(2007/02) February

HI Sunsweet,
press on!! I have sent lil Gab to CC starting Feb and he has been crying like hell for first few weeks. Not only he cried, i cried terribly too coz i find its a torture for him as well as for me. My parents blamed me too for "torturing" him. I did changed him to another cc after 2 weeks coz i find the teachers in the 1st cc not very good at pacifying toddler like him. I have changed him to another cc and this week is his 3rd week there and he is ok now. Press on, the phrase will pass.

Re: Lil Bullies

Lil J bullies grandma.. so obviously knows grandma dotes her a lot so these days makes grandma cry..

with me and hubby she knows when we says no it means no.. well

smurfy, i will continue to bf for another 6 mths but worried cant do tbf loh, even now sometimes i will sneak in 1 Fm feed just that she dun like and tend to vomit. actually this time round travel is limited so maybe will be less disruptive compared to last time.

just now i bought so mant thomas & friends stuff for A. he is crazy over it now so all his stuff from pjs, cup, bowl, spoon, water bottle, vcd, books, toys are Thomas..cant reject him when he goes wow wow wow...

actually this ml is v v good, i got to bond with ashley as well as A, he is so close to me now, calls me all the time, wants me to play with me, hug him. it is something that i have been praying for the last 2 yrs

cherryale, so lucky to get A to be so close to you during this ML. Tim is still very close to my parents, in-laws and my hb... he just isn't too sticky to me. Well, in that case, I shall be the one to send him to cc... planning to start on 1st April.

doggy, which cc did you sent Gab to? Which was the first cc that he went to? I am thinking of sending him to StarLearners or Eureka... both in Simei. The kinderland that is very near my house is full until Jan next year.

winnie, my maid also brought her own cell phone to Singapore. She told me that she doesn't have a sim card... I told her no need at the moment since I let her use my phone to make her calls back home. She can contact her friends in Singapore only after 6 months when she gets her day off and her friends can bring her to buy the sim card. The other day, we went to Giant and she was so amazed that the AKAI home theatre system is cheaper than the one in her house. She said that appliances here are cheaper but difficult for her to bring back.I suggested that she may like to buy digital camera/ cell phone after she finishes her contract and guess what she replied? "Oh, I am not so interested in camera or cell phone. Thinking of buying a laptop to bring back as it is cheaper in SG".
Smurfy, I agree with you... if I don't treat her well, she will probably fly home. She's not so rich to be a real tai-tai but definitely not poor lah.

Mummies, do you children fall ill much more often when they start cc? And when they fall ill, is it serious (must see PD more than once) or mild?

Sunsweet, must harden your heart abt sending lil J to cc. My niece only stopped crying after 2-3weeks.

cherry, what FM are you giving your bb? My bb has been vomitting out Nan leh, think I'll switch back to Enfalac.

Re: Childcare
How you gals determine if the cc is good or bad? I looking for one now, dun think my maid can cope with both Sher and bb after I rtn to work.

jazzcy, my PD bills since A started cc is already around $800 plus and it is for cough and RN which recur and recur so PD kept asking to review and review. But it is partly cos he has sensitive airways like the daddy.

cannot imagine how your maid can be willing to do housework leh. So how, when we meeting?

gig, I give similac. I cant switch brands lah for some personal reasons,so she HAS to drink this. But so far at most 1 feed a day, most of the time she is on TBM. So maybe she is not used to the difference in taste? Can they taste the difference since only 2 months old?

