(2007/02) February

catz
hur? bronchitis? found the cause? think u better start drowning ur kids with supplements.. poor timmy..u better try to grab whatever time u have to rest as well. wow.. ur new maid seems alright for a start.. hopefully things will maintain this way for the next 2 yrs and u can spend more quality time with ur kiddos (put aside spreeing)..

huskie
err hate to say this.. ur new maids sounds problematic as well.. better tighten the rules while she is still new here.. another few mths later, then it's hard, hard hard..

my new maid.. cleans the house quite well.. but those never use brain type.. hb suspects she accidentally lost a small part of the cooking hob when she did the cleaning (n did not admit)..and not particularly trueful when she did not manage to tell us that she could not manage to clean off certain stains... we r onli concerned more abt food preparation hygiene and cleaning up using the detergent.. hard to monitor unless one is in the kitchen to look n stare at her when she does all these... which is almost near impossible..

because QY sticks to us like hell!!!!!.. everything he wanna us to be with him now.. he even try to beat her when he saw that i am talking (giving instructions) to her... at my mum's place, he refused her to bath him/change diaper n feed him, eveything he say "dun wanna auntie,, wai po do". i had bathed him more and changed diapers more in this 1 week than the whole of his 2 yrs of life.... even when hb tried to bath him... he will say "mama sit and watch"... faintz liao~~~~...

so now instead of following what the gynae said,.. rest more, slow down ur pace, dun carry heavy things, i am doing the total opposite.. so scared in future he beat meimei coz he felt i am taking her away frm him..

cherry, the gym bucks redemption is worth it in my opinion. The only catch is that if u want full redemption sometimes u need to purchase more eg. if its $50 gymbucks, need to purchase $100 worth etc etc..so if you dun have enough, then end up got to pick some other items that you may not buy initially.

For me i bought quite a few pieces of non-sale items for Ashton only to see it go on sale very soon and he hasnt even wore them yet.

smurfy,
Wow, looks like QY is starting to get possessive, you think it's cos he senses a new baby on the way?
Soph has been almost the same, but not in a violent way... she's been saying she can share he room/bed/toys with Mummy, Daddy and almost anyone else, but not baby!

As for your maid, hmm.... it's the same with my case, very hard to monitor her all the time, so I have resorted to using detergent that is safe for consumption in minimum amounts.

huskie
very very possessive.. of everything, last weekend a punggol mum came over to my place.. QY chased after his boy and snatched back the toys the boy's holding. 2 lil cavemen...

for the maid.. just take everyday as it goes lor.. though i keep stressing to her i am very particular about food hygiene and safety.

huskie, Ashton is also very possessive of his toys and everything else though sometimes he will give meimei his stuff. Most of the time when he see a new toy, he will say its Ashton even though its actually meant for meimei.

But when meimei cries, he will quickly pacify her and will give her his toys. So, i guess he does care for the sister.

the other day i brought A shopping and guess wat, he saw a pair of kids shoes, he took it from the rack, put on the floor and wanted to try it on. OMG, he must have got this gene from the parents since both hb and i love to buy shoes!

i think at this age kids have this rule in them.. this toy/ object belongs to me so its only mine..

just like in CC, they lable each chair for each kid.. so they will not fight over... but when someones sits on their chair, then they will make a hell of noise.

at home e.g. my and hubby have seperate blanket.. but sometimes myhubby will use mine instead.. then my gal will make a big fuss saying that its mummy's not daddy's and insist of pulling the blanket away from dad.. haha..

it goes the same with her beddings.. we cannot rest our heads on her pillows its her's only.... as for her blankie.. she sometimes have 2-3 blakies.. so i ask if she can give one for #2.. sometimes yes sometimes no.. depends on her mood.

probably this age sharing is still not something they like.. though i always read and teach her about sharing keke

smurfy,
About QY not liking made. Maybe it's because he don't want to end up missing the maid, if the maid goes away again. He could be afraid of being sad again.

sap
no lar.. he's the heartless one lar.. totally fine with the idea she's gone.. tried to test him a few times.. he can happily tell me "auntie takes airplane... zooom...philiphines"

Catz,

hope Timo recovers soon.

