since after that incident my family n hubby told me dun work at that co. So i resign and relaxing nw. But nw I juz ind out that Im preggie, I dont know whether I shld go and find work, also hv to consider whether the new co wants a preggie woman as their staff? hmm....

Hi koh
Dr Heng only deliver at ESH, she's 'title' the princess of ESH coz she is one of the gynae that delivers the most BB. Maybe you can have a look at this link http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/38502.html?1140345120

I dun have any spotting and no MS .. nothing .... its as if im as normal as before pregnant.. Im just a little bit more tired and tends to sleep a little bit more and frequent visits to the toilet only.. nothing else.. also duno if this is good ... so is it true that the hormones are no good in this way ..cos i really dun feel anything abnormal at all.

Now im getting kinda paranoid.. i seen my fren who has really bad MS and when i compared myself to her condition, i dun have anything,, sometimes lead me to wonder if my pregnancy is real ... 28th will be going to see my gynae and hope that all's ok .. now my life's still pretty much he same as before...

Hi ladies...

I had some spotting yesterday..n this morning..after I came back from work..accompanied with some cramps. But once I rested, the spotting n cramps stopped. Hope its jus this one time..which then could be jus implantation bleeding.

Charis, was the cramping v bad? Cos spotting with cramping you should see doc immediately.

Jaja, my life change alot already. My dog not allowed to sleep in the room with us already. My parents want me over for dinner every night. My dad keeps popping by to make sure I ate my breakfast and lunch. No more freedom to go out cos my hubby will frown at me going out.

But, I get to eat good food everyday..heehee..my hubby will buy nice food back for me, my mum will cook for me...

I also dun have MS
But my breasts have grown by 1 cup size already
just went to get some new bras today...

Hi mrs wong..Im not too sure if it was considered bad..its more of discomfort..at around the sides, sometimes at the lower abdomen which is like menses cramps..my friend said it could be bloatedness. But after rest, its ok. In fact, I notice when I increase my activity, I seem to have this kind of discomfort..I think i need the bedrest type..Some women have quite smooth pregnancies..they can remain quite active..But i guess some cant. But I'm not seeing the gynae till later this week..too early cant see anything.

Charis, cos my gynae told me if got any pain or cramping with spotting, must call him immediately.

I think it pretty much depends on how active you were pre-pregnancy. I was v active doing sports and going for walks with my dog everyday, so now I'm not having a hard time. I can still do light exercises and go for walks and shopping trips, no spotting or any discomfort...

HI mrs wong..

Ya..some gynae are more particular with that. My gynae is not so..He will say cramps n spotting are common. But since I had a previous miscarriage, maybe his view my change..I dont know.

Actually, I'm quite an active person..I exercise at least 3 times a week previously..n was slowly preparing to run marathon in July..In fact, previously, gynae had to tell me stop my exercise prior to conceiving n during 1st trimester..cos he say preggie can only do exercise after 1st trimester. So for this pregnancy..I've since stopped once I tested positive. I think its not so much about that..I had a friend who's totally couch potato n she has twins, one son..and 4th one coming..with hardly any problems.

I believe, we dont know how complex the development of the baby in the womb especially in the 1st trimester..that most gynaes dont exactly know why miscarriages happen in early pregnancy. Being a Christian, I accept that only GOD knows..So Im jus praying n hoping all will be well this time.

Mrs Wong...My gynae is either quite old-fashioned or super concerned..yoga, pilates also cannot do he told me. I cant stand it also..I've been doing sports all this while, n I helped train sec. school athletes..now I've to stop. So anyway, once I pass the 1st trimester, its back to exercise..

Also..in terms of womb health..my 3 gynaes certified that Im fine..no polyps, cysts, etc..So its not that..So there wasnt much of a medicl answer to my miscarriage. Anyway, 1 m/c is quite common, usually after 3 or more m/cs then gynaes will send you for more testing.

I go to the support group for m/cs thread in this forum. Some of the women are also young n active, but they still suffered m/c or difficult pregnancies..Threatened m/c, or m/c most of the time are unfortunate events..not much can be explained about them, esp in the 1st trimester.