Gig, how about the cc that your gal attends? to me, the way the principal and teachers speak is v impt, dun want them to speak to my kids in some broken english

cherry, Similac? Heard from my fren that it's ex cos we pay for their ex advertising cost leh. My gal is attending church kindi which is only 3hrs everyday. But I thot of sending Sher to full day cc.

gig, think all FM are more or less around same range right? Enfa not cheap also. my son used to take similac so just continue loh
huh, vane goes 3hrs and Sher full day i.e comes home at 5pm? will he get used to it? or can try half day first then extend gradually?

winnie, since u are SAHM, why does your hb need to give such a big raise to your maid cos got #2? especially since ethan has gone to cc, lesser work for her. But if she is a good maid, then I guess worth the money to keep her happy and productive.

mine is a goondu, I bought the refill (without the spray) for the kiwi cleaner and she can throw away the previous one (with spray) and I remembered it is not finished yet. When I asked her she just kept quiet. Really no brains, I asked her to use her brains next time..everyday she will do something stupid to make me upset.

doggy,

glad to know gabriel is settling in his chilcare..u must be v v relieved.

sunsweet,

i can understand wat u r going thr.. during cherish short stint in her childcare, it is my most difficult parenting days, even compared to her colicky days. The heartpain is too much to bear. But i believe given cheerful lil J character, she just need some time to adjust.

i am wondering if any tots are emotionally sensitive? I realised my gal v "thin skin". She will cry and feel v paiseh if some one points out her mistake. Y'day she throwed a paper fan on the floor, my granddad only say cannot throw, if not the fan will spoil in a v gentle manner..then cherish blurst out crying and say want to go home...haiz..

Hi mummies...

All talking abt cc while i have not even found or shortlisted any for Xi.

Cherry, I have been giving Ru Similac (given by the hospital) a few times and she is ok with that. But i have not been giving her any fm for the past 1 month. My mum has been telling me to give her some fm instead of tbm so that next time she won't reject. i have not decided which brand of fm to give her next time. Most likely will be the same as her sister, ie Nan HA.

Winnie, why u guess huskie? *wink wink*

My company wants to post me to China, and ask me to bring my kids there as well. They will find me a babysitter for them. I rejected the offer in the first place, but agreed after they persuaded me to give it a try if cannot then only come back. But over the weekend I have been thinking hard over this and decided it is not to my gals' interest that I accept the offer. So tomorrow I am going to reject the offer. The consequence with the reject might be I am going to resign from my current position, cos my job will be redundant if i reject and they appoint another person. Have been wanting to resign for a longest time. But market is bad now, afraid cldn't get a job soon, so.... I shall see what my director says tomorrow and decide what is my next course of action. Wish me luck ya...

Winnie,
I am here!
Have not been feeling too well cos of flu and rash recently so have not been posting, but have been reading occassionally.

jelly,
Hee.

Hey, if you had originally intended to accept the offer and bring the gals to China, what about your hubby?
Good luck with your discussion with your director tomorrow!

Catz,
I don't think Soph will be going to Marymount Kindie with Bethany

Hubby prefers Singapore Montessori at Windsor Avenue (after Thomson Plaza), so we are considering that.

Thanks for all the contact nos. of confinement ladies and suggestions given. Noted them and working out with hb what the best situation would be...

Julian is starting his cc tomorrow. Actually wanted to send him earlier on but there was no vacancy at all... I kept pestering the principal and told her I am going to deliver and I dont want to send Julian there after my delivery cos he would feel that we are 'abandoning' him in cc when his sibling arrives. Thankfully, got him a place this month. After hearing what mummies here have shared about their heart-wrenching experiences, I wonder if my mum is right - sending him to school at such a tender age... actually, my concern is only what if he is bullied... he is a very good natured boy so far and he doesn't really bother other kids at sunday school or lessons at GUG but recently, found out that many children like to push him (intentional or unintentional, i dont know), hit his head and worst was last week after sunday school. He suffered a scar on his fat cheeks from someone's pinching!!! It is so obvious with fingernail marks. Sigh... (oh, he attends sunday school on his own. hb and I go for service so not around to jaga him) I think i am one protective mummy here...

gd morning to all....

I gv Similac also... @ the beginning, when boy rejected Similac, I tot he hated it. Me cheapo wanted to change to cheaper Fm, gave him Friso. Worse - he refused to drink at all. I was thinking "hey, u r just a newborn leh, u know hw to reject?" So end up hb asked me nt to b too stingy on FM, just gv him wat he wanna take. till now, stuck w/ Abbott range lor.. He didn't even want Isomil when he had diarrhea.