Just like to know when you were carying Timo, did u take a lot of cold stuffs?

My colleague just nagged at me for drinking cold orange juice.. cos I love them this time rnd but my colleague keep telling me not good ah..

sunsweet
i find that cold drinks myth not that true leh... i almost everyday oso cold drinks with QY. but he turns out alright..

yah lar, he's more siao sa than me lar.. the nite before the old maid goes.. i cannot sleep... so worried that he will have a hard time adjusting coz i am taking someone who had been attending his basic needs away frm him (change diapers, bath, prepare food, feed)

doggy, my girl doesn't go to school but I thought of sending her to those weekly classes for her to mix and play around. How about your boy?

sunsweet,
I drank lots of cold stuff whilst carrying all my 3 kids. They have no problems leh. Just the usual coughs and colds, and rarely too.

Catz,
How's Timo now?

smurfy,
When are u due? For me I try not to take cold things to play save.

SUNSWEET,
My girl also behave the same - Daddy cannot take mummy's things. Trying to teach her to share too. She okay with me buying things for my naphew (a baby). She won't touch his things if she knew it is for my naphew.

Catz..Poor Timo..praying he'll get well soon..then saw from FB update that Beth not too well too..maybe u can see what u can do to boost their immunity.

U are blessed to get a good maid! At a time like this with u busy goin to n fro at least you don't have to worry about the house.

With most of the SAHMs getting a maid..I feel like getting a part-time helper, super tired with the chores and working @ home. My hb say ok But I think we can save on the $$, I only need my hb to help out more consistently..cos so far still can manage lah..with doing only the urgent first.

Huskie..Its ok..didn't know that Sop has class on Sundays.
I think your maid miss home..haha..so that's why must call n talk so long..I think after awhile get used to it already she wont have to "report" home so often..anyway its still a must to set rules n she should follow.

Hey mummies, this time better inform all earlier..Im having a free trial class (music & movement) for 2-3 year olds, this Sunday at Central SOHO 1 this sun. 2 time-slots 10-10:45 & 11-11:45..however do let me know if you are coming by mid-week..cos can only proceed with at least 3 in a class.
If anyone wants a trial class for your babies below 12 mos or below 24 mos..do let me know too so I can arrange. Thanks!

Wonder if it is save or a pregnant lady to get her hair straighten. Heard rebonding is not advisable. Anyone hear of relaxing method?

charis,

this time i can't. I be attending kindermusic trial for G.

zz has started to play n interact w kids liao. but sometimes he does snatch toys from other kids hands. he also like to give instructions too. like he expect maid to make his milk even though I am availble n maid in the toilet... hahhaa guess he knows she is a maid ;p

hb say he can do delegation v well... be a manager nxt time. keke

Saphira, i didn't dye or rebond hair during preg to be safe side. i not sure y anyway hehe. maybe those chemical goin into the head?

Hiya ladies, just discharged today.. now hubby down with sinusitis and Beth has fever with runny nose. Headache man.. so hubby will be on mc tomorrow.. and in my way being grumpy and sick :p Ah well, luckily have the helper to do the chores. I'm already half dead as it is.

Charis, aiyah sorry babe, I think the bug is too killer, don't want my kids spreading anything. BUT if you're doing anything for under 12 months, my sister's Zachary would be interested! Oh as for PT help, if you really need it, then go for fortnightly help lor. Just to do the stuff that you're really too busy to get around to do.

Huskie, how's your maid behaving?

Gotta dash.. hear someone hacking and coughin.

Catz,
My 2 older kids also have cough and runny nose. Ben had fever Fri and Sat. Went to dr today. My eczema also flared up due to the cement dust that flew in from outside. I have to be on prednisolone for a few days. AAP says prednisolone is generally safe for BF, so I'm praying very hard that everything will be OK.

Ben gave us a scare today. My hb left Sarah's medicine on the dining table (funny, cos he put Ben's medicine into the fridge). This evening, we found Ben with an empty antihistamine bottle!!! Really scary! Actually I think he had spilled most of it on himself and onto the chair. If he ingested any at all, on hindsight, it was very little at all. I called the KKH nurse 2x to ask what to do. Monitored him - he was a little stoned, but probably cos of the cold. In the end, didn't bring him to A&E as we had planned to. He seemed quite OK. We even ended up at Ikea for dinner
. By 11 pm, the danger should be past. *phew* Lesson learnt - DO NOT LEAVE MEDICINES OUT where naughty hands can reach them.