So previous life events and experience with others who suffered same problems, jus make me more aware of things, so I jus more anxious..rather than excited. Its like that after u have once suffered a m/c. But, like I said earlier, I'm prayerful..n want to be positive..n take it one step at a time.

hi charis

i had bleeding in week 5. After that, was dark brown spotting, on and off, about once to twice a week. i had extended MC becos of that. Dr advised me to rest. According to him, my cervix is very sensitive to the hormone changes. But as long as the stain does not come from the uterus, and not accompanied by any pain/cramps, should be ok. i saw my baby's heartbeat last week, and my HCG level doubles every 2 days, so i guess should be fine. u dun worry too much ok? Just make sure u have enough bed rest, dun carry heavy stuff, avoid using ur abdominal muscles (esp when u passing motion). i should think u will be fine.
Regarding the pain from both sides, it could be ur ovaries. During pregnancy, the ovaries product cysts to produce the necessary hormones to support the pregnancy. This will cause the ovaries to enlarge and will cause some discomfort. i feel it too when i sneeze.

jajabings, i got no preference, either Gleneagles or Mt A is fine. But since dr foong is at Gleneagles, i will stay at Gleneagles.
About not having MS, dun worry lar, still early for u. My MS only started to kick in during week 6. Now u should eat watever u can. i am now in week 7 and lost almost all my appetite. Vomitted 2 days ago and having nausea till today... Smells of cooking oil and food will make me feel like throwing up! Enojoy while u can!
Well, but even if u dun get MS, it is also normal. Some pple dun get it throughout!

mrs wong

My hubby literally puts me under house arrest. i dun go anywhere except to the clinic for my injections or see doctor.
But as long as baby is fine, i am also fine with this arrangement. Just that TCS programmes during the day are soooo boring... got to rely on VCDs/DVDs supplied by my cousin, else i think will be very bored. i still cannot go to work cos dr says i need lots of rest... will catch a nap later, like that, the day will pass by faster for me...

Hi chloe..

Ya..thanks for sharing yr experience. My gynae thinks light brown spotting is quite normal..anyway, I dont have any more spotting, except during ML..so quite worried..then my gynae explained that the cervix is not tightly closed (cos if it is, how menses blood flows out)..there's like a thin membrane..the outer rea of uterus is surrounded by lining of tissue, n blood during pregnancy..the rubbing of the penis against the cervix stimulates some blood to flow out..but its nothing serious. So well, Ive cramps at both sides quite frequent..i guess like u said, should be the ovaries..but only lasts a while..its not painful actually if u dont think about it..usually its worry, fear, then u panic..then everything seems to be painful n serious..My hubby also advised me not to be so paranoid..jus enjoy being pregnant..

ger,
i think we can find work now, me too not working.. just sleep the whole day and rest more.

jajabing,
me too, no ms, no adnormality.. then start to feel like u too.. eek paranoid.. must try to think +ve. my appt with gyane is on the 10 Jul.. i still have a long wait.

liling,
i think should be fine, but better dun have ice.

Hi there icy,

Looks like im not the only paranoid one around .. cos i really dun feel anything different .. and i got so paranoid i went to do another preg test .. hahaha .. cos i onli did once and went to see chinese doc and the gynae, both of them did not do any further tests for me to ascertain the pregnancy and they just rely on the one and only test kit result i have .. so i did another one and its positive also .. btw, i bot another brand just to be sure this time .. hahaa... so silly of me right .. my hubby says i waste of money .. but being paranoid and a woman, u tends to do silly things. I even watch world cup matches last night .. the one that ends at 2.30am in the morning one and woke up ok..

Chloe,
So maybe i get to see u with ure twins since ure opting for GE too, ure going to see dr foong this tues right ... im so excited for u ... let us know how was it okie .. i will be going to see him only on 28th june .. next wed i think ... for the scan .. i just hope all's ok lor ..

jajalings,
yah.. me also quite paranoid. Hb can only tell me to smile, else in future bb will be like me, paranoid. i start count down the days to my gynae appt - 22 more days.

I din go another test becos as long as mense not here means preggy.. lots of qns I wanna know like how big is my bb now? it is okie? where is the heartbeat? When is my exact EDD?

Did u see any pregnancy guide book which also allows u to write down your progress? I wanna note it down pretty soon like measurement of my tummy.. any one of u measure how much bigger u are getting?

Charis, my gynae encourage me to exercise if possible
I'm doing light exercises like stretching and leg lifts at home now.

I have found a trainer to teach me water aerobics during the 2nd trimester. They say water aerobics during pregnancy will help us have easier labour. Frens and counsins that did it all have good feedback

Icy, I got a scrap book to write everything down, paste pics and u/s scans

I have a pregnancy week-by-week guidebook where they will tell you what to take note and there is space to write down everything
bought it from Kinokuniya

Mrs Wong,
yeap, I wanna something like that.. better still like weight and feelings like first kick. what is the title of the book that you bought?

Hi Icy,

I also got a lot of qns and cant wait to see the foetus or the sag, whatever is call to confirm on the pregnancy with my eyes... but guess have to wait till next wed ...

Hi Mrs Wong,
I was also thinking of getting this kind of book, so we can get it from kinokuniya, is at the parenting section?