Mummies who send kids to CC. I heard u hv to persevere, cos if u gv in, they know ur soft spot & will tgt u already. Bt once they get the hang out of it, they will b v gd. Diff kids of diff level of adaptability, some v fast, some v slow. My gf once told me, hv to gv them a period of 1 - 3mths. I dun wanna feel the heart-ache, tats y I rather hv a maid to help out at home.

A's bn v v v sticky to me nwadays... worse... sometimes my maid will tell him "u hv to act like a boy..."

When he wakes up, he will either call daddy, or else mama. When he's drinking his milk, he MUST make sure I m w/in his sight. Or else he will start walking ard the whole hse looking for me.

Las Sat, SIL didn't believe tat A will cry his heart out if I m nt ard. This boy, wanted to stick w/ the cousins, so when I told him, I m taking daddy's car, he has to be a gd boy w/ gor gor, he told me ok.

so when we drove off, we were behind BIL car. Hb was already wondering if he'd cried. I said if cry, BIL would hv sped back to BP liao. Bt was quite normal. when I rch the carpark, i got off to pick A first. His eyes arh, almost popping out liao... sniffling all the way.... Ke lian...

haiz... so sticky, hw to hv a #2? Can u imagine, when we go out arh, I hv to carry him all the way??? until I can feel my hand aching already bt he still refused to let me off.

GOG - u still need contacts? If u need, I help u ask my ex-coll whom I rem she used someone... bt I dunno whether gd or nt. maybe I can chk out for u if u want.

sunsweet - congrats to u on having a princess,.... I hope I can hv a gal nx time also then can shut factory already! (bt even if it's another boy also will shut man!)

sunsweet
congrats on having a princess.. kekeke i think mine's oso lar.. past 2 visits.. gynae keep saying nothing obvious in between.. just dun wanna confirm until detailed scan... yeah!!!!!!

huskie
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! u did not deny not getting preggie.. is our winnie sooooooooo zhun??????

ah-ger
i wanna ask u abt ur maid hor.. did she have prior experience (other countries or sg) before coming to ur house to work? or totally fresh maid?

jas
errr is ur hb job stable? maybe ur director helps u make decision - to be a SAHM. ;) <- hey, i tot this is something which u always wanna do but do not have the courage nia?

jelly, good luck to your discussion!

huskie, baby dusts to you!!!

Ah ger, sher also super sticky to me nowadays. Everyday he goes "mummy, I want you..." hehehe... really enjoying my ML now though headache with bb with his constant cries lah.

jelly, good luck w yr talk. me also... mkt so bad noe.

smurfy, wish u luck in gettin a gal!

last nite put mei mei together w us to sleep. i must start more now to get mei mei use to it so tat when maid goes on home leave i be prepared. actaully mei mei is really a ez child thankfully!. she actually waited for me to warm milk, never cry loudly. so even i wake up middle of nite i also not headache.

ah ger, zz is also v sticky kind. if maid not around, he also wan me to hug him. i can understand how yr arm ache lor... mine too. then last sat class, dun knwo if he dun liek chinese, he not so co-operate n some games dun wanna do

only music he look forward. or else he just wanna me to hug... goodness. but luckily after class, he still hug teacher willingly.

stella, zz also thin skin too. many times like yr father. we tell him nicely, he will start crying...

After much consideration and kinda small arguement with MIL,

Lil J I out of CC and getting back to MMI.

MIL keep nagging that the school no good, teacher not caring enough, not good for Lil J to keep crying..etc... sigh..

She tells all that to her 7 slibings, my hubby's aunt who all always calls her..

I am the one feeling so stressed because of all this.

So on friday evening when i drove to pick them up from their dinner appt. I told them my point why I wanted to send Lil J to CC.. and of cos its heart wrenching for me to see her cry (but
anyway i asked them.