You'd better take care of yourself. Good to have help at these times. My hb took childcare leave today to help me.

PVL,

A few days back, cherish managed to take my medication out of my bag.. and told me it is candies.. luckily it was kept in zip lock kinda plastic bag and she has difficulties opening it.

that time when my mil is staying with me, she like to leave her chemo pills on the dining table..i am so worried and got to constantly keep a lookout.

re: kids socialising

cherish start to socialise with kids at the playground..but she v petty.. if the kids accidentally knock on her or dun let her play, she will cry and make a fuss. It seems that in her world, it is only "i , me, myself"

cherish got a love hate relation with playmate nezt door..must see each other everday ,but also snatch toys every moment

sap
me due in aug. i am thinking of going to rebond my hair in 3rd trimester... going to my regular hairstylist.. will tell her to be careful not to touch the scalp. and i think 3rd trimester safer lor, at least most organs are developed.

pvl
tat's soooo scary..thankfully he spilled most of the contents out.. hey hey, btw, ain't they informed that's medication, and not to take by themselves? actually i dun realy hide my medication. somehow he was told that only when sick he can take them...

smurfy,
My boy is either very stupid or ultra ultra stubborn. He doesn't listen to what we tell him, and is super curious. Will touch and destroy everything he can get his hands on. He's attracted to moving parts, so if things can be peeled, unscrewed, taken apart, he's done it. Even our board books are destroyed - he peels the pages. We didn't expect him to get to the medicine. He knows he's not supposed to touch it. But he climbed up and managed to reach it (must have crawled onto the table). There are other vitamins on the same table, but he has never disturbed them.
Oh yes, and if things are beyond his reach, he knows how to go get a stool, climb up and get them. Terrible hor? Have to keep him by me all the time otherwise....

pvl
super curious is good lar.. would u rather he stare and stare at something for a long while without doing anything to it?.. did i mentioned before, QY's room has no fan? coz he amazed with how fans moved and made us dismantled one? now still spinning the different fan parts on the floor -_-'. the onli issue is that coz u were expecting then, and now has 2 other kids besides him, there is less supervision on him, so could be more dangerous?

gd day to all....

these fw wks rather R&R. Till when May comes then I may b busier w/ mtgs...

Now logging in frm own lappy to watch Trueblood. :p

Talking abt diapers - A wears Pampers Active for night. I want my beauty slp, + he also slps like a pig so we didn't want to disturb him. To b diaper free when he's nt slping is v gd already....

i've been feeling sad lately. I dunno if this shld b gd or bad news... bt A's starting to like the maid, to the extent sometimes when I wanna join in & play w/ them, he pushed me away, and just pointed to the maid. I felt v miserable & of cos jealous. Yest night he did the same to me, and I had to leave the rm cos he didn't want me to b in the rm. So I sat outside at the sofa to watch tv w/ hb. Shortly after, he came out and hugged me a few times. I asked the maid if she told him something, she said yes. She told A he can't do tat to mummy, and asked him to come out & apologised to me. My heart sank further.... A has nv listened to us like this before....

How....

has anybody felt like this b4? Though he'll still come to me often like when I get hme, he will jump onto me & refused to come down, and @ night, we will spend us-only time in the bedrm b4 he slps.. bt somehow I just dun feel happy.

Charis,
Sorry, I cannot make it as Sunday mornings are no good due to Soph's class.
Here's wishing you success in your new venture

Hey Catz,
Hope your hubby and Beth gets better!

Re maid: she's been behaving better since I put on a "stern" look, but seriously, I am not a very stern person and don't enjoy being like that. Her hubby called on Sunday night (even though I indicated it's Sat night for calls), and she was quick to show me that she finished the call in 10mins.
Other than that, she's been ok... no more funny things like keeping drumsticks in stew to herself and serving us breasts and bones like in beginning :p

stella,
Soph is also a crybaby in that sense - will cry when other kids snatch her toys. Dunno how to teach her to be more garang?! Sending her to daily playgroup class now, hopefully she'll learn to be more assertive

PVL,
That medicine espisode is soooo scary! Thank God Ben is alright.
That reminds me to keep my medication away from the table, cos I always keep them there, and Soph also loves to take a stool to climb then help herself to the cookies on the table.