Hi Chloe,
Do u think we will be delivering ard the same time?? whats ure EDD? mine mid feb ... yah, he is away, cos im suppose to go back see him for the scan this week, becos of this conference, he has to postpone me to the following week... cant wait ..

hi jajabings

yalor, me too, supposed to see him this week but too bad he away... now leaving me in suspense. He din give me a EDD, just said that it will be a feb baby. i also forgot to ask him again. i checked some of the pregnancy websites for pregnancy calculator, somewhere like 8 Feb 07... Will ask dr next week.

Hi ladies..

Last time, I bought a book at Spring Maternity quite cute..n u can write down like a journal week by week. I'll check out the KInokuniya one Mrs wong mentioned. WHich dept. can i fing that mrs wong?

I'm not too sure the exact section, but it is where all the pregnancy books are. And it is quite expensive, around S$40++ if I did not recall wrongly.

Good morning! Need advice on birdnest. My MIL volunteers to make me birdnest during the 2nd trimester. However, my mother's school of thought is that birdnest can cause asthma in children, so she advised me not to take. Any idea who i should listen to?

chole,
i have heard of that too... for me.. i don have asthma, but when i take birdnest during my first pregnancy, my breathing start to change as if i have asthma.. i heard that birdnest is good for baby skin... but as for asthma.. some say yes and no... why don u ask your gynae for advise...

Ger,
hey, when is ur EDD?

Hi chloe,

As for me, I dont take birdnest at all..haha..cos its kind of gross lah..the bird vomit out..some birdnest got blood on it even..poor bird..haha..that's my school of thought. Ya..i've heard its good..but I've also heard its no good for lungs if take too much..makes u cough.

Chloe,

Some people are allergic to birdnest, thus when they eat birdnest, they will get 'asthma attacks', even if they do not have asthma.

Eating birdnest during pregnancy DOES NOT cause the child to have asthma. Asthma is in the genes, if you or your hubby have it, most likely your child will have it.

I have childhood asthma, but it's not affecting my life in anyway now. Just need to expose the child to more activities and keep the house clean.

Chloe,
I dun think birdnest will have asthma, i saw a lot of preggy mum drinking it and I going to start on it too on my 2nd tri.. hahaha. I think everything make moderate then should be okie.

Just wanna check..anyone knows which private hospital has the lowest fees for maternity/delivery?

Charis, it pretty much depends on the complexity of the case.

But so far, I think Mt A is the cheapest. Anyway, I heard that their profits go to charity?

Thanks for the suggestions. i will check with dr regarding birdnest next week. Anyway, my MIL will only be making it in 2nd trimester, so still got time to find out more.

charis,
mrs wong was rite, Mt A the cheapest..

Single room Double room 4-bedded room
Normal delivery
- 2 days $1,764.00 $1,050.00 $934.50
- 3 days $2,168.25 $1,349.25 $1,176.00

Normal delivery (with epidural)
- 2 days $2,084.25 $1,370.25 $1,254.75
- 3 days $2,488.50 $1,669.50 $1,496.250

Assisted delivery
- 2 days $1,853.25 $1,139.25 $1,023.75
- 3 days $2,257.50 $1,438.50 $1,265.25

Assisted delivery (with epidural)
- 2 days $2,173.50 $1,459.50 $1,344.00
- 3 days $2,577.75 $1,758.75 $1,585.50

Caesarean section (with GA)
- 3 days $2,919.00 $1,858.50 $1,685.25
- 4 days $3,323.25 $2,157.75 $1,926.75

Caesarean section (with epidural)
- 3 days $2,793.00 $1,732.50 $1,559.25
- 4 days $3,197.25 $2,031.75 $1,800.75

I'm totally new here.

I'm feeling nothing abnormal at week 7. Wonder if this is normal. Going for my first gynae visit next week.
I'm considering TMC thru friend's recommendation...but have not really find out about the total est. cost yet.
Anyone able to share with me the est. total cost for TMC ? thanks a lot!

vomitted a lot yesterday... feel giddy and cramps.. don even have the strength to climb off from bed to toilet... but boss don let mi on mc.. so now at work.. really half dead now... my HB says never saw people pregnant till like that.. and out of anger he says tomorrow go see gynae see can take off the baby or not... feel so sad... feel so sick still have to act healthy...

Hi Koh,

Maybe ure hubby so heart pain to see u lidat .. so sick .. but u wud like to remind him to try and dun say all these things .. necos i very pandang .. sometimes ppl lost the bb becos they anyhow say things .. must be mindful lah .. and that ure company, i think u should just go ahead with ure mc .. its doing u any good if u insist to go to work and so what if ure boss dun understand and dun approve .. an MC is a certified copy by the medical docs that u r unfit for work .. does he want to bear any responsibility?