1) If i dun send Lil J to CC, will she be able to handle Lil J and #2?

>> She said we'll see by then, cos by then Lil J after my ML, Lil J have to go Pre Nursery (2010), and then its really no choice for it will all be no parent to accompany.

She would prefer Lil J to go to 1/2 day Kindegarten kinda school.

She says at most get grandpa to work 1/2 day if she really cannot handle..

2) If Lil J is out of CC, will send her back to MMI.

>> She says she will still bring her and maybe let her con't pre-nursery there.

3) I told them next year if we were to send her to 1/2 pre nursery she will lilkly go thru this crying phase, will she be able to handle both baby + crying Lil J?

>> she just say we see by then..

so its obvious grandma was upset of her precious Lil J.

sigh ... so after much tot I think for the peace at home I shall not insist of getting Lil J to school.. cos Lil J cheerful self was affected these days.. extreamly sticky to grandma cos grandma "saved" her from CC woes...

even on sat evening we brought her out to IMM before we could reach the car she was crying for grandma and when we brought her home she told grandma she dun want to go school.. sigh CC must have left her a tramatizing experience.

sigh..

Now i think i got to search for a Pre-nursery for Lil J to enroll next year..

anyone have any recommendation of kindergartens at Jurong West / Boon lay area?

I was thinking sending Lil J back to my formal Kindy - St. James Church Kindy.. but its exp .. so I'm thking 2x.

sunsweet, pil n our parents def against cc 1. for my case, it the same. my mum keep telling to everyone how pitiful he is. it makes me a villain

even when noe when he is so happy already, she still tell ple how pitiful he was during those times.

so wat i wan to say is dun get too bothered w all these comments. at the end of the day, u trying to make lives easier. anyway, give lil J time.
hmmm i dun know much abt boon lay area... if MMI is good, u stick to it? does it have kinder?

jelly, wow, tough choice for you but I"m proud of you. Going to China wouldn't be a good choice for the girls. Hang in there, keep us updated on what your director says yah.. hope they can work out something for you since you are a good employee.

GOG, aiyoh poor Julian. Beth goes to toddler class by herself too. In fact, she got bullied too! Surprising since she's erm, so assertive and sometimes agressive at her playgroup (parent-accompanied).. :p HOpe cc goes well for little Julian!

Huskie
Hope Singapore Montessori works out well for Soph yah!

Sunsweet, aiyoh poor you.. gotta back down on your decision but I think it's for peace with MIL.. might be better that she goes to kindy instead of cc lah. St James is v popular.. you better go on waitlist first hor.

garfield, you lucky that Gemma is a good baby hor? She's v v cute.. must have been very heart pain to go HK without her.

Bethany is talking so much these days.. you know I've always thought she lags korkor in development but honestly as a second child with so much less attention, I'm surprised that she is speaking as well as her brother age-for-age. She talks in 8-9 word sentences and sometimes she says things that are so complex, she makes me stunned for a while. Guess she is quietly picking up all these things.. we just don't realise. She will be starting swimming lessons with korkor.. supposed to start last week but the awful weather. Tomorrow is first lesson but dunno if the weather will be OK or not. :p

cherryale, shall we meet in late March? Let me sms you to confirm. You want to come over my new place or I go over to yours or we can go out.

I am MOVING OUT of my inlaws place. Was so pissed off with my MIL that I called her a subtle bully and told hb that I will tell my children (Tim and Jeremy) what she is like when they grow up. Y'day, I called a couple of agents and finally managed to rent a 2 bedroom apartment at Changi Green for one year. I was so desparate to get a place that when I called the agents, I just ask that the place must be available immediately. They were shocked that I did not even bother to ask for viewing. Anyway, heard from hb that it is a cozy place. Well maintained unit with new washer and dryer (altho' I don't need them). So, I am happy :) except that my monthly expenses just sky rocketed a lot from now on (maid + rental of place) Nothing beats not having to live under the roof of my overbearing MIL soon.