Ah ger, i am a 'guo lai ren' in this aspect. My A was very close the the maid in the past, now he still likes her a lot cos she is his main caregiver but he listens to me a lot more now after my ML where I had opportunities to spend time wtih him.

There are things that he will come to me eg. play, read book and there are things that he will go to maid eg. wash backside when he poo, change diaper.

Sometimes at night when he refused to sleep when its bedtime, the maid can never control him. He will still want to play, he only stop playing when I tell me to go to bed, kiss him goodnite etc.

I believe our children love us lah, just that cos their basic needs are taken care by maid, sometimes they tend to be closer to maid, not knowing that this will hurt the parents' feelings. I know how u feel, sometimes when I see A playing with maid, I also dun quite like it but on the other hand, this shows that maid didnt ill treat him loh.

smurfy,
maybe can check out 'relax" method. heard it is less damaging and more natural looking. Also read that smelling the chemical is not a good idea. maybe have to cover nose all the time.

about leaving medication around. hear from an insurance agent a lot of child accident is due to this. We have to be careful.

Ah ger, I got the same feeling as you abt kid prefers maid. Sherwin is closest to the maid, I worried abt maid gg back to Indo end of the yr. Sherwin sure suffer lots. At times, I'm glad that Sherwin sticks to maid lah cos I can have more time for bb.

Sunsweet,
I send Soph to Bright Start Montessori for her daily playgroup. So far the teacher is fantastic, very patient. All my neighbours' kids love her, and one girl even pestered her mom to take her to school on a Saturday.
It's at Bishan CC.

ah-ger
sorry to hear that u have to go thr that as well. but hey, with ur positive outlook, u shld take things well.. and learn frm fat-babe. with A close to the maid, that means u have more "me" time to go shopping, or do ur own things (something which was a luxury in the past)... everyone will tell u that it's good, at least the maid is looking after the child well.. errr do u want to me in my shoes? QY forever have the intention to beat the maid (coz he felt she is taking me away from him when i talk to her).. and he really did that last nite when she bent down to pick something. he beat her back... everything oso dun wanna maid to do... feed oso must grandma feed.. bath oso cannot let maid see (so young yet know dignity oredi)... everywhere he goes now.. must hold grandma or my hands...

both me and my mum are quick tempered people.. very fustrated these days~~~~ and i guess when we r ill tempered, QY can sense it and put the blame on the maid again.. vicious cycle... but i really cannot control myself.. now i know why last time ppl r always complaining their maids, slow n toopid.. thankfully my hb decide not go to back to malaysia for Qingming or 1yr death anniversary, after seeing how i shout at the maid.

Morning mummies...

Ah ger, Xi is very close to my aunty, sometimes i feel she is closer to her than me. But I am actually happy and glad to see my gal is appreciative towards my aunt who looks after her most of the time and gives her the best care in the world. Last nite she accidentally hit her knee to the playpen while i was feeding Ru. I didn't go to her immediately and she was sitting on the bed pretending crying and asking for my aunty. I felt quite amused by the scene instead of feeling jealous loh.

Early in the morning my hubby forward me this link to a video. Am so sad to see this kid (think abt our kids' age) been abused by the maid.

http://multimedia.asiaone.com/Multimedia/Vodcast/Multimedia/Story/A1Multimedia20090402-6319.html

tingkat lunch/dinner
any ladies still surviving on that? any recommendations for a company? thinking of ordering for mum n maid lunch.. to ease load off my mum. does the food arrives hot? :x

jas
hahaha u finally logged in, so when r u going to china? actually i always like the fact that our kids r close to grandmas/aunties/relatives.. it's a very sweet feeling... but maids r different lor :p

sap
relaxers r older methods of straightening the hair.. it was before rebonding days.. so i think rebonding safer lor :p.. maybe try soft straightening

Hi smurfy, if soon will be in 2-3 months time, but before that, hubby and I will go there to look at the environment first. Haiz... mix feeling of this overseas posting...

smurfy,
Tingkats are usually dinner... very seldom hear of lunch ones. In fact that time when I was sourcing for one, they all told me they don't do lunch. You maid cannot cook lunch?

jas,
Good to see you! So excited for your new relocation plans!