Hi Chloe,
Maybe we will see each other when we deliver in Feb .. if u extend and i bring forward .. ahahaa

Queenster,
I try TCM and specialist to aid in my pregnancy .. am now still visiting the TCM doc who is at tampines bus interchange .. she super crowded one . generally speaking, the consulation is not so ex one .. depends on whether got herbs or not ? like maybe 50 - 60 bucks if got herbs and the herbs lasted me for a month .. so its rather worth it .. can consider ..

Hi Koh,

I also have ms sometimes, but whenever I feel nausea or even after vomit, I will immediately take wheat crackers (brand:Julie's). It is very useful for me, becos after I take 1 pack (3 crackers) then the nausea feeling will be missing. I dun know whether it is useful for u, but no harm to try. But remember slowly bite and eat.

doctor give u MC, think u should rest at home. actually i just terminated the contract by my boss after she know i am pregnant (Bcos I was having brown discharge and gynae gave me 1 month hospitalise leave). I din angry although the boss is so cruel for me, but I din regret and I know baby is my 1st prioty... then now i am looking for part time job.

Anyway, u must take care... and u must think which one is important to u. If u really want to go to work but need to make sure do not over work and stress yourself.

Looks like there are still companies which are not so pro-family hor... Any way to give feedback on this unfair treatment?

Actually, this should be highlighted to MOM. Many companies find excuses to sack pregnant staff once they find out they are pregnant.

And once you are pregnant, it is so hard to find a job! So how are we going to pay for the expenses to come? Even if we go to polyclinics for the cheapest medical care possible, cos the cheapest ward at the cheapest hospital, everything also need $$$.

Govt want us to give birth, but never protect our rights. No wonder so many people rather keep animals than give birth.

Hi karen..

U can bring this up to MOM..yr boss is not supposed to terminate u.

Ya..some companies will do that..cos they think we are a liability..but its quite discriminating..I believe we can do our jobs well..jus that when pregnancy comes, some women need more time to adjust to this new change, health wise.

hi karen,,

just to give my opinion..

firstly, pls refrain yr hb from making this kind of comment. pregnancy is never an easy issue. its very normal for u to feel uncomfortable.

he is better than my hb leh, i am on bedrest for the second time. so this two week, my hb gotta to all housework and buy all my meals and constantly "serve" me. so tell ur him, dun complain..

bb are very sensitive to wat we say, so better dun anyhow say things out of anger.

regarding work, i encountered something similar as i was on long mc. just challenge them with the law , they dont dare to do anything .

Karen, you should go borrow some books on pregnancy to let your hubby read. My hubby also said he regret getting me preggie when he see me sick and suffering. But after he read the book, his attitude change and he is v caring towards me now.

Now he reads and talks to baby every night
Scared his kid will not recognise him as daddy

yep, i agree, baby knows whether he/she is wanted. i think it is a kind of human instinct. So no matter how sick we feel, should try to think positively. As for hubbies, the least they could do is to shower us with lots and lots of concern and encouragement.

My MS is making me very sick every day... now just have to endure and hope that it will subside soon.
i still having spotting, been telling baby to hold on to me and dun let go. Really hope he/she could join us after 9 months.

Mrs wong, ur hubby so cute. But i think too early for bb to hear anything now right?? Anyway, enjoy the process.

hi Stella and Mrs. Wong,

think u all misunderstand liao... my husband is very support me and well care about me... think the person u 2 say is Koh's husband not mine....

to me, my husband very support me and very care about baby. no choice lah... MOM will not care abt it... because the boss very smart 1 lah... they will give a lot of "nice" execuses.....

Just dropping in to say hi. Guess I belong here as well. Tested positive on a home test kit over the weekend. Not sure when the EDD will be but the online ovulation calendar suggested end Feb :)

Koh,
hope you are feeling better... didn't want to post actually but really wanted to give you some encouragement. Cause I think I can understand how you are feeling. My hubby says a lot of insensitive things too and I know how it can hurt. And of course it wouldn't make you feel better reading the other posts here when you know how attentive other fathers-to-be are. No offense to the other ladies here, I know you are only sharing... Maybe it's just the hormones, maybe the stress of the pregancy, but reading your postings makes me very sad and I think koh might feel the same way. Anyway, Koh, be strong ok? Don't take what your hubby says to heart. Like you said, he only said it in a moment of anger. If he knew how much it hurt you, I'm sure he wouldn't have said it. Tell your baby too that Daddy didn't mean it yah? You don't have to "act healthy" if you are not feeling well. Put yourself as top priority. If you need to rest, rest. Remember, you don't owe it to anyone to "act healthy". If they can't accept it, too bad for them yah? Take care :)

being a bit ks. like to check whether u all intend to get a confinement lady in feb? seems that chinese new yr period is really expensive. just check with an agency, it's $3030.