Now, I am thinking whether to put Tim in cc. I am hesitant because if T goes to cc, MIL may say that she does not need the maid anymore (which she never wanted one anyway). Whatever the case, my MIL can really 'terrorize' until she gets her way but I told hb firmly that we have enough of being held hostage by her. Yes, my hb gets a lot of her nonsense too. If she doesn't want the maid, then she don't get to look after the grandchildren at all. I know my MIL, although she says that she dotes on Tim, it is mere say (she has just threaten us y'day that if I do not agree with arrangement that my parents and her split the care giving exactly (2.5days/ wk each side), then she only wants to look after 2 days a week). Every week since Jeremy is born she has some new crap ideas and we must abide, else she will bang the furniture doors, scream and show us black face. And, so far, she always gets what she wants except for the maid thingy. That's y I am concerned for the maid when I return to work.

Thanks for hearing my story on MIL issue. Charis, after you, it is now my turn to share on horrid MIL

Jazzcy, my friend and I engaged a private instructor to come coach the kids at my parents' condo.. gave up on bringing them to Marsden.. somehow the heated pool seems to breed germs :p

WOW, what a shocking turn of events with your MIL. Did she do something to trigger it off? So your hb is 100% OK with shifting out?

jas, re on relocating to China, do give a careful thought on it. One of my ex-colleague brought her daughter to Shanghai as both hb and wife are given expat terms to be posted there. They had quite a big issue finding a suitable nanny and as the weather/ quality of air is not so good, mother and child fell ill so often that my colleague quit her job after 2 years and return back to SG.

Jazzcy,
I can fully understand your situation. I cant stay with my in law too!!! though they are staying at my place, i rather be homeless, shifting to stay with my parents while waiting for my new unit to be ready, than to stay with them! If I stay with them, I'm sure i will be more issues with them!

Anyway, back to the cc...I sent Gab to the one at Eastpoint. Easier for me to send and pick him up. I did went to Starlearners, but the price is very high and i personally dun really like cc in a landed poperty kind. Anyway, it's up to your personal preference. Also, there is 1 at simei cc and heard alot of good feedback abt them. They are expanding the cc and will be able to take in for kids. Initially wanted to send Gabriel there, but he seems to be settling well here, so, might stick to the current one.

Hi Stella,
Yes, I'm very very relieved now. His crying at the 1st childcare might me feel so guilty and till now, i cant forget how he look at me when i went to fetch him! Frankly, it's only when i send him to cc, I came to realise how important he is to me and I can't let him "suffer" there...haha! He is very attached to me since then and I'm happy that we have build up a stronger bond now

jazzcy, wat happen? i believe it must be really bad tat make u to move out immed... sometimes they can make funny suggestion but must be firm lo.

tokin abt swimming, been some time since i brought zz to pool. weather not too gd. but he has been "practising" swimming with mei mei on the bed... keke...

Catz, the having to split the childcare arrangement with my parents exactly was a trigger point for me as I felt that I have enough of her and need my sanity before I go back to work. In the last 11 weeks that I have been on maternity leave, she will find fault with me or hb (or both of us) at last once a week. Even my FIL told my hb that she has turned senile...and that's why she is making things so difficult that we choose to move out. It's so funny, when my confinement lady and my maid frist arrived, they were very surprised when I told them I will be moving to a new place by end of year. They all think that the house is good size for our family plus in-laws BUT after 2 weeks, the confinement lady and my maid can fully see the 'real' picture. So, my in-laws live in a 5 bedroom house and owns another 3bedroom condo unit but as for their 2 sons, one (BIL) lives in a 4-room Sengkang flat and the other (as in my hb) is renting a small 2 bedroom apartment. With this type of MIL, it is very fortunate that none of her two sons wanted to take $$$ from her to buy a house (altho' she offered with condition that she has an equity stake). I can't imagine how much worse if we had taken her $$$ to buy a house that we could not have been able to afford.

doggy, where is your new place? I am still waiting for Casa Merah to be ready as I intend to buy a new unit there.