I also agree with smurfy it's ok for kids to be close to relatives but not maids.
Yesterday at my mum's place, I told Soph off for climbing onto the table, and then she went and kiss the maid!!! And the maid kissed her back!!!

Can't believe that little girl is playing such jealousy games with me at this tender age!

Hubby doesn't like this one bit, and is thinking of not having maid anymore!

PVL,
Can share how you survive without a maid and so many kids?
How do you cook lunch?
So you freeze foods and then microwave them?
And if you're cooking a meal from scratch, how do you keep the kids entertained if you do not want them to watch TV?

jas arr jas
u oso another highly adaptable girl.. shld be able to cope with the change.. dun worry too much.. if worse comes to the worse... just tender and come back to sg and look after ur girls lor ;)

huskie
this one cannot cook lar... last time she works under supervision of grandma... cook oso grandma there... bath/feed kids oso grandma there... now my mum whole day stuck with QY and maid... getting into her nerves oso..

ur lil sop... hahaha careful she's gonna break alot of hearts with her jealousy game. tell the maid u dun like her kissing the child the next time she kisses sop. ur hb oso same possessive type like me ar?

hey, what more safe dishwashing liquid r u using now? think me shld start using these as well.

smurfy, rgd tingkat, food paradize is good.. esp if you opt for their more expensive no MSG option but they are pricey. nope, the food won't come piping hot, you heat it up in microwave for safety reasons

huskie, yes yes, my Beth also goes to kak kak for help if I punish her but I already laid out the houserules, maid is not to interfere with any discipline issues. So kak kak will run off to the kitchen.. haha. And houserules also state no kissing of the kids cos it spreads germs.

Just brought Bettybetty to paediatrician this morning ços she coughed so badly last night.. thankfully she has laryngitis, no phlegm in lungs/chest. Timo is recovering well.. think will end up buying a nebuliser. Rent and rent also not worthwhile. !@#$%^ Think he will miss the entire term 2 of school.. :p Anyway, his kindy got 4 cases of HFMD so I'm quite jittery about sending him to school before he's fully recovered. The pd assistant said there are a lot of hospitalisations over the last 2 weeks for pneumonia and bronchitis.. some kind of horrid bug going around.

jelly, you are one strong lady.. anyway if it doesn't work out, just tender and come back lor. No harm done.

PVL, rgd medicines, I keep mine in the drawer at the TV console. I never had any problem with Timo touching it but once, Beth got into the drawers with the sole purpose of finding her Hylands teething tablets.. she emptied out a few tablets on the floor before I caught her and gave her a good hiding so that she'd never forget. But alas, she seems to like taking medicines :p ANyway so far she's not opened the drawer again.. so dangerous! I really need to find a better place to house all my medicines. Thank God Benben is OK!!!!! (Thank God he didn't pour the contents down his throat!!!!!!)

Now got to go nebulise Timo.. they are taking turns on the nebuliser.. Beth will sit only for 3 minutes then after that I gotta hold her down to nebulise. Shaaaack.

Rgd trial class, Huskie, Garfield, Catz..Its ok..anyway if I have weekday or other trials..will let u know..thanks!

Huskie..That's the problem with having maids esp with young kids..In fact when they go to school..the teacher also becomes the centre of their affection/attention..not us anymore..that's why Im not for school until much later.

Anyway, I also must ask PVL how she manage..think its possible. Did I tell u I have a friend who has 8 kids..n has no maid all the way..the kids all about 1 year gap some more.
I tell myself if others can do it, then why can't I try at least.

For prep food, I get Y to play in his room..or I'll put on a video..I dont let him watch TV..I only let him watch animal documentaries..I found nice n cheap ones in Carrefour. Anyway, I only take about 15-20min to prep lunch. Next time got baby..guess got to plan prep lunch when baby's asleep.