StarLearners currently has a promo for full day cc... $400 after subsidy. It is still cheaper than Eureka coz Eureka has to pay for using the curriculum from Pat's schoolhouse. Oh, what is the name of the one that Gab attends? I thought OrangeTree and Josiah Montessori at East Point are even more expensive.

Garfield, there is no way that we can be firm with my in-laws as we are held hostage... lived under their roof and they look after my kids. Besides, can you imagine living in the house of someone who shows you black face and bangs things when you are within ear shot from her? I told hb that I am like 'refugee' on weekends, on either Sat or Sun, me especially and the kids must be out of the house by morning and return only after dinner. If not, we get her black face treatment and complaints. Now, the first part is we move out and if really cannot tahan, then don't rely on them to look after kids. haha...then she cannot held us hostage anymore but i know it will break my FIL's heart as he really love Tim very much. But hor, my FIL is bullied by her so badly over the years that he very rarely fight back with her anymore. Imagine, he cooks for her, washes and iron her clothes and do all the household chores... and mind u, he was the breadwinner previously, not her. My hb is 100% behind me as he also kena his mother's treatments....

Catz,

For Lil J's MMI and St. James is abt same price. but st. james as i understands has lots of enrichment program which is costly..

St James this year fees is $900 / term for Pre Nursery Playgp...

Maybe i should consider Nursery which is slightly cheaper keke..

but then school bus.. i think its exp.. heard Tiong Bahru to Hardy is already $140/mth .. me at Lakeside.. would it be like $160/mth?? Faint!!

Jazzcy,
Wow, you must have a BIG BIG issue with your mil. I also called my MIL a bully the other day. And a bulldozer! But fortunately we don't live with her, and we only see her once a week. She was trying to bully me into getting my PT helper to come 3x a week, insisting that I couldn't cope etc etc. Eh, if I say I can cope, then who are you to say I cannot? She also bullied me into taking some ko leh sim concoction of hers until it gave me a high blood pressure splitting headache coz her concoction was far too strong. Anyhow brew.

Jazz,
I bought a unit at Livia but intend to sell and get a almost ready unit. Was considering Casa Merah but now, stuck with my current unit. If i can sell it, i will consider getting a unit at Casa Merah.

Starlearners so cheap? That time when i enquired, the full price is abt 900+. Anyway, I sent Gab to Orange Tree and Josiah only have cc @ Millenia Walk.

Since you have decided to move out, just go ahead with your choice and I always believed its good not to stay with in laws or even parents. Sometime, i will have dispute with my own parents re bringing up kids too...and i really feel as a hostage at times but I really have no means like you to rent a place but got no choice but to eat humble pie at times. Afterall, they are my parents and situation might be better than we are facing our in laws...

GOG,

i think you lil boy should not have much speration anxiety as Lil J since he can attend sunday school on his own.

slowly I'm letting Lil J off to some independece to attend programmes by herself.

I only scare grandma instead of trying to let go got a tighter grip of her after this CC incident.
which of cos makes things worst! I think Grandma has greater seperation anxiety than Lil J.. :p

Sunsweet, congrats on having a princess! Let me share my cc experience with you too.

Like Doggy, I started to put Jerlene in cc since mid-Feb. The 1st 2 weeks was terrible, for her and for me too. She was crying badly every morning. I stayed around the cc almost every morning and peeped at her until she sort of calmed down and stopped. Really no mood to work then.

However, she suddenly changed and looked forward to gg to cc last week. It really took me and my hubby by surprise, although it was a very pleasant surprise. This is now her 4th week, and today, she is still happy to go to cc. I hope this will carry on for good...

Hey Jojo,
Jerlene is ok now? So relieved right? Though Gab has been whining every morning, but he will still go in to the school happily every morning.

Thanks doggy, Jerlene is ok now. Although she is very happy to go to school in the morning since last week, I still worry that she will kick up a fuss one day. Really hope it will last...

Sunsweet, you can consider church kindi for Lil J in yr 2010. I send Vane to Jurong Calvary Kindi, not bad lah.

Jazzcy, your mil sounds terrible but luckily hb at your side lah.

Jazzcy, goodness, your MIL is a real tyrant! Sounds just like my MIL but fortunately we don't see her very often, maybe once in 1.5-2 months 'cos my hubby buay tahan her.. Keke.

Sunsweet, my parents also got v bad separation anxiety.. biang.. they will cry if Timo is sad :p Anyway, St james is good BUT distance quite far yah? U wait till nursery, might not get a place leh.

Giggler, wanted to say that you are soooo slim, can't tell you are a mom of 3 and Vane and Sher so meaty type too.. they get the genes from your hubby?

Hi mummies!got myself a confinement lady at last, after trying so many contacts.
Ah Ger, thanks for the offer though.

Wow, everyone is talking about cc, playgroup and all... Julian went for his first day today but sad to say that I am many issues now about the cc now. Apparently, the cc is one of the more popular one here in Choa Chu Kang and the waiting list is so so long... I pestered the Principal so much till I got this place for Julian.

My objective for sending julian to sch is so that he can learn something... something like a classroom situation. However, I discovered that it is like a babysitting class...

1. ate breakfast
2. conducted a so-called music lesson with CD playing in the background and the kids just clapped along
3. wash hand and change diapers in toilet
4. children sat down and listen to teacher introducing a few hats
5. Then doodle, tr helps to draw hat
6. Play from a box of cooking toys
7. Lunch
8. Wash up and wash feet (cos noodles everywhere and the floor was oily)
9. Tr tried to read while waiting for dismissal but no one was interested so children walking around on their own.

Also, today the whole session was taken by a chinese teacher so only spoke to kids in mandarin. tmr my hubby is going to check with school if there is another teacher cos the chinese teacher alone couldnt cope with 7 kids today.

Are all CCs like this? If it is, then I think my maid, my mil and my mum can then continue taking care of julian...and they are doing a better job. Am I being too demanding and setting too high expectations?

Pls advise.

GOG..Yup u can consider confinement catering..if yr hubby can take at least 2-3 weeks off then he can help with the baby or take care of J.

PVL..Wah yr MIL know wats she's doing anot?! Scary.
Didn't know she also like to kaypoh2 input.

Jazz..Sorry to hear about yr MIL issue. Think she sounds worse than my MIL though! SO bad until u have to move out asap.. Think its better lah..for yrself n whole family.

Catz..Yr MIL also another terror..hehe. She's weird too..judging from the stories u share..haha.

Eh my MIL has simmered down after we move out. But somehow we cannot be so close..I jus can't trust her lah.

Mummies..By the way, I need some input/comment..What do u think of the location-Central @Clarke Quay Stn? For enrichment school? Accessible..Nice place?

GOG..For the playgroup n pre-n class naturally there will be a lot of rountine care..toileting, meals etc..for older age group there'll be more time for lessons.
Anyway usually 2 year olds, attention span is only about 10-15 minutes the most. Sit down listen to teacher teach is the least engaging except for maybe storytime..they should be engaging in more structured and free play..like puzzles, blocks, kitchen toys, threading, art n craft, lots of movement activities, math toys like counters, shape puzzles. A good centre should be doing a lot more of these rather than just sit down n listen to teacher teach ABC, 123..but of cos doesnt mean they dont learn all these just more hands-on learning.
The trend has shifted from traditional teaching methods..After pre-n, then there should be some pre-writing n more "academic stuff".

Some centres seem to have better management of kids..some not. So guess another centre mayb different. If u go to those prime centres like Pat's Schoolhouse, or Etonhouse eg..esp those with lots of angmoh kids, u'll notice the kids tend to be less "manageable".