Catz..Poor Timo..Think u buy better..I bought mine @ $200 odd..im not using it some more cos my docs are against nebulizer,they find preventors are better, I got an asthma action plan which excludes a nebu, but I bought it cos my pastor insisted i hav one at home..actually if they using it often its worth to buy..Or u can use mine first..Im ok..but hav to come all the way here to get leh troublesome for u.

smurfy,
You don't intend to teach your maid how to cook? My maid doesn't know how to cook Chinese stuff, but now after 2 weeks, she can cook simple yong tau foo macaroni/noodles for lunch and steamed fish/chicken and fried veges for dinner.

Yeah, Soph is getting manipulative in her emotional tactics! But luckily I didn't let it upset me yesterday - "ren" during the whole time she was kissing maid, then only later then got my mum to tell maid no kissing!
My hubby is not really possessive type, but he doesn't like kids getting too close to the maid, and definitely doesn't like Soph playing such emotional games at such a young age.
He is 80% leaning towards not wanting a maid anymore, but I told him I feel bad leh, if we let the maid go now... cos then she will become a transfer maid? Then no good for her records right?

For moms cooking tingkat, 1 portion is good enough for 2. I ordered 1 portion for both my MIL and I for a 10-day trial at $200.

Catz,
I think buffetparadize no longer does its usual mass (cheaper version) tingkat i.e. they only have momscooking.com.sg now.
I tried it the last time during 1st tri - food is decent, and really no processed food like sardines or luncheon meat, but expensive. But I also ended up breaking out in the rash once I ate the tingkat... dunno why, maybe my body is just very sensitive to some of their sauces.

Re. kissing: I tried telling maid, but think she doesn't understand English. So yesterday at my mum's place, my mum told her in Bahasa, and she more or less got the idea. Think she had a scary time at my mum's place yesterday, cos she was just watching TV and not watching the kids. At my home, she doesn't need to watch the kids cos she does housework, but when she goes to my mum's place, she doesn't need to do any housework or cooking, so she is expected to just watch over the 3 kids (inclu my 2 nephews). Hee, my nephews were fighting and holding stools over their heads to hit each other already - they were right in front of her and she was just watching TV... in the end, got a earful from my mum! Still need time to be auto. Today she used the ladder and cleaned my aircon units without me asking though

Your poor kids! Heard nebuliser can be quite traumatizing for young kids? My neighbour's ds now screams and cry whenever he sees it.
Soph was almost put on it once, when she had that near bout of pneumonia. But this chicken of a mommy doesn't dare to use it and so begged the PD not to prescribe it... then just dosed her with the supplements and oral medication and then prayed for a quick recovery.

Charis,
Thanks in advance for the trial class

Yeah, think you told me about yur friend with 8 kids! Amazing, isn't she?

What kind of quick-cooking lunch do you cook?

smurfy,
Forgot to answer you - I use "Dish Drops" by LOC brand. It's distributed by Amway (MLM)... same thing, I am not a member, but my neighbours (those with young kids) all use it and I order from one of them.
It comes undiluted in a bottle, and then you dilute it 1 part to 4 parts water to wash dishes. For washing veges/fruits, you dilute it even more.
I never let my helper know it can be used to wash fruits and veges - I just ask her to use it to wash dishes and wipe kitchen cabinets with it, followed by 3 times of clean water wipes. I guess even if she does not follow the instructions of 3 times clean water wipes but does only 1 time clean water wipe, it wouldn't be that bad cos it's edible in tiny amts.... just in case young kids touches the cabinet then put their hands in their mouths.

Huskie,
Hmmmm... I really don't know how I manage
. I cook whenever I can. Ben & Sarah are allowed to watch 1 TV programme each day, + 1 casual video. Another thing, I'm really blessed that Gabriel has been quite a good baby so far. Feed - waketime he can sit in his bouncy net quietly - sleep, he can fall asleep by himself most of the time, otherwise he only needs a little help.
Since Sophie is Ben's age, I'll tell you when I do prep and cooking. Lunch and dinner are sometimes prepared together. If I want to keep Ben in my sight, then I let him sit on a stool in the kitchen playing with something, or I just talk to him whilst I prepare the meal. Sometimes I sit him on the toilet in the kitchen bathroom (when it's the right time). Otherwise, I pull his highchair in and sit him there, give him a snack. Sarah sits at a little table too, and she has some homeschool work to do at that time. So I do the preps like that. As fast as poss. Of course, I plan meals that are easy to prepare and cook. No more sweet-sour fish or multi-step dishes. Even fish, I don't buy whole fish unless it's very well scaled and cleaned for me. I stick to fish fillets and steaks.
Lunches are easy meals - steam veges, steamed or baked meats. Combi meals etc. My kids are easy with food. They even love cheese melts on toast, and that's enough for their lunch.
Dinner - cooking is done when Ben and Gabriel have their afternoon naps. Sarah again sits with me at the table in the kitchen with her homeschool work.
I rarely freeze food much anymore, unless I've cooked a huge portion, then will freeze some for another time.

smurfy,
I think Neo Garden has lunch tingkat.

Catz,
Yeah, even drawers are not safe. Dunno if the fridge is that safe either.

huskie, smurfy,
There's another brand of dishwashing liquid, I forgot the name, but it's sold by Melaleuca or something like that. Also MLM. I'm not an agent, and I don't use the brand, but I've heard that it's good.

huskie,
Sometimes I do a 2 meals in one thing. Eg, I might make a chicken stock for chicken macaroni lunch, and then for dinner, just add some different veges to the same chicken stock and boil up again. When I wash and cut veges for lunch, I do the dinner ones also. Some days, my dinners are prepared by 4 pm. My rice is cooked once a day - if in the morning for lunch, then I cook the portion for dinner as well. My rice cooker is on a timer, so I can wash the rice when I'm free, and just put it into the cooker. The cooker will come on by itself so I get piping hot rice for the meal. But when not cooking rice for the day, must remember to switch off the timer otherwise the keep warm will come on. Doesn't really matter if I forget anyway
Yeah, I'm allergic to anything prawny, so tingkat is bad for my skin, Also had a breakout with this round of tingkat, that's why I've cancelled and have now started to cook my own dinners. My hb also gets IBS symptoms with too much oils etc. We wanted to try mom's cooking, but the price put us off.

charis,
I know a mum who's homeschooling and has 7 kids too. No maid or help. Older kids help with the chores.

At this time, I'm typing this whilst feeding ben his lunch. I've eaten mine so nothing else to do when waiting for him to chew and swallow

PVL,
Wow, thanks for the insight to your daily chores!
I never thought of sitting Soph in a highchair with snacks, maybe cos I thought she was never a foodie. But it just dawned on me she likes things like strawberries and raisins, so maybe I can let her snack on those while I cook.
I've tried sitting her on a stool while I cook, but she touched the boiling pot even before I could stop her, and ended up blistering her hand.

You're so lucky that your kids are easy with food! Soph doesn't like bread/toast, and just wants to eat the cheese by itself... she doesn't like rice either, so I give her macaroni/noodles for lunch.

But yes, your methods have given me some ideas... maybe I can shift my dining table which is just outside my kitchen and put her little table/chair there, so that she can play with her stuff (playdough, colouring etc) while I cook, and then I can see her too.

Let's see what my hubby and I decide about the maid by the end of the month then.

btw, don't you nap at all? I feel so tired nowadays (not as bad as 1st tri though) and sometimes still needs a 30min nap when Soph naps.

PVL,
If you're allergic to prawns stuff, better not try mom's cooking then... they use hae bee and stuff like that for their sambal veges. I got my rash after eating some of their dishes, and it was during the 1st tri... had no choice but to see gynae for antihistamines cos my eyes were swollen till they were just slits!

Your rice doesn't become hard in the rice cooker if you cook them for lunch and keep for dinner? Hmm... maybe mine is just a cheapskate basic rice cooker :p but the rice do become a bit hard even if I leave them in the Keep Warm mode.

The lunch chicken stock and then re-use stock for dinner is a good idea too - think I can do that cos I've got a large crockpot.

This Melaleuca brand looks interesting from its website. I'm never brand loyal to these things, so I'll check them out and see where I can buy them after my Amway stuff is finished.