Thanks for the well wishes! Dropped Xi wif my aunt and Ru wif the new nanny this morning then went to meet the director. He asked me to give it a try after I told him about my decision and what made me reject the offer. But in the end, he respect my decision. As for my current position, he said it will have no change but frankly i feel pai sei to stay on as I know I won't be able to contribute much and add on to the cost of the company since now that they need to get another person for that position. So once i found a new job, i shall quit.

After the meeting, went to Parkway Parade for a haircut! Finally managed to colour and cut my hair, very happy!!!

Jazzcy, shock to hear ur mil story! Was she like that before you moved to stay wif her? But seriously not many ppl can stay peacefully wif PILs. Hope u get ur choice unit in Casa Merah. We have been thinking of moving to the east also hopefully by end of this year or next year, if financially allowed. It is getting torturous everyday to and fro Clementi and Pasir Ris with the 2 kids. Just the other day my little gal cried for more than half hour in the more than 1 hour journey from PR back to our clementi house, but nothing i could do cos i was driving. Sigh...

Re: cc. U are not considering PSSMK?

Smurfy, I seriously NOT consider to be a SAHM anymore! U know last Friday first time I handled the gals for the whole day cos my aunt not free on that day. I almost died of exhaustion!!! So really really pei fu and kowtow to the SAHMs here!

jelly, u frightening me ah... i be temp sahm for abt 2 wks when my maid on home leave... actually my hb taking alt days but feel he will be worse than me! haha

gog, i think most ccs are like tat. like charis say, it becos of their age too. tat time i also consider this tat y i pull zz out in the end. anyway there r other reasons too. so when zz is older n ready, i will put him in again.

Catz, thanks for your compliment!
My hb thinner than me leh. Also not sure why Vane and Sher so meaty. But Stephen not as chubby, guess my bm not as powerful liao.

jelly, I also cant be SAHM. dying of exhaustion facing 3kids everyday during my ML.

garfield, ur Gemma is an easy baby. My Ru is such a light sleeper. The moment we put her on her bed, she will be awake. U know, most of the days she only takes 1 nap in the afternoon. Sigh...

Gig, so Sher's brother's name is Stephen. Nice name!
Ya ya, saw ur photos in facebook. U are so slim now!!! I still have many kgs to lost, now worry no clothes to wear to work liao. Sob sob...

jelly, ya i glad she is quite ez... but nowadays when she is awake, she doesn't wanna lie on cot liao but that normal. since she wanna know wat is happening n she always wanna be close to zz. last nite, they play in zz playpen again. zz also insist mei mei play n sleep inside but we told him it already late. soemmore zz is rather rough. not so safe to put them together w/o supervision too.

jelly, u also slim gal ah... really envy u gals ley. me lost weight too but hor the figure will never get back to pre -preg

jelly, i also cannot be SAHM unless both kids go to cc. A was at home for the last 9 days and I lost 1.7kg. It is v exhausting to have a baby and toddler at home plus pump milk, bathe them, play, carry.

clementi flats/apts can sell for very good prices mah, definitely enough to buy a unit in the East esp this part of the east. Come come move here!

GOG, in cc, its mostly play and the routine stuff. THe difference is that the children learn to live and share in a group as compared to at home where they are the ONLY kid and tend to be more pampered.

A is very willing to share his things with people except that u cannot use the word "GIVE" once he hear that it is give and not share, he will cry, very funny

looks like most of us cannot be sahm ;p

cherry, tat wat i think too (abt mixing with ohter kids) when i put him in cc. but after a while i observe he doesn't play w his peers. his peers also play by themselves. maybe at tat time, still rather young lor. at least now sending him to wkend school so tat he can mix with kids. also, bring him to playground. as for sharing, i training him to share his toys with mei mei. slowly he is more sharing lor.

Catz,

I mailed St james and they are full for Pre-nursery 2010 and Nursery 2011.

Gig,
Hows the Cirriclum at Jurong Calvary Kindi?
How much are the fees and are there extra classes?

I was thinking of St Francis of Assisi Kindi...
Any idea if it's good?